Islam in Pakistan

Re: Islam in Pakistan

So can u plz give a reference as to WHERE IN ISLAM IT SAYS that ppl have the freedom to do whatever they wish... if we as Muslims want to end up in heaven inshallah, then it is imerative that we conduct ourselves within the boundries created by Allah SWT (which is the definition of what a muslim is)... the "freedom" you are referring to lies outside this boundry.

Secondly, all of the knowledge of the unseen you are referring to above was "God sent", sp you really cant relate that what ppl do today... there is a really strong hadith against fortune telling, as well as getting our fortunes told.

Thirdly, with regards to hajj/ umrah... this is a particular exception... and you cannot relate this to the kind og behoodgi that goes on in mixed weddings... also, in most mixed gathering, women are almost never dressed in the modest attire that our religion preaches, or are they?

Fourthly, what the video is referring to is going to ppl's graves and invocing to them to answer their needs INSTEAD of Allah SWT.... if that is not shirk then what is? u dont have to bow infront of idol to commit shirk u know.

And finally... if a person is giving a religous lecture, then these are usually centred around a specific topic... they dont all have to talk about suicide bombings!

Wassalam

spot on.

Your posts arent worth understanding... :)

Your not reading...
What INTERPRETATION are we to follow?!?!?
You CANT implement a relgion that is so open to different interpretations! You seem to think that everything can be packaged into a tiny little box with a bow.. Thats not the case...
Would you like us to implement Islam the way the Taliban did? The way Wahabis do? Should we destroy all Music shops? Whos version of Islam are you refering too? I personally dont agree with anything you say, so should I be forced to impliment Islam the way you do?

Your right, Logic is relative, and we cant all come to a single conclusion... What I dont agree with you on is where you say things are proven through hadith and quran...
The fact is that NOT all things are proven, there is much room to for interprtation.
Saying we should impliment Islam in all factors of life, is a very dangerous statement, because you open the door to people like the Lal Masjid brigade, Taliban etc, who, being equally convicned of the rightness of their actions are willing to murder to foward their narrow interpretation.

And you cant just submit to somthing you dont understand. Thats following blindly. Even Islam is against following somthing you dont understand blindly.
I will submit to god in my own way, you submit in your own, is the best compramise that can be made...
And that is live and let live...

You may find several on this forum who claim otherwise... sad but true.

lolzz.....Abdur Rahim Green from West London, a good speaker.

Someone in thread asked 'does it mean Quran needs to be updated'. Someone answered "no but islam cannot be practiced today because rthe framework for practicinf it doesn't exist today".

This only leads to one of 2 conclusions:

1. Either islam cannot be practiced even with an update or
  2. Quran is not the framework for islam.

So much for imams mullahs and islam experts. Just prove my long held view that it is just so much babling w.o substace.

In the mean time, India and UK are going ahead with wargames in Kashmir.

SAlam

I would recommend to the bold part then dont call it the way you submit your will to God and call it Islam, i hope i am clear in what I have mentioned and regarding Abdur Raheem Green he is spoken the truth i also have the same view about the muslims in India.

He means you can follow whatever you want do it even Allaah doesnt mind as Allaah gives you free will but do not call it ISLAM and fool others with some barbie doll theories just to pacify other muslims and non-muslims equally.

So who the h is green and you are anyone else to tell others what is islam and what is not?

This is not mere arrogance on the religious preacher's part - this their racket. This is hoiw they sacre people to follow their own version and thus leach on people instead of doing a honest day's work.

This kind of "don't call it islam" people should be punished for false propaganda, crimes against god and confidence trickery for selfish purpose.

Do you not see how you have corrupted entire generations with this nonsense and as a direct result muslim kids are wxploding temselves and killing others?

Because of you these naïve muslim kids are thinking they're practicing god's will and ending up in dante's hell.

So who the h is green and you are anyone else to tell others what is islam and what is not?

This is not mere arrogance on the religious preacher's part - this their racket. This is hoiw they sacre people to follow their own version and thus leach on people instead of doing a honest day's work.

This kind of "don't call it islam" people should be punished for false propaganda, crimes against god and confidence trickery for selfish purpose.

Do you not see how you have corrupted entire generations with this nonsense and as a direct result muslim kids are wxploding temselves and killing others?

Because of you these naïve muslim kids are thinking they're practicing god's will and ending up in dante's hell.

Peace Tariq,

Exactly dont call it Islam for your own version of life is that difficulth to understand. I am clear you have your own beliefs, i respect your beliefs even in case if you hate Allaah, the prophets i odnt mind coz its your own belief.

But to say this is what it is and calling it Islam is a false propoganda in light of the Quran, i am not talking about you or others but the word of God i.e. the Quran which i believe is true after my analysis (ofcourse i dont tend to close my eyes but question myself always)

But if someone has his/her own belief system let them please do it ahlan wa sahlan i will never force to believe my system but to follow someting and calling it Islam is blasphemous and I dont say it Allaah says it and the words in the Quran are quite clear.

Its like not following a legal law of the country but still saying that I follow it completely according to my thinking.

That leads to a bigger problem. For someone say to another that "that is not islam" requires an assumption that they know what it is. To know what it is not, presumes that.

That is why the concept of prescriptive, directive and ideological religion is simply a figment of imagination made up for mullahs imams maulvis islamics islamists jihadis whatever you call yourself, simply to make people give you money, sometimes worse.

When zawahri or bon aden say they're aganst amreeka, they call it their islam.

Whem you proclaim that this what quran says or that, that's simply no differen from zawahiri or laden saying that.

Since the distinction between various crooks has faded, islam to survive in any legal form has to:

1) define itself thru updated modern day ways, including language that ppl understand.
2) It has to give up untenable, silly and downright uncivilized practices such as polygamy, the concept of "allowed / not allowed' references and judgemental fatwas, the concept of kufir, the concept of "one single way to practice and yes, even the concept of religion over state. State law is unequivocallly superior to sharia. It has to proclaim that
3)No amount of change will enable survival unless thinking, freedom of speech and education (real, not rote recitation of quran) are stressed

I don't thinlk muslims really comprehend how bad it has become. Radical surgey required.

ya ya…very true. phir bhi u replied. :mocking:

p.s. such karwa hota hai. :stuck_out_tongue:

MashaALLAH MashaALLAH. zaberdast approach. n u seemz like have a very firm belief.

so would u care to reveal wat school of thought u find the most pious one? n which one the most irreligious one?
n which one u actually follow?

That leads to a bigger problem. For someone say to another that "that is not islam" requires an assumption that they know what it is. To know what it is not, presumes that.

It's not on an assumption but comes along with my belief system. Now Allaah is given the guidelines to know what Islam is simply because Allaah created us, now go on to say its an assumption its wrong but its a fact recorded in the Quran.

Now how i do it is left upto me you cant look at an individual to know what is Quran, now suppose if someone is a robber and a muslim and you say all muslims are robbers and its due to Holy Quran is wrong.

They are certain things which i believe in and obviously you have a different belief system the world can only live when we tolerate each other not throw tantrums at each other showing extremism.

Like communism started of as a noble cause e.g. the re-distribution of wealth when everyone in the world was talking about distribution of wealth. But after a while it turned out to be extremism instead of something which it was destined for so the keyword is TOLERATE, now i say this is the ISLAM because its mentioned in the Quran unless and until someone comes with a new version of Islam.

That is why the concept of prescriptive, directive and ideological religion is simply a figment of imagination made up for mullahs imams maulvis islamics islamists jihadis whatever you call yourself, simply to make people give you money, sometimes worse.

1) Tariq i do not go to any mullah for any teaching, i do my own learning,try to analyse it and then i understand. For me mullahs, imams maulvis, islamic jihadists and whaterver you cal yourself **might be **making money whatever there intention is but I have the Holy Quran to teach me.

Like in my days of atheism i used to Question, criticise the Quran at times pass on comments like if Allaah is there let him come down ignore the concept of hell or heaven.

But after my epiphany each and everything i thought wrong about islam proved to be false some out of reading with **SINCERITY, **and others after my experience, this certainly made me realise Islam is a true religion. Praise be to God it took me around 1.5 years after constant reading i knew Islam is the truth.

Now as i have quoted you an example you cant see these maulvis, jihadist and say this is true Islam nor anyone who drinks, performs adultery and comes up and says this is True Islam this is extermism in the name of Islam.You wanna know Islam read the Quran.

When zawahri or bon aden say they're aganst amreeka, they call it their islam.

Whem you proclaim that this what quran says or that, that's simply no differen from zawahiri or laden saying that.

Now i have quoted an example above guess what this was before i could read the above quote because once you start with these kind of debates you end up talking about OBL.

Now regarding this issue, there is a verse in the Quran which says dont kill any innocent human its like killing the whole of human kind.

Now if they call this is Islam then what is the verse of the Quran. Islam doesnt mean you leave out these verses of the Quran and accept only those verses which fills our own ulterior motives. You take up Islam with a complete package and accept it as a belief system.

This can be done with sincerity in heart and fear, love, towards God.

Since the distinction between various crooks has faded, islam to survive in any legal form has to:

I agree with you completely on this aspect. Let it be when we are over here we are trying to learn something rather than to bicker which ends up as a no result coz pre-meditated thoughts is something which i dont adhere to.

1) define itself thru updated modern day ways, including language that ppl understand.

Now you provide just one e.g of pakistan thats there problem, but if you read the history of Islam they have been scientists and there books were followed until 19th century to say modern ways is left upto an Individual not call it Islam.

To call Islam takes you backwards is wrong, what about the muslim colleagues I work with arent they believing in what i believe and we do our work equally with the same zeal.

Those days the madrasas were a learning center for learning Islam, science,math no wonder the European Michael Scott translated some beautiful work of most of this and had this published in Europe in the 14th century.

So blaming Islam for it is stupidity and rather ignorant, without trying to learn the history of Islam.

) It has to give up untenable, silly and downright uncivilized practices such as polygamy, the concept of "allowed / not allowed' references and judgemental fatwas, the concept of kufir, the concept of "one single way to practice and yes, even the concept of religion over state. State law is unequivocallly superior to sharia. It has to proclaim that

I have answered this in my rebuttal just before this quote above and how fantastic as an athiest I also believed in the same.

1) Untenable i dont think so, silly its your perspective and downright uncivilized pratices its cultural so dont mix it with religion its leads to stupidity. Its like when I was in India all the indians muslims used to tell me all pakitanis are bad, they are robbers I met them and it's different now.

Issue about Polygamy: Now let me just ask you, if this issue of polygamy if wasnt present in the Quran would you still accept Islam in totality (here i am assuming you reject such verses, though i dont know your intention).
I dont wanna delve on this topic as the post will get unduly bigger.

Issue about allowed/not allowed/

Now let me quote you an e.g.

Consider Quran = Legal law book of a country

Islam = Country

Muslim = Citizen of a country

Now i as a citizen of a country (muslim) create nuisance in our country (Islam) and i am being punished accordingly by looking at the references as given by the legal law book (Quran) now where am i wrong.

Judgemental fatwas i dont agree if its stupid without deriving through the legal law book (Quran) and the some understanding of this law (Sunnah).

The concept of kufr

Now this is damn stupidity to the core, now what is a kafir someone who doesnt believe who is a disbeliever according to the context of the Quran. Now this kind of dualism of Believer and Disbeliever is there in every part of the world

Like a christian and a non-christian, jew and a non-jew, hindu and a non-hindu, now to say only Islam is got this has no logical significance and i throw it to the bin

Issue of One Way of life/State law equivalent to Sharia

Now since I live in INdia, i know India as a country where it allows me to practice and preach my religion. In that course I am abiding by the state law and lead my life as good muslim and be tolerant and patient.

But if its a muslim country like pakistan, its left upto the government.

3)No amount of change will enable survival unless thinking, freedom of speech and education (real, not rote recitation of quran) are stressed

Exactly regarding education you have to read the Islamic history to know more (its just in the past couple of centuries) as well as Prophet also stressed on this point of education, rote learning will go no where.

Survival unless thinking exactly God is made the humans in that way and i agree completely.

Freedome of speech: Now this i leave you to define, according to you what is your definition of freedom of speech.
Coz i can define freedom of speech as calling anyones Mothers/sister by any name being virulent with them and still no country will harm me and if someone does i take him to task

I don't thinlk muslims really comprehend how bad it has become. Radical surgey required.

Exactly if we muslims would have comprehended we would have been out of the difficulty we are into now. The last centure is wehre we have lost the plot. But i hope things will change and I also believe this is the divine will of Allaah (Thats not an excuse not to learn but what i believe in).

Radical survery or surgey if its a survey its not going to help either, you will only get to know the facts nothing will be put into practice unless people want to learn with sincerity.

Unless people realize Quran is a book to be understood, and not recite, Quran is a book to be practiced and not recited and Quran is not only to the Mullahs to explain but for each and every individual who believes in the Quran.

Here again i can remember of the Great Muslim scientists how well they balanced there life.

Slave - I won't go line by line but will just highlight some obvious errors and fallacoes in your (well composed) post:

• something that 'comes in your belief system' is nothing but an assumption. You 'assume' it is so because it came in your belief system. All assumptions have a reason (such as yours nbeing b.system). It is still an assumption.

• one crook being muslim doesn't provide any corelation. But when you find 80pct plus crooks are muslim, you have to atleast explore if there's a corelatoion.

• islam is not a country. Why would any arguement you develop with that upfron erroneous hypothesis go anywhere? My point abt sharia and kufr is that unless you're prepared to say that all people of a country have to be muslims, you cannout have a muslim code as the nation's law. And for you to say everyone has to be a muslim, will force you to accept that it is a directive, prescriptive and compulsive religion.

• I really don't care about how and why the practice of polygamy started. I'm interested in eradicating this becauise it is an uncivilized and eternal satement that women are less because of gender. And islam / muslims are the biggest practiotioners of this barbaric thing at present.

• I am not an atheist.I'm glad you've stopped being one (hopefully on your own) but that does explain your swing from one extreme to another. Guess born again muslims are no better than born again christians. Anyway, all that's irrelevant - I care about what's said, not who said it.

Exactly.

I always cringe my teeth when someone criticizes Pakistan starting with an example of some dancing girls at a wedding or party. Is that what Islam boils down to or is that what they consider the most horrific unIslamic thing imaginable? Why can't they start with shirik, poverty, ignorance, greed, murder rate, corruption, rape, extortion, the list goes on and on! Do they believe that all the problems of Pakistan will be solved if they can just stop the dancing girls at some stupid party?

There is no denying that OBL and others have a legitimate political grevience. There is little to no debate as to the illigetimacy of *their *tactics. Little - it's clear a line has been crossed. Even OBL seems to back track from time to time, proclaiming it is Haraam to harm innocent women and children.

There is nuance here, but it really doesn't involve Islam, even though that is the basis for the rhetoric in play.

The school of thought at work here is that political necessity trumps moral imperatives. This is NOT unique to Muslims, or Islamic thought. This is clear when an F-16 takes out a village full of innocents. Your "civilized" people would call it "collateral damage". Those of us with no ideological affiliation hear this is an "oops", and visualize a most patronizing shrug following that utterance.

It's intellectually dishonest at best to suggest that any ideolgical framework doesn't suffer from this very problem, or that it's something unqiue to Muslims at this point in history. How a regiment of secularization would help this, or even radical relgiious reforms along western lines needs further elaboration.

Mullahs wouldn't be issuing the blood thirsty fatwas...it'll be media personalities and potlical figures. The speech will be a bit more sophsiticated, and drafted by highly educated people. But only a fool would think the resultant message isn't in fact the same.

The problem with this conception is that there is no organized body of "mullahdome" which is the sole benificiary of such alleged manipulations of religion. Really, this is a rather still born attempt at projecting something from the European experience with the Church to Islam...it doesn't work.

Which people? I understand it perfectly fine as it is.

2) It has to give up untenable, silly and downright uncivilized practices such as polygamy, the concept of "allowed / not allowed' references and judgemental fatwas, the concept of kufir, the concept of "one single way to practice and yes, even the concept of religion over state. State law is unequivocallly superior to sharia. It has to proclaim that

State law will incorporate religious law, so there need not be a hierarchal relation between the two. Unless one presumes that religion must be personal...but that's an imposition, and not a universally held position.

Concepts of polygamy or what not dwindle naturally, and it's foolish to think it's either a pressing concern, or somehow an "issue" that needs to be addressed. Kufir is what it is...how is it any different than "non-Muslim"? Or a "gentile"?

Misleading. All thought within any tradition is constrained by some bounds. Not being able to question free speech is a constraint, for example. Change to what end? What's silly is to expect the religious to embrace change that only benefits the irreligious.

Education is key, indeed. The rest is ideolgical rubbish....

EVERY Muslim and their pet parrot *only *seems to bicker at how bad it's become....that things are bad is very well known. The so-called solutions thrown about are always a kicker....and end up being anything but.

• islam is not a country. Why would any arguement you develop with that upfron erroneous hypothesis go anywhere? My point abt sharia and kufr is that unless you're prepared to say that all people of a country have to be muslims, you cannout have a muslim code as the nation's law.

Not really...what you need is a uniform law. Applying Shariah on non-muslims is in every way analogous to enforcing Secular laws over Muslims, or those who dont' recognize the legitimacy of those laws. Secular legal systems have little to no concern over Muslim sentiments, so how is it somehow wrong if Muslims reciprocate?

Regardless of the legal system...you neither have to believe in the ideological or philosophical foundations of the law, nor even agree with the laws themselves. You simply need to obey them. Period. That's not optional.

• I really don't care about how and why the practice of polygamy started. I'm interested in eradicating this becauise it is an uncivilized and eternal satement that women are less because of gender. And islam / muslims are the biggest practiotioners of this barbaric thing at present.

How so? One could very well argue you're simply a victim of internalized racism. It's not a mandatory practice. All evidence suggests that those who are involved in such relationships consider it "normal" with respect to their own cultural norms. It's quite hypocritical on one hand to beoman Muslims imposing their values and mores on others, and you arguably doing the same in the name of your own value system - steeped in demonizing terminology as it is.

Slave - I won't go line by line but will just highlight some obvious errors and fallacoes in your (well composed) post:

Dont mind go ahead. Yes in your opinion as you seem to be opinionated as usual

• something that 'comes in your belief system' is nothing but an assumption. You 'assume' it is so because it came in your belief system. All assumptions have a reason (such as yours nbeing b.system). It is still an assumption.

You havent still understoo my point of a belief system and you concept. I dont consider it as an assumption, i am talking about being the truth thats the Quran, i think i am clear i dont wanna delve on it

• one crook being muslim doesn't provide any corelation. But when you find 80pct plus crooks are muslim, you have to atleast explore if there's a corelatoion.

Again if the 80% figure is a fact i agree to it but its not. If you want to determine the corelation i feel its better you take a larger sample size of 1.4 billion muslims rather than just 100,000.
But again since i know they are not more than 80% its fine.

• islam is not a country. Why would any arguement you develop with that upfron erroneous hypothesis go anywhere? My point abt sharia and kufr is that unless you're prepared to say that all people of a country have to be muslims, you cannout have a muslim code as the nation's law. And for you to say everyone has to be a muslim, will force you to accept that it is a directive, prescriptive and compulsive religion.

Again it was an hypothesis you seem to re-create my point, its not erroneous because its still an hypothesis.
But in a Muslim country like saudi its different i hope you get my point, no one is trying to use the concept of compulsive religion but just follow the code of law.
Now you explanation was erroeneous. Well i asked yo to look into islamic history.

* I really don't care about how and why the practice of polygamy started. I'm interested in eradicating this becauise it is an uncivilized and eternal satement that women are less because of gender. And islam / muslims are the biggest practiotioners of this barbaric thing at present.

This is again is a problem with certain muslims who are uneducated. I dont consider them to be a weaker sex, but i asked you to look into the Quran and not the people around that would make your life better.

My request is dont see the mullah and tell me this is Islam i will straight away ignore it, please get the concept from Quran and then i will respect you for the kind of analysis you have done.

As of today what you have spoken is some analysis from some third party and not the book of God.

• I am not an atheist.I'm glad you've stopped being one (hopefully on your own) but that does explain your swing from one extreme to another. Guess born again muslims are no better than born again christians. Anyway, all that's irrelevant - I care about what's said, not who said it

Guess what there is no concept of re-incarantion in Islam and the point you have always picked up is that of an agnostic. But agree with you religion should be on a basis of some rationality and reasoning not blind faith. I am glad i found both of these in Islam.

But i repeat again being born a muslim doesnt provide you license to go to heaven, just born under muslim parents does make you a muslim in by word, literally but not in actual practice unless we take trouble to understand wht is said in the Quran (That is to find the frame work of life in the Quran).
Put it in actual practice. So unless you cant experience you tend to blame but you have to provide opinions from both the sides.
Otherwise we are again bickering and pick up points which are just useless and we come on no common point.

Tariq,

Further you questioning me i had some question to you if you want to answer let me know (I hope you dont runaway this time around)

*Please define me a code of law (Not from pakistan perspective)

*Define me freedom of speech

*How will you make what is said to come into practice

*How will you try to cut down on these extremists (Not only muslims but in general extremism)

Well, it's the root...

A dancing girl will grow up to dance more...As more she dances, the more away from religion she becomes...She starts watching more movies to learn the latest dance moves so she can dance even better...Then she dances at a party...She gets seen by a guy her own age...He sends her a letter about how nice she looked dancing and they decide to meet...After a few dates they have sex...The girl becomes pregnant and gives birth to a bustard child...The bustard child then having no Islam from his mother resorts to corruption...And since the mother had neither civic sense nor religious sense, the kid becomes a corrupt person by taking bribes, stealing, raping, murdering and extortion...

So let's look at the roots first...