Jahez culture

Jahez or dowry is very common in our culture.

Do you support such practices? Would you make difference if get opportunity ? What are the ways to control it?

Re: Jahez culture

No I don't support such a practice.
What kind of opportunity are you talking about ?
Ways to control would include having a law against it with severe punishment to both parties engaging in jahez and creating awareness among the masses through various means such as serials, songs , adds , billboards etc.

Icing on the cake would be to reward the ones reporting jahez cases and giving off the jahez to charity :D

Everyone consider it bad when on giving side.. Majority is happy when on receiving side.

This 'log kiya kahenge' in desi culture is the root cause of all these issues, where people do things, they don't like ideologically.

To change 'log kya kahainge' attitude we should use media...campaigns... include the evils of giving and taking jahez in serials, adds etc.
Media can be used to shape our society in a good way.

I’ve read somewhere
When a baby girl is born, her mother begins saving Jahez from the first day for her wedding :bummer:
This is another example of thinking ur own daughters a bojh :bummer:

The effective way to bring change is the awareness, to make people aware the bad effects of this laanat to the society !

Isn't it the responsibility of boys to take a stand against dowry even if their parents pressurize them?

Media is currently busy in glamorising show-off through extravagance weddings in morning shows. You are right that media can be used positively, but currently media is all about TRPs and money making

Boys can take stand when they are on receiving side, but they are made to follow the society while giving jahez to sisters and daughters. They don't have any option. Otherwise, consequences are known to all of us

People are made to behave like this. They don’t do it with happiness. They just prepare themselves for the future. Education has only increased the demands as our education system is itself flawed, which don’t teach being content on what you got.. It makes you more demanding.

Suppose a boy married a girl n he took stand against dowry, me ni lun ga etc
Don't u think there is a chance of this girl being tortured mentally/physically by her in-laws ? specially MIL n SILs ?

There are obvious chances for this treatment. Thats why people who are against dowry have to give it to their daughters for saving them from these taunts and torture.

If that boy agreed to it now it is his responsibility to make sure girl is safe from such tortures otherwise there was no reason to take a stand.Someone should take the initiative to change this mentality..

jee :bummer:

ye aisy he chalta rahy ga

So this means the awareness should b brought to both sides
Will u blame our education system for this ?
Awareness shouldn't b given in schools/high schools/colleges ?
Isnt it should be included in our syllabus as a chapter ? ( Not in Islamic studies )

Well as we knw our culture, most of the girls have to settle in joint families with their husband and his mother/sisters etc even the guys bhai :bummer:
So most of the times he can’t go against his mom, n roz roz jhagra tou ni kr sakta is baat ko le kr and then hez nt at home all the day
I’m not supporting him or his mother in this but it happens !
Most of the gharelo jhagrey and tezab phenkne cases are just because of these kinda background stories !
A bitter truth ! :bummer:

Media has played role to some extent. There has been plays like 'Fehmida ki Kahani, Ustani Rahat ki zabani' and movies like 'aaj aur kal' on the matter.

Our education system has incorporated lessons on this. I remember reading a lesson in Class 4th Sindhi about dowry of Hazrat Fatima (RA).

But these all steps failed in society, where ladies from neighbor when come to meet new bride, their first question is 'kia lai hai'.. then came the remarks 'hamari to ye lai thi.. ye nahin lai thi'

The plays u mentioned r too old for the new generation or 21st century married couples
Are there any more plays that can help aaj kal ki generation ?

As for the lesson, I also remember that but thats in our Islamic studies

So if these all steps failed before, how can we make them effective for new start ?

The plays were effective enough and people of that period appreciated the message, but when that generation faced the actual life, they followed old traditions. The media is now more about shashka and glamour. Any such serious play will not get TRPs so no one would dare to produce such stuff considering shallow audience.

Its very difficult to make and implement a law against practices which got acceptability as social norm.

Does the concept of Jahez exist only in the middle class ?

It is difficult but not impossible.
What are we doing as individuals to solve this problem? Nothing. Simply talking about it won't solve it.
Why don't we use the means at our disposal to atleast give it a shot?
The internet !
We have Facebook and other online forums. A large portion of our youth uses these. We can get through to them. Later the members can help each other organise campaigns in their schools/unis/work/ neighbourhood etc. Once it gains popularity, talk shows, serials etc will show interest.