Is Thanksgiving Celebrated in Your Household?

Re: Gobble Gobble!

Nobody is stopping y’aaawllzz from celebrating Thanksgiving. And despite the difference in opinions, nobody is calling anyone an infidel. The way I see it…had Thanksgiving Day been called some other name…even a gibberish one…and had it taken place in any other month…the break from work would provide an opportunity for family to spend time together. Now whether that time is spent eating some type of bird with the fixins …or whether it’s spent at a theme park…or as a road trip…it’s just time spent together with loved ones and such opportunities arise at other times during the year. Therefore I personally don’t see Thanksgiving as being special or much different or “hat ke” from those other opportunities where family gets together, so I/we don’t draw particular attention to the day or infuse it with a fervor. We don’t go around the table to enumerate the blessings we’re thankful for…but hey…for those that do…to each his own. The way I see it…gratitude should be a regular thing. As for emphasizing historical background in support for the tradition…well…as I said earlier the background is steeped in controversy and is debatable. And if one wants to put the historical background aside and just focus on it being a day of gratitude…then heck gratitude can be shown any other day. So if we also take that out of the equation…it just boils down to a long weekend of food/family/friends. :hehe:

RV I agree with what you’ve said above, and not was my post pointed at you. The irony of the “Thanksgiving Story” is not lost on me and yes, I acknowledge the true historical facts are far removed from the idyllic textbook stories touted in elementary school lore. It’s the same with Halloween & Valentines…they have all morphed into cultural traditions that are more about consumerism than anything else, I’ll give you that.

My bone of contention comes from how people make it out to be something it isn’t. This thread is a prime example. For those of us living in America who enjoy the holiday, all we wanted to do was share menus. That’s it. But of course, in true GS style it has to morph into a Islamic debate. It annoying. I don’t judge anyone for not observing, don’t judge us who do get the warm fuzzies from Thabksgiving. There are plenty other threads here to go all holllier than thou in (again, not directed at you specifically)

AFayiz, I’m on your side bro. All this food and not a single invite for poor hungry me. :mad:

Wouldn’t it be kinda against Islam to pay 10k for a suit since we are supposed to live a simple life as muslims?

Just thinking of all those branded lawns and other such products that some of us share the love for. :bummer:

one day you are roasting a turkey, next day you are wearing feathers on your head and howling with the wolf gods. don’t do it or some other god will be very cross and fry you once you die, there won’t even be any sides then. :nono4:

10k lawn suits :eek:

ye to Masi bhi na pehne :hehe:

True story bro! :smiley:

Suit price = 5K-6K
+
stitching with laces/finishings = 3K-4K

=

End product = 9k-10K

Shipping cost overseas is separate. Agar meri baat pe yakeen na aye tou verify with any GS or FB vendor. :slight_smile:

Duuuuuuuude

There’s nothing wrong with eating Turkey on Turkey day or any of the above.

You have a day off…the entire country has a day off. My whole family will be home so why the hell not??? No one sits around the table in Christian prayer reciting our vows to be thankful. We just get together and eat like mad people. Its what people do here on this side of this huuuuuuge duniya full of different kinds of Muslims.

Islam is a great religion…let’s focus on the teachings of Islam rather than make things up. Turkey is not haram.

Carry on!

omgggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg I’m am so sick of stupidity.
How about people not try to molest other people’s beliefs and everyone do as you want. GOD!

I went from totally drooling over Reha/Khaati’s menu to blegh…

Khatti I’m coming over - you already have 40 guests whats another?

Thanksgiving is NOT our sabbath…lemme enjoy my turkey/chicken/baTer! :smiley:

It is so so easy to not post in and read threads you do not agree with,for whatever reason…!
But some people love ‘to stir the pot’ and toot their horn that it is hard to resist.I am having a get together at my home on Thanksgiving day and am totally looking forward to it.It has more to do with the fact that everyone is off that day so why not get together and have a fun time and a nice meal.I am a hypocrite like that…kar lo jo karna hai…:smiley:

Khattichic..can you share the link for Martha’s mac n cheese recipe?Thanks.

You are not the only one.It is pretty annoying and it does get offensive,IMO.

Oh God. Please spare thanksgiving. It’s the only holiday where you get 2 days off to make it a 4 day weekend in America. Every desi I know including myself loves it. So instead of twiddling our thumbs on the holiday, when rest of america is getting together with their families for FOOD, we also do our own version and get together with our families and friends for FOOD. Tell me which desi doesn’t love food? Sure it’s not all desi food, but I don’t think Allah is going to punish me because I want to cook turkey or green bean casserole, instead of chicken tikkay and biryani. :hayaa:

Why must everything be so complicated?!? pulling hair out

Would you assume the same about me cuz I don’t celebrate these holidays either? You wouldn’t because you’ve gotten to know me…and well…I did send you a make up query so that proooooves I am the advaancharus :stuck_out_tongue: C’mon yaar…don’t extend the turkey to all other aspects of life.

Re: Is Thanksgiving Celebrated in Your Household?

Is Thanksgiving celebrated in your household?

If you’re asking me…no, not with a deliberation. My dad loves to cook on the weekends and anytime he has a break from work. We have done Turkey…maybe once or twice in the past…but generally on weekends/breaks it’s baked/grilled chicken or desi dishes. We’ve never done stuffing, mashed potatoes, casseroles, a typical Thanksgiving spread. On Thanskgiving day…even if nothing “special” is cooked, it’s not a big deal for us. We may spend the time in various ways and if it does involve a hearty meal…again it’s done because it’s a break…and not with a deliberate Thanksgiving purpose in mind. Since we don’t treat it like a tradition/practice…there aren’t any specific annual expectations. No…“hey how come there’s no turkey or stuffing or pies in the home…or how come we’re not inviting folks over or going or visiting others.” Because there’s a laxity in the attitude…it gives more flexibility in how we wanna spend that day because it’s seen more as a break.

What the…

You did not know that? :smack:

Proto you tell other not to give judgements then how can you say to me that im gonna quote a random Aalim. Hijrat is not only for the purpose you mentioned. I am sorry to say but you may have limited knowledge about it and the Ayat you quoted was for non Muslims and i guess i was talki ng to Muslims. Have you ever heard about amar bil maaroof wa nahi anil munkir? Moreover yes you are right aabids can be someone not good with makhluq but it does not mean to count every aabid in same category. Your post of telling me that im a person getting my maslas know from a RANDOM aalim is hurting for me. For your information we never consulted Random aalims rather AUTHENTIC ones

Right we should adopt simplicity very good. But our irony is when we talk about something purely non permissible in Islam and we dont find any justification to prove it right we either start telling other person not to label other as kafirs (and i did not label at all, i dont have tjis authority) or we start asking about those things which are APPRECIATIVE in islam but permissible. Wastage of money is a bad thing but as per Mufti Taqi Usmani if one can afford to wear clothes of 100,000 rs and that are not for show its purely JAAIZ

Dear moderators, do you think this post is very decent. Please carefully read words she has addressed to me specially. Very very offensive to me. Plz check Proto