Karachi turning into a ghetto?

Re: Karachi turning into a ghetto?

"I don't know where in the hell did you get the idea that sewerage and drinking water is mixed in middle-class areas."

I am telling you again I am talking about the same hell which is present Karachi. Every time you write, word hell oozing like oozing sewer from your mouth. This thing is going on PECHS, SMCHS Block A and Block B, Shaheed-e-Millat Road, Karsaz, areas of Defecnce, Bath Island, Clifton, Garden East and West etc etc and please don't hide the facts. Karachi is not what it used to be, accept the fact.

FARID

^^ I do accept the fact that Karachi is far from being good, but denying that improvements are being brought in is simply ridiculous. I've never lived in Clifton, Defence etc. so don't expect me to know how the sewers there work... although I have lived in the middle-class areas and the sewers don't do half as bad a job as you mentioned (unless it rains--once again, we are far from being good). Do you wanna bring that old system back where a cleaner would scoop up the poo from the toilet and throw it out? Hmm... dunno how'd that work out, my nana told me that it was the kind of sewerage they used to have during his time.

And by the way, what did Karachi used to be? Seriously, I don't care; there's no point of looking back. Dude, cities grow, economies grow, people get more informed... you can stick to that "I want it exactly the way it was before" attitude unless you wanna keep moving ahead. And make no mistake, I am absolutely not in favor of the current condition of Karachi--whether be it lower class, middle class or upper class--I am only in favor of the improvements that are being made. And Farid bhai if you think that there's something wrong with the improvements, please bother to share it here with a decent explanation.

"Do you wanna bring that old system back where a cleaner would scoop up the poo from the toilet and throw it out? Hmm... dunno how'd that work out, my nana told me that it was the kind of sewerage they used to have during his time."

Again a lie. Karachi had excellent sewer system since partition. At that it was one of the cleanest city of world. What you are talking about refugees who came through Khokhrapar was using that kind of toilet in India, in camps they might have resorted to this type of practice.

FARID

open nalas with sewerage flowing through it was a common sight in areas like shah faisal colony, these are places where pipes were not laid so all the crap was flushed into open naalis thatthen went and joined open nalas. It was not until the 90's that that proper sewerage was installed.

I dont think it was that exellent, during rain the shyt backed up into people's courtyards and flowed in the streets..

I am willing to listen to Mr. Dalai Llama if he's willing to convert to Islam.. Inshallah that'll happen some day.

Haris Bhai, Farid jaan must have gone to Layra or Orangi- two localities I'll never visit again- I had very bad experience.. I was mistreated for who I am.. I feel sorry for myself. Farid bhai, have you visited Tariq Road-Bahadurabad Road lately? Its posh yaar. Have you checked Gulshan-e-Iqbal?

Karachi started turning into a ghetto with the advent of the BB gov't in '88, this trend increased sharply with the rise of MQM power around the same time, culminating with a complete breakdown during the mid-ninties...With the organized crime syndicate of MQM again back at the helm, the ghettoization and complete deterioration of the infrastructure is yet again in a full swing...

^^ That's what I hate about our country... even f***ing thing has got something to do with politics. I simply don't see why should the ppl suffer if the political parties are having a problem with each other. That means that the backbone of our constitution has been broken. Political parties only have the right to disrupt each other; not the people's rights, not the infrastructure, not the environment.
This is why I appreciate Mustafa Kamal, he knows that even if he bombs the rival party's office he isn't going to win the election if the people are not with him--and the people are going to be with him only if he improves the city and thus their lives... instead, Mr. Kamal tries to *earn *his place as the nazim. After all how much rigging can the political parties actually do? Maybe upto a few million people, but in a city of at least 14.5 million people there are way more ppl who vote the person they want to. The rigging issue even once came in media light and a wise person said that despite all the rigging that was done (I believe it was last election), the number of ppl who vote their chosen one will always be more.

According to the statement you just made the govt of that time was stupid. Karachi wasn't made as a city for 15 million people, but still business was being encouraged--which obviously attracts more population. And more population is pure trouble unless you have kickass infrastructure designed for that number of population--which our city lacked and still lacks. I think it was not until recent years--starting from Naimatullah Khan--that we actually took steps ahead. I don't know where did you get the idea that I am saying that "former Karachi's" infrastructure wasn't good--I'm only saying that it didn't support the amount of people the city was destined for.

And by the way, I just included that example to make my point clear... and forgot to add, my nana was telling me about his days in India :p. Anyway, Farid bhai can you now once again refer to post#42 and kindly give a complete reply to it :).

"And by the way, what did Karachi used to be? Seriously, I don't care; there's no point of looking back. Dude, cities grow, economies grow, people get more informed... you can stick to that "I want it exactly the way it was before" attitude unless you wanna keep moving ahead. And make no mistake, I am absolutely not in favor of the current condition of Karachi--whether be it lower class, middle class or upper class--I am only in favor of the improvements that are being made. And Farid bhai if you think that there's something wrong with the improvements, please bother to share it here with a decent explanation."

I have already responded to your indecent and incorrect observation. As regard to improvments, which improvements are you talking about? Give me one or two examples than you get the answer. Karachi was fully developed since patition had number of idustries, airport, sea port etc. Only difference is that in past roads were cleaned through spray of water. Bandur-Road now m.a.jinah road was the cleanest road what to talk about Drigh road and other roads. Karachi population gradually increased and upto late 70's improvements paced up with population. Karachi started to deface during Zia-ul-Haq regime when he created MQM and it has continued to deface till today.

FARID

^^ Yes, Karachi was definitely fully developed at time of partition, and it is proven by the fact that it was the capital of Pakistan. But what since then? Muslim migrants from India largely came to Karachi, due to its richness in businesses and potential of employment and investment. During this time Karachi's future image was somewhat inevitable, the biggest evidence being the hunt for a new capital... or else why in the hell would they build up a whole new city in the middle of a forest? And while the employment/ investment/ businesses rates went up, all of it was still balanced on the infrastructure that existed since partition.

I am not sure of what happened since then, but as you say that improvements were being made for the growing pop. during the 70's... but even if it was true, the improvements were still inadequate to parallel the pop. growth. And I guess the govt just gave up after that point or no one had the guts to actually try to work up to the pop.'s needs... until Naimatullah Khan in the early 2000s, and since then Mustafa Kamal has sensibly followed the development trail. Now Karachi will once again be able to cater the needs of its pop. and be like the way it was back during partition, only more "modernized" and upscaled. The one thing we must be careful about right now is making sure that all the improvement procedures are carried out properly with all the necessary steps taken.

First of its sad to see that to many of us the entire Pakistan is ONLY "Karachi". We are still fighting with one freakin finger even though we can make a nice fist and fight back.

I would also like to congratulate our friend Retroguy02 just like many other politicians he has managed to write a nice essay on "the Bugget of Pakistan" which sums up to give or take 10 Billion Dollars.

I will be very honest with you its fabulous that you can do a nice speech but it does not tell us how we can help?

Yes indeed! you did mention a lot of great points but i guess we are forgetting the main picture.

You mentioned about education! Well there were various kids after Earthquake that needed educational support. How many of us actually did something about that? *

I am please to hear that you are against abortions. Just think for one mintue and put yourself in this girl's shoes. You are 15 just got raped and 3 months later you found out you got pregnant. [Ding Dong]
In case if i forgot to mention or our reader has forgotten we are ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF PAKISTAN.

You stated something about Zaakat too. How we need to gather good people and do somethign about it. Well guys there are various organization and they are doing good things. Such as Islamic Relief, Zindagi trust, ICNA, ISNA, CARE etc. We do need to have faith in them. If you feel you can't trust them ask around. Find out where their money goes. These organizations have to comply with US Fund rules etc. We need to learn how to trust people. Ex. Wherever you get your chicken or meat from you are trusting that guy gets Haalal meat/chicken.

I strongly belief there are many Pakistanis who did something for Pakistan especially after earthquake but its not enough.

Many of us like to sit on our behinds and just type stuff up on GS.

Retroguy you do have some good points. Find out some website where you can give your suggestions to Pakistani' Government. I am sure your suggestion will be twisted in billion places and might turn out to be something else but atleast you did something.

In the end I would like to give some credit to ourselves. You know this nation [US] has been around for ages. Pakistan is a New country and i think wherever we are today we have come pretty far.
Our country has produced excellent Music, Poetry, Fashion, Smart Brains, Talented people, Cricket [even though we lost but we have won in the past and Inshallah we will come back with a positive image], Gupshup [Azkar came up with idea and look where it is today. Its like a roof for many Pakistanis to voice their opinion on million things], we have Excellent doctors. [my brain just froze time to go to bed] and list goes on

Friends try looking at the positive things that our country has done as well. Ungli uthana bohot asaan hota hai. Lets do something about it.
and this is where you start from. You hear so many events going go there be part of that group, be part of our culture. If we wont do it i can assure your our grand kids will forget what their roots are. They will consider themselves Americans/Canadians/British ONLY. But truth is we are Pakistani American/Pakistani Canadian/Pakistani Britain.

• Restrict land owning to one plot per lineage (maternal lineage of a person, starting from great grandfather, then grandfather and so on). It's okay if you add more habitable floors to your house and so all family members can live peacefully and in privacy.

• Encourage condominium/apartment living! Make tall residential buildings so we don't have to clear more land for living space. In general, we really need efficient space conservation.

• Do something to reduce pollution. Plant greenery (big trees in particular) here and there; promote land owners to plant their gardens with big trees and help themselves. Not only does this better the quality of living it also stabilizes the natural beauty of our city. Also, don't forget to register any kind of fuel-using vehicles and mandate frequent check-ups on them. Recycling should be vigorously promoted as well.

• Encourage public transportation. Boost up the bills for personal transportation (cars, motorcycles etc.) so that people are automatically discouraged from using cars. And for God's sake implement an uniform, organized, proper, pollution-free public transportation system. This might also encourage walking and cycling.
    /*]

• Increase the standard of public education. Encourage people to regularly pay their taxes and discourage private education... since many of the low-income people of the city can't afford private education and many good teachers go for private schools in search of a better income. Also, definitely do offer some health care plans.

• Now last but definitely not least--increase job opportunities! There are definitely lots of things need to be done (mostly by labor people) so why not recruit some of the low-income people of the city (via volunteers or similar campaign) and give them some labor job (environmental cleaning, painting buildings etc.) for a decent salary (at this point even 5,000-10,000 Rs./month will be decent for them). Give them accomodation in a decent building free for the first year, and let them pay all their bills (gas, electric, water, residence) for the second and third year, this way no one suffers and do make them sign a contract that they live in the building for at least 3 or so years so they don't take advantage of you!
    Basically the reason I so highly stressed the last point is that we do need lots of things to get going--from construction to roadside planting--and we have the people for it who are otherwise earning by illegitimate shoddy businesses. We just need to organize all those people. But one question still remains to be answered - Where will the money come from? Zakaat, charity if they are well organized... and I think we really should impose some kind of a special "poor people" tax on wealthy people so they can actually make some good use of their money.

I know that I missed out many topics but I just wrote what came immediately in my mind and what I felt were the most important in my view. However, a sinking feeling that I have is that unless we take these basic steps... Karachi might be turning into a ghetto.

From what I have been reading recently, there is a lot of good development going on in Karachi. Thanks to City Nazim Syed Mustafa Kamal.

Rs16bn projects to solve water issue

http://www.dawn.com/2007/03/23/local7.htm

As someone living in Karachi, i can tell you it’s talk, talk, and more talk.

The only thing getting bigger is the politcians wallets.

Once again your ‘joke’ of ‘thanking’ a different party/politcian in every post is getting very annoying

Alhamdulilallah brother ReadDeal.

There is too much hatred in the world already. As the great Dalai Lama said, 'One should seek good in everyone'. Even BB and Musharaf. Let's hope their soon to be partnership is as good for Pakistan as the great Nazim of Karacahi has been for Karachi.

Thanks for the compliments, and I really appreciate your "don't talk the talk, walk the walk" attitude. Let me tell you how much do I walk the walk; for now, very little--sitting here in Canada (and before that in Dubai) and only going to Pakistan on visits about every year. So far my practical help has been on this website called PAWS Pakistan, it promotes awareness of fauna and animal rights; many veterinarians based in Pakistan also show up on the website seeking updates on the conditions of animals in the country and discussing the problems with other forum members... I gave out handfuls of advices and encouraged the veterinarian forum members to keep up and enhance their service to God's beautiful creatures. < Well, that was for your info :)

Hmm... I dug out a little more deeper into the news the past few days. There are improvements underway, and many have been made--but in certain cases the assigned officials aren't carrying out their duties properly... however, arrangements are being made for that. I think we seriously do need to boost up the pace of our improvements, but in the long run we are moving ahead. There have also been reports that Mustafa Kamal isn't as consistent as Naimatullah Khan was, although isn't doing very bad a job either. I think that despite the fixes underway, our mayors still need to boost up the pace of it. But generally we are doing better now, and I could sense a change when I went to Karachi this year... so don't give up hope yet.

The person who's reply I am looking for right now is Mr. Farid.*

You want reply from me, here is the reply. I tried to be logical and more accurate but you keep on same rhetoric. This improvement had not made lives of people easy. When you deface city by destroying old buildings/houses for the sake of ugly multistory buildings, without any plan. You keep on increasing a number of vehicles on same roads, your so called improvement would hardly matter. Here is little mathematics for you.

Speed is a fucntion and directly proportional to # of roads and inversely proportional to # of vehicles. When your numerator is constant (Hardly any improvements in roads) and denominator keeps on increasing what would happen. Speed would go lower and lower until it is equal to zero. (Traffic Jams)

Unless you tackle the root cause of ugliness, you would always be beating behind the bush. Read it for your satification.

. Karachi 43 up, 19 down

Karachi is housed to hard working people from all over Pakistan which pay ultra regressive taxes to Islamabad(Pakistan capital) to develop Islamabad infrastructure while Karachi rots.

LAW AND ORDER:
Law and Order is only possible for those who can afford it i.e. people with political and financial connections.

DRINKING WATER:
Drinking water is also questionable but not as poisonous as Hyderabad’s(Karachi neighboring city) water supply.

SEWAGE SYSTEM:
Sewage systems can rival Baghdad’s system after the fall of Saddam. Karachi’s sewage is dump in the sea killing the mangrooves if any of them are left from land hungry mafia.

POWER:
Power Supply is expensive all thanks to World Bank and their local cronies. Load shedding in summers is as infrequent as Hurricanes without wind. Power theft is also common.

CORRUPTION:
From public to private sector corruption is rampant. If a suppose a bridge is constructed 10% will be spent on actual bridge and rest 90% goes to pockets of cronies (Figures by Dr. Mehboob, Economist) Pakistan Planning Commision puts the figure 40% lost to corruption.

COMPENSATION:
Labor, workers, employees are under paid all over the city with few notable exceptions. School teachers are worst paid too. Most of it can be attributed to greedy nature of some Karachites.

TRAFFIC:
Traffic is worse than Italy. For traffic rules violation people can bribe Karachi’s finest on the road without any shame. Karachi also home to Worse drivers. Road sense is as abundant as water on moon. Drivers are not the only ones, pedestrians can be seen crossing the road where ever they feel like.

LITTER:
Karachites rich and poor, can be seen throwing garbage, bottles, wrappers without any shame. Dust bins are non-existent. Spitting is common thing.

QUEUES:
Karachites don’t make queues. Strongest person usually wins.

ENTERTAINMENT CENTERS:
Eating is the favorite pastime since there are not so many outing places for people to visit beside Sea, which itself sees coal and oil spills there.

POLITICS:
More of a Dark ages system. Here violence is frequent and incompetent politicans found in abundance. All parties claiming this city belongs to them.

SEX TRADE:
Poor refugees are exploited routinely and are exported to Gulf estates. Local girls can be found easily if one knows where to look for.

EDUCATION:
Education department is also corrupt to the extent some students can give their exams at home. College teacher comes to student home asking for money in exchange of telling the questionnaire.

HONESTY:
Honesty is not the strongest point of Karachites. From insider trading to petty cheats all is consider ok even by most educated people.

PUNCTUALITY:
Coming late on weddings and meetings is common. Most common excuse is traffic or there was no light at home.

Now some good points.

• Most Karachites are hard working.
  • Most are educated and civilized than rest of the country.
  • Most Karachites immigrate to first world nation to live in like minded society.

Abdul: I am from Karachi.
Simon: Nice place. (Trying to be nice, don’t want to mention his horrible experience at Karachi airport)

by Kasem Shah Aug 31, 2004 email it
permalink: del.icio.us
Send to a friend
your email:
their email:
send me the word of the day (it’s free)

1. karachi 24 up, 3 down

Largest city in Pakistan (pop. 6.5 million), although not it’s capital (Islamabad). Port city.

Karachi is the largest city in Pakistan.

by brendan Mar 7, 2004 email it
3. karachi 15 up, 14 down

The largest city in Pakistan.
1% of its population is living good while 99% of the people suffer on a daily basis.
They have more problems in one day than we have in a whole year.
I come from karachi and I have seen some pretty nasty things in life.
Dogs eating aborted babies on the side of the road.
10 year old girls being raped.
man being shot in front of his whole family.
people killing other people for a simple thing like a mobile phone.
In the rain a 2 yearold boy with fever lay in his mothers arm as she screamed for some one to stop to take her to some place safe while people in big lexus SUVs drove past almost crushing her.
young kids eat probably once a week while working 15+ hours a day without pay.
Yes it sucks to be a 13 yo stuck there knowing that there are people in the same world overfeeding their fat kids.
Who wait for the food to spoil before throwing it away.
“i have to make it.”
This thought was on a 15 year old karachi boy’s mind when he jumped on that plane.
20 years later he is a millionaire ceo who lives all alone in a big house, drives a big car, has a big portfolio. but He smiles at kids on the street who look at his car, offering them free rides.
“You can have it if you want it bad enough”
He doesnt plan to have kids, why? because he knows he doesnt want to put another life through this ****heap we call planet earth.

For a single dollar you can feed a kid in karachi for a month. yet you rather spend it on gum.

Someone I know

tags poverty rags to riches poor bombay brothers
by sorry1255 montana Jan 26, 2006 email it
4. karachi 4 up, 10 down

This is the worst city in the world, the many bad things you can imagine more than that exist in this Sister ****er city. One person who is educated and deciplined do not want to stay for a minute in this city and applied for immigration or visa for West world countries. This exixting Govt. of Musharaf make this country and city more worst. Plople of this city/country are the most unknowledgeable (Jahil) & un-trained, but they think they are the most intellegen people on the world.

The poeple of Karachi city only wants to earn money through any means & wants to become real estate owner. They do not want to get education and provide education to thrie children. Existing Govt. of MQM busy only opening their Estate Agencies despite doing work for public betterment.

tags mqm jahil musharaf govt. sister ****er
by Hameeduddin Landhi Karachi Nov 7, 2006 email it
5. karachi 11 up, 23 down

Karachi is the hottest and dirtiest city in the world. It is overcrowded and there is a stench of **** and piss allover. The people are rude and very primitive. In every corner and on every sidewalk, there are disgusting spits of “paan” (a kind ****ty thing that is chewed and spat). The police in there are the robber and the thief itself, so be careful and evade these snoopy dogs!

1. Karachi is even worse than ****ing Lahore, but they have both one thing in common: they are both stinky and overcrowded!
  2. In Karachi, you could be robbed easily!

tags stinky ugly dirty disgusting overcrowded
by di da Europe Jul 20, 2006 email it
6. Karachi 20 up, 31 down

From the places I’ve been, this is one of the most filthy in the planet. Bad-looking place, bad-looking people, bad-mannered professionals, bad food, bad-traffic! It is such a hell that we can understand why so many pakis are fleeing that place. After visiting Karachi, one must say it is an irony that the country’s translation means “The Land of The Pure People”!

