Re: Islam and Dogs(animal)
Yeah, nice try.
You have not answered my questions, but it looks like my questions have raised questions for you too.
Angel of death may have a remote control device that is used in suck situations. A drone perhaps.
Does android have a soul? If so, is the creator of an android a god to android? …does he atleast allow the android to have a dog… Regular or android
Coral raises a good question, I am also confused about how obvious does the living organism needs to be. If I take a picture of a rock which I understand to be a non living thing, but I can’t see that there are microbes on it that are in fact living organisms. Would angels not enter because there is a picture of a living thing? What level zoom do they abide by.. It would suck if the rock gets me ignored
lastly what about pictures that are in my wallet … To me it’s not displayed but it’s there..
I think the dog and picture thing is a security issue… I have to leave my wallet outside and no dog to guard it..
Pas: Abay.. Change your nick to ‘bad Sequel’…
^ Hmmm…X2…would intent play a role in this? There can be microbes in the air too, no? So let’s say that you put up a photograph of a mountain. There must be microbes on it’s surface and even the air around it. But is your intention ONLY to put up a pic of something inanimate (the mountain) or does it also include the invisible microbes?
It’s the same case with putting up photographs of people. Let’s say you put up the image of a person. Your focus is solely on that person. To someone who is unfamiliar with the person in the photograph…you would say, “That’s my wife…or my child, etc.” You are not going to say, “That’s a picture of my wife and the invisible germs that are most likely on her sweater and on the chair/sofa that she is sitting on…and let’s not forget on the wall and in the air of the room this photograph was taken in.” Your intention is only to put up a pic of your wife. So, if someone does put up a a picture of a rock, the intention is usually to display the rock and not the invisible microbes on it.
I mentioned your wife as an example not out of disrespect or with the intention to offend, but just discussion; I want to clarify that.
This was what my mum used to say.. I was up in a loft conversion with my dog when l lived with my parents so it wasn’t much of an issue.. The place I’m in now has certain areas which the dog isn’t allowed in either.. I’m not particularly religious but it means if ppl visiting want to be sure they can use those rooms..
Just to clarify with X2 and RV, in this matter, the rule of zaahir and baatin kicks in. A human in the picture, if so small that you can’t recognize, is ok. That is why a 1000 feet from air picture of kaaba with thousands of people circling is found even in mosques. Same rule for microbes or a picture in your wallet or a folded newspaper in the room.
wah…* kia eereengi mar ky* dono ko pin down ker dia…
boss.. you are the kind who worship moon god, and some box in a desert. and kiss the ground ???
eww
Abay yeah kya hai? Na koi sar na payr. Fuzool ki baat
I thought I was posting in generalization thread ![]()
Lol. U r phunny mister monk
If intent plays a role then there is big difference in some hand drawn picture of some holy being, divine character etc versus picture of my kid taking his first steps… While he acts like it , neither is he god, nor do I worship him or his image. The intent is not to do shirk..
PS: stop stalking begum in your thoughts!!
So if I have a composite picture of images of all gods of different cultures.. Mithra, Ra, Apollo, hanuman, but it’s so many and small images that Iira not really evident what is what, then I am home clear right?
Can I hang that at a masjid?
This also reminds me of artists who take those aerial photographs of a naked heap of humanity all tangled together. I think that is kosher too because technically… You can’t recall make much out.
^ Bhai Sahab, you need a good 10 hours sleep. You are running out of clever thoughts
Peace bros X2 and TLK
You really do bring out the worst in each other … ![]()
There are really simply resolutions to the alleged problems you are discussing … the problem is that if we only take the outwardness into consideration then we will always fail to get the true picture.
The reference to angels not entering the home where a dog is present - these hadith are alluding to a certain type of angel - angels have different purposes … some are sent to join in on gatherings of people remembering Allah (SWT), others are sent to help people fighting, others are around to protect and direct and others are sent to give salutations and send blessings of barakah and so on … the ones who are with us and the Angel of Death have no such restrictions to dogs.
Children go through this type of thought process too. Plenty of references are in our scriptures showing us different angels have different levels of jurisdiction … even Angel Gabriel (AS) said his wings would burn if he would dare attempt to rise above the Lote Tree at the apex of the heavens …
Regarding the use of pictures … ijtehad is required on photographs because these are new … ijtehad from the point of view that looks at the purpose of photographs deems them in the same category as illustrated imagery and from the point of view that looks at them from a scientific point of view deems them to be capturing the light.
