Re: Karachi - now the largest Pashtun-speaking City
I do see you braying about it.
Look at Spock's posts here. They are all about anything related to Karachi and Urdu-speakers. He uses MQM's name only as a guise to abuse all Urdu speakers in general. And he considers every Urdu speaker an MQM supporter.
These people only open their mouth to blurt out hatred and prejudice against others, which stems from their racist past and inferiority complex. It's like a pot calling a kettle black.
Practically every constituency in Karachi was gerrymandered to favour the MQM by the Zia government. That partly explains how the MQM manages to win upto 90% of the seats in Karachi when urdu-speakers only half that population, other factors like widespread intimidation and ballot stuffing by the MQM allow them to achieve large voting figures. Where else in the world's biggest cities (London, Paris, New York etc) do you have one party win almost 90% of the seats and that party founded on ethnic exclusivity? Maybe you find examples in Mafia dominated southern Italy or absolutist dictatorships.
No you are wrong. Karachi's NA seats are no different the ones in other major cities of Pakistan - Lahore, Rawalpindi or Multan. Like my area NA comprises of Federal B Area which is a geographical area and so are the other NA seats in Karachi.
Or do you want to make a NA seat of Pushtoon population in the Orangi Town in west of Karachi joined together with one in the East of Landhi area so that ANP can win a NA seat?
Even if we go by conservative estimates of pakhtun population in karachi their should be atleast 3 or 4 pakhtun MNAs and 10-15 MPAs in the provincial assembly.But this doesnt happen because the constituiencies have been made in such a way to scatter their votebank.
Site and baldia are pakhtun dominant towns but there is no pakhtun representation.
^^^ what is the big problem?
In first past the post system this is what happens, that is majority gets all. So, why we do not work for proportional representation all over Pakistan where parties get seats according to percentage of votes they get, then there would be no problem.
That is different matter those crying on this forum would keep crying, as than in that case MQM would benefit most in Pakistan, many smaller parties would benefit too. Yateem parties like JI, TI and some other religious parties would benefit too.:). On the other hand ANP, JUI, would lose a lot and so would PMLN and PPP.
Even if we go by conservative estimates of pakhtun population in karachi their should be atleast 3 or 4 pakhtun MNAs and 10-15 MPAs in the provincial assembly.But this doesnt happen because the constituiencies have been made in such a way to scatter their votebank.
Site and baldia are pakhtun dominant towns but there is no pakhtun representation.
Balida is not 100% pukhtoon dominated. Yes they did win a PA seat from there. But for ANP to get a NA seat you have to make unnatural contituencies based on widespread geographical area within Karachi.
Yes that what I also said. The world over you will see that multi ethnic cities will always have a multitude of parties being elected but in Karachi the MQM always seems to grab 90% of the seats, even through their core community the urdu-speakers are only 45% of the population. Millions of Punjabi's, Pashtuns, Sindhi's, Seraiki's and Balochi who live in Karachi do not vote for the MQM yet still this one party manages 90% of the seats. This is primarily because the constituencies in Karachi were deliberately drawn up arbitrarily by the Zia regime to favour the MQM at the expense of other communities/parties, also the MQM bullies people to vote for them and stuffs ballot boxes. Only in Karachi you will notice the election results with 80 or 90% turnouts, sometimes even more than the registered electorate of a constituency, you will not see that kind of pattern anywhere else in the country or even normal democratic societies, only megalomaniac cult based dictatorships.
The MQM was against the 1998 census as it would have led to the redrawing of the electoral boundaries which was going to take place but was interrupted by Musharraf's military coup in 1999. If those constituencies had been redrawn fairly like all other constituencies in Pakistan the MQM would only win a fraction of the seats and other parties would win seats as they do in the rest of Pakistan. You will also see the MQM campaign against the next census as well because not only will it show the changed demographic situation but also it will lead to the constituencies being redrawn fairly ahead of the next general elections.
Just take the example of Hyderabad earlier this year I think when the govt wanted to restore the old natural district boundaries which the Musharraf regime had redrawn to favour the MQM. The MQM practically threatened violence if such a thing was done and forced the govt to delay the move for now.
I am not the MQM lover. But your overlooking of terrorism by PPP and ANP shows your hatred of Urdu speakers in general.
I know some other rabid racists personally. They stink as much as you and your racist opinions do.
That is bad. But what about Nawaz monkey's Taliban brethren occupying land, committing kidnapping for ransom and bank robberies? Where is your condemnation of those sons-of-b*?
mulk ka satyanaas kar diya inn B.C. ne.
There is no PPP/ANP terrorism in karachi, its only your MQM bhai log fisaadi kharji munafiq BCs jinhoon ne satyanass kiya hua hai, for the last 20-30 years. And charity starts at home, start condemning MQM's terrorism, and others will follow suit.
You are a racist stinker, typical MQM goon trying to play the victim card by equating 'urdu speakers' to MQM terrorists.
Look at Spock's posts here. They are all about anything related to Karachi and Urdu-speakers. He uses MQM's name only as a guise to abuse all Urdu speakers in general. And he considers every Urdu speaker an MQM supporter.
These people only open their mouth to blurt out hatred and prejudice against others, which stems from their racist past and inferiority complex. It's like a pot calling a kettle black.
This is the only topic he cries about at Gupshup.
It's because I enjoy it everytime you burn like a koyla, when altaf ka keema banta hai yaahaan! Pissing paid MQM terrorists is so much fun! Gotta admit!
I do see you braying about it.
for the topic, Karachi is part of Pakistan and all people of Pakistan have equal rights to settle in the city. Why are we making it a big deal like the MQM goos would whine about it. Come on people. This place should have educated people.
I said pashtuns arent that bad, because the MQM racist hate mongers were jumping out of their panties when someone indicated Pashtuns were becoming more dominant. I do not certainly believe they are 'taking' over as the dominant party in Karachi, especially when they are the poorest and are being targeted like this. Their buses, rickshaws, little jhompris are burnt on a daily basis. The best example of MQM racism can be seen in a 1-2 year old NPR interview of mayor mustafa kamaal, where he points out at an average pashtun worker randomly and calls him a terrorist; even the gora NPR journalist was surprised and said the poor dude was just a laborer in tattered clothes looking for work (mazdoori) contrary to what the mayor was saying.
Balida is not 100% pukhtoon dominated. Yes they did win a PA seat from there. But for ANP to get a NA seat you have to make unnatural contituencies based on widespread geographical area within Karachi.
There is no town which is 100% dominated by any one ethnic group.
MQM had boycotted the 2001 local bodies because they were opposed to the devolution plan introduced by musharraf which devided karachi into 18 towns.But strangely they are now opposed to the restoration of 5 defunct districts of karachi.Many parties in sindh and karachi had rejected the 1998 census and claimed that its an undercount.Not to forget that the illgal immigrants like bengalis and afghans were totally excluded from the count.The council of common interest has decided to hold census next year in 2011.Census to be held in 2011
constituencies were also tampered during jam sadiq and musharraf era.
other parties have won seats from karachi in the past.In 2002 elections MQM lost 8 karachi NA seats to PPP,JI and haqiqi.
JI did not win on the basis of ethnic division of the seats in 2002 whereas so far you have been emphasising that Karachi seats have been drawn up on the basis of ethnicities in Karachi.
constituencies were also tampered during jam sadiq and musharraf era.
How come? In 1977 there were 11 NA seats for Karachi. Federal B Area and Liaqatabad were a single NA seats then - now they are two. This is the make up of current other NA seats in Karachi.
He said it is pitiable that in a population of 4 million in Karachi, Pashtoons have not a single member to National Assembly nor they have any constituency though they should have 6 MNAs and 16 MPAs. He said those arriving form Bengal and India get their registration cards and they are enlisted in electoral lists but Pashtoon workers who have give their blood in building Karachi are not issued identity cards nor they are enlisted.
There is no PPP/ANP terrorism in karachi, its only your MQM bhai log fisaadi kharji munafiq BCs jinhoon ne satyanass kiya hua hai,
Bro watch out what u typing... indirectly u insulting a whole urdu speaking mirgrated karachiets.. they the MQM are ellected by a large majority of the local peoples.. and u know how many time Khoji told u that he is not a MQMer?? put back your blind haterness and start think on facts.. peace and Eid Mubark..
PS..
and if u think that ANP workers and politicans are a neat hands in karachi situtation you need to go to a mental doctor:D: