Is India A Secular Nation?

Posted by diwana
Please read my post and you responded exactly as I predicted.

Be careful? What does that mean?

If you are still not understanding what is said in the article then its sad.

And there is nothing about freedom of press or media here that we are discussing. Many countries have media or press questioning the governmental affairs not so particular for TOI. By praising the role of media will not get you anywhere. Just see what is said.

Government is run by people. These include politicians. If politicians act against what is portrayed then whats there to continue to portray and fool others?

Its a plural when it is said politicians.

However, my job is not to 'dig' something to make you convinced. All One can do is to open eyes and look around.

You mentioned if the reason is given then you will understand. However all you have said is that you do not understand the significance of the article.

Please read below my other posts.

Well my dear friend, congratulations for ur exact prediction, I m impressed by ur genious, feel honoured to be in discussion with U.

I admit my inability to understand the article U quoted. so I request U again to kindly make me understand what this article says that makes India not secular. And brother, its actions and not mere articles or statements which makes a nation secular or religious one. I will be thankful if U indicate some actions of Indian government which cast doubts on its secular credentials.

I was not praising the role of media but just trying in vain to make U understand that these kind of articles which flays government are common where media is free. U can sense that any particular politician or politicians have done something wrong, but passing judgement on Nation's Secular status can be fallacious.

Government is run by people. These include politicians. If politicians act against what is portrayed then whats there to continue to portray and fool others?

Its a plural when it is said politicians.

Well now I understand that politicians means plural, thanks a lot for ur information, but still I dont understand what exactly our politicians have done repeatedly, which prompted U to draw ur conclusion, ie India is not secular. Plz give me another chance to understand and be thankful to U.

As per ur instructions, I have opened my eyes and looked around too, I dont find any reason with our government policies,both on paper and in actions, that can lead me to conclusion that India is not secular. U can help me out if I m not correct.

Posted by diwana
I think you are close to what I wanted to say.

As it is mentioned by PIU also (if I understood him right), one does not need a secular state for giving privileges to minorities.

It is very difficult to have a secular state in its real sense when state is run by people and its impossible to think people will not think in terms of religion even when they are dealing with governmental affairs. This is aside from other gains such as winning a seat in election or getting monitory support from people in the name of religion.

Portraying India as a secular state is just a false belief.
But off course people are free to believe whatever they feel comfortable with.

I asked PIU to name any country which gives privilages to minorities without being secular, he has come with none. Maybe u can enlighten us by giving name of any such state.

If its difficult to have a secular state than can U let us know what kind of government can we easily have? I doubt if U can answer this. It seems that U are just speaking out of ur biased views about India. Otherwise nothing should stop U to give plethora of reasons to prove ur point if U have some.

To get to any logical conclusion, permit me to ask some questions to U, if U can answer. Okay lets presume India is not secular, than what kind of state is it? And if there can be no secular state, than name a single religious state on earth. And kindly let me know what kind of state "Islamic Republic Of Pakistan" is? If U will answer these questions in as simple language as it has been asked, than U will help this discussion a lot to move towards positive direction. Hope U obilige.

Posted by diwana
One thing I would like to add is if we see secularism practiced by a country like France, it has taken the meaning of secularism in completely other direction.
Meaning:

Secularism= anti-religious laws.

Based on not allowing people to even wear religiously symbolic clothes or items for sikhs, christians, muslims and jews etc. in govt. schools or those private schols getting govt. assistance.

So in this regard its not the tolerance but intolerance to people practicing religion what is considered secularism by French. This is opposite to what one might consider as the basis of India being a secular state or is being portrayed in this thread.

So brother, how U put India on ur secularism meter considering the fact that every religion is free to be practised and propogated by its followers freely. no prohibition of any religious symbol anywhere. And as u have enlightened that what secularism means to france, plz lets know what secularism means to India too. Thanks in advance.

Peace.

These laws are mainly for marrages or to allow ppl to follow there religion e.g. A Hindu can not marry second time unless he has divorced his first wife ...... but a muslim can marry, I guess for 3-4 times without divorcing .....

did you just call us dheet? Tum ho gay dheet salay!

LOL, oh sorry Dr. Saheb.........it was just a typing mistake. Meri kya himmat ki main aapko aisa kuch kah sakoon. Maazrat chahta hoon.

I haven't read anythign in the thread, but no country on earth ESPECIALLY such a conservatively backwards country like India is secular.

I suppose democracies that may come closest to secularism in the world are Turkey and perhaps France. If you take into account communism, then I'd say china and north korea are the most secular countries in the world. I feel in order to be truly secular, you have to completely ignore religion as a nation.

U need not read anything too coz it will be of no use considering ur biased opinion. U too are talking like cynics by passing ur decision without giving any reasons. So ur opinion is worth nothing brother.

I have repeatedly requested on this thread that any member should come ahead with some proper reason if he thinks that India is not a secular state. But none has obiliged except giving some cynical responses.

BTW why u hold the opinion that CONSERVATIVELY BACKWARD COUNTRIES are not secular? Any experiance in this regard?

Peace.

Re: Is India A Secular Nation?

^ when reasons were given, you acted dumb and refused to understand.

Your words:

"I admit my inability to understand the article U quoted."

One article is enough for you to ponder. More will be useless also.

Bringing Pakistan (not claiming to be secular) in to discussion is just a way to run from discussion.

Keep dreaming and sweet dreams. :-)

Well thanks for using the nice word dumb, but plz dont expect me to reply in same manners coz I m not as gentle as U.

My words that U quoted,

I admit my inability to understand the article U quoted. so I request U again to kindly make me understand what this article says that makes India not secular

Being too clever proves sometimes otherwise brother, so plz listen to my request too and let me know where article posted by U proves that India is not secular.

I didnt brought Pakistan, but asked some simple questions to U which I already doubted U can answer, and rightly so, here I repeat my questions again, unedited.

Posted by raj_ind
I asked PIU to name any country which gives privilages to minorities without being secular, he has come with none. Maybe u can enlighten us by giving name of any such state.

If its difficult to have a secular state than can U let us know what kind of government can we easily have? I doubt if U can answer this. It seems that U are just speaking out of ur biased views about India. Otherwise nothing should stop U to give plethora of reasons to prove ur point if U have some.

To get to any logical conclusion, permit me to ask some questions to U, if U can answer. Okay lets presume India is not secular, than what kind of state is it? And if there can be no secular state, than name a single religious state on earth. And kindly let me know what kind of state "Islamic Republic Of Pakistan" is? I

But inspite of answering my questions logically, U chose to call me dumb. What a nice way to have a civil debate, alas, why I couldnt learnt this.

Still if U can answer my questions in my simple language, than I will be thankfull to U, and feel free to use ur nice words again, but plz answer. Give some reasons if U really have some, or simply hide behind ur nice and fancy words.

Peace.

If it makes you feel any better, I did not call you nor I took you as a dumb person.
My words were you ACTED dumb. Hope you are clear in your mind.:)

On the topic. Like I said before, **many things have been discussed if you really willing to think about it. **More was to come but your inability to engage in proper discussion and continuing to ask the same question over and over again makes the discussion not worthy.

I know you will say or think I am trying to find my way out. Lets just say so be it!

Happy believing what you believe.:)

U reminded me something poetic,

Wo Na Samjhe Hain, Na Samjhenge Meri Baat

*Ya Rub De Unko Dil Aur, Jo Na De Mujhko Zubaan Aur. *

See brother, India is hindu dominated country, Hindus are ppls who are polytheists(Mushrikeen). They have multiple gods, they are idolators (But Parast). Someone who are considered greatest sinners possible as per Islamic belief, ie even the best of human among hindu dont have any chance of making it to Jannah but the worst of muslim has this previlage. NO matter whether he kill innocents, rape, or do any other possible sin. But he has all the chances of being forgiven and granted entry in Jannah if ALLAH wills, but hindus are hopeless in this field. Right? Hindus have to be treated as second class citizens in Muslims's lands, with no political and social rights. They are obiliged to pay Jaziya to muslim governments. Even if a Muslim kills any Hindu, than he is not punishable by Death Sentence. Plz correct me if I m wrong anywhere.

