Islamabad: Gunman with his family firing openly near parliament house

Re: Islamabad: Gunman with his family firing openly near parliament house

^ab to maan lo k police me itni tapparr hi nhi thi ya yun kehlo k koi banda zimmedari nhi lena chah rha tha....

People in this thread are no better than than those dumbs who crowded the crime scene......

yuN kiuN na kah leN k police naa-kaarah hai? :p

Kindly put “some” before your sentence :snooty:

nahin… kabhi kabhi to hath pair maar hi leti hay :hehe:

haN, maartii hai magar rishwat Khorii ke liye! :hmmm:

I wish he was shot in leg only. The way doctors are giving statements like: his lungs surgery has been completed, his kidneys "were not" affected much, he will be put on ventilator for the next 24 hours, I wonder if the man will really survive. They let the media and the masses enjoy a tamasha for good 5 hours and take a life at the end. They say that no one was harmed thanks god but when you kill the head of the family, you are not pretty much sparing the rest of the family. That being said, if there had to be a killing, it shouldnt have taken 5 hours lekin phir log tamasha kaise dekhte aor ratin kaise banti. This qaum actually calls for Allah's wrath every now and then. Its just that Allah is the Kind and Merciful.

I wonder what is the requirement for joining the police force in Pakistan? It seems like police has no training at all & these guys are expected to fight Taliban?

Actually, it was our media doing the laughing, because really, between playing indian media content and cursing everything Pakistani, they have nothing better left to do in this world. The public at large should not even have been watching this spectacle. And many responsible media personnel made a point to state that if cameras had not been there, this saga would have been over much sooner.

^ you said that, and I agree completely.. of course, if people had died, we would curse him, so if we can curse someone for his mistakes, why can't we appreciate someone for a daring step.... yun hota to woon hota.... why assumptions? hoa to nahin naa... ab jab nahin hua to why so negativity? Hota to dekha jata... phir bohat kuch different hota... But filhal its time to discuss kia hoa, aur jo bhi hoa, theek hua... to sabar shukar kyun nahin ker sakti awaam? Kisi haal main to chain ho..

This statement is surprising. You do realize that his step was not bold, rather it was a gamble? He gambled with the lives of dozens of people, and one misstep could have caused a catastrophe. Now using the same analogy, we can also set this Sikandar guy free, saying that 'uss ney kisi ko qatal to nahi kiya. Kar sakta tha, lekin kiya to nahi'. Im not assuming anything here. Im talking a fact that endangered people's lives more than Sikandar's own actions.

Zamarrud Khan is a PPP rehnuma, and I personally HATE PPP, hate is even not the extreme word BUT, I would never ignore a daring step he took, I dont say he is a Hero.. but I must say... he is a brave man... only for ratings, no one would want to keep his life in risk....

Problem is, our police is politically appointed, and do not dare talk back to a politician. That is why folks like Nabil Gabol and Zamurad were able to make their way to the front line, without any check and balance. In a normal society, noone would have been allowed anywhere close.

So... What I want to say here is... jo bhi hua....isay aisay hi hona tha... aur shayad yehi theek tha... do you think the children would have been able to survive for 6 days without food or anything??

I gave the US example as an example of patience on part of the negotiating party. Of course the US guy had enough food to last several days, which is why the police were patient for that long. In yesterday's case, the guy had enough food to last a day perhaps. And the police, as I said before, were tiring him out in order to force him into submission without use of force. And they were on the verge of that, which is why everything ended without any deaths, even after Zamurad's blunder.

Sikander jese log itnay khubti bhi hotay hain ke Allah Rasool ke naam p aur shahadat ke naam p agar bachha bhook se mar bhi raha hota to marnay dete aur kehte to kia hoa, Allah ki raah main marr raha hay... PSYCHO PATIENT!!

You are assuming a lot of things. Remember, it was the SSP who had been negotiating with him, and he knew a lot more than we did, which is why the police were showing patience and restraint. If there had been a hint of trouble, the police would have/could have taken him out. They had a million chances. Did you not see the guy walking freely, by himself, in plain sight? At times, drinking red bull while smoking a cigarette, with no 'hostage' close by? Snipers could have taken him out with one hand tied behind their backs.......but there was a reason why they were holding back. And it was certainly not in order to let Zamuradman come in and be a hero.

Mention of PTI is off key. Zamurad's political alliance is not the focus here. His action is....and its quite surprising that people are praising him for what possibly could have resulted in multiple deaths. There have been cases where politicians have negotiated in other countries, yes, but that is always under police mandated conditions and plans......certainly not cases of someone trying to be a super hero by force.
Crowd control was an issue, but the role of police itself was correct throughout. IGP in his interview made it clear that the strategy was to tire the guy out through stalling tactics, and then take him down without any loss of life. That is what the elite force are trained for. But our media was berating our police 5 minutes into the incident...and the public bought the media version, hook line and sinker.

I would again like to praise the police for their professionalism and restraint. Yes, there were lapses, like how the guy got into the red zone to begin with, and how there was no crowd or media control.....but other than that, the police did a good job.

remember Punjab Govt had issued directives to fire all those policemen who had big TOND [pot belly] if they didn't trim it to an acceptable girth!

i wonder how many were actually fired! tondoo police waale jismaanii taur se bhii kuchh nahiiN kar sakte...they have a valid excuse! :D

The police negotiated with the guy, and were trying to disarm him withuot any use of force, because they wanted to keep people safe, and they wanted him alive in order to glean further information. Otherwise, killing him was a piece of cake.

Though our police is ill equipped and ill trained, it is primarily because of political parties, who come in and fill up police stations with their faithfuls, because for a politician, police is meant for their own protection, not the public's.

We, as a nation, love to berate ourselves, so much so that we cannot even look at and appreciate something when it is done right. So depleted is our caliber, that even in this, I can see people applauding Zamurad's stupidity more than the Police department's positive restraint and tactics, which essentially saved the day.

zamurd khan was na 54 candidate securing 3rd place behind pti hina manzoor and pmln malik abrar who barely won

i dont think what he did today was heroic. after his failed attempt to jump the guy, that sikander dude managed to fire some shots any of those stray bullets could have hit the bystanders not to mention his own kids. he should have been taken out by the snipers long time ago. i didnt think there was anything to negotiate

Those who said "kaamyab-bewaqoofi=brave" then I'd support for brave, may be our army is also "bewaqoof"? :D

At one point in 1990s getting hired as policeman required Rs 1-2,00,000... that is all.

Know Zumard very well from our old residence... he's a brave soul and a fearless guy.

Last I met him at Liaqat Bagh and he told us the story about how Musharraf's goons came in minutes after BB's assassination and cleared up the mess and washed away the site in minutes.

Are you kidding? These guys don't know 1,2, 3 of policing. I'm not a policeman, but as an attorney, I deal with police all the time.

Here are some basic steps they could have taken.

1) Setup crime scene perimeter around the area.

2) Evacuate people in immediate vicinity of the crime scene & keep the bystanders away.

3) Put heavily vehicles around the suspect so in case of shootout bullets don't go flying everywhere.

4) Have snipers ready to take out suspect if they have to.

I can see people applauding Zamurad's stupidity more than the Police department's positive restraint and tactics, which essentially saved the day.

Lol you're berating the guy who disarmed the suspect & applauding the police who were standing around like grazing cows?

when did he disarm the suspect if he was shooting at him as he escaped? [Edited]

we are a veli quom

ive seen ppl stand around all day to see a railway bridge being constructed or a nullah water overflowing the streets

Well, he was lot more braver than police. Btw, what was with policing firing in the air after suspect was taken into custody? Is that an example of professional police force?

What happens to a man who tries to be a vigilante in the US? He gets arrested doesn't he?

Other than heavy vehicles around him, they did all the rest, except that the media hounds refused to go away......and police had their hands full with a crazed gunman in the middle of a red zone. The people surrounding the scene were all either police personnel, or media outlets....lets be very clear about this. Civilians were pushed back in the initial part of the drama.

Lol you're berating the guy who disarmed the suspect & applauding the police who were standing around like grazing cows?

We must have been watching 2 different dramas, because I missed the one where he disarmed the suspect. The drama that I saw was where Zamurad was lying on the ground, and the gunman had an open field of people in front of him, with an SMG in each hand which could fire more than 10 rounds per second. If police had not intimidated and overpowered him with heavy aerial firing and by swarming around him, he would have likely gotten off about 30-40 bullets into the crowd of media and police.

Just listening to Dr. Rizwan, SSPs interview. Some points made by him.

1. Police commandos were in position to take action much sooner, but media and TV cameras refused to pull back, and that essentially thwarted the operation.
  2. Politicians were advised to stay away. PML-N's Islamabad MNA Tariq Afzal Khan wanted to come, but he was not allowed, and he heeded the advice of the police.
  3. Nabeel Gabol and Zamurud Khan were told NOT to do anything.
  4. Zamurud Khan's action was a MISADVENTURE, and he was lucky that police commandos were already in position, and managed to prevent a catastrophe from happening.
  5. The guy was mentally deranged, and the police strategy was to tire and exhaust him out, convince him to move to an isolated place, and then physically overpower him. And the police had convinced him to move to another place....during which Zamurud launched his misadventure.

Listening to the SSP, it seems like the police was in control from the onset, and the only hurdles were the media, and politicians. Now all those singing praises of a guy who singlehandedly put the lives of many people in danger by his stupid stunt (im not talking about Sikandar), should ask the same guy to go to Karachi and deal with the Lyari gangs the same way.