Karachi tomatoes’ price goes up to Rs.140 per kg

Re: Karachi tomatoes’ price goes up to Rs.140 per kg

Rs. 40 to 45 per dozen!

^ Thanks, chalo undon se kaam chala lein ge

Yup Good!
In our area I think theyre selling 50/kg now, can you buy 5Kg for me I'll pick em up from your place :D

And youre right every year in Ramazan and also on EidAzha tomato prices always shoot up.

Never have they shot up from 25 to 140... stop defending the govt so ardently, it makes you lose any credibility that you had...

I read tomater was being imported from India. Is that true?

The prices are now down, Eid is over, and people do not want to throw tomatoes at BB now, so the demand has gone down. :jhanda:

Aalsi, good news, you can start making ketchup at home again!!

Yaar, I am a 'Tomato KUT' person. The daigh is already on :D

Orange Juice has gone up 50% in the last 15 months or so.

Mullah Times: Nafreezi 1460a.d

Paki govt as part of the harmonization efforts will be sending all legislators and a contingent of beardos to the next tomato festival in Spain and France.

While there they'll be collecting as much tomatos as they can gather to relieve the dmand in karachi. The PMTNPA (Pakistan Mufta Tomato and Nose Pickers Ass n) will be releasing a tender for supply of gunny bags for the purpose. All MQM members and commandos are encouraged to bid.

yes they do but not like this.
we used to have flood issues, ramadan, eid etc. in the previous govts too but prices were never shot up like this.
All those vegetables that used to be under 10 or mostly under 5 bucks per kg are over 40-60 bucks per kg in Lahore. Actually this was before ramadan. I don't know the current prices.
same goes with Attaa. I had never seen people so miserable standing in long lines under hot sun waiting for a bag of atta.
Supporting a govt of our choice is fine but we must not hide the facts only for the sake of this support.

waisay milk & some other grocery prices are gone up in CA too.
milk prices are effected in europe as well due to high demand in China.

no they're not. Here's the thing. In the outskirts of Islamabaad and Rawalpindi there were huge crops of tomatoes grown every year. That is until a few years ago when a lot of political leaders started taking over the land, converting them into their personal farmhouses and depriving farmers of their only way of income. Musharraf and shoukat aziz' names are in that list too. they've consumed this much amount of land and there's no one to question their authority. Tomatoes are being imported from India in huge quantities to at least meet the supply and demand issues.

Oh and btw, Roti ki keemat 3 rupees aur Naan ki keemat 4 rupees ho gaye hai.

The day bibi landed in Karachi - the milk in the bhans colony was being sold for just a throw away price of Rs. 15 per litre as the road to the city was blocked. One of my senior office colleague rightly remarked a day before " Baynazir arahi hia, doodh sasta ho jaeega"!

Damn Mush and MQM!

Interesting :smiley: I wonder how… :omg:

Extract from Baynazir public rally address:

"Aazan bhaj rahay hain, abhi may taqreer band kurti ho"

Well I do not want to post her Thatta's rally extract!

I've lived in Khi for the past few years and I've seen them go as low as Rs 8/Kg to Rs 80/kg two years ago in Ramazan which I specifically remember because once while in a taxi an elderly driver was also ranting about it and gave an extensive sermon on the then high price. Last Eid I remember them shooting upto to Rs 120/Kg for two weeks after BakrEid and once while buying them on asking what on earth was making them such a luxury a sabzi wala started "kya karen fasal kam hai, kharedar bohat, jise dekho kaleji, gosht, kabab krrahi banani hai..." and so on. So this phenomenon of tomato prices shooting up is not very new to me. As for other commodities, I refuse to believe that during all past regimes prices never shot up to annoy consumers. It's been an evergreen slogan against every govt. The world over. And I don't deny it. But it's certainly not unique to this govt.
I don't defend the govt where it's not due. And don't argue without reason, nor out of mere hatred.
My credibility is not dependent on respective viewpoints.

Haris, quite honestly, youre in love with Musharraf and you wont ever fail to find any flaws in him or his so called government. For over 8 years we have this wretched military goon governing our country and you still cite examples from previous governments to justify this non-sense. Atleast develop some sense and learn to say these price hikes are a result of his govts incompetency.