Isa (AS) dead or alive. In the light of Quran and Hadith.

Can you tell me what were the beliefs of Prophet Muhammad SAW in regard to the death of Isa As? I have the same beliefs; I am a follower of Prophet Muhammad SAW, not of Ghamdi and Asad.

hmm quite an extravagant claim that you have same beliefs that prophet muhammad (pbuh) had regarding death of Isa AS. You have stated two beliefs and haven't pinpointed as what your own belief is. You are standing in two boats in one time and one of them is sinking.

State your belief regarding life or death of Isa AS clearly but be very careful as you have already said that you have the same beliefs what prophet muhammad (pbuh) had.

Re: Isa (AS) dead or alive. In the light of Quran and Hadith.

^^u caught him again....lolz

I was reading Mubahisa-e-ludhiyana last night and found many similarities between the responses of our oponants of today and those of molvi batalvi sahib. The Promised Messiah (as) stated his belief over and over to answer molvi sahib's question but molvi sahib kept insisting that his question was not answered. The result was that all twelve days of the debate were spent without having any discussion on the main point of contention. That is precisely what goes on in any discussion between an Ahmadi and a non-Ahmadi Muslim. The non-Ahmadis keep attacking and going off on tangents but don't discuss the central issues, such as the finality of Prophethood or the death of Jesus.

This was my initial post.
No question about jamaat e ahmadiyya.
Once the death of Isa (AS) is proven from Quran, you will know the claims of the founder of Jamaat e ahmadiyya.

And why did you insert
Though, this discussion may lead some people to think and understand about the claims that the founder of ahmadiyya jamaat made.”

Therefore, **I am entitled to let my Muslim Brothers and Sisters know the truth about Mirza and understand his claims.* As I have said from my first post, there is a huge difference between “cause you to die” and Mirza’s and your meanings “cause you to die natural death” at the age of 120/125 in Kashmir. *Your deceptions are exposed. **

no sir. I want you to tell me what their beliefs are. They are muslims according to you who believe in isa AS's death. I want you to tell me if they are right or wrong in their conclusion of Isa (AS)'s death.

This has already been answered, see my previous posts, I said they didn’t jump up with joy and claimed Prophet Hood on the basis of borrowed ideas like Mirza. Mirza is an unbeliever not because of believe Isa As died but because of his lies and his claims of being a prophet of any kind after Prophet SAW. *Why you think in the start I dedicated 4 articles to bust his claims of revelations received for the death of his father and brother? *

You are out of your mind, for us Muslims to believe on such a liar; *who lies and create fraudulent after the events ilhams attributing his lies to the revelations of Allah SWT. A person who is capable of lying to associate white lies to Allah SWT is capable of doing anything. Do you know the meanings of the word credibility? *

In any western country where legal system is independent, such person’s testimony would be rejected out of hand, he would be put in the prison for perjury if the judge finds that he lied deliberately. You in your foolish mind think a liar like Mirza would be spare in the Court of the Biggest Judge of them All at the Day of the Judgment? You seriously need your head examined.

again.. you are deceiving me and your readers. Thread is regarding Isa AS's death. Stick to it.
Take your own advice and prove it to us the death of ISA As at the age of 120/125 in Kashmir, from the Holy Quran. you wanted us to understand the claims of Mirza don’t you?

Try as hard as you can. I assure you as soon as you start talking to me based on Quran regarding Isa (AS)'s death/ascension, you will have nothing else to face but defeat, but you will not accept it. You know you are not only representing your own self but muslims beliefs. Prove to me from quran that isa AS is 'alive'. Can you do that?

Only fools like you claim things which they can not deliver. We have not seen any evidence from you in support of Mirza’s claims on the death of ISA As from the Holy Quran.

I am a follower of Muhammad SAW as well. I am a believer of Islam which Muhammad PBUH brought and not the Islam that your Mullahs have made. You posted Asad's interpretation of 3:55, thus, it means he is muslim according to you ! Believe in him or believe him not. He is the follower of Isa (AS)'s death. So am i.

You believed on worst Mullah of them all, the liar of Qadian, Mirza Dajjal. *You are not a follower of Prophet Muhammad SAW, you in fact are opposite to it; you are a denier of his SAW honor of being the last Prophet of any kind. *

My Brothers and Sisters, *let me test Mr. Popat and his hallow claims that he is a follower of Prophet Muhammad SAW. *

Tell us Mr. Popat, *according to the teachings of your cult, how many Prophets were in Islam between Prophet SAW and Mirza? *

*Nobody during these 1300 years achieved the title of Prophet hood according to Mirza? *

Nobody had the quality and Quantity of revelations like Mirza, according to Mirza? *Are we talking the same quality here, like I have demonstrated for ilhams Mirza claimed he received for the death of his brother and father, in other words his blatant lies? *

Mirza claimed that only window open for the prophet hood is to follow “Sirah-e-Siddiq”. He became Prophet following the sirah of this mysterious Siddiq. Could you tell us who this Siddiq was? **Why wasn’t he a prophet?** *How someone can be prophet to follow his sirah, but he himself can not be a prophet? *

Do you know Mirza claimed there were many in the Muslim Ummah who achieved the status of Nabi before Mirza? **Can you name one Muslim who according to you claimed prophet hood and you accept him as Nabi/Prophet? **

*Would there be any more Prophets until the day of the judgment following the Sirah of that mysterious Siddiq (by the way I know the identity of that Siddiq according to Mirza)? *

*If you think nobody would be able to achieve the status of Prophet hood in following the sirah of that mysterious Siddiq, then do you think Mirza is the last Prophet until the Day of the Judgment? *

*You can fool us again. You discredited fool. *

Asad’s commentary and his point of view are destruction of your beliefs and lies of Mirza not attestation of it. I have said repeatedly that his explanations, right or wrong, make perfect sense. But Mirza just proven liar from every angle.

I will see what you would do when I produced his explanations.

you are indeed very funny man. It was Muhammad PBUH who understood the meaning of Quran.

It is you indeed who is a fool, who thought he can fool the Muslims by deceptions to believe in the lies of Mirza. *I have already busted your con trick. It is getting worse, why can’t you bring one argument from the Holy Quran to support Mirza? *

Provide me with any hadith in which Hazrat Muhammad PBUH spoke of Isa (AS)'s ascension to heaven alive.

*Mr. Popat you are a fool indeed. Why you think I was repeatedly asking you the questions about Prophet Muhammad SAW understanding on the issue of death of Isa As. You have been dying to bring the Hadiths in to discussion, now is the time to ask you the evidence. *

*Mr. Popat you should tell us the Muslims when Prophet Muhammad SAW was given the full knowledge regarding the death of Isa As by Allah SWT as decreed in 3:61; then Why Prophet Muhammad SAW never ever said that he As has died? *

Also tell us one who says that Prophet SAW was mistaken or didn't have the knowledge of death of Isa As, or he SAW didnt understood the meaning of the verses of the Holy Quran, what would you call that person?

You should show Us Muslims one single authentic hadiths of Prophet Muhammad SAW in Arabic, not twisted meanings not what Abu Baker Siddiq Ra said or done after the death of Prophet Muhammad SAW.

I want to know one authentic saying of the Prophet SAW where he SAW have categorically said ISA AS has died.

Do not come up with your non-sense, I want clear cut proofs and straight answers from you.

I was slowly brining you to this point, but I had to be methodical, none of you foolish Qadianis understood what I was doing.

I want to know one authentic saying of the Prophet SAW where he SAW have categorically said ISA AS has died.

they reject Hadith and translate Quran according to their own desires. you will never get a straight answer.

lolz..Aramis sahiba...ye hui na baat....jab Quran kehta hai ke Esa (A.S) fott ho gaye hain to aap kehti hian Hadiths to nahin kehti.....abb Allah hi Haafiz keh sakta hoon aapko or aapke iss aqeede ko meri to salah hai Inna Nillah parh lien aap bhi.

Brother when you say something from the Quran please give the surah and chapter

I am sunni so please dont mind :)

Brother there is absolutly nothing wrong in asking what you think you dont know. And I usually dont mind things.

I was actually referring Aramis sahiba to following post of Mr Popat which includes the verse as well:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/6862319-post240.html

And I was trying to tell Aramis Sahiba that when Quran says Hadhrat Esa (A.S) is dead then why do you need an authentic Hadith? Isnt Quran superior to a Hadith? Thats it.

My Muslim brothers and sisters, these Qadianis, from the start never understood my approach. They in their foolishness on first thought got excited because I gave the translation of Asad “cause you to die”, then during the arguments they thought I also believe in the death of ISA As.

Mr. D..tox.ed writes

well u knw what, end of the day you ll find out he also believe in death of Esa (A.S)...

Mr. Popat writes;

If you are not a believer of Jesus (AS)'s ascension to heavens.. i have no interest debating with you any further.

Mr. KCChugtai gave this advice; which should have been heeded by Mr. Popat.

Dear D-tox..ed and Mr. Popat, Mr. crankthatskunk has already tried to secure his position by saying that muslims had both beliefs i.e., Jesus is alive or he is dead. So either way, he will say 'I am good'
I think he is more interested in hazart jesus' AS life post crucifixion. If you could shed some light in this aspect, that would be quite good in moving this discussion forward.

Mr. Popat should have realized I have already blocked his way in my first post, as Chugtai said, even if I agreed on the death of ISA As, I still could have easily stop him proving Mirza was right.

But these fools keep forgetting what I have said about both scenarios. I can easily prove that under both scenarios Mirza is still out.

Mr. Popat keeps asking about my beliefs. This is an old Qadiani trick, they always try to ask our beliefs first so they can go back to their borrowed material, which is being installed in their brains from their child hood. The lies they are feed on the twisted meanings of the verses of the Holy Quran, which are selected cunningly to be used for the claims of Mirza. I request all my Muslim Brothers and Sisters not to succumb to their tactics, to personalize the issues, so they can save the skin of Mirza. This is the only motive they have when they ask your beliefs.

Fact of the matter is as showed in my previous post; Quran very clearly decreed that Prophet Muhammad SAW was given the full knowledge of these issues by Allah SWT. We are dealing with Word of Allah SWT, not my understandings or meanings.

In the presence of such a clear cut decree of Allah SWT in the Holy Quran, that Prophet SAW was given full knowledge, and the order of Allah SWT in 3:61 for Prophet SAW to invite the Christians for a Muhibilla on the issues concerning Prophet ISA AS.

Christians backed away from holding this Muhaibilla and inviting the curse of Allah SWT on the one who is in the wrong. The important point here is demonstrated in the Holy Quran that Allah SWT Ordered Prophet SAW to invite Christians for Muhaibilla, because he SAW was given the full facts on these issues by Allah SWT. This verse in fact is testimony to the fact that Prophet SAW had been given the knowledge of these events; otherwise Allah SWT wouldn’t have ordered our Beloved Prophet SAW to face the Christians and invite the wrath of Allah SWT on the liars.

Mirza despite such clear decree in the Holy Quran wrote something extraordinary; which shows he never ever believed on the Word of Allah SWT. I will show that proof in my articles.

Mr. Popat is out of his depth and mind; he can never ever win these arguments. Looking at his knowledge which is apparent from the facts that he has not produced any Quranic evidence to prove the death of Isa As at the age of 120’125 in Kashmir. He can not because there is none, what he has is twisting and lies of Mirza. I can destroy all the arguments and evidence Mirza produced in his books.

Mr. Popat would never ever be able to proof anything from the Holy Quran, please remember that’s the claim he has made in opening of this thread. He should prove it from the Holy Quran not from some unreliable Hadiths or twisting of Hadiths. He faces with impossible task to prove those arguments from the Holy Quran. I will demonstrate every step of the way, kuffar of Mirza in my articles, Inshallah

An uphill task is faced by Mr. Popat to produce single evidence from the authenticated hadiths which demonstrate without shadow of any doubts that Prophet Muhammad SAW unconditionally and unequivocally said that Prophet ISA As has died.

My Muslim brothers and sisters think, What was stopping Prophet Muhammad SAW to say that he As died, to remove any doubt from the believers mind until the Day of the Judgment, if he SAW had full knowledge that he As has died? Quran clearly decreed that he SAW was given the full knowledge, then why didn’t he SAW say categorically he As has died?

Fact of the matter is 500 years were already passed then since the time of Isa AS. Christianity and false beliefs of Christians were well known, Quranic verses are testimony to it. In Quran we find verses which list and condemn false beliefs of the Christians. So why Prophet SAW didn’t even once mentioned the death of Isa As? What was stopping him SAW?

