^ your dad's exactly right. which is why people don't shell out thousands if they can't afford it and instead pay a few hundred for their own version of the jora. its called being a smart shopper.
also, designers don't just get in the game to sell clothes; they also do it because they know of the influence they have in larger society and they do set trends. whether those trends are western like neon brights and color blocking on dresses, or eastern like a specific shirt length or kaam style, trends are open for consumption and people look to designers to demonstrate that. how can they be resentful when people look forward to seeing their creativity and what is new on the runway? shouldn't they be flattered they are in the influnential position they're in instead of holding people hostage to it via a super pricey outfit?
and this whole designer/high street collab is a fairly new concept. it didn't used to happen before and it still doesn't happen with every store but that doesn't mean those stores don't interpret designer trends in their own way. tweed with leather piping was huge recently; it was everywhere. did you own a tweed piece? how dare you. the concept was first originated by chanel in the 60's and is still their signature look, so if you weren't wearing a chanel tweed piece then clearly you were violating their copyright by owning it. that's ok because you didn't copy the concept/outfit personally but someone else copied it for you to purchase? makes no sense, does it?
there are no entirely original ideas. everyone is inspired by someone or something, whether that something is an art movement, a colour palette, a font, an example of architecture, whatever. there are some things you cannot copyright and creative ideas are it. the world would be a very stagnant place if people weren't allowed to express their creativity within their own constraints to create something new. as i said in my last post, the difference is if you are copying something exactly for profit or personal use. if its for profit, its unethical and shame on you for passing it off as your own. if its for your personal use, well then, there isn't any valid argument against it. you can't walk around sans clothing, right?
There seems to be some sort confusion going on between blatenly copying a design to a T and being 'inspired' - there is a difference, a very important difference.
no I think people get it, the point being not everyone can even be inspired. I have absolutely no aesthetic sense whatsoever, so I can't even look at a designer outfit and be like oh I could change this and this and this and it would look great. I am simply not that creative, I can't even begin to conceptualise combining colours, designs and patterns. What I do know is what I like. So when I see a designer outfit I might not even know who the designer or why I like it or what is special or different about it but I know it looks pretty and I want something just like it. I wouldn't dare tweak it to make it my own even because I don't trust that it'll turn out as nicely. So for people like me the only option would be to go to designer, and if I can't afford that then my only option is to design something myself that most likely will not even look good. Should the right to wear beautiful things only be reserved for those who can afford exorbitant designer prices?
Define beautiful?
Are you saying that something is only beautiful when it has a big designer label and a huge price tag?
So many people seem to be pulling out that victim card and tossing around a confused sense of entitlement for luxury products, I don't even know how to respond to all that to be honest.
I don't know exactly, it can hardly be defined its generally based on individual tastes. If I were to design an outfit it would probably be monochromatic colours with a paisley pattern on it coz thats all I can really think of, some people might think thats beautiful but not everyone. Designers are obviously artists, they typically design things which are universally considered beautiful i.e. something that people like looking at or find pleasant or attractive. Sure everyone won't like the same thing but chances more people will like what a designer makes over what I come up with. Thats part of their job; just like how I went to school to figure out how best to build buildings and bridges they learnt what colours go best together, what patterns work, whats appealing to the eye. how successful would a designer be if 2 people in the world liked what they had made. Their whole business model is based on a majority of people wanting what they make knowing that probably only 2% of the population can actually afford it.
And no i'm not saying something can only be beautiful when it has a big designer label. If my friend wore something I thought was really nice I'd still want to copy it. Maybe there are 100's of really talented 'desginers' in markets in Pakistan but since they don't advertise or market I have no way of knowing that.
Also when you get a $4000 dress for $500 bucks you're paying for what you get so its hardly a luxury item. Designers might be using expensive chiffons and swarovski crystals and what not and I might just be using synthetic materials, so its hardly a luxury item at that point.
Are you all serious? That’s the most pathetic thing I’ve ever heard! Why do you want to copy a designer anyway? Be creative and come up with some thing nice on your own. There is absolutely NO justification for copying designer clothes! Such girls are only misleading others to think that they are wearing the real thing when they are clearly not. If you cant afford a designer outfit then just be proud of what you have and represent that! Period.
umm are u kdding me! everyone cant afford suits worth lakhs especially if there are not gonna wear them more then once or twice anyway....and if someone likes an outfit that is designer made, and cant afford it, they will find a cheaper way of gettin tthat outfit they like...there is nothign wrong with it at all...
i doubt everyone has enough time to sit at home and design their own clothes..aise to sab hi designers ban jaye...
now a days everyone loves the outfits khirad wore in humsafar...if they go out and get similar outfits made, is there anythign wrong with that? nope not at all!
umm are u kdding me! everyone cant afford suits worth lakhs especially if there are not gonna wear them more then once or twice anyway....and if someone likes an outfit that is designer made, and cant afford it, they will find a cheaper way of gettin tthat outfit they like...there is nothign wrong with it at all...
i doubt everyone has enough time to sit at home and design their own clothes..aise to sab hi designers ban jaye...
now a days everyone loves the outfits khirad wore in humsafar...if they go out and get similar outfits made, is there anythign wrong with that? nope not at all!
I agree ashy! why are people on this forum so obnoxious! there are other things to worry about in the world! and i doubt designers really mind people replicating their work anyway...bc if that were the case, they wouldnt publicly display their work in shops, online, or in catalogues.
jo koi karta hai usse karne do, apni taang araana zaroori hai kya?
Also when you get a $4000 dress for $500 bucks you're paying for what you get so its hardly a luxury item. Designers might be using expensive chiffons and swarovski crystals and what not and I might just be using synthetic materials, so its hardly a luxury item at that point.
This. If people are replicating an outfit then its not a luxury item - its just an outfit. Also, if the stones, material, etc are being changed then it's not an EXACT copy so at that point its no longer a replica.
Just curious...are you an architect or an engineer?
just like how I went to school to figure out how best to build buildings and bridges they learnt what colours go best together, what patterns work, whats appealing to the eye. how successful would a designer be if 2 people in the world liked what they had made. Their whole business model is based on a majority of people wanting what they make knowing that probably only 2% of the population can actually afford it.
And no i'm not saying something can only be beautiful when it has a big designer label. If my friend wore something I thought was really nice I'd still want to copy it. Maybe there are 100's of really talented 'desginers' in markets in Pakistan but since they don't advertise or market I have no way of knowing that.
....and how about you just let people have an interesting discussion here, aap ko apni yahan taang araani ki kya zaroorat hai? :)
taang toot gaye...lol
but yeah there are many people who see something they like, they save the pic and they get it made for themselves...how can else can u get clothes made???
and im pretty sure 99% of the people dont know who the designer is ..its probably just some picture they found online
this post makes me sad … how about we all go home and do wht we want … eg, hate ppl for copying designers stuff and the other go and replicate designers stuff .. all happy happy
As long as there will be designers, there will always be people ready to make something similar or exactly the same in a smaller budget because thats what 99 percent of people in the world can afford. End of the story.
Ok so I'm kind of starting to get the argument here.... its like.... I'm not gonna buy fake Mac makeup, becuase for that $$ I could just buy maybelline or revlon..at least it's a genuine brand....
I wouldn't pay hundreds of dollars for a fake Chanel purse, because for that much I could get a decent bag from any other store.....
So I (kind of) get the argument...but i still don't agree when it comes to clothing...
The thing wtih designer clothes is that, I think most ppl go for what they like rather than set out to "I HAVE TO COPY A DESIGNER JORA."
In Pakistan, they CAN replicate it so they do so but within a certain budget. and I hardly know anyone who will say "this is designer" when in fact it was a copy....anyone who does that has issues....lol.
By the way…this reminded me of the last time I was in Pakistan, my mom was eyeing a bag at some shop in Defense. The guy said “yeh Italian hai..asli Wer-sayss (Versace)…issliye itna manga hai.” I had to remind my mom that a real “WER-SAYSS” would cost $2700…not 2700 Rs LOL
Another friend told me about how he went into a shop and the dude said “this shirt is a genuine Louie Weeton.” (for 1200 Rs )
listen, in pakistan when it comes to handbags, they even have levels of copies. i remember my cousin had bought a coach purse that was level 1 meaning it was the closest to the real thing in the fake market. then there were level 2 and 3 which were cheaper but also looked faker. its a whole industry! and thats illegal and unethical and all sorts of wrong.
If designers get annoyed their designs are being copied then perhaps they should lower their price tags by ten fold so more than 1% of the population in Pakistan and overseas CAN AFFORD THEM.
I'm spending more on a designer for investment pieces and I'm not talking thousands for my valima and rukstai outfits - but for mehndi and nikkah : bring on the copies.
There's no shame in copying and I will absolutely have NO problem telling everyone I copied it - for those lucky gals out there who can afford it or whose parents can afford it more power to you :)