Junoon and the English language

Ok here is my arguement.. These ar esome of the achievments by Junoon! Lets see what Extreme has to say besides just saying there music is crappy...

In 1997, Junoon recorded their album, AZADI. AZADI was released by EMI/Virgin, and became Junoon's debut album in India. "Sayonee", the first single off Azadi, became an instant hit in South Asia and the Middle East, shooting to the top of all the Asian charts, and staying at the Number One position on both Channel [V] and MTV Asia for over 2 months. AZADI hit platinum sales status in a record 4 weeks. ZEE TV invited Junoon to perform at the star-studded ZEE Cine-awards in Mumbai in March 1998, where the group received accolades from the creme de la creme of India's entertainment industry.

In 1998, Junoon won the “Best International Group” title at the Channel [V] Music Awards, where they performed along with world-wide icons Sting and Def Leppard. AZADI was nominated for Best International Album, having achieved the prestigious honour of being the highest selling album in Pakistan, Bangladesh, and India in 1998 & 1999.

Junoon headlined the BBC Mega Mela in 1998, which was the largest Asian festival outside of the Subcontinent. In 1999, UNESCO presented Junoon with an award for their achievements towards Peace in South Asia. Junoon was invited to perform at UNESCO’s “Music for Peace” concert held in Paris, along with Lionel Richie, Montserrat Caballe, Zubin Mehta and many other great artists from around the world. In London, the BBC presented Junoon an award for their contribution towards Asian Culture. Junoon closed 1999 with a tour of Bangladesh, where 45,000 ecstatic fans went Junooni in Dhaka’s Army Stadium.

Come Y2K, Junoon performed in Japan for the first time, as well as at the Roskilde Festival outside Copenhagen, Denmark, which is the premier summer European Rock Festival, alongwith Pearl Jam, Iron Maiden, The Cure, and many others. Junoon also performed the largest ever concert in Dubai, UAE, with Bollywood superstar singer Sonu Nigam, with nearly 20,000 in attendance.

In 2001, Junoon released their latest album, Andaz (titled Ishq in Pakistan), which topped the charts in Pakistan, as well as in the Gulf and South Asia, with its first single entitled “Zamane ke Andaz (Saqi-nama)” which made it to #1 in the Gulf, and to #5 on the Asian charts. Junoon sold out Wembley Arena in London in April, and performed at “United for Gujarat”, the first South Asian rock concert in New Delhi, with bands from India and Bangladesh, singing together to raise funds for the Gujarat Earthquake.

In June the United Nations dubbed Salman Ahmad of Junoon their Goodwill Ambassador for Pakistan in the campaign to fight the spread of HIV/AIDS. Salman went on to attend the UN General Assembly’s special session on HIV/AIDS in New York. A 12-city tour of North America followed. In September, Junoon performed in Norway with Morten Harket of A-HA, and went on to perform 3 sold out friendship concerts in China in Tongzhou, Qing Dao, and Beijing University.

In October, the band sold out a show in Dubai. In response to the bombing of Afghanistan, Junoon organised a national peace and solidarity concert in Islamabad for the Afghan Refugees, entitled United For Peace, which was produced for television and broadcasted internationally. The leading Pakistani celebrities from Film, TV, Music, Dance, and Sports assembled to show unity in the face of the crisis that faced Pakistan. On October 24th, Kofi Annan invited Junoon to perform at the UN General Assembly in New York in a concert for Peace. MTV’s affiliate music channel, VH1 produced and aired a documentary on Junoon entitled “Islamabad: Rock City" in the US and worldwide. CNN aired a 30 minute interview of Junoon on the program Talk Asia. Junoon’s Peace concerts in the US in the wake of the 9/11 terrorist attacks garnered praise from media worldwide, and got Junoon rave reviews in The New York Times, The Boston Globe, ABC TV (US), NBC, CNBC, The Village Voice, Billboard Magazine, The New York Post, Newsweek, and others. The band is planning a Western album release shortly.

In December, the President of Pakistan, Gen. Pervez Musharraf invited Junoon to perform at the mausoleum of Pakistan’s founder, Quaid-e-Azam M.A. Jinnah, on Jinnah’s birthday. The President joined Junoon on stage as well, becoming the first Head of State in Pakistan to have ever done so.

Now lets see what Xtreme has to say besides saying SAYONEE is aweful... I am sure millions of Junoonis dont think so and people who made AZAADI a mega success dont think so either!

British :smack:

extreme, kun se toothpaste istemaal karte ho yar?

Wake up Spookey :hehe: Aise sapnay mat dekha kar. Your info is available here on GUPSHUP. In one post you say you came here in fall, and when your lie was caught you accepted that you came here in june itself. :roftl:

Hey spookey you are a liar yourself and contradicted yourself on two different threads and when caught red handed started calling names..which is your habit.

About Junnon being a hit band read what PC and AB have to say about Junnon :slight_smile:

Okay here is one more time - Junoon Sucks !! :hehe: Had it not been for their India tour, their band would have died by now.

Another example of a Paki Singer doing well after he landed in India is Adnan Sami

why man, u planning to sell him Pakistani manjan :smiley: or buy deodorant from that manufacturer? :wink:

*Originally posted by AliBeta: *
Ok here is my arguement.. These ar esome of the achievments by Junoon! Lets see what Extreme has to say besides just saying there music is crappy...

In 1997, Junoon recorded their album, AZADI. AZADI was released by EMI/Virgin, and became Junoon's debut album in India. "Sayonee", the first single off Azadi, became an instant hit in South Asia and the Middle East, shooting to the top of all the Asian charts, and staying at the Number One position on both Channel [V] and MTV Asia for over 2 months. AZADI hit platinum sales status in a record 4 weeks. ZEE TV invited Junoon to perform at the star-studded ZEE Cine-awards in Mumbai in March 1998, where the group received accolades from the creme de la creme of India's entertainment industry.

In 1998, Junoon won the “Best International Group” title at the Channel [V] Music Awards, where they performed along with world-wide icons Sting and Def Leppard. AZADI was nominated for Best International Album, having achieved the prestigious honour of being the highest selling album in Pakistan, Bangladesh, and India in 1998 & 1999.

Junoon headlined the BBC Mega Mela in 1998, which was the largest Asian festival outside of the Subcontinent. In 1999, UNESCO presented Junoon with an award for their achievements towards Peace in South Asia. Junoon was invited to perform at UNESCO’s “Music for Peace” concert held in Paris, along with Lionel Richie, Montserrat Caballe, Zubin Mehta and many other great artists from around the world. In London, the BBC presented Junoon an award for their contribution towards Asian Culture. Junoon closed 1999 with a tour of Bangladesh, where 45,000 ecstatic fans went Junooni in Dhaka’s Army Stadium.

Come Y2K, Junoon performed in Japan for the first time, as well as at the Roskilde Festival outside Copenhagen, Denmark, which is the premier summer European Rock Festival, alongwith Pearl Jam, Iron Maiden, The Cure, and many others. Junoon also performed the largest ever concert in Dubai, UAE, with Bollywood superstar singer Sonu Nigam, with nearly 20,000 in attendance.

In 2001, Junoon released their latest album, Andaz (titled Ishq in Pakistan), which topped the charts in Pakistan, as well as in the Gulf and South Asia, with its first single entitled “Zamane ke Andaz (Saqi-nama)” which made it to #1 in the Gulf, and to #5 on the Asian charts. Junoon sold out Wembley Arena in London in April, and performed at “United for Gujarat”, the first South Asian rock concert in New Delhi, with bands from India and Bangladesh, singing together to raise funds for the Gujarat Earthquake.

In June the United Nations dubbed Salman Ahmad of Junoon their Goodwill Ambassador for Pakistan in the campaign to fight the spread of HIV/AIDS. Salman went on to attend the UN General Assembly’s special session on HIV/AIDS in New York. A 12-city tour of North America followed. In September, Junoon performed in Norway with Morten Harket of A-HA, and went on to perform 3 sold out friendship concerts in China in Tongzhou, Qing Dao, and Beijing University.

In October, the band sold out a show in Dubai. In response to the bombing of Afghanistan, Junoon organised a national peace and solidarity concert in Islamabad for the Afghan Refugees, entitled United For Peace, which was produced for television and broadcasted internationally. The leading Pakistani celebrities from Film, TV, Music, Dance, and Sports assembled to show unity in the face of the crisis that faced Pakistan. On October 24th, Kofi Annan invited Junoon to perform at the UN General Assembly in New York in a concert for Peace. MTV’s affiliate music channel, VH1 produced and aired a documentary on Junoon entitled “Islamabad: Rock City" in the US and worldwide. CNN aired a 30 minute interview of Junoon on the program Talk Asia. Junoon’s Peace concerts in the US in the wake of the 9/11 terrorist attacks garnered praise from media worldwide, and got Junoon rave reviews in The New York Times, The Boston Globe, ABC TV (US), NBC, CNBC, The Village Voice, Billboard Magazine, The New York Post, Newsweek, and others. The band is planning a Western album release shortly.

In December, the President of Pakistan, Gen. Pervez Musharraf invited Junoon to perform at the mausoleum of Pakistan’s founder, Quaid-e-Azam M.A. Jinnah, on Jinnah’s birthday. The President joined Junoon on stage as well, becoming the first Head of State in Pakistan to have ever done so.

In the year 99, Junnon performed live in Decca, Bangladesh. And according to Salman, it was the biggest acheievement Junoon ever had. I remember Alibeta, you asked them a question about how Junoon is dealin' with Music and War on Terror, something like that on a Radio show, right?

Let Junoon knows that we still love them but they have been coming with the same music over and over again. In Durr-e-Junoon album, only Garaj Baraj is a new song and rest of them are same.

Asif, what does my info on pak.org say? btw, you are a bigtime liar, who thinks he can stalk me but did a pathetic job. All my friends know where I was in April and where I am right now. Teri aqal lagta hai teri bottom me laggi hoi hai, fall students can come in June if they want to. Since I know how much you love me, and how much you want to know more about me, I suggest you contact ehsan to get more info on me. Mera paas teri jesi cheezoon ke liye waqat nahee.

As for Junoon, name one of your beloved hindustani band that even comes close. You didnt even have a single Ila (indian band) in that stupid Channel V show (which you seem to think is MTV) did you. Is that why you had to nominate a foreign band and that too Pakistani… your bands suck bigtime, just like your cricket team.

What is PC and AB saying about Junoon. They are saying it rocks, cant you read english? You said junoon had no hits before azadi, whereas you fail to answer me when I shoved ‘inquilab’ up yours. Are you forgetting that jazba junoon was launched in 1996. And dont tell me no one knew junoon when they launched jazba junoon, dumbo.

How many times have I seen your dhoti removed on gupshup, yet you remain a typical hindutva.

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
Durr-e-Junoon album, only Garaj Baraj is a new song and rest of them are same.

PT, I used to say the same thing till I actually heard both versions of the songs. For example, listen to lal meri aur heera, both versions are alot better (and faster) in daur, and to be honest, more fun to listen to. I used to think daur was a money making album, but now I realize its one of their best works, and now this goon asif_k is going to say its good because indians like it :D :D

Contrary to what you say PT.. There were three new songs in 'daur' First was garaj. then 'pyaar hay zindagi' and 'piya'.

This was a live album and the band released it to highlight all the concerts they have done around the world. These songs.... Are not anything like any of the songs on the album.. Live songs havea different Magic to them..

I would suggest you to listen to Saeen in 'daur' or Saeein live.. The pain in Ali's voice in Saeen in Iquilaab is nothing compared to live version.. Its always amazing to see Ali go into a trance when he sings 'ghoom Charhkhra'.

So I dont think the album is not the same to any of the other songs! Daur is one of my favourite albums! I wish Junoon would release more of live songs.. Perhaps the live version of seen sung in Kalamazoo concert.. it was just spectacular!

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *

In the year 99, Junnon performed live in Decca, Bangladesh. And according to Salman, it was the biggest acheievement Junoon ever had. I remember Alibeta, you asked them a question about how Junoon is dealin' with Music and War on Terror, something like that on a Radio show, right?

Let Junoon knows that we still love them but they have been coming with the same music over and over again. In Durr-e-Junoon album, only Garaj Baraj is a new song and rest of them are same.

That, you are in michigan state since June 2002 :hehe: and also contradicts your another post in April 2002 where you mentioned that you had no intention of coming to US for longer period. :hehe: Another thing spookey - Sorry to disturb your dream - but you really think of yourself as some celebrity :rotfl:

Did I say hindustani bands are better, Hey they are worse ? Did I compare Paki music with Indian ? You are just trying to make it look like an Indo-pak thing (which is your habit after losing the argument). Btw, we dont need Indian bands because our Bollywood music rocks.

I myself listen to Pakistani music and am a big fan of NFAKhan, Farid Khanum, Sabri Brothers, Mehndi Hasan, ghulam Ali, Nayyara Noor and many others..But Junoon SUCKS.

Look who is talking..Rassi jal gaye par ainthan nahin gayee :rotfl:

LIAR, show me where I said that :hehe:

GUYS!!! Give it up. every few days there is an argument about Junoon. Get over it. some people like them some people hate them and other people don't give two $hits. Everyone has a different opinion!

which one are you?

:hehe: somewhere btwn the last two.

waise I’m just sick of this ensuing every other day.

I just listened to their World Cup song which confirms they are even more dire than I first suspected.

*Originally posted by 714: *

waise I'm just sick of this ensuing every other day.

agreed, maybe we can make it a weekly kabbadi match instead of once every other day.

Asif_khotay, no where did I declare my intentions in a post for coming to the US for a longer time. I know you keep files on me, and read each and everyone of my posts, but if I plan on going to the toilet for a piss, I dont declare that in a post, as much as you want me to do so. If you have the guts (like the liar you are) quote my post.

No need to say that, cuz they suck anywayz.

You are the idiot who came here saying, ban junoon, simply because you are jealous we have a band like that and you dont. Bollywood music rox, lol, tasteless, go and watch that pornstar kareena and hrithink dance, they represent your culture in a very clear way.

Who cares.

You were the one who said Junoon got an MTV award. You were the one who lack the (u know what) to talk about Junoon’s inquilab and Jazba Junoon, which you seem to think were not hits. So tell me, you said they had no hits before Azadi, so inquilab aur that solo jazba song terey pyoon ne launch kiya tha?

Everyone knows you are a liar. Remember how you wanted to prove osama was in Pakistan, you falsified a newsarticle saying, ‘hosts and history await osama’ instead of ‘hostility and history await osama’. Now that cannot be a mistake, since that article was actually saying osama cannot be in pakistan, and to be honest, i dont think your computer changes hostility to hosts when copying/pasting. Its just a typical hindutva on pak.org trying his best to make a fool out of himself.

oh yaar Spock....too hi haar man ley...is Asif ke bache ki to dheet haddi hai, nahin baaz aana.

Bakne de issey.....

*Originally posted by Sharaabi: *
oh yaar Spock....too hi haar man ley...is Asif ke bache ki to dheet haddi hai, nahin baaz aana.

Bakne de issey.....

:D: Haan yar sharabi, I just found out how fascinated he is with me ;) Becharay ko yeh nahee pattah the ke me poori zindagi Pakistan me raha tha, is liye excited hua hai... ;)

Everyone = Spookey himself :hehe:

Spookeya thinks he is a celebrity and everyone is stalking him. In last two days he has atleast accused two members of stalking him :rotfl:

PS :- Good that you edited your post :slight_smile: