I think I will need to stop. The knee pain is just getting worse, eventho I am doing as khawa and others have suggested – limiting the pressure and bending. Probably sneakers will help, but for now I think with the amount of pain I’m having, I’m afraid of causing a serious injury. And I haven’t really noticed a huge difference, despite 13 consecutive days. I do think my arms and legs have better tone, which is lovely. But I haven’t noticed much of a difference at my stomach. I think I lose weight in the most inconvenient way . Plus I think the last 15 pounds are always hardest to lose, and that’s what I’m dealing with. I do think the workout is a good one.
Anyway, I don’t think of this as giving up. Just stopping a work out routine that does not seem suitable for my body. I did get myself into a good routine – exercising daily for 20-30 minutes when madam goes down for her morning nap, and I plan on continuing it, whether it’s on my elliptical or something else. I may look up some of Jillian’s other dvds, to see if there is something that involves less impact on the knees and may target the stomach issues.
I’m still gonna check in here, so keep going, all, and keep sharing! We need to motivate each other! I think inertia is a powerful force – an object at rest stays at rest and an object in motion stays in motion. That initial step to do SOMETHING is the hardest, but once we get past that, things get much better. I may not do THIS workout or I may not do all of it, but I will do SOMETHING – which is definitely better than being a lazy slob couch potato.
yes i am at level 1. i just finished day 4. i wonder if by end of level 1 , i will be able to do it without taking any breaks. otherwise i will continue with level 1 untill i can do whole 20 min workout without single break.
No guys I didn't quit coz I wasn't seeing any results....it is just the inconsistency that is getting to me... plus I work on a contractual basis, sometimes part time and other times full time...and right now working 3-4 times a week...my whole schedule is messed up coz on days that I go to work, Jr. has different nap times and on days when I am home his nap times are different. Between home, family, inlaws, jr. and work ...I just can't do the shred with the consistency it requires....
I also noticed on me that I won't see the results....in the past I saw results with shred because my stomach was not covered with layers of fat.... I am WAY WAY overweight for my height and body structure..... and for once in my life I would like to see the scale move down...
I just hope I can do what I am about to say..... I hope I can commit myself to Banish fat boost metabolism at least 3-4 times a week....specifically on the days that I do not have to go to work.... I will be visiting wiht you guys regularly...just hope I can finally pencil it in my schedule.... Come on FAT ...move it...
hey auto.... i think just do a lot of cardio... and then add strength trainig to it to further tone and tigheten up the muscle... you are right.. there is fat there so no matter how hard you try to tone... cant see the muscle until the fat disappears... now that i think back.. its true.. if i had done JM at 4 months post delivery.. i dont think the results would ahve been this good...
im gonna add cardio too... cuz 3 minutes cardio isnt cutting it with jm.. i want faster results :D
all the best!
sahar.: if its just the abs you are worried bout... try her ab work out dvd.. and put in some cardio too.. aint gonna lose anything without cardio.. have to get the heart pumping.
will miss your updates... along with auto's.... but you are right.... fat loss is great but knee loss aint! hehe...
yet again... took a day's break not out of choice but necessity...dont feel guilty though cuz once again i was standing all day or doing high energy work like vaccumming, or lugging around wet laundry to the laundromat 10 mins walk away (wet bedsheets, 20 sets, 3 trips).. all cuz we had no place to hang them all at our apt! so had to dry them off. so that made me feel so much better that i had a choco chip cookie... 3 of them :D
kher... cuz i was meant to start off level 3 but i had no energy and had just barely gotten myself into the mood to to dhte shred, so i decided to do level 2 for another day.... i sweated buckets so its all good....
i want to fit into a medium sized shalwar kameez.. taht is my new goal! a friend recently bought me one from her trip to pakistan.. its gorgeous... but its way too tight around teh bust area.. my problem is flabby side fat right under the armpit (side bust) and the back boobs...
SO .. in order to fasten weight loss.. i have decided to add 20 mins running to up my cardio workout from just 3 mins in the shred to 23 mins... havta brave teh snow and cold though.. i have no treadmill ... and even if i did.. i wouldnt run on it cuz im not a hamster! id like to think im a bit smarter than a penny sized fuzzy animal that doesnt know its gonna get nowhere running round and around in that wheel of its!
so i bought some running stuff.. and inshallah... god give me himmat.. i shall start off day after morrow... i forgot to buy running shoes :D get them morrow...
just thinking... do i go for a run first and then do the shred... or do the shred and then go for a run
OR and i like this idea the most... do the shred one day and the run the other.. alternate between running and shred?
Khawateen , if u want to make it fast then i think u should run and shred daily.is it was me i would do shred first and then run , bcz i know after shred i will not have energy to run.
i just did day 5, after 1 day break. still cant survive through pushups.but its improving.
I miss Level 1! Level 2 is reallllllyy really hard, I stop for a few seconds inbetween often. Not sore anymore though, just feel a tight ‘pull’ when i’m climbing stairs.
day 6, 7 done. today i felt so much better, i did not fell down on sofa after finishing workout but ran to kitchen to check my cake in the oven. very much improved compared to my 1st day when i was not even able to get up for 1/2 hour after workout due to nusea and headache.
dont see any major change in figures but its only been a week.
Day one!!!
well I say half day one.... coz i stopped in between to catch my breath, and i got confused with a few steps, and couldnt do them properly. plus i lost my weights somewhere, so ya..... Day Half! :P
ok first thing...... I hate Push ups!!!! .... argh!!! i cant do them!! I will practice them beside the shred.....
rest was fine, too intense.... i was out of my breath alot. and while trying to fix my angles, i missed a few steps, then i was rewinding and doing them again..... so my level one will be 30 mins long! :P
so far no pains or soreness, but sweating crazy!! ..... my shoulders ache during the workout, and i think thats good!
I am looking forward to rest of the month!..... plus I wanna continue, until i get rid of every inch of fat!!
So tempted by this thread..I just had to join in to loose those last couple of pounds but more so to tone the body…!! Khawateen applaud!! Splendid job you guys! You all got me so motivated that I got the JM shred and was all set to going sore!
Yesterday was Level 1, Day 1. After cooking dinner, I had 45 minutes between Isha azaan and dinner time so prayed the namaz (because I was sure that it would be so hard later) and then finally began the exercise!! OMG!! Pushups were hard! The 2nd circuit jumping jacks…I felt my legs would fall off. Felt like they were in a spasm. All those punches during the lunges, were at heart, aimed at JM at that time Although I did it all without weights. Yet was sweating a lot. Made it through all exercises, however the bicycle crunch was a bit difficult. After the 25 minutes, I felt nauseated and a headache crept up!! And it was then dinner time. I was sooooooo tired, legs felt like iron rods..had to drag myself to the table!! And I lost my appetite due to all this tiredness. Ate little (so that’s good :D).
Today I woke up and oh my, upper arms and calves are so sore. UGH! Plus it’s 9th muharram so since was fasting…had No energy to exercise at all! After aftari, aur bhi energy nahi thi
Now..off to sweat the day 2 of shred…not looking forward to it at all!
hey girls... i dont have the time to read everyone's progress but sitll... YAY FOR YOU ALL! the new joiners.. keep at it... results are guaranteed!
DAY 22, 23, 24, 25
started LEVEL 3. its hard.. but doable... i was more out of breath with level 1 though.. i dont know if that is cuz you have no stamina build up or what... and by the time you get to level 3 you are active and on the road to being healthier... either way... i dont sweat it out as much as i did with level 1 and 2.... BUT... man does she work your ass... the abs and the upper body... and your butt and thighs.... jesus.
out of all teh levels i liked level 2 best...
i am now at 65 kg... its major considering i was 72 when i started.. im gonna continue until i reach my target weight of atleast 55.
i am still at size 14.... loose size 14.... tight in the chest but comfy around the waist size 12... i was meant to go running but god has decided against having ppl witness khawa's thunder thighs gracing the streets of copenhagen and thus has bombed us with snowstorms ... therefore.. no running at all.
i have also added 30 jumping jacks first thing in the morning and at night... aisay hi... kuch na kuch tho hoga :D
im missing a lot of days in between but still glad im making the time to do it... shukar hai its only 20 mins...
atuo: im gonna pm you soon love... i just remembered you were asking bout the boost fat thingy... i may add it after the shred... or when my guests have left (which will be in feb).. right now.. im just lucky if i can even do the shred with the madness that is my home these days
size 2?! ok im gonna take it you live in a country that has a total diff sizing chart than where i live.. cuz size 2 is already puny where i live!
its dependant on your body how fast you lose weight.. but to just drop a dress size... i think level 1 will be enough... give it 10 days.. 12 max... i think it wont be that hard..... you can do it! your motivation should be... if a fat woman can do jumping jacks on biggest loser.. then why cant it... or put a pair of jeans you want to be able to fit into and work out infront of it... honestly....
and if you arent prepared to work out and lose weight in a healthy way which will also tone you.... then atleast dont eat junk food...
(im trying to be mean so that it works as reverse psychology and you get pissed and start to work out).
less intense may mean longer period of time for weight loss...
20 mins man... thats it.... 20 mins... build up your stamina... its only the first 3 days that are hard.. and then you are set! woman i couldnt do 5 jumping jacks when i started.. the warm up usd to tire me out... and now i can do 40 in a go!
YOU CAN DO IT! its intenese yes... but the results are also to die for!
By the way, since I stopped the shred (10 days ago), I have lost 5 lbs. I thought it was bizarre, but I realized that what probably happened is that I built muscle while doing the shred and burning fat, making my weight remain constant. Since i haven't been as regular about working out, particularly doing strength, the muscle has dropped.
Anyway, just a reminder not to focus too much on the numbers, cuz they can mean a lot of different things. Keep up the good work!
ok that makes more sense :D i would be happy with a size 6 right now... hehe..
are you doing anything else to lose weight sahar? level 2 and 3 are MUCH easier on the knees (unless the lunges were a killer too)... jumping jacks were hard on my knees... level 2 and 3 dont have them much so im much better now... lunges dont bother them so its all good..
feeling great. lots of stamina. body tone visibly amazing. clothes fit very nicely. pregnancy pouch gone.
conclusion. VERY SATISFIED!.
i plan on continuing with the shred... on busy days i do level 2.. .on days i am feeling well rested, i do level 3... maybe i will add some more stuff from JM... but for now... i know i can continue with the shred and get a bit more results before reaching a plateau ....
Wow, Khawa that is amazing!! Kuddos to you for keeping up with it. I will admit I didnt read the entire thread, so maybe you already answer this question, but are you only doing the work-out or are you following some sort of diet as well? :)