So photographs are either totally forbidden to the more stringent opinions or allowed but the ruling follows the ruling of the image … so if the photo is of a tree then the ruling is of that photo is the same as it would be for a living tree … if the photo is of a nude people as mentioned earlier then the ruling would be in accordance to it had it been live and in person … photographic pictures of dogs as mentioned earlier will take the same ruling as real life dogs take …
What is haram in Islam is actually something that we would call … iconography … It is the intention and use of images and forms that are noticeably intended to inculcate praise, adoration or awe … so psychological impact has a lot to do with the ruling of imagery … putting images in high places, of living creatures with facial features, in larger than life formats and vibrant colours almost deifying the image into an icon … is haram according to the widest set of opinions …
Although these days it is nigh impossible for people to see a big statue and fall in to worship of it … but these days we do have large billboards of adverts of models and actors - the use of which create a similar type of iconography … hero-worship is on the same trajectory as the shirk of the past although with a modern veneer.
If you want to keep a dog it is better to make a place for it in the back yard … from a utilitarian point of view they are quite impure and keeping the house clean would be next impossible with them inside it … I know because a friend of mine who had dogs - well we were sitting in their house and dog hair was on the table when we sat down to eat … so we for obvious reasons kept our visit short and ate as little as we could without being rude.
aww did somebody just surrender..?
so…in the end..its intent.
because pictures to revere as some sort of divine force get into shirk
but newspaper lying around with a sports page pic of lionel messi is not a big deal..
there is also no issue with pictures on TV of a newscast, a TV show, or some maulvi dude waxing lyrical on whatever they wax lyrical on these days.
Because look for those who have this no pics in home mindset, please turn off your televisions, and make sure when you surf the web you are in text only mode.
2.3 million children are bitten by dogs in USA each year, 2.2 million adults. Its mostly the family dogs that are most likely to bite. So decide do you love your dog or your child.
oh yaaaay, i have some free time..t
we do…whats your excuse?..or is that how you are anyways
yes yes, it says reheat kay farishtay…dogs and pictures and whatever…
what you fail to understand is that in our own horsing around way…we were illustrating some points..which you get to as well..eventually..
yeah…there has to be some sense to it and not that there is a picture so its a no entry for angels to the house.
so if the nature of the picture is debatable and a topic of ijtehaad..then it is not a set in stone ruling, because ijtehaad does not change the faith, ijtehaad can only look at seeing how certain commands can be carried out in todays environment.
Ijtehaad can not say you can pray once a day can it?
ruling following the ruling of the image is not sensible as blanket approach…
I get the nude picture thing…
habshi kyaaaa!!!
nude person pic will not be cool because of the sattar issue…dogs pic will not be cool because of what?..salva issue? ![]()
now this dog picture thing is ridiculous… a dog is not a picture…if the basic reason to not have a dog in the house was because of saliva…then unless the dog’s picture has saliva coming out it is perfectly fine..
to me islam is a rather simple religion with some straight forward rulings based in logic…dogs can be filthy and all over you and your stuff so keep em out, pigs carry disease, dont eat them, zabeeha is a healthier meat, hygiene is important so wuzu etc, …
pics of a dog simply dont pass the logic test…
I doubt God has an issue with a picture that has been put through filters, photoshopped, chromed etc…it can be artistic impression, and have nothing to do with anything else.
quite untrue, the term worship is not the same…heroes have had fans ,and so have heroines in all eras, a following of admirers is nothing new.
but using the same logic you should not have cats, birds, goats, anything indoors..if you are not going to do everything possible to prevent the place not getting filthy. I personally am not bothered because I am too busy and lazy to have a dog
My uncles in Pakistan have two giant size German Shephers (he still does) and I was terrified of those creatures as child. I have same feelings towards huskies.
My grandparents don’t like dogs (and even cats) but for some reason my dad brought us a cute little Golden Retriever puppy, the poor fella died and I remember how upset we all were. My mother prefers cats, and we’re raised with cats around but it really hurts when your pet dies or gets ill. Now we just stopped having a pet in our house. I guess my family isn’t against having dogs.
The RSPCA will hate me for saying this, but I’m more into exotic birds and animals. Our neighbours in Pakistan had two Indian peacocks and two white ones, I just loved going to their house just to see them. We had parrots of all kinds…I think one of main ways of my father’s to make us enjoy our vacation in Pakistan was to buy us pets. It was his way to keep us happy and occupied. The memories.