Lahore vs. Karachi

Re: Lahore vs. Karachi

I have never been to Karachi (i would love to go there one day) but i have been to Lahore many times (for summer holidays) and i ALWAYS wished if i could stay in Lahore forver, i simply LOVE people of lahore and the city itself is simply amazing. Mughal architecture, historical buildings and gardens, food, atmosphere, friendly,easy going,full of life people etc etc
No disrecpect to karachiites but the ones i have met so far are usually a bit dry and unfriendly (have met quite a few decent ones as well and most all of them are my friends now :) ), middle aged and older people from karachi i have met are mostly sophisticated, decent, polite and often religious whereas others (18-28) were highly annoying, mostly abusive, most of them take drugs or drink.

Karachi is an amazing, brilliant place to be in. But somehow it LOOKS like a warzone … why??? :confused: Can’t they spend a little more money on the place, and STOP the influx of Afghan refugees and all other weirdos for once?

^^ I didn't mean to say that young lahoris are angels, don't do anything wrong, or they don't drink or abuse, just talking about my experience with people from Karachi since i have never been to Karachi.

From what i have seen in the pictures, Karachi has potentioal to become one of the best cities in the world and things are definitely improving there, i am sure Karachi will become a mega city ( Hopefully KPT will be built as promised)in next 5-10 years.

If Punjab doesn’t eat all the resources then i think they can spend some money on it. Come on What’s more important Providing clean water for humans in Karachi or Building a Food Street in Heera Mandi, you guys be the judges.

That's what i was talking about in my earlier post, i don't know where this "heera mandi" came from??? Dude have you ever been to punjab??I can't recall drinking "CLEAN WATER" in Pakistan (lived in Faisalabad)as long as i stayed there and i don't think thinkgs are any different now. Karachi is not the only city where clean water isn't available, u just gotta go around Pakistan and you will know what i mean.

The lights of karachi died with the birth of MQM, lahore has lot more then food.

^Agree.

i think there is something wrong with your observation.

Punjab is known for paan and they thow red spit of paan everywhere. Believe it or not punjabs are more over weight then karachians

Have you ever been to punjab ?

Anyways I have nothing against Punjabi’s, I'm talking more about the Government part, and Any educated URDU SPEAKING family you talk to hates MQM, hence Zia Ul Haq was the one who brought them and Lahore Is also like War zone, how many kid's have died because of Basant which in my view is a stupid Indian Brought custom.
mYsTeRiOuS_gUy, Listen You are from Southern Punjab more on the Saraiki side, Why do you think Saraiki's want another province, It's because they have been neglected for years I mentioned Heera Mandi Food court is because you said Why don't they spend more money in Karachi, well the Government of Pakistan should spend more money where needed right?

apki urdu mashallah se behad lajawaab hai. ayk ayk lafz behad koobsurati se ap ne seenchaa haai
mein ne to sirf ek example di thi khair shukriyaa janti hon Abu ji jo sochey gay sahi hi sochein gay…

Governments (or any unit for that matter) operate on fixed budget. Every area gets it's share and depending upon allocation, the priorities and the political influence of the leader of that area, the budget gets spent accordingly. If Karachi does not have so much of ethnic wars, all the shia-sunni and MQM etc. etc. the condition of Karachi can be much better than it is now despite consuming their allocated budget.

My grand parents migrated from India too, the Indian Punjab, but they never called themself Muhajir. Anyways, this can take the thread off topic. SO let's stick to the topic.

As Code-Red and others pointed out, we like the birthplace of our parents, language and rehan-sehan, that's why Lahori (or Punjabi) ppl love Lahore more and Urdu speaking like Karachi better despite it's current problems.

Stalker Afghanis are everywhere in PK. I think Peshawer and Islamabad took most of the brunt. There are some areas in Islamabad where you go and all you see is Afghanis everywhere. When Benazir govt. announced that Afghanistan is back to normal and all afghanis should go back now. The very next day, there was huge bomb-blast in the heart of the Islamabad city and then a series to follow, meaning, shut up, v r here and we'll stay. Now they are becoming part of our culture too, Afghani food, and clothes, among many other things. They have a better standard of living there, they'll stay.

They never call their selves Muhajir, It's a slang people use for them, anyways Pakistani Constitution is messed up anyways Every province should have equal rights, Punjab always takes more because of their population, And it's not fair, I say every state have 25% of share. Just like your parents migrated from India for a better living and freedom of Religion, that’s the same way All Urdu speaking People did, See Punjab is one Culture, You all pretty much came from one Province, Urdu speakers were scattered all over the place Back in India, I don’t know if you read Jang newspaper but this one Saraiki Guy wrote that when they leave Faisalabad and go to Lahore it’s like they r going to Europe. Look we all know that Punjab is the biggest Wheat product exporter right they have their own fixed price for which they get the profit , Now NWFP produces electricity Baluchistan has Soi Gas. Do you know Punjab used it’s power to move the WAPDA from NWFP to Lahore? Why shouldn’t we get the profit as well Till this very day Punjab owes Nwfp 10 billion Rupees which they haven’t paid. Karachi which is the fiancé city of Pakistan makes you 80% of you Revenue and in return they only get %15, doesn’t sound fair does it?

^^ How smart :hoonh: 25% for every province? So Baluchistan who has the smallest population should get 25 %, which will remain unused while Sindh shud also get 25% of that main figure, while the population of Sindh is much bigger than Baluchistan, so they starve but Baluchistan shud keep it’s unused portion cuz every1 shud be given 25%!

Did u ever study, political sciences or economics? anyways, u’ll keep coming with ur biases.

I must repeat, This Thread is Not to bring Baises and Wage War against Eachother. I leave it at that. If you must come back with more, I think, Nia will have to deal with you.

karachi is new york city (fast life, burger families, trendy, city never sleeps, fashionista city)
lahore is paindoo city (lassi and ballay ballay and food street and food and food and food, pretty girls until they open their mouths ,goodlooking men covered in hair and mustaches)
islamabad is dead city (shops close at 10:00 pm. wtf?)
murree is makeout and poondy/honeymoon city

:angel:

Sindh is still starving with that WOpping 15% only, Balochistan isn’t getting anything anyways, anyways I’m giving u facts why do you think most people don’t like Punjab’s Domination?

Exactly my thoughts. NYC is a microcosm of basically the whole globe. Karachi represents microcosm of Pakistan. We rock. :snooty:

Karachi Rox, I have even wrote a song about it. someday i'll sing it and post it on GS audio:)

Shera Dhi Kohm Punjabi!
ne wayz i've lived in Karachi, Lahore, and Sialkot, so they pretty much equal in my eyes, even tho I lived in Karachi most of the time. Lahore was a more lively city tho.

Islamabad is not dead city :snooty: It’s quiet, and peaceful, and clean and beautiful and of course has the richness of all four provinces, people from all over Pakistan. Oonchay oonchay purbat, (I luv mountains)shaffaf jharnay (beautifully surrounded by lakes), wide-clean roads. I :love: Islamabad :kiss: :kiss: :kiss: :kiss: :kiss: