Language dilemma

Re: Language dilemma

Comfortably= like a native

Language dilemma

I really like this idea of doing the languages interchangeably and have specific days where you only speak that language.
No doubt in learning a different language, it opens up your mind and knowing another language is like knowing a totally different world or culture..

Language dilemma

This is the reason I want to start early and teach the baby however much I can before he starts school.

Dear OP,

I think you should feel comfortable speaking urdu with baby in front of hubby, even if he does not understand, he can learn it with the baby and repeat the words to the baby and it will help him learn also. But if he does not want to learn it, then it is ok because he is an adult, it takes patience to learn language as an adult. I’m sure the baby will learn both language and English is obviously not going to be an issue at all.

Paheli gave you valid advice please take it on board. As much as you feel embarassed if you want your child to speak the languages then make the effort and stick to urdu from your end and hubby to speak arabic. Your child will pick up english easily along the way.

I grew up in a bilingual family my mum would speak to us in swahili and my dad hindko/urdu and we were fine. I speak hindko and urdu more fluently and we use certain swahili words mixed in. Kids brains are like sponges they absorb. I have a 8 week old boy and i speak to him in hindko all the time, and i know as he grows hel remember phrases that hes familiar with. I also speak in english to him aswell.

It really doesn’t matter what language you speak in most. Babies are sponges when it comes to language. So you just do your thing and speak Urdu and let bhai sahib speak Arabic. Thats how its in my household. I speak Urdu, hubs speaks Pashto. Eventually and in sha Allah our baby will speak both fluently.

Speak in both the languages. It’s not difficult. My aunt spoke to her kid in urdu and arabic, though both parents are Pakistani’s they wanted their kid to be fluent in both because they live in an arab country. She would tell him what something is in both languages at the same time. Children grasp quickly. Being multilingual is a plus point.

My kids speak only one language and that don’t bother me the tiniest bit. Many of the most powerful and successful people know only one language. I wouldn’t stress over knowing more than one language.

Hillary speaks in multiple languages based on audience. The content of her speeches span 360 degree, with any consistency in content being purely coincidental.

No, it’s not terrible to know one language, but if you do have more languages in your household, why not use them? Any extra knowledge can only be more helpful in the future life of your children.

I didn’t want my children to be confused about their identities, this is their society and they should belong and be committed to it. Germans, Ukrainians and all other European nationalities who have settled here for generations mostly speak English.

Pakistanis should learn a thing or two from the Turks. Be it the Netherlands, Germany, Belgium, UK or anywhere else, even third-generations Turks are able to speak turkish fluently. :k:

And you sure as hell don’t find many ‘confused’ Turks.

I don’t know about that. In the Netherlands we have a mixture of all kinds of Turks. Some of them are more Dutch than Turk, even when they do speak Turkish language fluently. Others do feel more Turkish, but knowing their language of origin has nothing to do with that.

Besides, I know plenty of people from Maroc and India or even fellow Pakistanis who all have children speaking the languauge of their origin fluently, visiting their countries of origin often, and still feeling more European (be it Dutch, British, or any other country). Nothing wrong with people feeling they belong more to one country than to another country.

If knowing another language resulted in ‘confused’ children, they wouldn’t teach second languages in schools normally.

my 3 years old son stays with my mum (work hourse only) who can not speak english at all but my son he mostly communicates in perfect english. We have no idea how he is so fluent. as mum watches desi tv but he watches cartoons too.

he also speaks good urdu and even tries punjabi.
Kids pick/learn what ever they hear.

Haha..we are Turkish decent but wait, I read somewhere that 85 percent Turks in Germany are on welfare, when I went to visit Turkey, there were legal brothels, streets dedicated to call girl trannies for Saudi patrons, belly dancing, night clubs etc. On the other hand, some very adherent muslims…thanks but no thanks. That is not the future I mapped for my boys.

I meant culturally confused. You are an average of 4 people closest to you and it is very hard for me to find the right influences in desi community. If you learn the language then you have to hang and accept influence from them, They learnt French in school.

Part of us perhaps are from Turkish decent, but not all. There is an interesting mixture of various backgrounds when you look at the history of Pakistan en India.