Islami Jamhoori Ittehad

Bhai mere ziada hansnay ki zaroorat nahin hay. I think you have read partially.

:k: Agreed.

In fact, MQM was offered and turned down the money and this Altaf Hussain Qureshi is someone else. The real Altaf Hussain’s name is not on any list. So, I’ll keep laughing.

DAWN - Letters; August 15, 2007
We never learn from history-7

THIS has reference to Ardeshir Cowasjee’s column, We never learn from history’ (Aug 12), claiming Altaf Hussain has received from the ISI a kickback of Rs 20 million. However, the facts are that the writer is a bit confused’ about judging the names, and the kickback amount.

The same `confusion’ was displayed by Mr Cowasjee a decade back when, in his column, he mentioned Altaf Hussain’s name, hypothetically receiving kickbacks from the ISI.

I had sent a denial about the confusion of the name, and it was published in these columns. I had thought perhaps it was an error by him.

Once again, the facts are as under:

An Urdu national daily (Wednesday, June 12, 1996) and an English national daily (Nov 7, 1997 and not Dawn) reported that the ISI, through Gen Aslam Beg, in the 1990 general elections, distributed amongst 32 rightist politicians, religious leaders and journalists a sum of Rs140 million, to gang up against a political party.

The fact is that Gen Beg’s one side kick, also reached Mr Altaf Hussain’s residence of Azizabad with one suitcase, full of currency notes. Mr Hussain refused to accept it. After a few months, when Mr Hussain met Mr Beg in a function at Lahore, the former cynically asked, if his expensive suitcase reached him safely? The latter sheepishly nodded.

Those recipients who received the cash amounts were (surprisingly not mentioned in Mr Cowasjee’s column) the MQM’s nemesis Jamaat-i-Islami’s Amir (Rs5 million), and Maulana Salahuddin of Takbir’s fame (Rs0.3 million), Mr Altaf Hussain Qureshi (a red-haired veteran journalist) and Mr Mustafa Sadiq (Rs0.5 million).

Perhaps it was the second time that Mr Altaf Hussain Qureshi’s name was, by design, engineered in the infamous list of 32 politicians etc. (on the pay roll of the ISI) as Mr Altaf Hussain (MQM). Why, it is deliberate?

How was the name of Mr Altaf Hussain Qureshi tampered with to read Mr Altaf Hussain? And how was the sum of Rs0.5 million enhanced to Rs20 million? The answers slouch with Mr Cowasjee’s conscience.

KUNWAR KHALID YUNUS
Islamabad

Yes. MQM never received any illegal money.

Good.

I think Nawaz Sharif collects bhatta from Karahci too.

Very good.

Why would Nawaz need some little bhatta from karachi, when he collected bhatta from the entire banking system and state of pakistan?

Re: Islami Jamhoori Ittehad

^but using that logic altaf needs that bhatta so very much since he didnt get the one that nawaz got? either way altaf comes out as bhatta khor. denial can only get you so far with altaf's defence.

It's funny that you and others are so proud that nawaz is the king of bhatta khors and took money directly from ISI. It's like a great achievement for you.

While we're talking about IJI, what about the militant wing of the IJI funded and supported militarily by Pakistan, the Taliban? How much money was spent on them that could have been used for education and healthcare?

^Wasnt MQM allied with IJI? By your logic, IJI had two military wings.... Taliban and MQM.

Yes he is someone else and another malown right t of Zia-ul-Haq. He was editior of Urdu Digest. During PNA movement against Bhutto this dirty bustard played a very dirty role. A few gundas were killed in Lahore in police firing, this kala bhoot with white marks on his face published their graphic photo graphs in his magzine with offensive remarks full of hatred against Bhutto. jesee is ha mi ki badsoorat shikal thi wasay hi is ha mi ke kartoot thay. Pakistan aisay ha myon se ab bhi bhara parha hay.

The distinction between being offered and accepting is something one can never really know ...Syed Abida Hussain has now accepted she was paid at the time.

The story is not straight forward as it may sound..Jatoi was backed by the ISI but Nawaz Sharif through his hold over Punjab managed to become PM..similarly the MQM needed no /money in winning it's seats in Karachi unlike many IJI people but the way it switched between the PPP and IJI was very suspect at the time (1989) . It's initial support for Jam Sadiq Ali and his reign of terror against the PPP in Sind is also very unfortunate.

The PPP isn't without it's own skeletons in the closet, how Sherpao kept his position in NWFP 1988-1990) and the way the PPP ousted Sabir Shah is anothed sordid story of money being passed around. Also the way the IB was used from 1993-1996 wasn't very different from the ISI.

In 1994 when case was in the S.C. nobody denied but now every one but I appriciate N$ . he has never denied of taking money. Actually he never denoy to…
Sab say pehlay Rupia

http://www.jang.net/jm/8-29-2009/images/1016.gif

lol no i dont have any desire about building nawaz as saviour of nation. he's a crook and so is altaf. but your strategy is to dance around yelling falana is crook and fallana is crook to avoid accepting this about altaf. pretty shoddy defence.

Instead of waiting for SC to initiate case, PPP should file criminal case against those who gave and received illegal money forming an alliance against PPP. Since NS was also involved in this dubious deal, CJ may not want to initiate a case against his supporter:)

DAWN.COM | National | PPP asks SC to take up money case

LAHORE, Aug 30: The Supreme Court should open the pending case of Air Marshal Asghar Khan (retired), regarding distribution of money among politicians in 1990 to topple the PPP government.

PPP central information secretary Fauzia Wahab made this demand at an iftar dinner hosted by Punjab PPP information secretary Dr Fakharuddin Chaudhry at his residence here on Sunday.

PPP ever involved in receiving "illegal money", nah!

Oh bhai, have you ever heard the term "is hamam main sub nungay hain".

From Altaf to NS to BB marhooma, to Zardari to Qazi everyone has had their hands in the proverbial "cookie jar".

Having said that, we should quit expecting that politicians will be "neat clean" copies of our expected "brother-in laws or son-in-laws".

Politics is a messy business, and politicians do get "dirty" being in the business.

Have you ever seen a plumber who had just finished working on your sewer line, and yet he could go straight to say his prayers in the mosque without washing and cleaning up?

Just like sewer line plumbing is smelly and dirty, so is the politics.

It may come as a shock to many modern day Muslims that even Khalifa Rashidoon couldn't avoid the mess and the dirt of politics, and we all know that majority of them were murdered on the job.

You may say they were "assassinated" by kuffar/Kharjis etc. But the bottom line is that they were considered "illegal and thus corrupt" by many among their masses.

In fact the perceived "illegality and corruption" of Khalifa rashidoon has given rise to the whole maszhab aka Shias in Islam.

Thus it is important for us to quit repeating the same mistakes of the past, and treat Pakistani politicians as plumbers and thus "pay them well" and respect their profession, as long as they do half-decent job.

Shameful. PPP, the 'establishment' and MQM. The elements of Pakistani politics that hated each other to the extreme are now collaborating to save Mushy.

We are discussing IJI here, yeh Mushy kahan se aagaya pai?

I think you need some psychologist. The nonsense you keep on writing indicates how you perceived things and tranpired in to a a crooked way. Where did I say PPP not being received any illegal money? The topic is not related to bakwas you are uttering here.

Coming back to topic, it is not only corruption, but it is also a conspiracy against most popular political party of the country. Why the illegal billions were given to maha chor aor uchakay just to oppose or suppress one party? Have you ever heard that estabilishment/military spent billions to form a fake Islamic Allaince with small potatoes like mqm to oppose one most popular natioanal party?

Threats to reopen IJI drama and Operation against terrorism in Karachi '92 chapters are to shut up NS calling for Mushy trial.

Do you think they are interrelated? If so then it may involve intelligence agencies/estabilishment/miliatary. Don't you think so?