Think dirty, think filthy, think Karachi!

^^ I hope that you are well aware of the fact that UrbanDictionary.com is not a formal source... anyhow I do agree with MOST of the stuff it said. But what it didn't mention are the improvements... anyway, I somehow sense that I am getting dragged towards Farid bhai's point of view because the news are coming up with an ironic format these days... I'll summarize it here:

[Top of "Local" page... Dawn newspaper] "Lawyers continue to strike"

[You move down a little] "A billion-dollar project for sewage management announced"

[Right beside that] "[name of street] Street submerged in sewage water after showers"

This has got me a bit shaken away from my initial attitude... but I still refuse to agree that no improvements at all are being made. We need a mayor who can actually think the problems out thoroughly before solving them (and considering them for the future pop. as well) and is strict on making sure that the projects are completed within their scheduled time, and he should take the pace of the project's development as a very crucial element. Above all we should absolutely separate our politics and developmental infrastructure... as the there's always a problem when the two collide. Despite the improvements that are being brought (not all of which are very efficient), we still have lots of things to be done.

Now you talk sense.

Karachi was not only destroyed by land mafia but establishment too is responsible for it. No mayor can challenge army about their grabbing of price lands in Karachi. Unless projects like Defense societies, Askari societies, Cantonments, grabbing parks and open spaces and later on put on sale on abnormal prices to land mafias, are put to fullstop, it would only deface Karachi further and any improvement would have dick effect.

FARID

Here is the formal source of information “Dawn Karachi” about the city. This information is based on last three days of Karachi. Read it.

http://www.dawn.com/2007/03/23/letted.htm#11

Shabby road

KARACHI’s Tipu Sultan Road, a major thoroughfare which joins Sharea Faisal and Karsaz Road, urgently needs an overhaul. Apart from a small patch damaged by rain, it has many potholes, created as a result of the digging of water and sewerage lines. These need to be patched up. What is more dangerous is that there are potholes at the crossing of Shaheed-i-Millat Road both at the entry and exit points of the crossing, resulting in a pileup of vehicles in the middle of the crossing.

By the way the yellow light at this crossing has not been working for years now.

Adding insult to injury, a police kiosk, which nobody seems to be using, has been constructed in the middle of Tipu Sultan Road at its crossing with Mian Mohammad Rafi Road, creating a blind spot for vehicles joining the main road.

MAJID KHANDWALA
Karachi

http://www.dawn.com/2007/03/23/local17.htm
KARACHI: Shah Abdul Latif Bhitai Road in shambles

By A Reporter

KARACHI, March 22: Shah Abdul Latif Bhitai Road is inundated with sewage due to choked sewerage lines in the area creating problems for motorists, pedestrians and the business community.

During a visit to the area it was observed that the entire sewerage line from Shah Abdul Latif Bhitai Hall to Aga Khan School Kharadhar was choked. Almost all the manholes in the area are without lids and people themselves have placed wooden planks on the holes, which, too, are posing a threat to the lives of people.

The sewerage water has badly damaged the road, which is in ruins, with deep ditches and potholes full of drain water resembling ponds. Some shopkeepers have filled the front sides of their shops to divert the flow of water, which has further damaged the road, as the sewage can now easily enter the streets of residential flats.

It was observed that footpaths have also been occupied by shopkeepers, vendors and hoteliers and pedestrians, especially schoolchildren and women, faced great difficulties while navigating the road. The sewerage line is blocked up to Tower, and can easily be observed near Bilquis Edhi Centre.

The area people said that they had been facing these problems for the last six years and despite their repeated requests to the authorities concerned, no attention was paid to the dilapidated road and collapsed sewerage system.

People also complained of water shortage in the localities along D. D. Chaudhry Road, saying that they had been struggling for the supply of water since 2002, but could not succeed as yet.

When contacted, area councillor Mohammad Yousuf Tola said that he had approached all officials concerned, from UC 4 to the City Nazim, and submitted applications, but to no avail.

He said that due to the dilapidated condition of the road, traffic jams were a regular feature on the only main artery leading to Keamari and Saddar, adding that during rains people could not come on to the road due to stagnant drain water.

He demanded the City Nazim take personal interest and visit the area to solve its problems.

Nazim Lyari Town was not available for comments.
http://www.dawn.com/2007/03/21/local13.htm
KARACHI: Traffic jams choke Banaras
By A Reporter

KARACHI, March 20: Commuters faced difficulties on different roads connecting to Banaras as vehicular traffic remained suspended for more than 45 minutes at Banaras Chowk due to disruption in traffic signal system on Tuesday morning.

Long queues of vehicles were observed on Manghopir Road, Qasba Colony Road, Orangi Road and Abdullah College Road. Only one traffic constable was busy manually regulating the traffic, but the situation was aggravated by the minibuses that opted for wrong side of the two way tracks.

Though some police personnel were present in a van, they did not help regulate the traffic. The portion of Shahrah-i-Orangi from Banaras Chowk to Orangi Sector-5 has been closed for the last many months for repair, which added to the miseries of commuters.

Shopkeepers said traffic problems were generally created there due to presence of handcarts on the main roads.

The only solution to the problem was construction of a flyover and removal of handcarts and inter-city buses from the roads leading to Banaras Chowk, he said.

Instead of improving the system, whenever traffic gets blocked vehicles were diverted towards Metroville, the shopkeepers said adding that the long standing problem needs proper attention of the concerned authorities.

http://www.dawn.com/2007/03/21/letted.htm#6
Second-hand refineries

THIS has reference to the news item regarding import of second-hand refineries.

The importers, as well as the government, must keep in mind the possibilities that the facilities and equipment being imported were not able to meet the environmental regulations in the countries where they were installed.

As such, they had to be taken out of service and are being sold off to countries where environmental considerations are not strictly enforced.

TARIQ RAZA
Woking, UK

http://www.dawn.com/2007/03/20/local2.htm
KARACHI: Rain trips 90 feeders

KARACHI, March 19: Residents of various localities experienced prolonged and intermittent power suspensions on Monday. A source in Karachi Electric Supply Corporation said 90 out of 850 feeders were tripped in the morning due to rain, causing suspension of power supply to many areas including PECHS, Gulshan-i-Ghazi, Usmanabad, Bara Board, parts of Orangi Town, Binori Town, Jamshed Road, Clifton, Defence, Liaquatabad, Sher Shah, Abidabad, Mauch Goth, Malir and Landhi.

However, KESC spokesman said the situation was under control and power supply was quite normal. He said the maintenance work at Bin Qasim Power Station was in progress and the KESC staff tried to improve the power generation system. He said people should take extra-precautions to protect themselves and their families from fatal electrical accidents during rains.—A Reporter

http://www.dawn.com/2007/03/20/local8.htm

KARACHI: Contaminated water kills 200,000 children annually

KARACHI, March 19: Fifty-six million people of the country do not have access to clean drinking water, and 200,000 children die of waterborne diseases every year. The situation in Karachi is not much different. The percentage of the total dissolved solids (TDS) in water samples taken from Saddar (15146mg/l), Landhi (21748mg/l) North Nazimabad (3485mg/l), Lyari (9928mg/l) and Malir (3485mg/l) is alarming as the maximum concentration of TDS allowed by the World Health Organisation (WHO) is 500mg/l.

This was mentioned at a seminar held in a hotel here on `Drinking Water Quality Assessment in Karachi, Hyderabad and Kotri’, organised by the Environment Protection Agency (EPA), Government of Sindh. The Secretary for Environment and Alternative Energy Department (EAED), Mir Hussain Ali, was the chief guest on the occasion as EAED Minister Dr Saghir Ahmed was unable to make it to the event.

Dr Abdul Haleem Yousafzai, a scientist, carried out the water assessment survey on the behalf of EPA for which their team collected 1000 water samples from Karachi, Hyderabad and Kotri.

Sharing the findings of the survey, Dr Yousafzai said the poor water supply system and improper industrial and domestic waste disposal had added to the already worsening situation. He pointed out that the percentage of TDS and chemical oxygen demand (COD), apart from the metallic ions, was found seriously high in most areas of Karachi. The percentage of TDS in some areas of the city were: Saddar (15146mg/l), Landhi (21748mg/l) North Nazimabad(3485mg/l), Lyari (9928mg/l) and Malir (3485mg/l).

Dr Yousafzai said that about 80 per cent water samples taken from Gulshan-i-Iqbal Town had fecal coliform bacteria almost 8.6 percentage points more than 30MPN/dl (a standard set by WHO).

Dr Iqbal Mohammad Bhangar, director of the National Centre of Excellence in Analytical Chemistry, in his presentation highlighted how the increase in population had a direct impact on the water shortage problem.

He also mentioned that 56 million of the country’s population was deprived of clean drinking water, and that almost 200,000 children died annually thanks to the waterborne diseases.

Dr Yar M. Khawar, dean faculty of natural sciences Jamshoro University, Dr Zahida T. Maqsood, professor of the Department of Chemistry, University of Karachi, M. Suleman Chandio from Karachi Water Supply Board and Prof Abdul Rashid Memon, director of the Institute of Environmental Engineering and Management, also discussed various issues pertaining to the water management problems, hazards faced caused by it and possible solutions to it.

Souvenirs were given to the speakers at the end of the day by the chief guest.

http://www.dawn.com/2007/03/20/letted.htm#3

Beachfront development

YOUR editorial, ‘A flawed vision’ (March 12), calling for a comprehensive, organised development of our city, in sync with a master plan, was excellent.

Perhaps another proposed mega-project may be of interest to your readers. It has shaken me to the bone.

I have recently come to know that the proposed beachfront development is not confined to Clifton and the DHA only. The government of Pakistan intends to hand over the entire coastline, stretching from the French Beach to Manora, to Dubai developers to develop.

The plan, of course, does seem to remember that the 17 million citizens of Karachi may need to go to the beach, unfettered by commercial ‘jagga’ tax, so it says that ‘portions’ may be left available to the general public.

We shall remain forever indebted to the government for this benevolence. The plan envisages cancellation of the current ownership of beach huts all along Sandspit and Hawkesbay.

My father, who did not own a beach hut, often brought my brothers and me to the beach. My mother would pack a picnic basket; we would lay a ‘daree’ on the sand, and have what I remember as the happiest times of my childhood.

Sadly, no more… We have to be like Dubai and must have five-star buildings to be able to do that now.

At least not anywhere, from the French Beach to Hawkesbay, to Sandspit, to Manora, to Keamari (crabbing), to Clifton, to the DHA, all the way round to Korangi. If we insist on being anti-development, and ask for a simple, pure beach, we will have to go to Gadani or Thatta. At least for now.

The insanity continues, relentlessly. .

HUSNAIN LOTIA
Karachi

http://www.dawn.com/2007/03/20/letted.htm#5
Sunday Bazaar

WE, the residents of Block 6, Gulshan-i-Iqbal, Karachi, appeal to the city government to rid us of vendors who occupy the whole street and cause a blockade in front of our houses, leaving no space to leave or enter our houses. They are here from 7am to 9 pm.

Their yelling, braying of donkeys and traffic jams have made our lives miserable.

There are old, sick and young ones living in the area. Sunday is a day when everyone wants to spend it peacefully after a week of tiring jobs, but with this nuisance going on for the past few months, we feel like leaving the place.

If this goes on for months unchecked, no one will like to stay here. Besides the chaos, they litter the whole street with filth and rubbish.

These vendors have stayed on undisturbed by winning police-wallahs over to their side.

The police palms are greased with a 100-rupee note by each vendor. A few weeks back there was a news item (Dawn) that the nazim has stopped the weekly bazaars in some areas, why not this one?

AREA RESIDENTS
Karachi