Is Thanksgiving Celebrated in Your Household?

Re: Is Thanksgiving Celebrated in Your Household?

and it’s done and over with.

What’d yall eat? and who’s going black friday shopping? :cool:

Macy’s was open as early as 7 and it was a madhouse…right after dinner

eeeeeeeks. my cousin went to work at 7 too. its crazy. i might brave the local mall today…MAYBE.

For lunch I had turkey/mashed potatoes…both slathered in gravy. Mac & cheese. Stuffing. Cornbread. Ate 'til I felt like I was going to pass out. Then took a nap in the afternoon. Guess what I had for dinner… :smiley:

Black Friday… :eek: Malls are like a madhouse! Last year we went to Target Thanksgiving night to pick up some kitchen stuff. But this year…you couldn’t pay me to go to the mall today or this weekend!

Well I had cheerios for breakfast, a tikka and tortilla for lunch. The dinner wasn’t so simple though. Had turkey (that tasted like chicken), enchiladas, haleem, biryani, some other stuff I couldn’t recognize. By the time I was done eating there was no room for desserts. And I brought home some left overs, I’m shameless like that.

And since it’s a Friday, I just might go for Jumma since I got the day off. That’'s if Baba jee goes.

There are plenty of articles available online where some scholars says its permissible and some other says impermissible. Whom you’ll follow?

Islam Question and Answer - Ruling on celebrating non-Muslim holidays and congratulating them

^ I’ll follow ones who say it impermissible..but still,then I will not go around spreading the fatwa in people’s faces impolitely and cause arguments.

Read the quoted red text (promotion of virtue and prevention of vice). That is what OP’s point and he/she trying to share here with others.

If I am wrong or doing something wrong thinking it is correct with complete peace in mind, still wrong is wrong. :slight_smile:

Like if I smoke cigarette, it is wrong but it is not widely accepted as wrong doing hence it is still wrong. So will you not going to correct me and advice me that I shouldn’t smoke and refrain myself from smocking because of so and so reasons? However, I agree with you that we shouldn’t be like giving fatwa or force on others whom we don’t even have any rights.

If you tried to correct me and given me advice for not smoking then here your completed your part of duty. Now its upto me if I still do wrong thing i.e., smoking. If I keep it to myself then somehow it is oky BUT if I promote it as its not wrong doing, to/with others then I’m in a big big trouble and sooner or later I’ll confront to those who will again says to me it is wrong.

^ true, but then, I wouldn’t correct you by putting my words in a way that is offensive to you nor will I boast how I am superior to you if I choose not to smoke. Getting my point ?

I am not sure of this video link works:

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10152377730918852

The point many people fail to get I’d that it ain’t wrong.

Islam ko circus bana diya hai logon ne. Har baat par this is haram and that is haram. Kyun ke Khud ki zindagi mein khushiyon ki Kami hai…it makes some Muslims feel better when they destroy others’.

So focused on thanksgiving but no one gives a hoot about the concept behind it because it’s good and we don’t like good and harmless things. Right? We are troubled people who have our priorities completely messed up.

Really disappointing…but then again maybe this in itself means something.

I’d hate to be such an unhappy soul and am grateful I’m not.

What? Khushiyon ki kami :eek: :omg: Nevermind :slight_smile:

Agreed that we shouldn’t be offensive by any means to anybody nor we show ourselves like we are more superiors over others :k:

By the way how many of you know the history behind thanksgiving? If you do, please share what you have read.

Agreed that we shouldn’t be offensive by any means to anybody nor we show ourselves like we are more superiors over others :k:

Yeah it seems like it when you go out of your way to tell someone in typical Pakistani drama style that…jee…hum to ye waaaastran culture ki batein achi nahin samajte.

Jaise Pakistani bara naam roshan karrahe hein.

Not sure what the point is behind talking as if you’re doing sawab ka kaam by not eating that day…aur vo bhi suna suna ke…lol. Not sure why people post pretending as if they’ve discovered some secret values that will guarantee them Jannah or are more righteous or pious. Not sure what people expect from us. Can someone explain why it’s necessary to comment on things others enjoy just because you can’t?

I don’t think I can understand the way someone born and raised in Pakistan feels about Pakistani culture because I have no such attachments. Similarly, this culture could never be understood by a newly migrated person liked queen or others because there’s no background or familiarity.

Talk about overgeneralizing. Never is a strong word to use. It’s culture not Rocket Science, it doesn’t take much to understand it. All you have to do is read, talk to some people, observe a bit and that’s it. Now yeah, I wouldn’t go around aping what everybody else is doing because the rest of the people are doing what they are doing out of habit and conditioning. The same way people do things anywhere, including Pakistan.

I might never adopt the culture, however that does not mean I don’t understand it.

One indication of moral progress in the United States would be the replacement of Thanksgiving Day and its self-indulgent family feasting with a National Day of Atonement accompanied by a self-reflective collective fasting. Professor Robert Jensen.

I may have generalized a bit but I guess I am tired of defending something that doesn’t need defending. Its Thanksgiving, we had dinner…hoo haa.

Insaan sirf Pakistan mein hi nahin…poori duniya mein hein. Who said Pakistani culture is the only culture or even the best?

Now can you please share the source of this information via quran and hadees. The exact words of hadees.
Thankyou. That’s all.

And ya i dont know about the religious practices of OP and about how lavish dinner parties she throws, something i learnt through hidden hints and jibes in posts, as well as how naik she is. But what she was conveying was “la-kum deen-u kum wa li-ya deen”.

S.p.o.t o.n

So having thanksgiving means we’re not Muslim. Defending it means we’ve got a complex and are too American. We should bow our heads on shame for not being Pakistani.

All to please people with a borrowed identity of their own?

Muslims are only good at attacking their own.

Who told you that I have lack of happiness in my life and who gave you this authority to tell that Muslims like me who have objection n GHAIR MUSLIM TEHWAAR want to destroy the others. In first place you WESTERNIZED people are telling me to stop judging you people just because they are cooking turkey but on other side you are quite judging me and that too through such bad sarcastic views. Who told you that Msilims not celebrating the things out of Islamic context are unhappy souls? Check your language Reha. I was so polite in all my posts and look what you so called WESTERN ADAPTED people are doing!!! Is this West taught you or that Islam which you are taking guard only of to criticized me in particular?
Alhumdulillah Im a happy soul even not celebrating Thanksgiving, milaad, christmas or anything that my prophet did not celebrate.

And thats what people do when they dont have answer to celebrating the out of islam tehwaar just criticize. Tell me how many here are leading a very SIMPLE LIFE? Indeed its very well propagated by prophet SAW but do you know one thing its comes under TAQWA and TAQWA is superior form of iman that we all should strive for but if not achieving it then we wont be answerable