Didn’t he SAW knew the meanings of the Verses on the death or live ascension of ISA As in the Holy Quran? We know Quran decree he SAW did know. Then why oh why he SAW didn’t say in clear cut fashion that he As has died?

On the contrary, we find various sayings of Prophet SAW in authentic hadiths; indicating completely the reverse of it. There are absolutely no reasons, why Prophet SAW would have not confirmed the death of ISA As in clear terms. But unfortunately for the Qadianis he SAW never confirmed it.

I was laughing out loud, each time Mr. Popat showed his eagerness to discuss the hadiths. He should have known he is up against me. I don’t make empty claims; I don’t promise something I can not prove.

Mr. Popat should be mindful of the fact what he himself has written earlier, and secondly and more importantly Quranic evidence if he tried to bring the non-sense from his resources that Prophet SAW meant coming of someone else in the guise and in the spirit of Isa AS. He should never ever forget, Allah SWT has completely blocked the way for Kazzab like Mirza in the Holy Quran. I can prove it very easily.

Prophet SAW could have never said anything which was against the clear teachings of the Holy Quran. We Muslims know that first principle in judging the authenticity of the Hadiths is that they should not contradict the teachings of the Holy Quran. If they do, then they are not authentic sayings, and should be rejected out of hand, without any questions or delay.

Mr. Popat is so incapable and ignorant from the writings of Mirza that he does not understand Mirza has claimed against the Word of Allah SWT. Not only that he has ignored 3:61 completely but, he even went a step further and claimed something extraordinary. This evidence would be displayed in my articles, Inshallah.

If I write harsh words against Mirza then they are not without justifications or proofs. This man without a shadow of a doubt was an unbeliever. People like Mr. Popat can never ever in million years prove anything otherwise. I have spent over 3 years going through Mirza’s books with care and completely open mind. What I find is astonishing to say the least. Slowly and gradually I understood, the personality and Psyche of Mirza. This man was pure and simple evil, a confirmed Dajjal.

I have absolutely no doubt about it, I can prove it different ways and on different topics. A man who can make fun of the Word of Allah SWT could be anything but a Muslim. Mirza all his life has made fun of the Holy Quran and he repeatedly lied about it. This Dajjal have absolutely no Iman or believe on Allah SWT.

All those misguided Muslims who consider themselves as “enlighten Muslims” are so out of touch with reality. They should pay more attention to what these followers of Mirza write. IF these Muslims are thinking that somehow these Qadianis deserve better, they should think hard, because I know for sure, if these Qadianis ever given absolute powers even in one small area, they will destroy every Muslim’s life, their property and their heritage in that area. You should look at the way their Jamat is organized and operated. Without any chance of dissension or having different and varied views. In Islam we are completely free in our movement and thinking, but these Qadianis have absolutely no freedom. You seriously think that the corrupt and authoritative Jamat which does not give basic rights to their own members, would treat you Muslims better, if you ever become under their jurisdictions?

Think hard my dear Brothers and Sisters. They have caused enough death and destruction from the start for Pakistan, from the movement of independence to the Wars with India and recent events in Pakistan. You should all wake up and smell the coffee.

yaar aik baat to hai....aap har baat ka matlab ulta hi lete ho...mien jo bhi baat karoon aap ki hattul visaa yehi koshish rahhe gi ke jo iss bande nien baat ki hai mien usske bar'aks hi jawaab doon. kuch haqq ki bhi baat kar lia karro...

orr ye waali aaadat chorr do:

you start your post like that:

meri pehno te pahyio, sajno te mitro mien hi sab kuch haan baaki sab enj hi ithe mela wekhan aaye ne...lolz

mene to abhi mozoo pe baat shuroo hi nahin ki...abhi dekh raha hoon aapse baat karne ka faaida bhi hai ya nahin....jabb lagge ga aap iss qaabil ho gaye hain ke agar aapko izzat di jaaye tab Inshallah aapko jawaab bhi mil jaaye ga...and please dont take this persoanlly. You know why I dont reply to you and there is only 1 reason: You disrespect our Holy Figures in almost each and every post of yours. Hence once you learn the manner of debate then I will reply you.

there you said that you translate Quran what your heart desires..........Quran DOES NOT say any thing abt Isa's death.

INNA NILLA??????????????????????????????????

Inna Nilla mean: Inna Nillah e Wainna Nillahe Rajeoon...samjheen

BTW there is not only 1 but a lot more verses in support that Esa (A.S) has passed away.

correction ..
Inna lillahi wa inna ilaihi raji'un

PS: as for what crankthatskunk said.. i do not wish to debate with him any further, since he is a believer of Jesus (AS)'s death. If he says anything contrary to that, hes gonna have to prove his side. ( ascension /being alive of Jesus AS ).

I have stated in my posts proving my side of His (AS)'s death. His job is to give me different meaning of those verses I provided, or prove to me from other verse from Quran stating His ascension. Until then, theres no point arguing, and good luck to him for doing that.

PS: as for what crankthatskunk said.. i do not wish to debate with him any further, since he is a believer of Jesus (AS)'s death. If he says anything contrary to that, hes gonna have to prove his side. ( ascension /being alive of Jesus AS ).

Mr. Popat it is hilarious indeed, you assume whatever you want in your little brain, I am not stopping you, but don’t lie for heaven’s sake. Where did I say I am believer on the death of Isa As? I actually said to the contrary, read my last post on this thread.

Did you forget two important facts;

1- it is you who has open this thread, its topic is chosen by you. Its topic is “death of Isa As according to Quran” for the Muslims to understand the claims of Mirza. So where is me in this? Why do I have to prove anything? My job is to disprove your theories and prove your lies.

2- I gave you three translations for the verse 3:55 you were free to chose the translations which says he As is alive, but you didn’t. you choose Asad’s translation “cause you to die”. Therefore, onus is squarely on you to prove your case.

Your arguments are illogical and useless. You have not proven anything from the Holy Quran you claimed in your first post. You couldn’t even answer any questions I asked based on Quranic evidence, nor could you provide any Quranic evidence for the Questions asked of you.

If you continue or not, choice is yours, I have already done my job in my first post on this thread, you just didn’t understood it that all your path are blocked. Except path to oblivion, where you find yourself now.

Don’t worry you are not the only one faced with this reality, many before you have meet the similar fate. Nothing could be expected for the people who follow someone like Mirza.

I have stated in my posts proving my side of His (AS)'s death. His job is to give me different meaning of those verses I provided, or prove to me from other verse from Quran stating His ascension. Until then, theres no point arguing, and good luck to him for doing that.

Once again, you are lying, I did give you the three meanings; you have chosen your favorite one. You are stick with it from the time you started this thread, mind you like I said before, I was not even on this forum at that time. You got problems of your own making. Blame yourself, rather then others for your troubles. Good luck, and if you feel I have listed my next set of questions to Mr. Chugtai in other thread, you can start to answer them here if you ever so wish.

Your claims that you have proven his As death are as hollow as it could be; you have not even given one satisfactory answer nor provided any Quranic proofs. The real fun didn’t even start, but you already can see the writings on the wall, therefore, decided to cut and run.

^^ to pichle 12 pages dukaan lagaa ke betha hua tha kia Popat?..koi aqal ki baat karro...tumne pichli aik post bhi gaaliban nahin parhi jo Psyah or Popat ke beech mien hui issi lyye esi baatien karr rahe ho....chalo tumhaari to wese hi aadat ban gai lassi peene ki or dakkar hazam karne ki...lolx

d.tox.ed

Don't tell me that you are that Aprthy of the other forum? you sure sounds like him. Everything you write is useless and meaningless.

Why don't you try to answer few questions I listed for KCC?

manta, tasu khabere na koi?

yaar tumne abhi tak Urdu ka aik lafz sahi nahin bola...to mien Arbi or faarsi pe kese jaaon?

From the writings of Hadhrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad of Qadian (as) regarding this subject:

"The major objection raised by my opponents was that Jesus (as) himself was to return to the world as the Promised Messiah. I told them that it is evident from the Holy Quran that Jesus (as) is dead and will never return to the world. For instance, Allah has quoted Jesus (as) as saying:

**“But since Thou didst cause me to die, Thou hast been the Watcher over them.”—Al-Ma’idah, 5:118 **

When read in its context, the verse says that when Allah will ask Jesus (as) on the Day of Judgement whether it was he who taught his followers to worship him and his mother, he will say,

“Lord, If I had done so, You would surely have known it, for You are the Knower of the Unseen. I only taught them what You commanded me, that God is one without partner and I am His Messenger. I was only aware of their condition as long as I lived among them, but ever since You caused me to die, You have been witness over them, and I know not what they did after me.”

It is evident from these verses that Jesus (as) will say,** “As long as I lived, the Christians did not go astray,** but when I died, I knew not what became of them.” Hence, if we suppose that Jesus (as) is still alive, then we will also have to believe that the Christians have not yet gone astray and are still following the true religion. Jesus (as) will also defend himself by saying that he only knew about the condition of his people as long as he was with them, but was unaware of what they did after God had caused him to die.

So, if we believe that Jesus will return to the world once again before the day of resurrection and fight the infidels alongside the Mahdi, then—God forbid—we will have to consider this verse as false, or else we will have to admit that Jesus (as) will lie to God on the Day of Judgement and try to conceal the fact that he had returned to the world and fought the Christians for forty years together with the Mahdi.

Anyone who truly believes in the Holy Quran will find that this single verse is enough to egate the concept of Jesus returning from heaven in order to fight alongside a bloodthirsty Mahdi."

[Lecture Lahore - Page 68-69]
http://www.alislam.org/library/books/Lecture-Lahore.pdf

you keep asking me to prove His death at the 'age' of 120/125. Now the 'age' in which he AS died is the issue you're raising. Not the death itself. Therefore it is reasonable to conclude that you accepted His death now further gaining your knowledge on his death age.

You have no where to escape. You said you are not a believer of Isa (AS)'s death. I provided you with Quranic references in my first post about His death. If you do not agree with it, then that means you are a believer of Him going in the heavens. Why do you feel ashamed to write that? Now, once you say u say He AS went to heavens, you then need to provide me reference from Quran. What I am talking about is what the leader of Jamaat e ahmadiyya have taught. Thus, I am arguing with you from both angles. You prove Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad (AS) wrong if you prove Hazrat ISA (AS) ascension to heaven. Its as simple as that.

That is it for your lies. Quote me from my pilot post and prove my stance wrong if you can. Again, as i said, u prove His ascension to heavens, and u prove Ahmadiyyat wrong. This is what you wanted to discuss right ?

neither are you the only one who has no evidence to prove your position. You are not alone. You people have been believing what has been fed to you by your illiterate mullahs. Talk to your ullamas if you so will. provide any reference from Quran proving his ascension, in contrary.. you must realize i have done as best as i could. But then again, we all know death is by default, whereas, ascension to heavens is not. You need to convince me why you hold this belief ? dont say now that we are not talking about it yet. End of the day, this is what your belief is. Convince me from Quran if you have the capability to do so.

why then be afraid of quoting me from my pilot post and explaining why you think they are 'as hollow as it could be'. Be a man, quote me and tell me why i am wrong. You will never do that.

EVIDENCE FROM HOLY QURAN ON DEATH OF ISA (as) - from the writings of Hadhrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad of Qadian (as):

The Holy Qur’an says:

[16:21] And those on whom they call beside Allah create not anything, but they are themselves created.
[16:22] They are dead, not living; and they know not when they will be raised.

Just see how clearly these verses affirm the death of all those human beings who were worshipped as gods by the Jews and Christians and some of the Arab tribes and to whom they supplicated. If you are still not convinced of the death of Jesus son of Mary, why don’t you simply admit that you are not prepared to believe in the Holy Qur’an?

[Izala-e-Auham, Ruhani Khaza’in, vol. 3, p. 431]

Allah the Glorious quotes Jesus in the Holy Qur’an as saying:

[19:32] That is: ‘God has enjoined upon me Prayer and almsgiving throughout my life and has made me dutiful towards my mother as long as I live’.

