Re: Gobble Gobble!
Redvelvet Im quite hurt at this post. Is this the way to talk? If these ppl are so keen to follow west then plz if you want something to follow, follow their manners
Re: Is Thanksgiving Celebrated in Your Household?
cheerleaders and half time wardrobe malfunctions are so deliciously haraam
We all have our own criteria of labelling aalims authentic. One who would sound reliable to me might not be acceptable to you. Lets leave this debate here and mind our own businesses instead of telling others how limited their knowledge is (I wont even answer that part of your post because it is not worth my time). There is a way to get into awamir-bil-maroof and nawahi-anil-munkar,not that you go in faces of people telling them what you do is wrong and I dont do it so I am better than you. Good for you if you dont celebrate it. I am out of this discussion because my ‘limited’ knowledge is not able to compete your vast grip on religious matters unfortunately.
Please report the post and fellow mods will review it and deal accordingly.
damn.. i hope RV doesnt get banned again. ![]()
Well, the only judging I see in this thread is by a gang of open-minded, non-judgemental western people who love their turkey and won’t tolerate any heresy about it. People can’t even give opinions anymore without having a bunch of you people and a couple of moderators for good measure ganging up, being rude and judgemental while at the same time sermonizing about not judging others. I have seen it time and time again. Anyone remember Existentialist and you people ganging up on her? It usually is the same bunch.
They person who wrote that post has a different point of view than the rest of you but rude she wasn’t nor did she call anyone kafir as was implied by other posters. She expressed her point of view very decently and even apologized to those of you crying bloody murder. Maybe she knew of your delicate feelings and how easily they are hurt.
I do not completely agree with her. But some of you need to preach tolerance and open-mindedness a bit less and practice it a little more.
Such people should stop leaving oh look at me I am an all great and holy Amereekan in every single post of their coz frankly speaking their intolerance, extreme judgemental views and complex ridden talks are mighty embarrassing even by American standards. Sorry to say but it’s usually the fresh off the boat immigrants who try so desperately hard to fit in and prove themselves; the citizens have gone beyond this nonsense and pressure. People who’d genuinely been living in Western country for a long time automatically learn to respect diversity and differences and individual freedom of choice. And just for clarification, is is once again an American thing to get so crazily offended and militant over someone’s wish to not cook Turkey? Bizarre, just so bloody bizarre.
Thank God we have freedom of choice and freedom of expression in Britain. No one cares one bit if you can’t be bothered to cook Turkey on Christmas or crave a pumpkin for Halloween. Despite all its faults, I absolutely love this country. Freedom for all, respect for all.
i think NOT doing something that’s permissible/fall in grey areas in Islam is a matter of taqwa [piety]…taqwa comes overtime if someone tries bring it in his/her life.
having said that, i think no one should criticize those who want to become more muttaqii by NOT doing it and, similarly, those muttaqii people should NOT say that they are doing something wrong/sinful.
let’s live and let others to live they seem it fit…after-all, we’ll have have to be answerable to Allah individually and will NOT be held responsible for others deeds. fair enuf?
lets pray to Allah to guide us ALL to the ‘straight path’…aameen
Please go back and review all my posts, nowhere even i said that I am better than anyone, my sentence was I am not appreciative of the traditions and its all belonging to the western liberal society advocating the freedom of expression who tried to curb my freedom of saying something about religion. I even apologized and no one took notice of my gesture. About saying that you have limited knowledge about immigration etc was coz you were looking it from only one perspective whereas there are so many others too which we Alhumdulillah went through. I am no way any better Muslim nor do i try to pose or say as when Hazrat Umar before dying with the Bisharat of jannat was not sure if he be resurrected good then how can I be sure of being a GOOD MUSLIM, I do try.
If we can easily agree on calling our own AALIMS AUthntic then you should not have told me about not giving reference of any RANDOM AALIM. Kisi key liyey woh bhi authentic ho sakta hai, phir to baat hee khatam.
Nowhere i went in face of people to tell, this is a public forum where i very decently put forth my view whereas REHA has really gone beyond all that and personally targeted me in the post by asking that DO YOU NOT LAUGH!??? Is this what the western culture is all about? mocking at others? Somewhere in post someone has written that all this is stupidity. I nowhere mocked, nowhere insulted any rather put my view straight away but i think after this i should give up. HAQ BAAT KEHNA JIHAAD HEE Hai. And now plzz i cant stand any discussion about connotations of HAQ BAAT.
Thank you all for bearing with me and apologies to all those open minded ones who do enjoy freedom of expression crossing their boundaries but my straighter view was taken very rude and attack on western values.
Thanks a loy. Allah give you jaza e khair for putting all beautifully and understanding that I am not saying anyone kaafir, i wrote with good intention but… this become all thread some calling me stupid, some calling me someone who is telling that you are not good muslims, whereas nowhere i wrote this and its was their subconscious speaking about it. You last sentence supported my stance that nowhere i was judegemental but all others now targeting me. Just one thing i must put here, many of them are living in West for years n years but are Asians still as we Asians specially Pakistanis lack tolerance whereas its best practiced in west
We dont get a holiday here although some restaurants prepare special turkey dinner and you need to pre-book your slot to have that. i go there not with the purpose of celebrating thanksgiving but to have turkey:)
on a debate whether one should celebrate it or not, i think if one is doing it(as most ppl here quoted) with only the purpose of spending some good time with your family and Friends, cook special meals,and make use of your holiday in a fun way i don’t see this as deviating from Islam.
the only celebrations mentioned in the Quran for muslims are the two Eids, however, it does not say that if you celebrate any other occasions you will be punished for that or that will be counted as a Sin. if you are talking from Islamic perspective, as long as the basic Islamic guidelines are not bypassed , i think you are fine.
Is Thanksgiving Celebrated in Your Household?
The point is not about a difference of opinion. The point is about minding your own business and not sitting in judgement of others. If I see a thread about Milad un Nabi or Shab e Barat or quran khatams, I stay out if it because I know my opinion is not in favor of these practices. I don’t jump in and start pointing out faults in others’ knowledge of deen.
You want to talk about intolerance? We “ABCDs” and I absolutely hate that moniker by the way, are constantly judged and looked down upon by our “own” people from the motherland. We can’t even breathe without being accused of selling out to the evil West or forgetting our roots or culture blah blah blah. The reason the claws came out in the Gobble Gobble thread is because the thread was ONLY for menu ideas and recipe sharing. AFayiz or anybody else could have easily gone to All Views and started a thread to voice her opinion and all would have been peachy keen. I’m stressing the fact that the bone of contention is not about the the difference of opinion, it’s about the lack of respect.
That is the difference between us and them.
This ought to be discussed in All Views, so moving it there.
No I don’t.
Why is in the title question about celebration asked?
If you don’t want to listen others opinion on whether it should be celebrated or not then why not make it one like "how are you celebrating thanksgiving”?
and then ask people stay on the topic?
Why is Thanksgiving so important to us Americans?
It’s a 4 day weekend giving us enough time to spend with family and friends. Some of us live far from family and having 4 days off means we have enough time to travel (yes thanksgiving eve is known to be one of the worst traffic/travel wise).
I find it hard to imagine that wanting to eat and spend time with your family is found offensive to some. ![]()
How do you define “celebrating thanksgiving”?
AijazAli, this thread was broken off from another thread in household forum and the thread title was hence chosen by the mods and not by the OP
wow…a whole 4 page thread that I didn’t start or stir the pot in.
Bring your chamcha aur shuru ho jao ![]()
Wrong. The original thread started by Reha was titled “Gobble Gobble” and specifically was about menus and recipes only, NOT approval/disapproval or thoughts about the holiday itself. All the off topic posts that broke about were than splintered into this new thread and given the new title.