These are the things which U have in ur religion about us, and we have no complains either. Just making U aware about hard realities about us, according to ur religion.

Now there is a country which is predominantly hindu. Being ruled by Hindus. Muslims have already taken their share under the impression that they are unable to live with hindus. Few muslims dont want to go to new land, but they want to live where their forefathers have been living. Hindus welcome them. Form a government and write a constitution which gives Muslims equal rights, and as cherry on the cake, allows them to live with their Islamic laws, so that their Islamic credentials remain intact.

So Hindu India gives Muslims equal rights, nowhere in Indian laws U will find discrimination with Muslims. Muslims are given share in power, they are made President of India, Chief Justice of Supreme court, Judge in various high courts, Vice Presidents Of India, High office in Police and Armed forces. And what not.

Coz Problems are everywhere, so they arises in India too, some religious bigots from both sides always tried to downplay Indian secularism, but it remained Intact even under hostile conditions. As Allama Iqbal wrote,

Unaan-O-Misr-O-Romaan Sab Mit Gaye Jahan Se

Baki Abhi Hai Lekin, Naam-O-Nishaan Hamara

Kuch Baat Hai Ki Hasti Mit ti Nahin Hamari

*Sadiyoon Raha Hai Dushman Daur-E-Jahan Hamara. *

The point worth noting in this whole story is that what Hindus had to offer to their muslim bretherns inspite of their beliefs. Dont U find something noble here? Perhaps that's why that by grace of ALLAH, we are here that the world recognizes our achievements ecxept SOME.

I hope this helps in removing all ur misconceptions.

Peace.

About the topic of secularism as I said various strong points were discussed by me and others and you keep ignoring them in your posts.

Regarding the red parts of your posts. Since you asked me to correct you, I must say you have very wrong concepts of what Islam says or muslims believe at large.

A 'second class citizen' as you suggest, will not be a chief justice of Pakistan but again the title has nothing to do with Pakistan and you keep dragging Pakistan and muslims in to discussion.

I wonder why you have not even tried to discuss earlier posts relevant to title.

If you read the thread from beginning you will find that unfortunately you have contributed very little to the topic and mainly have focused on some irrelevant discussions.

Well brother, U say various strong points, but I have found none, litrally none which could suggest that India is not a secular nation. But neither U want to discuess this issue nor U are willing to accept the truth. I asked U few questions which could be relevent to this topic, but U found fit to ignore them too. I gave U various reasons why India is secular, but U consider them off topic. But after all who can convince U about the truth when U are not ready to accept it.

Plz dont mind it, but I challange U about the red part of my previous post, that U prove them wrong. Simply saying that its wrong is of no use unless U prove it. And exactly this is what U have been doing since the start of this thread.

I will be starting a new thread to discuess about the red part, lest U declare it off topic. Welcome to religious section of this forum.

And since U have pointed out, so permit me to tell U that its of no use telling about hindu chief justice of Pakistan, Pakistan is anything but an Islamic country. And its just a mockry of whole Islamic justice system that head of it is someone who consider the holy prophet to be (Naujobillah) a liar. May this open ur eyes a bit.

And nothign I said was irrelevent, it was closely associated with the topic at hand, but U are refusing to accept that. It is unfortunate however.

But dont consider this discussion to be over, U are still welcome to contribute any thought if U have invented one as yet.

Peace.

well brother ....peace.........hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Bal Thackerey is the best man to lead 'secular' India.

I wanna visit India once in my life.Want to see taj mahal,wow.
And wanna visit Film industry mumbai,Watch it on TV ,wanna see yash raj studios.
And yes wanna meet actors too,i have been to states twice,people bump into stars but i never had any experience like that..its a bummer.
But maybe better luck next time.

bal thackrey and narendra modi will do best!!

praveen togadia may be!!

lol Lk Advani can be the foreign minister.

i guess he will be the PM...

^^ I am curious to see if the Mods consider the previous 5-6 posts relevant to the discussion :hmmm: