Karachi turning into a ghetto?

Re: Karachi turning into a ghetto?

Even though Naimatullah Khan was from JI who I dislike, he was a good mayor.

Of course he could not get re-elected with Mush supporting the MQM, allowing their usual goonda/criminal tactics.

I think Farid's comprehensive post has answered a lot of yoru questions.

^^ I am not very much into politics, since I believe that political arguments should not be affecting the city’s infrastructure or obstructing with the people’s rights… it’s very sad to see that politics (corrupt politics included) are at the helm of almost everything in Pakistan. However I do know that Naimatullah Khan was mostly a good mayor (apart from his dog-killing techniques) and his work is really visible even now. Maybe Mustafa Kamal is not as quick as Naimatullah but he’s also trying to move on with the improvements–and I particularly appreciate his considerations to the environment. And yes TheRealDeal you are right, Mr. Farid’s comprehensive reply answered most of my questions…

Farid bhai, the newspaper again more or less was the same old format today as well… well, at least the ban on plastic bags is working :). Here, check out this story http://www.dawn.com/2007/03/24/local10.htm. Some stupid transporters stopped the traffic for 7 hours just because the police dealt improperly with them…

retroguy02,

There is another letter to editor in today’s Dawn. Read it.

http://www.dawn.com/2007/03/24/letted.htm#8

Not tall buildings

WE are only fooling ourselves by constructing the tallest building on earth in Karachi. What we need are good roads, hospitals, and, of course, law and order.

And as long as Karachi has overflowing gutters and pools of stinking water, no one will think it is a city worth emulating. If only our leaders spent more time reading newspapers, they’d know what the people of Karachi want.

SHAKIR LAKHANI
Karachi

^^ Yes I read it, as well as another letter about the condition of the roads. It's exactly what I believe, we need to treat our priorities as priorities. I am particularly very saddened about the lack of certain basic pieces of infrastructure, which I will briefly mention here:

• Sewage system: Definitely our top priority... we need a sewerage system that is able to handle the pop.'s requirements without affecting the environment. And yes water treatment plants too!

• Environment: For God's sake plant some trees and get a few biofilters and wet scrubbers in the city, our air pollution levels and greenery need to be mended for a healthy quality of life. Plus some restrictions should be put on senseless deforestation, and reforestation should never be considered lightly.

• Corruption: This is what answers most of our questions... everything from politics to street crime to education to traffic control, this element is almost pervasive. If law and order is maintained, we will put an effective end to this.

But one question that remains to be answered is--who's got the guts to do that? I won't say that we're doing too bad a job when it comes to roads, and although a few plans to aid the sewage system and environment are also in the pipeline (e.g. ban on polythene bags), in most cases we're still subpar of our requirements :(. Even more importantly, these projects need to be completed within a time limit.

"But one question that remains to be answered is--who's got the guts to do that? I won't say that we're doing too bad a job when it comes to roads, and although a few plans to aid the sewage system and environment are also in the pipeline (e.g. ban on polythene bags), in most cases we're still subpar of our requirements . Even more importantly, these projects need to be completed within a time limit".

You seemed to be quite confused. Your such posts do not make any sense. If you are part of MQM who has no guts to challenge government at centre, then silence is golden. If you can not improve the situation then remeber Isamail Merthi's

Momin ho to kisee kay kaam aao
Warna Khao peo aur chalay jao

As every one has done since late 80's.

FARID

^^ How do I seem confused? I’m just saying that we need a bold person to do all the work that still needs to be done… since currently our development rate is still rather slow for our pop. needs. And I hate MQM whenever they exploit the city (rallies, road damage, crime, what-not) for their lecherous deeds.

And as far as you calling me “confused” :rolleyes: is concerned, remember that almost each and every person in Karachi is confused… and no offence, it can include your and my relatives as well.

Since the last few days Dawn's Local page has been pretty disturbing. Sewerage problems are frequent and there's almost always a complaint about lack of electricity supply... read today's Local page of Dawn; it's so sad, government employees don't get their salaries :(. I think we should put an end to the rampant privatization in Karachi, and somehow make them government-affiliated (govt partly benefits from them). Plus the public really needs to pay their taxes; the public should know what will really benefit them... maybe if we show the govt that we're with them, the govt will also bother to do something for us.

Sad news: http://www.dawn.com/2007/04/22/local2.htm, The title pretty much says it all.. someone needs to knock some sense in these idiots. They need to know how road infrastructure is supposed to cope with the environment.. what to say, hamara maadran Karachi.

^ They are cutting down trees to build road infrastrature. Pretty sad how systems is screwed up.

Sadly things are not progressing at all

There have been protests in several parts of Pakistan’s biggest city, Karachi, over continued power cuts.

The protests follow a fresh night of shortages in many parts of the city.
Religious and business leaders are threatening a city-wide campaign to persuade people to stop paying their electricity bills.

Power shortages have also affected many other parts of Pakistan, at a time when temperatures have been rising well above 40C (104F)

We have been spending a better part of the nights during the past week out on the pavements because the heat is unbearable and the fans don’t turn," Azhar Qureshi, a resident of the eastern Malir district of Karachi, told the BBC.

Fahim Lodhi, a student from the Gulistan-e-Jauhar area, said the shortages were playing havoc with his studies.
“The high school exams are on but there is no question of studying in this suffocating heat and darkness.”

More acute

The largest demonstration in Karachi was organised by the Islamic MMA alliance outside a mosque in the Gulshan-e-Iqbal area.

Members of the All Pakistan Small Business Association (APSBA) also demonstrated in central Karachi.

Repeated power failures have also affected water supplies and sewerage pumps as well as business and industry.

Power cuts happen regularly in the Pakistani summer, but consumers say they are more acute this year.

Most areas in major cities have gone without electricity for anywhere between three to six hours every day, they say.

The federal Water and Power Development Authority (Wapda) announced plans for scheduled power cuts on 31 March but has not issued timings for different areas.

Consumers say power outages often catch them by surprise and recur several time a day.

Localised protests have been reported from dozens of cities across the country since early April, often leading to clashes with the police and electricity company staff.

The southern ciity of Karachi, with its 15m population, is the worst hit.

‘Inefficient’
]Mohammad Adil Siddiqui, the provincial minister for industries, has said that traders and manufacturers in Karachi are incurring daily losses of one billion rupees ($16m).

He says Karachi needs 650 megawatts of power for daily consumption, but that Wapda is only supplying 300mw to the city.

However, Wapda officials say they are supplying 625mw of power to the recently privatised Karachi Electric Supply Corporation.

Wapda says that the country generates a total of 11,200mw power but that total consumption needed during the summer rises to 12,500mw, causing power failures. Critics say Wapda has failed to tap all available resources or augment its distribution network, which they say is very inefficient. Power theft by major consumers, often with the connivance of Wapda staff, is another problem which has prolonged Wapda’s financial woes, they say.

My dear this the other way round! Indeed Naimatullah Khan was elected with the support of Musharraf who forced MQM to boycott the local bodies election in 2000-2001 through Mr. Moeen Haider.

Due to international pressure for restoration of democracy, Musharraf had to hold elections in 2002 which resulted in MQM coming into power and he could not stop them participating in 2005 elections!

a letter to the editor s not really divine word, especially when the writer has his facts wrong to begin with. The proposed building is not going to be the tallest building in the world by any means. The proposed towers in Seoul, Shanghai, Chicago would all be higher.

I guess its about time that the leeches in the rest of the joint start getting less and Karachi getting more share of the revenue it generates for the country.

^^ True. Perhaps now people might even consider moving out of Islamabad (considered the biggest tax eater up till this point) after the extremism cases that burst out over there.. but how are these greedy businessmen going to benefit *Karachiites? W*hen you say "Karachi" you're only talking about the city's economy, not the way it is being used.

More Karachi citizens complain about the lack of progress, with the city even going backwards

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=52655

Power crisis

Once known as the city of lights, Karachi has now become a rudderless ship with no chartered path. It was once the hub of economic and industrial activity, now it is marketing imported generators, UPS and emergency lights and batteries. People are facing electricity breakdowns every day for several hours. The recent change of guard at the KESC has also failed to provide any relief to the public.

It is therefore believed that the sale of KESC to foreign buyers is only a concocted paper deal perhaps on the lines of PTCL and Pakistan Steel. Thanks to Chief Justice Supreme Court the Steel Mill deal did not go through and PTCL’s assets transfer has been stayed under orders of the Sindh High Court.

It would therefore be in the fitness of things if the Honourable Chief Justice of the Sindh High Court were to take suo motu notice of the grave situation created by the KESC in inflicting a severe blow and damage to not only economic and commercial activities of the city but also to the life of the city’s residents.

Ali Ashraf Khan

Karachi

Why didn't ppl in Karachi still pick on with alternative energy, solar/ wind? Hamaray maadran shehar ko abhi tak bijli naseeb nahin :(.

dude of ppl in interior sindh and baluchistan can whine about not getting their due share, then Karachi by all means has a much stronger case.

But teh city has been shortchanged for a very long time, and the justified grievances have been brushed under the rug by linking them to the thuggery of MQM and thus discrediting the issues that people of karachi had, that no one seemed to give a damn about...

and I am not talking abour businessmen, I am talking about larger allocations towards karachi for infratsructure development and maintenance. There is only so much one can do with what karachi gets.

why do we have to put the blame anywhere but on ourselves? ppl in karachi - even the richest, most "modern" of them - often don't properly pay their taxes.. if the karachiites themselves are so heedless about their city, it's only ridiculous to expect funding from other provinces and businesses to make the funds for karachi's infrastructure development and maintenance.

I totally agree. It is about time Karachi became an independent country with Syed Mustafa Kamal as its PM.

:aejaz::nuch:

no one is asking for funds from other provinces and cities. Karachi needs to get a fair share of federal and provincial development funds based on what jarachi contributes.

taxes are an issue in the entire country 90%+ ppl nationwide dont pay their taxes so its not unique to karachi. its wrong, but its not like people in Karachi are nto paying their taxes and thus are asking for funds from other areas where people are paying their taxes. Its more of an equitable distribution of national and provincial budgets.