Re: Just because you like wearing a religious symbol
yup he can:
yup he can:
Women wearing scarf is more religious, yeh joke of the day.
Try a saudi private party some day, you will get the idea ![]()
Agree with all that..but what about those who choose to wear it out of truly being religious from inside too. Wouldn’t they be unfairly judged too. The video you just posted doesnt represent all those who have a beard.
Funny though it is
the height people go just to seek attention (referring to this uncle disco in the video
)
That's fanaticism. I'd listen to anyone who has something valuable to say, even you.
you missed what I said in my reply
That does not mean that I am not going to learn from a clean shaved guy, but I would not call them a scholar.
btw, i just want to clarify .. (although bbq already said that :D), that I am clean shaved and Niks does not wear hijab, but just because we fail to do a right thing does not mean that now we go and criticize those who do that. To me, a practicing Muslim is far more respectable than a knowledgeable (unless he is practicing too) Muslim.
Prophet
did not say that amongst you, who has more knowledge is better than the other. He said that amongst you. whoever has more taqwa is better than the other. Taqwa means to avoid what Allah dislikes. Allah likes pardah, Allah like bearded men, and that is it.
In fact knowledge is so dangerous that amongst the first 3 trials that are going to happen on the day of judgment, one would be of scholars who gained knnowledge only to get wah wah from people around them.
an example i just found:
Firenze, I will watch it and I am sure I am going to enjoy it :D
its not funny yaar the title is just funny.. the molvi sahab got out the knife .. :![]()
another gem
you missed what I said in my reply
Actually, you would follow him and call him scholar if your heart finds him sincere.
And the criteria for leading prayer is knowing more Quran and being pious.
Abu Sa'id narrates that the Prophet said: "If you are three in number, then one of you should be the imam. And the one who has the most right to it is the one who is the most versed in the Qur'an." This is related by Ahmad, Muslim, and an-Nasa'i. The meaning of "most versed in the Qur'an" is the one who has more of the Qur'an memorized. This interpretation is based on the hadith from Amr ibn Salamah which says: "Your imam should be the one who is most versed in the Qur'an."
Ibn Mas'ud reports that the Prophet sallallahu alehi wasallam said: "The imam of a people should be the one who is the most versed in the Book of Allah. If they are equal in their recital, then the one who is most knowledgeable of the sunnah. If they are equal in the sunnah, then [it is] the one who migrated first. If they are equal in that, then [it is] the eldest. And no man should be an imam for another man if the other holds authority . And one should not occupy his place of honor in his house without his permission." In another narration it is stated: "No man should be the imam for another while with the other's family or where the other is in authority." This is related by Ahmad and Muslim.
Abu Sa'id narrates that the Prophet said: "If you are three in number, then one of you should be the imam. And the one who has the most right to it is the one who is the most versed in the Qur'an." This is related by Ahmad, Muslim, and an-Nasa'i. The meaning of "most versed in the Qur'an" is the one who has more of the Qur'an memorized. This interpretation is based on the hadith from Amr ibn Salamah which says: "Your imam should be the one who is most versed in the Qur'an."
you are narrating things from the times when it was automatically assumed that guys would have beard. If not then tomorrow we can use that same arguement for the guy who is naked but knows more quran and conclude that he is the best candidate to lead prayers per the above quoted hadees.
And what if that naked person has a beard? Would you be okay then?
A person well versed in Quran knows the adab of reciting Quran. It's common sense.
No I wasn't referring to not wearing a headscarf or being clean shaved at all. I was just replying that humility is a wonderful trait but our duty of Amr bil maroof wa nahi anil munkir shouldn't be affected by it just because we think that everybody else is better than us. :)
That statement is not for everyone, it has conditions.
I think we can judge others only based on their *ikhlaq, *we can't judge anyone based on their outwardness, and I don't wanna hear the stupid examples of bikini, how many non-headscarfy muslim women you see in bikinis roaming in streets?
Or, oh she doesn't wear a scarf because she has a weak iman, this can be only valid if the person is admitting it herself otherwise you have no right to tell others that they have weak iman coz they don't grow a beard or don't wear a scarf.
How do you know, that person might have a different understanding of hijab and beard and in his/her mind she doesn't feel that her iman is kamzor.
^ yesterday my wife was on phone with her mom, she asked how much Quran did you recite in Ramadan, wife said as much as i can understand. Her mom was like what do you mean by that i finish like 4 times. Now this is classic example of understanding.
same way some people can argue to death about the importance of having beard & wearing hijab for others its a non-issue. in my understanding having beard, wearing burkha/hijab doesn't mean you are the best Muslim since Sahabah, same argument is presented by Muslims of Pakistan/India who believe shalwar kameez is the only Muslims dress remember how our dadaa/daddi/aba jee force us to wear shalwar kameez on eid's. what's the problem with suit or pants ... its all about understanding and how you view the religion that is where the divide of liberal & conservative kick in.
Hareem- that's exactly what I told psyah too. For every obligation in Islam, i can find at least 10 people on the same forum who will argue against it. So yeah, it boils down to your own interpretation of iman, scripture, sunnah, farz, etc etc.
I don't know. I'm just gonna go to bed.
Hareem- that's exactly what I told psyah too. For every obligation in Islam, i can find at least 10 people on the same forum who will argue against it. So yeah, it boils down to your own interpretation of iman, scripture, sunnah, farz, etc etc.
But problem is that everyone tries to establish their version as the superior one. They would draw the line at their comfort level and lable others either too exterimest and literal or too liberal and unislamic.Take Parda for example. For some people even showing face is not acceptable, other just cover hair. Some wear half sleeves and some think wearing sleeveless is ok but skirts are off limits.
But problem is that everyone tries to establish their version as the superior one. They would draw the line at their comfort level and lable others either too exterimest and literal or too liberal and unislamic.
this is the reason Islam seems so hostile to everybody outside the faith. Religion and culture keep getting mixed up and tolerance has almost become extinct
But problem is that everyone tries to establish their version as the superior one. They would draw the line at their comfort level and lable others either too exterimest and literal or too liberal and unislamic.
And what's wrong in drawing a line at our comfort level as long as you're not doing something openly against Islam?
Sorry but you make Islam sound like an impossible to follow religion.
That statement is not for everyone, it has conditions.
Yes that's true and I know there are conditions too but an obvious wrong should be gently conveyed at least once. The least one could do.
*He who amongst you sees something abominable should modify it with the help of his hand( activism, organization, movement ); and if he has not strength enough to do it, then he should do it with his tongue( by seaking out against it ), and if he has not strength enough to do it, (even) then he should (abhor it) from his heart( by always disliking what is evil or harmful ), and that is the least of faith(Muslim: Book 1 : Hadith 79 & 81).