Jealousy In Girls

Re: Jealousy In Girls

Yeah that is so true, when i was talking about this to my mom she said the same thing and even i think my mom is going to be. If a mother is good with her family and in general she is good natured then she will be understanding enough to be nice to her DIL
because she said that if i am bringing a daughter for my son i am also sending my daughter to some other mother and i will not want them to treat my daughter badly so i will treat my DIL nicely because daughters do not always stay with their parents and moms it is the DILs who do everything for them most of the time.

GS IS DRAMA

some of the stories rather remind me of a scripted drama play than these mil vs. dil fights

I can't believe this a part of life, not only a Drama on GEO, Prime TV, Star Plus etc.

Well hard to believe but it is a part of life.

Why do I not come across with those ppl? I'm Pakistani, too :(

i have no idea dude, but this happens and happens alot and whatever you see on television in dramas is actually most of the time true stories from this world only!

[quote="stoppit"]

why do you think the onus should be on the girl? she is the one who has left her family to come to a new household, the in-laws still have their son etc. quote]

i think the onus is on the girl b/c her inlaws are not moving into her house..she is the "new" addition in their family!. and yea def in an ideal world both parties should put an equal amount of effort, but unfortunately its not always the case. but someone has to take the intiative afterall.. so if the girl gets married with this perspective its easier to handle stuff when it goes wrong..which it usually does..atleast it wont be a shocker and one is mentally prepared.

also i dont think taking an initaitve to win over ur pils respect/love would make her inferior or a doormat. its just a matter of perspective.

oh btw, thanks Aisha! =)

numb.. 'dramas' ..happen in real life..if u think otherwise..u must be living under a rock..

Basically, I think what has happened is that because of the way Pakistani society was constructed, women had little control over anything outside of their homes. Some don't even have that. They rarely have direct control, but begin to exercise control through their sons, who are indebted to them. So they are extra sensitive to any change or external influences in their homes, and so instead of seeing the DIL as a family member, some (the more insecure and the more stubborn) they see her as a threat and treat her as such (as in the front car seat thread).

In addition, many (most?) Pakistani women are homemakers and have devoted their lives to raising their children. They have sacrificed their happiness for that of their elders, children, husband, families, etc. The assumption is that one day, these people will return the favor. So instead of doing what makes them happy, the culture dictated that it is the next generation that must give us happiness.

When these children grow up, the mothers have little to occupy them, unless they have other interests and means of feeling productive. Some mothers will continue to keep a hold on their children and will make the children feel guilty for any sign of independence. This isn't good for mother or child. The problem is, without having pursued other skills and interests, many women don't actually know what will make them happy. So they feel idle and demand more grandchildren and interfere unnecessarily in others lives in a way that I doubt makes them happy.

It's one thing to be consulted and to be part of the family; it's another to feel entirely dependent on others for fulfillment.

At some point, the cycle needs to be broken. We need to make it okay for people to look for their own fulfillment while still respecting and giving to those they care for. We need to encourage women to take pride in their motherhood but also their other skills, talents, and interests. We also need to legitimize women's voices, so that women feel empowered to act in the home as well as outside of it, and do not need to rely always on others for control and influence.

Exactly!

:hmmm:

jealousy is not only among girls. boys are competitive and aggressive, in fact encouraged to be that way.
social competition is in both genders and healthy competition is not a bad thing.

yeah that is exactly my point. they are used to the attention and dont want some one else sharing the limelight. but if you are mature about it, you think she is a new bride, she will take time to adjust, let her get the love from hubby...
obviously no one should be jealous of their own MIL. after all we know she brought him up, loved him etc but when she creates situations where she purposely wants to show see my beta loves me so much or he dus this and that, then obviously if not jealous, the DIL will feel insecure. in a nutshell, i guess patience and time is demanded from both of them

As the saying goes…Dont hate me because I am beautiful:hehe:

hehe..madam jealousy seems to be very popular on GS..from what I have seen :)

bas bhai na poocho , itni jal kukrhi hoti hain kay uff uff
agar khud na dosti kar sakain to apni kisi "potential" friend tak to refer nahin karteen hehehe..

Hehe! Thank You for what exactly?:hmmm:

I agree it does depend on perspective, some people here might say that the MILs are too harsh and they should chill out and give the proper respect and position to the DIL and some might say that DILs are very snooty attitude giving type girls who will constantly irritate the MILs and they should sort themselves out. The thing is in one household it is very rare that only one of them are at wrong. Both of them are unfair but to what degree that depends, and i have always believed that it does not matter if your MIL lives with you or not you should always maintain a good loving relationship with her and strive for this relationship.

Yeha exactly, dramas do happen in real life and it is very rare to not see a drama in one household, it might be very less in one family compared to other families but it is there and in every households there are fights albeit less or small.

Yes you are right, unfortunately it is very popular:disgust:

BTW janab yaha par serious discussion horahi thi:chai:

Aur is mai jalkuckriyaa kidher se bann gayi? yeh potential friend ko refer karna zaroori tu nahi hai? hosakta hai woh even tum logon se baat karne mai uncomfortable feel karti ho??

Sahar you are forgetting that it is not just the Pakistani society that is constructed this way, forgive me for being old fashioned but essentially this is what every society is even to this day. You are forgetting even those women who work in modern countries these days deliberately resign from their jobs and choose to become homemakers and you are also forgetting that it is no longer that era and time period where women were called housewives and given reference to their slavery to the husband and MIL. In the past women were required to stay at home even if they were educated and were asked to bare kids and just look after them. This is no longer the case, this is why no one calls these kinds of women housewives anymore, we call them homemakers to be more politically correct. You think women who are educated, it is imperative for them to get of the house and get jobs and work? Allah did not make a woman to work, essentially what we are supposed to is increase the Muslim Nation and take care of our husband and family. That is why it is said that husband and wife ek dosre ki dhal hain. As for the car thread all of you guys have misunderstood the situation, you all blame the MIL. However, it is just a matter of respect! Imagine this, you are a sister of your brother and you, your SIL, your brother and your mother are going somewhere. Who would you want to sit in the front seat? Your mother or SIL? I will always say my mother and there is no shame in this because she is mine and my brother’s mom and she is the one who is the elder of the family with wisdom and years of experience. The DIL should understand this, that her MIL is not just “saas” that is a very desi mentality which sucks. If she will always treat her MIL as just a “saas” she will never be able to respect her, you should see this woman as a female who conceived your husband and raised him and went through troubles and hardships for him and the least you can do is this much and not make such a fuss for sitting in the front seat.

And you say assumption, what is wrong in it? You will raise a son Inshallah, I do not know your marital and family status so cannot say much but consider yourself in this situation, would you like it if your son got married and stopped talking to you? Or he left home and hardly kept on touch or if your DIL did not talk to you properly and badmouthed you at every possible opportunity and kept your grandkids away from you? And you are saying about grandkids, who does not want grandkids? They are such a blessing and bring happiness in to a family, you are right that when some of the MILs kids grow up they do not have that much stuff to do but see that is where grandkids come in, when a baby comes in the household it gives the utmost happiness to its grandparents too as they see their child in it. They play with it, they share their love and affections with it and it is very natural.

I have many other things to say but even this post has become a bit too long so i will continue once you reply.

BRAVO!! hats off to you for such a thought provoking post. i agree with you a 100 percent. its true that its the way society has been shaped... with due respect to the "home maker", they have idle time to think, talk and socialise. not to say that working women do not gossip( i work and i can assure you, i do gossip too, who dusnt??) but not as much as the home makers. no matter how busy they are running after kids, cooking, cleaning etc... they do get some free time which is spent in idle time and talking. they cannot exercise power in their own homes... becus the husband has the last word.. when the son grows up she expects him to listen to her and pay back. Sahar, you said the same thing which my hubby says.. these ppl are kids he tells me, when they are old.... all their lives these women listen to parents, husbands, relatives etc... when their son grow up, they get a sense of ownership and power.. its so unexplicable really but its so true.. my own husband said that cus he knows women need the power to control something also.. after all, they have been in someone else's control for so many years.

Your husband actually said that to you? wow