Lack of freedom for Muslim of India

Re: A Muslim Indian never lives in peace

So you would be happy or rather less concerned if non muslims suffered most in the communal riots of India?

For me, it were Indians that were killing each other. You are born and broughtup in a diferent environment and have different mindset. You are more than welcome to have it. Please dont expect rest of the muslims to have the same mindset.

Please note, taali ek haath se nahi bajtee. Both groups have to take equal responsiblity for the communal riots.

But things are changing, there have been major incidents, like mumbai train blasts, mumbai 26/11 incident, blasts in temples of jaipur, blasts in delhi....hundreds and hundreds of people lost their lives.

Many were fearing communal backlash, it did not happen.

You know why? because people change and understand violence is not the solution.

they might not live in peace but they love India every bit, its about time that we (Pakistanis) realize this and move on....

I don't think it has to do with luck but with education, their accomplishments and what they did with the opportunities that are there. There's a lot of people in India, muslim and nonmuslim, who like to be in a postition of weakness and use govt. assistance much like the folks on welfare here. They even have quotas in colleges but choose to live poorly just because they need someone to blame and feel victimized. I'm not saying that all people are like that, but I'll give you an example. One lady came in while our house was under construction helping out with 2 tiny kids in her godh and I believe 4 others running around. We asked her if she's encouraging her daughters to go to school as the government is paying 1.5 lakhs (I forget the exact amount) to families who have girls that are high school pass towards their marriages. Did she take advantage and get her kid educated? No. Why? Because her mentality is such.

It is not always about discrimination but also about what you want to do with your life.

Did i say they don't love India? We also love Pakistan but have issues here, dont we?

Pls dont argue just for the sake of it.

@Niksik, totally agree with you.

Do you think slum dwellers of dharavi mumbai will leave slums if govt provided homes for them?

No, majority of them will stay in slums and rent out the homes provided to them.

^^ They love their slum life. They all have the latest cell phones :naak:. It’s not real poverty or lack of opportunity that you see there. My sister’s “maasi” makes Rs. 4000 per month just from her, and she works at 3-4 different places. In India, food is quite cheap. Very affordable living costs. It’s the people’s mentality, they like to beg and look victimized.

On my last trip, I saw this poor kid relieving himself on the side of the slum area…I felt so sorry that he didn’t have a bathroom to go to, when all of a sudden his cell phone rang and he pulled it out of his pants :mad:.

same salman khan the drunkard who ran his car over a homeless guy and killed him? who is the moron who wants to make him the "muslim victim"? why isnt this guy in jail? if he werent in india, he'd be rotting behind bars.

Maham didn’t want to be reminded of his past crimes :chai:

Six pages would have been better spent discussing how this transformation happened.

http://bbs.in.88db.com/viewthread.php?tid=3653

omg :eek: at above link!

innocent until proven guilty. now u may go to hell ;)

i dont' know how we got from salman khan's careless remarks to this but
a couple of my indian muslim friends are a bit tooooooooo patriotic and proud. I love them but God, they're constantly proving it.

their country more than mine since they are born there, live there and are completely rooted there. plus there were so many patriotic indians two of which are my favs maulana azad(strong believer of hindu-muslim unity) and ashfaqullah khan, people like them make me so proud

In mumbai, annual earnings of begging industry is around 180 crores. They easily earn around Rs 500 to Rs 1000 per day.

From Begger to Millionaire
http://www.newstrackindia.com/newsdetails/7758

Some profiles:

Name: Haji, 26

Haji’s Assets Rs 15 lakh Day’s earnings Rs 1000 to 2000

Begs at: Deonar and Chembur. Usually begs near mosques and
temples.

Working hours: Flexi. Picks the best time to be at a temple or a mosque.

Home is: A room at Cheetah Camp, where his mother and sister run a zari workshop, employing 15 people.

Family: Mother and sister.

Earnings increase mani-folds during festivals.

His worth: The Cheetah Camp room worth anything between Rs 3 and 5 lakh. The zari workshop could be worth 10 lakh. The family earns a steady income from the zari business and his mother has tried every trick to get him to give up begging and join the family business.

Cool quotient: He says managing the zari workshop is too much
hardwork. "I can’t be bothered with all that. I like to be left alone. Also, I make a decent amount every day.

Name:Bharat Jain, 45
Bharat’s Assets Rs 70 lakh in properties alone

Day’s earnings Rs 2000 to 2500

Begs at: Azad Maidan and Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus.

Working hours: Early morning to late evening.

Home is: Two adjacent 1 BHK apartments in Parel, where his family stays. Bharat, however, visits home only once in a week. His family, which deals in school notebooks and other study material, has tried on many occasions to get Bharat to give up begging and join the family business.

Family: Wife, two sons – one studying in class X and the other in class XII – father and brother.

His worth: The family apartments are worth close to Rs 60 lakh. The family also has rented out a shop in Bhandup to a juice centre and gets Rs 7,000-a-month in rent. The rent is collected every month by Bharat’s wife.

Cool quotient: Bharat speaks impeccable English. He is soft spoken and you will never find him harassing people for alms.

probably because it is easy to whine than accept reality. all these bollywood addicts… pathetic.

:lifey: way to go Maham, you used our last but best weapon when arguing with a non-muslim. Now Queer will be speechless.

:eek: wow and dayam…but the lil tiny kids begging is always a bit hard for me to see so i do give them a little money so they can eat and go to school :bummer: it’s hard to pass them up :frowning:

ok bol diya, now exit :smiley: thnx.

Stupid comments wl get stupid replies.

I dont really see your point. If you say the prophecy has been fulfilled then you're endorsing another state for those Muslims and Hindus in India that cannot live together. The two-nation theory is not contingent on the conditions you described i.e. an opportunistic mullah class taking advantage of the absence of a moneyed class. It postulates that the two nations are inherently separate and distinct, not merely circumstantially. Furthermore it is an unwarranted assumption that similar dynamics between the two communities did not exist prior to the partition and the flight of the moneyed class.

The OP said that A Muslim Indian never lives in peace, my argument is that Indian Muslims lives in much more peace than a Pakistani Muslim.

And since that probably is your core belief, I wont bother arguing it.

Regarding China, the only thing that you have proven is that the discrimination and killings of Uighar Muslims were further exacerbated by ethnic/cultural differences.

No. What I proved was that in wikipedia the discussion of the conflict is primarily on ethnic lines. The situation is similar to the situation in tibet, where similarly the ethnically distinct local population are overwhelmed by Han chinese culture through migration etc. The reason for suppression is ethnic, not religious. Similarly the identity is ethnic, not religious.

Historically, societies in the Indian subcontinent have been largely peaceful interrupted by despicable incidents of horrible violence. Partition never solved this problem. Indeed it was based on a intolerant premise - that Hindus and Muslims can't live together.

Based, partly, on the existence of this dynamic. Also based on the growing religious identity of Muslims.

After independence, a need was felt to justify Pakistan's creation to Pakistani citizens. Rather than appreciacion for diversity, intolerance for the "other" and a desire for a monolithic society was inculcated into the social discourse. Ahmadis were the first casualty during the 1952 anti-Ahamdi riots.

So between the years of 1947 and 1952 there was sufficient time to inculcate in a society the need for a monolithic society and hatred for the "other"?

Shias were brutally repressed in Gilgit. Both these minority sects continue to face widespread discrimination and violence. The desire for a homogeneous Muslim society also widened various ethnic schisms in Pakistan including Punjabi/Bangla, Mohajir/Sindhi, Pashtun/Mohajir, Pashtun/Punjabi, Balochi/Punjabi, etc.

with any new power structure power struggles between different groups happen. if you go into the dynamics of any given indian province you'll find different groups competing with one another. not remarkable.

OTOH, in India one sees that consistent anti-Indian stance and policy by Pakistan has exacerbated the problems of Muslims as it has given a convenient stick in the hands of the right wing forces. A curious fact: in 1984 General Election BJP only won 2 Parliamentary seats. In 1989 elections BJP scored 85 seats, incidentally the same year when the Pakistan backed mujahideen were terrorizing the Kashmiri Pandits.

yeah? so how about the success of BJP after 1989? if you characterize BJP as a 'problem for Muslims' then you must admit that this problem is widespread enough for the 'problem' to be one of the two big parties that alternatively rules the country. why object to people writing about the state of indian muslims then?

So I leave it to you to conclude whether Partition was good or bad from the POV of Muslims of pre-Partition India.

could've been worse.

my sincere advice to you, to quote one of the few girls with brains to have ever posted on GS - go kiss the front of a speeding train. leave the world a better place. take salman khanakharab with you too.

ab laRai mat karo tum dono. :emmy: