killing someone for abusing Prophet?

*Originally posted by ssidd: *
let me ask u a simple question....
what would u do if someone, God forbid, ridiculed or said something foul about ur parents? think about that.

now.

we're talking about the Holy Prophet (PBUH) here... the chosen one....Rehmat-ul-lilalameen....the last prophet of Allah....the best human being who came on earth and the best there ever be.... the person who brought us the light of Islam

is that answer to ur question?

That would be using your emotions.

Do you remember story of Hazrat Ali RA in a battle where he caught an enemy and when he was about to be killed he spitted on Hazrat Ali RA's face then Hazrat Ali RA didn't kill him. He let him go. Why? Go figure.

Is it ok to kill someone for this type of free speech.

There is so much dithering on the subject.

Will some knowledgeable authority refute this in the strongest terms?
Or is it true.

Whether it's historically accurate or not, how widely held or tolerated is this notion?

Scared? Confused? Don't know? Someone just answer the question.

What's the deal?

Apparently, Stu has earned your ridicule. Now to the subject.

How strongly do you feel about the subject of the post? Let’s say it turned out to be a rock solid truth, widely accepted. Do you think it’s right to kill someone for this?

let me ask u a simple question....
what would u do if someone, God forbid, ridiculed or said something foul about ur parents? think about that.

now.

we're talking about the Holy Prophet (PBUH) here... the chosen one....Rehmat-ul-lilalameen....the last prophet of Allah....the best human being who came on earth and the best there ever be.... the person who brought us the light of Islam

is that answer to ur question?

As you said rightly, Huzur(saw) is Rahmat-ul-lilalameen, but going out and killing people who talk against him doesn't portray his this high status. Or does it?

He is Rahmat-ul-lilalameen, that is why he showed mercy even upon his greatest of enemies and that is the path he layed before us to follow.

zaki, perhaps u need to revise history and also revise the topic of this thread....

people who had insulted the Prophet (saw) were given special orders to be killed wherever they were found....
the general forgiveness did not apply to them....
only one of them was actually killed....
some escaped, some were forgiven due to intervention by other companions....

one particulr guy, a family member of Usman (ra) was forgiven when Usman (ra) requested the Prophet (saw)....
so he forgave him....
and when he went away, the Prophet (saw) told the companions "cud not one of u get up and kill him when he was brought here"....
the companions said "u shud have signalled us by the eye and we wud have gotten rid of him"....
to which he replied "it is not of a prophet to signal by the eye"....

u need to do a lot of catching up on history....

Mr. Armughal,

You wrote:
:
one particulr guy, a family member of Usman (ra) was forgiven when Usman (ra) requested the Prophet (saw)....
so he forgave him....
and when he went away, the Prophet (saw) told the companions "cud not one of u get up and kill him when he was brought here"....
the companions said "u shud have signalled us by the eye and we wud have gotten rid of him"....
to which he replied "it is not of a prophet to signal by the eye"....

Can you identify the crime of that guy? Are you sure that he was guilty of Blasphemy and no other crime like murder?

During the conquest of Mecca, some of the meccans were killed but not because of their Blasphemy towards the Holy Prophet (peace be upon him) but because of their crimes agains humanity i.e. Murder, rape etc.

*Originally posted by fatehahmad: *
but because of their crimes agains humanity i.e. Murder, rape etc.

get a life man....
i am sure no one in history has ever quoted such that Prophet (saw) had gone about punishing people for such things....

Please keep political topics out of this thread.

Mr. Armughal,

You didn't answer my question about the crime of that particular guy brought before the Holy Prophet (Peace be upon him). Please bring out some facts.

And you wrote

get a life man....
i am sure no one in history has ever quoted such that Prophet (saw) had gone about punishing people for such things....

I am kind of confused about your response. So Punishing people for crimes like murder or rape is wrong! Please clearify.

I'm confused as well. Your prophet would let crimes against humanity, murder and rape go unpunished but put someone to death for mere words? If that thought is widespread it would explain a lot about the condition of the ummah today and the proliferation of dictators in the Muslim world.

Where did Bush and Hitler come in to play? I haven't seen anyone comparing them to prophets except you. And you are the one who said the prophet had not gone about punishing people for murder, rape and crimes against humanity. Surely that was a typo because I have read passages in the Quran where that is simply not true. But I haven't read where he said to kill those who criticized him. The opposite in fact.

Keep political discussions out of this thread, please - stick to the topic. Everyone is warned in a general manner. No sectarian discussions, and no off-topic discussions about political figures who are not directly related to this thread.

Problems? Pm me.

Faisal (Bhai ) Up till your above post, I had a lot of respect in my heart for you but you just torn that level of respect into pieces. I thought you were among those people on this forum who are quite sensible about their sayings and think 2ice before they say anything.

FYI, I wanted to slit that persons throat because he used :saw: with this person called " GHULAM AHAMAD :saw:" <---- If this use of DAROOD doesn’t trouble you then it your problem. It troubles me the most because I can’t stand my prophets darood shareef been used on someone else. I can’t bear the disrespect of a person because of whom I was made. ( I never said anything about the use of :saw: with prophet Mohammad ((sallallaho alayhe wassallam) as an compulsion. Do whatever you think is rite if you are muslim use it, if you don’t want to then may Allah give guide you.
PS. Don’t say stuff that you are not so sure of in public about someone. You might as well be tarnishing someone’s image badly and at least I don’t appreciate that. You stayed quite when someone played with the respect of Mohammad :saw: with his feet, you had not even ONE word to say at that time, and now you actually have the guts to come on my back and say how I would slit someone’s throat on what. ?

** Brother Dulfiqar** MashAllah I am really touched by the love you possess for Prophet Mohammad ((sallallaho alayhe wassallam). May Allah s.w.t give you ajar for what you doing on this forum? (Dont worry a lot of people will question your love for Prophet Mohammad (sallallaho alayhe wassallam).

As for all the rest of the people, I have to say couple things and have some questions. Please answer who ever disagrees with the fact that whoever disrespects Prophet Mohammad (sallallaho alayhe wassallam) should NOT be punished.

It is a pity of a thing to see how many people actually come on this forum and actually have the guts to say something whether one should be punished for disrespecting prophet Mohammad (sallallaho alayhe wassallam). Sad, a person for whom this whole universe was made you people have doubts and questions about his respect? What is wrong with you guys? No, I am not being emmotional here; but by saying all those things in twisted words, don’t you people believe that you are actually compromising with the respect of Prophet Mohammad (sallallaho alayhe wassallam)?
By reading many of the replies here I assume that if a person comes on your face and curses the living hell out of Prophet Mohammad (sallallaho alayhe wassallam), Majority of you are going to say** "PLEASE SIR DONT CURSE OUR PROPHET ITS NOT NICE ".**

People keep questioning where it is said that where a person should not be killed if he disrespects prophet Mohammad (sallallaho alayhe wassallam), it might not be written no where but let me tell you one thing who ever has ever done anything like that; his name is always remembered in golden letters. For example Ghazi Alam Deen Shaeed. (Do know up to now every one puts the word SHAHEED with his name).

So, how many people think that Salman Rushdee should be left alone and let him wander freely ?
-Salman

*Originally posted by armughal: *
people who had insulted the Prophet (saw) were given special orders to be killed wherever they were found....

What would you say of the incident when Abdullah b. Ubayy (leader of munafiqun) said, "By Allah, when we return to Medina the most honorable will drive out the meanest."... What could be more blasphemic statement than this one.

And Referring to this incident, the Quran says:

They [the munafiqun] say: ‘When we return to Medina the one most honorable shall surely drive out the meanest.’ True honor belongs to Allah, to His Messenger and believers; but the hypocrites know it not. (63.9)

When Abdullah, son of Abdullah b. Ubayy, heard of this affair, he went to the Prophetsa and said:

‘I have heard that you want to kill Abdullah b. Ubayy for what you heard about him. If you must, order me to do it and I will bring his head, for Al-Khazraj know they have no man more dutiful to his father than I. I am afraid that if you order someone else to kill him, I could not bear to see his executioner walking around and might kill him. I would therefore be killing a believer for an unbeliever and I would certainly be damned.’

The Prophetsa said: ‘No, but let us deal kindly with him and make much of his companionship while he is with us.’

And after he died, when Huzur (saw) was about to conduct namaz-e-janaza of him, 'Umar stood up and caught hold of the garment of Allah's Messenger (may peace be upon him) and said: Allah's Messenger, are you going to conduct prayer for this man, whereas Allah has forbidden you to offer prayer for him? Thereupon Allah's Messenger (may peace be upon him) said: Allah has given me an option as He has said: "You may beg pardon for them or you may not beg pardon for them, and even if you beg pardon for them, seventy times" (ix. 80), and I am going to make an addition to the seventy. He was a hypocrite and Allah's Messenger (may peace be upon him) offered prayer for him and Allah, the Exalted and Glorious, revealed this verse: "Do not offer prayer for any one of them at all and do not stand upon their graves for (offering prayer over them)" (ix. 84).

This is the prophet (saw) we know and we follow - Al hamdolillah.

Pak Muhammad Mustafa (saw) - Nabion ka sardar....

*Originally posted by storch: *
Apparently, Stu has earned your ridicule. Now to the subject.

How strongly do you feel about the subject of the post? Let's say it turned out to be a rock solid truth, widely accepted. Do you think it's right to kill someone for this?

I personally don't think that a Prophet who was sent as a "Rehmatul lil aalamin" (Blessing for the worlds) would order to kill someone who insulted him. God has made "Judgement Day" for some reason.

May Allah swt guid me and all towards right path. Ameen.

*Originally posted by zakiahmed: *

As you said rightly, Huzur(saw) is Rahmat-ul-lilalameen, but going out and killing people who talk against him doesn't portray his this high status. Or does it?

He is Rahmat-ul-lilalameen, that is why he showed mercy even upon his greatest of enemies and that is the path he layed before us to follow.

yar these are all acts of Huzoor (SAW) and earlier on also the one quoted about Hazrat Ali (RA)....these were their 'faile' as we call in urdu....but what is ur responsibility as a muslim.....this is where your whole faith and imaan is tested.....what is wrong with u people cant u see.....dont mix this with the fact that Islam is a religion of peace and that, we are taught by Huzoor SAW and his acts, to forgive....sure forgiveness is taught, but not in this case....this is somebody ridiculing ur FAITH AND IMAAN FOR GOD'S SAKES.

if someone says anything bad to u, u'll probably spare him, u'll probably tell him to mind his tongue and move on....but what if somebody says bad about u, infront of ur younger brother.....do u think he'd spare the guy!!!

Mr. sssidd,

My question for you would be that should we be following the sunnah of the Holy Prophet (peace be upon him) how he treated the people who commited blasphemy or we should be making our own laws to deal with people like it!

yar these are all acts of Huzoor (SAW) and earlier on also the one quoted about Hazrat Ali (RA)....these were their 'faile' as we call in urdu....but what is ur responsibility as a muslim.....this is where your whole faith and imaan is tested.....what is wrong with u people cant u see.....dont mix this with the fact that Islam is a religion of peace and that, we are taught by Huzoor SAW and his acts, to forgive....sure forgiveness is taught, but not in this case....this is somebody ridiculing ur FAITH AND IMAAN FOR GOD'S SAKES.

if someone says anything bad to u, u'll probably spare him, u'll probably tell him to mind his tongue and move on....but what if somebody says bad about u, infront of ur younger brother.....do u think he'd spare the guy!!!

No one is arguing how painful it is to hear blasphemic words against the one we love the most. Ofcourse, one can lose his temper under such circumstances. And that is the time where faith is tested. All we can do at that time is to first, pray for him, so that Allah shows him right path. And if still he goes on to do blasphemy against huzur(saw), we can pray against him and leave him to Allah to punish him.

No individual/govt. has a right to 'kill' a blasphemer, that is for sure.

And btw, who could be more dear to Allah than Huzur(saw). Isn't HE sufficient to punish a blasphemer?

SalmanNY

My first post which you quoted is a question. I didn’t give an opinion. So why are you upset? Feel free to answer the question.

The second post is to point out that different people have different levels of tolerance. While you want to slit the throat of a person who uses :saw: with someone else. Can you say every muslim will slit the throat? And I didn’t even take your name, and wasn’t even sure who it was, unless you admitted it just now. I just remembered that someone on Gupshup said that he will slash the throat of another member because they had disrespected the Prophet :saw:

You stayed quite when someone played with the respect of Mohammad with his feet, you had not even ONE word to say at that time

Typically, I don’t waste my time discussing stuff with people who have no intention of learning or understanding a point, cz I have better things to do. If you want to spend your time with eggheads, feel free. But don’t expect everyone to join you in your wars against ignorant and stupid people.

Faisal Bhai, I just have this Hadiath of Prophet Mohammad :saw: to say in your reply.

** Rasulullah S.A.W. said, "I only curse 3 types of people;

1. Those people who do not look after their parents when they are in old age.
  2. Those people who do not take full advantage of the blessed month of Ramadan.
  3. Those people who don not say, ‘Salallahu -Alayhay- -Wa-Aalahay Wasallam’ when my name is mentioned."**

I just didn’t want to be one of those people on whom Allah’s apostle curse would come. Yes we can either sit back and watch these ignorant and stupid people roaming around and play with the respect of Prophet Mohammad :saw: or at least we can take out 1 min of our lives and add a line against them so they get a clear message that Mohammad :saw: is just not an ordinary figure and they cant just say things against his highness with such comfort.

JazakkAllah.

(Sorry for the strong use of words in my first post, I just had the assumption that you misunderstood where I was coming from and I think you still do not understand what I meant and what turned out to be at the end).

With Regards,
-Salman

You are right. Its still not clear to me what you meant or mean. You want to slash throats of other people? Or you do not? The main point is do you take law into your own hands or do you let a sharia court decide such matters.

You quoted a question by me in your earlier post. I don’t think you have provided any clear answer to that, other than rhetorical repetition of your love and respect for the Prophet :saw:. Which is all fine and good, but for the purpose of this discussion is neither here nor there.

Anyway, as I said before, I don’t intend to waste my or your time here. I’d rather spend that one minute in a more useful activity. Happy posting. :slight_smile: