Is Thanksgiving Celebrated in Your Household?

I am not at all appreciative of all such western festivals. Our own culture is very rich and I am a bit devout in this sense to stick to Muslim values and in my opinion living in West it becomes more important while you have to train next generation too. I hope no one offended. Have lovely time all of you :k:

Re: Gobble Gobble!

Just like you, I’m also not too keen on making a big deal or celebratory tradition out of Western holidays. However, at the same time, many of our desi cultural traditions/rasmain regarding births, weddings, deaths have no place in Islam. Culture aur mazhab main faraq hota hai…and both are not always on the same page.

really? thanksgiving goes against Islam how?

Having ppl over for dinner that may/may not include turkey won’t make you a non-Muslim :slight_smile:

Gobble Gobble!

Oh my god, people…please…ek thread ko tho baksh do :smack:

Why does the everything single freaking “western celebration” have to turn into a I’m-a-better-Muslim-then-you debate.

You don’t approve of Thanksgiving then don’t click on a thread titled Gobble Gobble..simple.

This is my culture, I am a proud born and raised American, as my children are as well. We love the tradition and history behind this celebration and it has absolutely NOTHING to do with deeni taleem. Wait a minute, let me take that back…it has everything to do religion..because Squanto and the Indians brought food and provisions to share with the starving pilgrims and that’s what Thanksgiving commemorates…good will and fellowship..isn’t that what Islam teaches us too? Compassion, charity and love thy neighbor?

why can’t we adapt the median path…as long as we don’t celebrate local holidays with religious fervor and if it’s NOT against Islam, i don’t see anything wrong with it. we may join in Non Muslim festive occasions in a Halaal way and compliment the richness of each other’s culture rather than build a wall around us and, in the process, isolate ourselves. after all, we chose to come to this land and we should be accommodating to them as they were accommodating to us in welcoming us in their country.

let’s enjoy our plurality and at the same time maintain our individuality. :slight_smile:

phir tau 14th August manaana bhi haraam hai :hmmm:

oh and so is living and earning and filling our tummies with money that goray give us as salary after serving non-muslim people/firms is even bigger haraam deed. everyone please move to muslim countries. there are loads of ghareeb muslims needing your services. stop feeding/serving non muslims please

p.s. lets stop judging people cooking for friends on a special day !!

to, phir apnii “LOCATION” meN “Neither Here Nor There” [na idhar, na udhar] kiuN likh rakkhaa hai? :cb: :smiley: :0

ab LOCATION change kar dijiye :“Idhar Kii, udhar kii nahiiN”? kia Khayaal hai? :smiley: j/k

aap 14 August manaatii haiN aur maiN15 August manaataa huN! ONE day later!!! lol

Pls enlighten me how thanksgiving is a celebrating anything remotely religious?!?! I really would like to know!!! You have a long weekend, you have family coming out to see you, you have good food even the hideous tandoori turkey will do followed by black Friday sale?!? What is Haram about this or something that makes me any less of a Muslim/human?!? Lost girl!!!

Oh yeah and football for the fans… oh maybe the football ads are haram!!!

Meri samaj mein main ata yaar.

Are only Pakistanis allowed in Jannah?

Listen…you’re a Pakistani living in Pakistan and I respect your choice to not like western people/traditions. But I’m not Pakistani by birth or nationality. Only by descent…so what are you expecting? Muslims outside of Pakistan have their own culture…rich by itself.

If I remember correctly she doesn’t live in Pakistan. Australia maybe ?. Islam has allowed us to follow culture that does not clash with Islam and its core values. If we are having elaborate dinners with family and friends on 25 Dec , does that mean we are celebrating Christmas ?
I just take advantage of holidays and like to try out new cuisines especially if someone else does the cooking.
Khatti should I buy a ticket and come over :smiley:

And I dont even celebrate birthdays, wedding anniversaries and Alhumdulillah the all kind of unislamic rituals on death not observed in my family so rather i should have said loudly that ISLAMIC VALUES. Alhumdulillah i try sticking to them and there are lots of reasons why!!! I very well know difference between Deen and culture sadly our cultre dont portray our deen at all and let me tell you we Muslims are least bothered about what so ever potrayal

Dear Guppans I can very much give your answers in light of Islam but that would rather make you ppl more offensive.
Khatti and KFK whatever is not supported by Quran and Sunnah is not in Islam and really Islam prohibits us from resembling to other cultures. Even for the fast of 10th Muharram prohet SAW said to keep 2 fasts so as to unresemble the jews who used to fast on 9th muharram.
Reha i dont live in Pakistan im in Australia and Alhumdulillah proudly a Muslim.
We very easily say to mix our traditions with other but in all our duniya matters we dont want anything mixed. If we pay 10k for a suit we want it to be a perfect one with all done. Do you think a house with red bricks would look good if only 2 bricks would be of white colour, so to beuatify ourselves with true religion we need to follow it purely. Moreover i put my stance very softly and you all are quite sarcastic
Proto we have asked aalim about living abroad and if you want answer for that PM me and i would be happy to pm you back. And let me say proto please lets also stop making fun out of a serious talk with something that does not apply on one self but on others.

And yes please read this out :stuck_out_tongue:
Public » Askimam

Afayiz,

The purpose of my original post was to point out that even those who steer clear from western traditions and only celebrate their Desi customs could be engaging in practices that have no Islamic significance. I wasn’t trying to be sarcastic and I shortened the length of my original post so that it doesn’t send the vibe that I’m attacking you. You brought up both culture and religion/devoutness and I wanted to point out that the two don’t always coincide; that was it. You get time off for Thanksgiving and it’s natural for people of various cultures and religions/beliefs to use the break from work/ school to cook a good meal and spend time with loved ones. As for the giving thanks concept…I don’t think you need to allot a special day for it …ideally we should be showing gratitude all the time and even reciting Bismillah before eating is an acknowledgment for the blessing of food…even if it’s an ordinary meal compared to the richer Thanksgiving spread.

Also, the history behind Thanksgiving is shrouded in controversy and according to some historians…a dark history…with loss of lives and misplaced gratitude. But meh… who ‘s gonna share ALL the possible theories with lil’ elementary school kids right? :hehe: Easier to just believe the feel-good version and who knows…it might be true.

Thats the point that it should not be a day to thank anyone. I am even against fathers and mothers day as the western family values are so fragile that from 365 days they need a day to spend with parents and we dont, so this was my point. If someone is celebrating its their choice i know but kabhi kabhi control nahin rehta. My purpose was not to offend anyone but if someone is hurt i do apologize however ppl took me quite harshly here . Haq baat kehnay ka nuqsaan :wink:

Have fun living in your glass houses y’all…I’m going to enjoy my fill of good food, good football and family. Please take your self righteous religious fervor elsewhere, leave this thread to us kufffarrrr :chai:

AFayiz, I was not joking, I was serious. And I never said anything that was not applicable to me but others either. Please dont quote any random aalim. If you talk about Islamic commands properly, leaving your country of residence is only examplified by hijrat when following Islamic way of life was almost next to impossible, not because people wanted a higher salary and living standards and foreign specializations / qualifications that were not possible in makkah. Ah lets not get into unnecessary arguments. Ever heard la-kum deen-u kum wali-ya deen?

It’s really commendable you try to stick to Islamic teachings for yourself but it’s not pleasant to look down upon others who dont match to your idea of Islamic standards. You never know world’s worst sinner might end up as Allah’s beloved and the most ibaadat guzaar who hurt fellow beings might end up the other way round. It’s good to spread the word of Islam but after proper training of daawah so one doesn’t end up offending others while putting forward a positive msg.

:hugz: