Karachi turning into a ghetto?

Re: Karachi turning into a ghetto?

You are proposing military budget cuts for a country surrounded by hostile neighbors?

Pakistan should INCREASE it's military spending.

Tax revenue is more likely to be stolen by bureaucrats than "powers to be".

^^ The public should really for once trust the govt. and regularly pay their taxes... at least this time around in Karachi when it is evident that a change is being tried to be made. That's why I don't like much of privatization; the ppl go after the private projects - expecting that foreign stuff would mean better stuff, although this is not necessarily the case - and rarely do our own ppl in need benefit from it. The govt. should at least encourage pvt. companies in spending in a way that benefits the ppl of Pakistan... for example, a company interested in building a low-priced decent residential bldg. should be preferred over a company interested in building a luxurious shopping mall or a 7-star hotel (tourism, right now??). Firstly, we need a just govt. In Karachi the govt has definitely being trying to better things since the last few years with whatever budget they have and it is quite evident to everyone... so paying your taxes would basically mean your and your ppl's own benefit. Dunno about other cities though... although I heard that Lahore is in quite the same vein.

Even if the govt spends more on military, paying your taxes regularly would still help out other ppl in the city... even if not as much as they would if the govt lowered their expenditure on the military. Yes, I think a formal complaint by a top judge might be needed to stop the govt's supposedly extra spenditure on the military... but that doesn't mean you stop paying your taxes!

These plans never worked. Once upon a time, KDA's Karachi Master Plan was termed Karachi ******* Plan" I think now shelved. Did ugly and dangerous crossovers solve the problems of traffic jams? No. Local government keeps on spending billions with negligible results. Recent there was exhibition "Arms for Peace"; did you know what nuisance it had created? Please let me know what your favorite MQM's Mustafa Kamal & co has done so far to the problems I have already mentioned?

Unless unauthorized buildings/structures bombed to ground, encroachers sent to jails, stoppage of leasing of cars, strengthening public transport including construction of underground sub-ways, nothing going to change in Karachi.

FARID

^^ Tsk-tsk, pessimist. Dude, what was the last time you visited Karachi? I've been visiting Karachi almost every year (except 2005) as far as I can remember... and believe me a difference is evident. Maybe it would be too optimistic to hope Karachi to be at par with any city in N. America right now, but still there is a difference. I hope you'll keep in touch with what the news have got to say.

I don't know what the hack are you talking about. I was in Karachi last month. Every time I go there I find situation worse than before.

FARID

which areas do you visit?

Abay, since they got rid of the roundabout in Lalookhet, the traffic flow has improved immensly. What do you mean nothing has improved in 30 years?

Hooray to Karachi Nazim Syed Mustafa Kamal :aejaz:

Yes too many road have been improved in Karachi! Some have been made signal-free! But they did not take care of human lives over here - the roads have become so fast! Too many people lost their lives in raod accidents here!

Now they are constructing overhead pedestrain crossing bridges! Too late!

your 'jokes' re saying hooray to a different party in each post is getting lame

'One should seek good in everyone'. Dalai Lama.

Alhamdulilallah.

eeeerrrr, ok then :confused:

Well unless you step out of Malir/ New Karachi/ Lyari/ Liaquatabad you obviously won't see quite a difference. I hope you've had a look at the roads, although reflectors on streets look rather ridiculous. And now they also have a countdown meter for some traffic signals to reduce impatience in drivers lol. I am surprised that you said that situations are getting worse, it can only be so in slums and low-income areas like the ones I mentioned, although improvements are being made for the latter. There are definitely many things that need to be fixed but improvements are underway as far as I am informed... sorry but I can't believe that one can't see any betterment at all from the last few years.

Abay, how can yo say New Karachi is bad. Have you not seen the hulla gulla at Nagan Chorangi. Could you have imagined a Hyderabad Rabdi Wala in that area 30 years ago :mad:

bhai sahab reflectors help people figure out where the street is, which can be tough when ther eis all that gard-o-ghubaar ... like a dust fog :)

countdown meters help motorists but more so help pedestrians so they can get the hell over to think twice about getting on the road unless they are michael johnson and can cross the street in 3 seconds.

I am talking about Defence Society, Clifton, Bath Island, PECHS, Guru Mandir, Nemaish, SMCHS Blocks A & B, Colonies on both sides of Shara-e- Faisal former Drigh Road etc etc etc

FAROD

a place is what people make of it!

Whatever in the hell? I’m from the typical middle-class areas of Karachi (N. Nazimabad myself, Gulshan-e-Iqbal from my mother’s side) and I saw tons of improvements… the place seriously looked like a better place to live–well yes the nullahs overflew a couple of times and the showers did flood the place but the emergency work was carried out pretty quickly and I think that pretty much explains the picture > the govt are trying to improve things; they might take some time but they will get better :insha:

One thing that I can’t deny is the roads’ conditions, even the lanes between houses (at least our houses)… they had the touch of the roads you’d find in Dubai. Plus the mosquitoes were fairly lesser than before (thanks God for that!)… and we barely took any anti-mosquito measure. However the air pollution level was still in a state of emergency, and the trees cut down should have been restored unlike what happened. So you see that I am not saying that we’re the best right now, but at least we are getting - or at the bare minimum trying to get - better. And Mr. Farid would you bother explaining how you think things were worse this time around?

"Whatever in the hell? I'm from the typical middle-class areas of Karachi (N. Nazimabad myself, Gulshan-e-Iqbal from my mother's side) and I saw tons of improvements"

When you are in Karachi you are really in the hell particularly the areas you are talking about. NN or GI it is the same every where. Broken roads, sewer oozing from buildings, traffic jams, pollution, mixing of drinking water with sewer, good for nothing ugly flyovers, filth and dirt almost found on every road/street and yes last but not the least, tons of flies in day time and mosquitoes in night time. Due to mosquitoes, a number of people died in November 2006 to January 2007 as a result of Dengue Virus. Have you ever heard of this? Perhaps not because you are member of MQM and do not want to listen to reality.

FARID

^^ Maybe you are right... but you're missing one point. There were improvements. Yes the dengue fever was horrible and took several lives... but most of them were inadequately facilitated people (low-income areas). I don't know where in the hell did you get the idea that sewerage and drinking water is mixed in middle-class areas. My cousins live in an average building in N. Nazimabad and I didn't see any oozing sewers--heck, they even had working elevators... perhaps the buildings you are talking about are unauthorized buildings or slum buildings. Pollution and traffic jams are definitely still not solved, but just how in the hell are the roads broken? I would want you to explain these points before you can shoot off more from your mouth.