Karachi target killings: The solution

Here is my take on it. I think various elements are involved in these target killings. It started with some Urdu speakers worrying about Pashtuns “taking over” the city. I remember reading graffiti like “Karachi tumhara nahin hamara he”. These people resorted to violence to deliver their message, and started killing innocent people on streets and also some ANP workers.
Was MQM as an organization involved in it, or was it the act of some individuals belonging to MQM? I am not sure. It’s your guess based on your inclination.

ANP started replying in kind. They started killing common people who they believed were MQM workers. So this way it became a two-way fight among the two gangs of criminals.

Now Mirza being an incompetent interior minister did not know what to do. He started hurling accusations especially on MQM as an organization to be involved in it. Such statements did nothing to stop killings, and only raised the political temperature. But these accusations did provide Mirza a relief to hide his own incompetence and failure to stop these killings.
He also gave a taste of “their” medicine by allowing Lyari gangs to wage war on Urdu speakers in Karachi (not just MQM). This resulted in killings of Sher Shah market. Thus Zulfiqar Mirza proved himself to be not much different from very same people he hates. If he says that MQM allows terrorism then he himself did the same thing.

The solution, I think, would be to keep the rhetoric down and go after those involved in these killings, regardless of their political affiliation. These murderers deserve to be looked as criminals and criminals alone; not Pashtuns, and Muhajirs, and Sindhis, etc.

Just issuing statement will achieve absolutely nothing. If action is to be taken, if operation is to be conducted in some area then just do it. And if MQM and ANP as organizations are involved in these killings then so be it.
The worst thing that can happen to Karachi is to make those people feel impunity. If they are allowed to go free now then they will resort to same violence tomorrow.

Re: Karachi target killings: The solution

khoji for once i genuinely agree with you on this. the only thing i want to add is, when someone gets caught, lets not ghiraofy the thana, and lets fully cooperate the security agencies be it police or rangers, in all the inspections/ raids they want to carry out. the best we can do is select few representatives of each political AND ethnic party to accompany the law enforcers, to shut everyone's mouth who can later come out and start crying about discrimination. and let the operation happen at all areas including landhi, liaqatabad, nazimabad etc, not only sultanabad and al asif square

I may be wrong, but my view is that being a Pashtun party, the ANP should take care of the province it calls home. Security concerns are legitimate, but it doesn't mean that the the two-third leadership of the ANP should settle in Karachi to strengthen new avenues of power. Asfandyar Wali sahab is a presidential guest in Islamabad. I would love to know what is the ANP's contribution to KP's progress, if there is any at all. Sindh could be second home but the first should come first.

You just get the political leadership, both MQM and ANP on board, and there will be no target killing in Karachi. There is no dearth of rent-a-criminal facilities in our country. If you put some behind bars, there will be more to fill in for them. In this case, the roots are on the top. So get Altaf Bhai and Asfandyar Wali and you have peace in Karachi. Going after daily-wages criminals won't do, in my opinion.

"some people" who started killing ANP workers were MQM ghundas ordered to carry out the killings by Altaf Hussein.

Similarly, ANP and PPP workers started killing common Urdu speakers on the orders of Shahi Syed and Zulfiqar Mirza.
And the blame game continues, which makes Taliban supporters happy. Our enemies.

Karachi has become a minefield. What an awesome city and what have we made it.

MQM lies keep going on like a broken record :cb:

Want to know everyone else's take on this?

Everyone, and every single party of the country, whether they are allies or enemies between themselves highhandedly blame solely the MQM for target killings.

Solution: I think...there should be Martial Law in Karachi for at least 10 years to get back life to some normalcy... :)

That's just your opinion. Where is the solution?
tsk tsk. Seems like you are listening to Taliban Khan too much. Just like him, you are all opinions but no solutions.

Karachi WAS under army for quite a while in 80s and 90s. All it did was to invoke comparisons with Indian army in Kashmir.
Army could see how critical the situation was. That's why army moved out, and the control was given to rangers.

beta, khush ho gaye? good.

haha see, you MQM supporters get personal so easily. I just stated what the rest of the parties and people think about Karachi's problem, and you accuse me of being taliban? this is exactly how your party members act when someone accuses them of terrorism.

and i already posted my solution, its to disarm the entire city of karachi take the arms away from EVERYONE, stated it several times, go dig into older threads about it. and your post doesnt make sense, you dont even believe MQM is involved in murder so there you go.

haaa damn am killed wt a solution hmmm

/\Aur phir jab kisi quom ka morale gir jata hai tou hum unper doosron ko nafiz kar detey hein.[al-Quran]

You must be living in utopia, if you think this is a workable solution.
DISARM the ENTIRE city of Karachi? Do you even KNOW how many weapons are there in the city? NO. If you don't even know the number of weapons then how can you ever be sure if you have achieved your target of disarming the whole city?!

Even if by some Nawazi logic you succeed in disarming all people in Karachi, how can you ever keep it that way? Karachi is not an island, it is a PART of Pakistan. How will you ensure no more weapons come from Punjab and KPK to Karachi?

You need to think before you speak.
syanay said: pehle tolo phir bolo

The most effective solution in my book is to disband the MQM and put all the leadership behind bars for murder and racial incitement. But that would never happen in this corrupt country of ours so really, police need to put their *ing foot down and do something about illegal arms carriers, arrest them, put them behind bars, prosecute them, make sure they get the right punishment...because at the moment there is no deterrent. A murderer can walk free in this country. The police is so *ing incompetent its disgusting.

That's true. This solution was tried in 90s. Did not work.
And remember that MQM alone is not responsible for this mayhem.

How about the solution I proposed? Just go after the criminals regardless of which party they belong?!

Zulfiqar Mirza said that he caught 26 people out of 60 belonging to MQM involved in target killings. If it really is true and if all 26 of them did commit the crime then Mirza should have made sure that these 26, along with 34 others do get the punishment they deserve.
Instead Mirza chose to blurt out his anger in front of cameras against the whole party. This achieved nothing except political acrimony.

This is why I say that we should look at criminals as criminals, and not to look at their nationality.

There is nothing to worry about Pashtons.Only thing to worry is accepting rule of law. If MQM wanted to make city calm and quite, It will be no problem for others.
It is very hard work. Crimes and sins committed by all including law & order enforcing organizations is a major hurdle and second is will.
Everyone want to keep power in his hand for his own reasons.
When everyone will be ready to work on ethics their will be no problem
but ..........................
Naqarkhanay main tooti ki aawaz kon sunta hay
نقارخانے میں طوطی کی آواز کون سنتا ہے

Those were different times. The key is to bring in the army and set up a localized martial law to crush the armed wings of the MQM, ANP, and PPP. Call it a pogrom against the militant wings of all political parties. The average urdu speaker, pakhtun, and sindhi is just to trying to survive against rising costs of food, fearing for their safety, and trying to educate their children. These monsters have wrecked the potential of Pakistan's largest city, and we need some drastic actions to get the situation back in control.

I have been to Southern Lebanon - seen how hezbollah runs things. Trust me, we don't want that.