Is it true .....?

Re: Is it true .....?

I agree. I had such examples in my own Khaandaan unfortunately.

But now the criteria has been changed i guess

Men/women who are doctors do not want to marry doctors themselves. The reason being a doctors lifestyle is extremely busy, leave home early, get home late. No time to relax.
My sister married a doctor, not because he was a doctor but because he was alhumdulillah a good guy and his family were also good.
But he works a lot and there isn't time to go out and about together.
This is from a UK perspective so I can't say if this is the same situation in Pakistan.
As for if a doctor came or a software engineer: Software engineer is not a bad rishta.
All in all, really we should look at the guys character, his family and the values that are important to them when looking for rishtas.

Re: Is it true …?

yeah coz she can perform heart surgery of the guy and induce feelings in his heart for herself… :chai:

A lot of families will prefer a doctor to a software engineer even tho they both require an education.. Benefits of being a dr (in the UK at least) - a VERY high level of job security, income level, a guaranteed pension etc. You're v.unlikely to ever end up unemployed (esp important in a recession) or having to scrape by even after you retire..

yes its as true as if you are pretty you will get married immediately.

hmmmm main subah e apnay city k medical college jata hu or poochta hu kon kon yehan rishtey ki khatir ae hy. phir us se bt agey berhata hu. hmmmmmmm interesting

Yes she can also deliver her own baby :rolleyes:

No i dont believe the doctor theory

the only thing i believe is that we get the rishta which we are destined to get.

it's already decided by Allah.

majority of lady doctors are nalaik anyways.......good that they don't practice..

I am not sure if the theory is correct or not, but I have seen many many females who left the medical college in the middle because the got married, or never practiced after graduating, because of marriage.

That irritates me, cause back home, that we have specific number of seats per year in every college. When you waste your degree by not practicing or leaving in the middle, you ruined 2 futures. Yours and the guy who was there in the waiting list who never got admission because you took that seat.

Peace TLK

Well the fact that they studied is good even if they don’t practice … Knowledge should be acquired for the sake of knowledge. It makes them hopefully into people with more tolerance, more understanding and better communication skills and can help their children further in their academic lives … Also, a medical student who leaves to become a wife is NOT ruining her life … :eek: is she?

But I think the fault for the person who didn’t get in is … Either his own for not studying hard enough or well it might be his kismet … Or the education system needs to change … It can’t only be the fault of the girl … And who knows she may have actually started off being serious about education, but started to realise she was a woman full of passions when she eventually goes and spends time with the members of the opposite sex in such educational institutes.

Well , here you go. India has every problem Pakistan has. And its 10 times overThe reality behind rising number of women medicos in Andhra Pradesh - The Times of India

HYDERABAD: If the price tags of management quota seats in medicine are skyrocketing in Andhra Pradesh today it is not simply because the good old sentiment behind taking the Hippocratic oath to serve society remains a compelling call for the educated. An estimated **70% of management quota seats in medical colleges have been cornered by the fairer sex but this heartening trend masks a disturbing reality - a medical degree is coming in handy these days for those looking to snag a good match in the marriage market.

**College managements state that a doctor’s certificate often masks the not-so-palatable truth that an MBBS degree fetches girls a “good match” - a key reason why parents shell out big bucks for a medical seat for their daughters. Also responsible for the prevailing management quota seat rates of Rs 50 lakh to Rs 1 crore is the increasing wealth of the state’s elite over the last couple of decades and the post-liberalisation anthem of ‘have money, will buy’ that applies to education as well.

That's generalization. There are lots of other factors that count too. I am average looking (but pretty as per general standards in Pakistan) and I know a lot of my friends who are pretty yet they are still single.

Blame the In-laws!
:cb:

But it's true...they do get plenty of rishtaz,maybe because they get to interact with alot of people..job nature!Hence get rishtas every other day.
It's a huge thing to become a doc,it is..no?
anyhow,aunties appreciate that,and want to be appreciated inturn for having a dactar bahu
People..aunties get to see them at hospital before sending official rishtaz over..makes their work easier..Hide and seek...makes sense?
In Pakistan,aunties can be found randomly wondering...acting lost...at hospitals and med schools.Yess.Happens.Some bring over their sons too.
Don't know if that happens in countries else where with desiz,but here...a hospital is a breeding ground for potential match making.

Like everyone else mentioned...many other factors play an important role too.
Just that Doctor girls have better chances interacting openly,than some one sitting at home or someone working in a small office set up.

Yeah, it is true. Because most mothers need a doctor for their sons. :D

why don't you look at female doctors on GS...count how many are still unmarried...that will prolly be a partial indicator as how much truth there is in the statement u put forward. i haven't finished counting yet! :D

this is amazing. women finding rishtas for their sons in hospitals????? talk about weird people and their ajeeb soch. being a doctor is not every thing a girl can offer.

When the pressure is such that you are likely going to grow old alone and die alone because you walk the cursed path of deciding to take care of other people for a living (which requires being on call overnight and weekends, and knowing more than other people which probably scares the crap out of people, and having the mental strength of an military officer), then it's not surprising that these women walk away from the careers for a marriage life. I've seen lots of girls do it, and if given the chance, quite honestly, I might do it myself.

And for those of you who have been around long enough, you might remember the pcg of college days and well...you can go read my journal now and you'll see why the majority of women drop their careers.

I wouldn't blame the girls. Blame the guys and their families. On one hand, the medical profession is the "noble one" for women, on the other hand, turn around and steer away if she's a doctor and go to the girl who is 6 yrs younger, no wrinkles under her eyes, healthy skin, and beautiful figure from not having to binge on overnight calls, and voila, you have a way better rishta option (i.e. baby maker) for your family.

are you saying that there are no beautiful attractive desi female doctors?