Is Thanksgiving Celebrated in Your Household?

Re: Is Thanksgiving Celebrated in Your Household?

The funny thing is that Hannukah is one of the least relevant Jewish holidays. It really had nothing to do with gift giving or lavish celebrations. And the holiday is not fixed around Christmas time. The Judaic calander is lunar-solar.

The Jewish month of Kislev can currently start as early as November 3 or as late as December 2, which means that the first day of Hanukkah can come as early as November 28 or as late as December 27.
The reason for the broad range of possible dates is that the Jewish calendar is lunar-solar. The months are based on the cycles of the moon. But the calendar changes the lengths of those months, and even how many months are in a year, to make sure that Passover always falls in the spring. This complex system — put in place by Rav Shmuel in the first half of the first millennium CE — ensures that the Jewish date and the secular date match up every 19 years. (By contrast, the Muslim calendar is purely lunar, which is why Ramadan can fall during any time of the solar year.

I celebrate Thanksgiving.

Thanksgiving has no religious or anti-religious value/origin and no problem celebrating it if someone lives in a place where it is celebrated and wishes to.

The Turkey itself has to be halal/zabiha for Muslims to consume.

If it is spicy and well done, then even better. :slight_smile:

the comments are a bit like GS. the imam gradually ends up getting more and more annoyed at sums it up with this. :smiley:

You felt it excellent may be. However I stick to the same point that WE MUSLIMS are not allowed by our beloved Prophet SAW to resemble the kuffar in anyway and I think that no scholar is over and above our Prophet SAW. When for ashura he says us to fast 2 days so that we may not resemble jews who fast on 10th muharram as its birth date of Nabi Musa AS then what we can say about other traditions.

So you would consider your own opinion/knowledge to be superior to that of a scholar/imam?

You felt it excellent may be. However I stick to the same point that WE MUSLIMS are not allowed by our beloved Prophet SAW to resemble the kuffar in anyway and I think that no scholar is over and above our Prophet SAW. When for ashura he says us to fast 2 days so that we may not resemble jews who fast on 10th muharram as its birth date of Nabi Musa AS then what we can say about other traditions.

You can stick to your views but then again that can also be perceived as Allah swt allowing you to stay in the dark since you so willingly chose that path.

People who do these fuzool ki behsein only do it because they don’t understand what they’re even up against. Fear. Fear of the unknown leads to automatic opposition.

But we are allowed to migrate to Kafir countries and take advantage of all these things mentioned in the article? :slight_smile:

What gets me is how a Muslim scholar can come to the United States for an advanced degree at one of our universities, applies for citizenship, swears an oath of allegiance to our government and constitution, buys a house in the suburbs courtesy of our interest based banking system, shops at Walmart, installs cable television to watch American movies on his big screen T.V., and then decries that the rest of us are imitating the kuffaar/infidels when we visit grandma’s house on Thanksgiving Day.

I’m sorry but it’s hypocritical to see a thread against thanksgiving and eating Turkey when HACC is brimming with lavish menus and twenty dish tea parties. It’s called waste…a huge gunah.

Drinking chai came from India and India is a Hindu country. Chai peena chordo. Sari pehenna chordo. All these things and borrowed from the Kuffar…let’s talk about that.

Is Thanksgiving Celebrated in Your Household?

And what did the Prophet Muhammad have to say about living a simple life and being humble?

I’m pretty sure throwing weekly 20 dish “tea parties” and excessive spending on useless kitchen gadgets and expensive clothes is kuffar like behavior

Flip thru (Masala tv) channel and watch any pakistani cooking shows…almost half of them are cooking up ‘fast food’? where does that come from?

Why the hell is anyone trying to teach how to make ketchup? what’s dipped in that? Naan? :mad:

Open your eyes, and walk out of the stone ages, we have bigger things to worry about…like education/healthcare

oh abhi angrizon ka new year bhi aa raha hai … uss kai lye bhi jaga chorna :stuck_out_tongue:

lol !! Christmas bhool rai o bibi ^

^Chirstmas kissi nai already mentioned ho gaya hai :stuck_out_tongue:

lekin fatway tau nai diay na abhi koi

haan yeh tu sahi abhi koi fatwa nahi diaya,lol

oh and don’t forget black friday shopping :slight_smile:

Prophet SAW never said to leave our muslim countries and prefer to move to the land of KUFFAR (when there are numerous established muslim countries) to raise our social status,professional degrees,‘better’ future for our children and to fill our hunger from the money earned after working for/helping the KUFFAR from the money given by kuffar,did he ? We help in economy of these KUFFAR by purchasing their products,watching their movies yet have guts to tell people they resemble kuffar when they are cooking food for their family on public holiday ? :d6c:

The Adventures of Johnny Haram and Barry Mac

burp