These commandments can obviously not be carried out in heaven. He who believes that Jesus was raised bodily to heaven will have to accept, according the above verse, that Jesus is still subject to all the commandments of the Torah and the Gospel, whereas this requirement cannot be fulfilled in heaven.
It is also strange that, on the one hand, God Almighty should command Jesus to be dutiful to his mother throughout his life, but He should then separate him from her while he was still living; and that He should command him to give alms throughout his life, but should then convey him alive to a place where he cannot give alms himself nor can direct anyone else to do so; and that He should command him to observe Prayer, but should convey him far away from the company of the believers whose companionship was necessary for Prayer services. Did his bodily ascent to heaven have any other result than making him incapable of discharging his obligations towards his fellow beings and from carrying out the duty of enjoining virtue and forbidding vice? Had he continued to live on earth during these 1891 years, how beneficial his person would have been for God’s creatures!

The only result of his bodily ascent to heaven was that his people went astray and he himself was totally deprived of the opportunity to carry out the functions of Prophethood.

[Izala-e-Auham, Ruhani Khaza’in, vol. 3, pp. 330-332]

The Holy Qur’an records the testimony of Jesus to the effect:

Al-Saff, [61:7] That is: ‘I give glad tidings of a Messenger who will come after me (i.e., after my death,) whose name will be Ahmad.’

Hence, if Jesus is still bodily alive, it follows that the Holy Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) has not yet appeared on earth.

[A’ina-e-Kamalat-e-Islam, Ruhani Khaza’in, vol. 5, pp. 41-42].

The Holy Qur’an affirms the death of Jesus in the verses:

‘When Thou didst cause me to die.’—Al-Ma’idah, 5:118
‘Verily, all Messengers have passed away before him.’— Al-e-‘Imran, 3:145
‘This day have I perfected your religion for you.’— Al-Ma’idah, 5:4
‘But he is the Messenger of Allah and the Seal of the Prophets.’—Al-Ahzab, 33:41

And proclaims the end of normal Prophethood after the Holy Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him), and clearly affirms that the Holy Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) is Khatam-ul- Anbiya’ by stating:

‘But he is the Messenger of Allah and the Seal of the Prophets.’—Al-Ahzab, 33:41

But those who insist on bringing Jesus (peace be on him) back to the earth believe that he will return with the status of a Prophet and for forty-five years Gabriel shall continue to convey Prophetic revelation to him. What room does this doctrine leave for the belief that Prophethood ended with the Holy Prophetsa? According to them it is Jesus who is the Khatam-ul-Anbiya’.

[Tohfah-e-Golarhviyyah , Ruhani Khaza’in, vol. 17, pp. 173-174].

The citation by Hadrat Abu Bakr (may Allah be pleased with him), on the occasion of the death of the Holy Prophet (saw), of the verse:

‘Muhammad is only a Messenger; Verily, all Messengers have passed away before him.’—Al-e-‘Imran, 3:145

shows that he believed Jesus (peace be on him) to be dead. If this verse is to be construed to mean that some Prophets had died before the advent of the Holy Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) and some were still living, then it would not support the reasoning of Hadrat Abu Bakrra, as it would not be an authority for the death of all previous Messengers. Yet none of the companions of the Holy Prophetsa, who were all present on the occasion, took exception to the reasoning of Hadrat Abu Bakrra, which shows that it was supported by theconsensus of the companions, which is held as binding and can never err. One of the many favours that Hadrat Abu Bakrra bestowed upon the Muslims is that during his rightful Khilafat he opened the door of truth and accuracy to deliver them from the error that was to arise in later times and erected such a strong barrier against the flood of misguidance as cannot be demolished by the divines of this age even if they were assisted by all the Jinns. So we pray that God Almighty may shower thousands of blessings on the soul of Hadrat Abu Bakrra who conclusively settled, on the basis of pure Divine revelation, that Jesus had died.

[Tiryaq-ul-Qulub, Ruhani Khaza’in, vol. 15, pp. 461-462 footnote]

We have so many certain and conclusive proofs of the death of Jesus, son of Mary, that they cannot all be set out in this brief publication. Read the Holy Qur’an carefully and you will find the death of Jesus mentioned so clearly and definitely that it is not possible to interpret it otherwise. For instance, the Holy Qur’an reports the acknowledgement of Jesus:

‘Since Thou didst cause me to die, Thou hast been the Watcher over them.’—Al-Ma’idah, 5:118

Can we interpret the word Tawaffi in this verse as meaning sleep? Would it be right to understand this verse as meaning: Since Thou didst cause me to sleep Thou hast been the One to watch over them? Of course not. The only appropriate interpretation of Tawaffi in this context is the straightforward one of death; and the context does not permit us to interpret that death will occur after Jesus’ bodily ascent to heaven. This is because the question put to Jesus refers to the going astray of his people, which had happened after his supposed bodily ascent to heaven and had been completed before the advent of the Holy Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him.)

The Hadith also confirms the death of Jesusas. On page 162 of the Commentary Ma‘alim it is mentioned on the authority of ‘Ali bin Talhah that Ibn-e-‘Abbasra interpreted the verse:

‘O Jesus, I will cause thee to die a natural death and will exalt thee to Myself.’—Al-e-mran, 3:56

to mean "Inni Mumeetuka" i.e., ‘I will cause you to die.’ This is supported by other verses like:

Say, ‘The angel of death…will cause you to die.’—Al-Sajdah, 32:12
‘Those whom the angels cause to die while they are pure.’—Al- Nahl, 16:33
‘Those whom the angels cause to die while they are wronging their souls.’—Al-Nahl, 16:29

Thus Ibn-e-‘Abbas, may Allah be pleased with him, believed that Jesus had died. Our readers must be aware that Ibn-e-‘Abbas was among the foremost of those who comprehended the Holy Qur’an perfectly. The Holy Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) had prayed for him that he might be bestowed true knowledge of the Holy Qur’an.

[Izala-e-Auham, Ruhani Khaza’in, vol. 3, pp. 224-225]

It is for this purpose that Imam Bukhari (may Allah have mercy on him), has quoted the verse:

‘Since Thou didst cause me to die, Thou hast been the Watcher over them.’—Al-Ma’idah, 5:118

in Kitab-ut-Tafsir. In so doing, he intended to convey that the correct interpretation of the word Tawaffaitani is the one which the Holy Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) attributed to it, that is to say, ‘Thou didst cause me to die’. In the following Hadith:

the Holy Prophetsa says that: “on the Day of Judgement some of my people will be driven to hell, and I will supplicate, ‘Lord! these are my companions’. Then it will be said to me, ‘You know not what they did after you’. Upon this I will say what a righteous servant of God, i.e., Jesus son of Mary, had said when he was asked: ‘Did you teach your people that they should worship you and your mother as gods?’ I will say what Jesus had then said: ‘I was witness over them while I was amongst them; but since Thou didst cause me to die, Thou hast been the One to watch over them.’” (Bukhari)

The Holy Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) meant that he would make the same affirmation as Jesus would make when he would be asked whether he had taught his people to take him and his mother as gods. In this manner the Holy Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) interpreted the expression Tawaffaitani as meaning death.

[Izala-e-Auham, Ruhani Khaza’in, vol. 3, pp. 585-586]

I put only one question to the clerics who differ with me on the question of the death of Jesus. Had they pondered over it sincerely, it would have been enough to guide them aright, but they did not ponder over it, as none was desirous of being rightly guided. My question is: Twice has Allah the Glorious, applied the expression Tawaffi in the Holy Qur’an with reference to Jesusas;
and the same has been applied to the Holy Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him); and it has also been used in the prayer of Joseph (peace be on him.) There are several other places where it has been used in the Holy Qur’an.

Pondering over all these references, a just minded person would be satisfied that in each case Tawaffi connotes death and nothing but death. The expression Tawaffi has been used in hundreds of places in the Ahadith but nobody can show you a single occasion where it has been used to connote anything other than death. If an illiterate Arab were told Tuwuffiya Zaidun he would understand by it that Zaid has died. Whenever a companion or a relative of the Holy Prophetsa died, he always used the expression Tawaffi for
the purpose of conveying that the person mentioned had died. When he himself died, the companions used the expression Tawaffi to convey that he had died. In the same way, this expression was used to indicate the death of Abu Bakr, ‘Umar and all other companions of the Holy Prophet (May Allah be pleased with them.) The use of this word to indicate the death of a Muslim is an honourable way of conveying the news of his death. In view of all this, why is it that this expression, when used with reference to Jesus, should be interpreted in any other way?

[Itmam-ul-Hujjah, Ruhani Khaza’in, vol. 8, pp. 292-293]