Is hijaab a farz?

I should have taken the translations which you would surely agree hence there you go:

YUSUFALI: O Prophet! Tell thy wives and daughters, and the believing women, that they should cast their outer garments over their persons (when abroad): that is most convenient, that they should be known (as such) and not molested. And Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful.

PICKTHAL: O Prophet! Tell thy wives and thy daughters and the women of the believers to draw their cloaks close round them (when they go abroad). That will be better, so that they may be recognised and not annoyed. Allah is ever Forgiving, Merciful.

SHAKIR: O Prophet! say to your wives and your daughters and the women of the believers that they let down upon them their over-garments; this will be more proper, that they may be known, and thus they will not be given trouble; and Allah is Forgiving, Merciful.

The above three translations are also slightly different. Hence would you disregard them? I guess not...every translator/scholar puts the words which he finds suitable. At the end of the day we are talking about JILBAB!....

*I think at this stage it would be very nice to know how the JILBAB looked like 1400 years ago?*

What's your point? Where does it say "cover face" or "put cloack over your face"????

O Please Hareem...I thought I wont have to spoon feed here...well doesnt seems to be the case.

Rather then getting away from the topic and getting into contravercial discission just read the post again and you will understand what I was saying...

Right now I have only one question which is:

***I think at this stage it would be very nice to know how the JILBAB looked like 1400 years ago?***

Re: Is hijaab a farz?

useless.

This translation I presented exactly from The Noble Quran translated by Dr muhammad Taqi-ud-Din Al-Hilali and Dr Muhammad Muhsin Khan and Published by King Fahad complex for Quran printing Madinatul Munawwara. I didn't add anything from my side. Anyway I will ask some Arabic Speaking persons for Meaning of Juyubihinna. I will let you know InshaAllah.

Peace All

No time to put down a full discussion or references, but as far as I have understood:

Niqab is advisable but not fard
Hijab is fard, but khimar is not hijab, it is a means to fulfil it, we wrongly call khimar - hijabs
The verse la ikra fideen does apply here, in that no one should be made to believe that such and such is the case, except when blasphemy is being questioned. However, since khimar is not something to believe in (it is something worn) the government can enforce the khimar to be worn, even by non-Muslims.

Assalamalikum,

I know Sh. Faraz personally, and his explanation doesn’t differ from what I implied before. Classical, as well as majority of Hanafi Scholars never stated Hijaab was not Wajib. It in fact is. However, it depends on a case by case basis.

It is similar to current and savings bank accounts. Due to the conventional banks acting upon western law, it is difficult to avoid interest or the usage of deposited money by the bank. Therefore, scholars have allowed even the interest you receive from the Bank as long as you give it to the needy. This is not permissible in Islamic countries where conventional banks are not bound by law, and Islamic law holds superiority.

So we must understand, that the general concept of Niqaab is not something we should take lightly. The only reason scholars allow us to focus more on hijaab less on Niqaab is because of our environment in the west. However, generally the Niqaab, especially in the Hanafi school, is wajib, and always will stay like that.

If tomorrow we have an Islamic state, and we actually have Shariah law implemented there, and Muslims are a majority and safer in that environment, I could assure you Niqaab would be deemed wajib by all the scholars.

We must understand the situation, the environment, the bases for why certain rulings are passed.

Walaykum Salaam

Wajib and Fardh are two different things.

Interest is being declared haram in Quran but niqab is not even mentioned in Quran.

And it’s not only in the west, even in the East you can’t make it an obligation for women to wear niqab because of the norms and environment.

We don’t know what is going to happen tomorrow so we better concentrate on our present.

Btw growing beard is also wajib.

It’s good that you know Shaykh Faraz, may be you can ask him again in detail.

A nice video every man should hear.

Hilali and Muhsin khan's translation has been condemned by so many scholars and experts.

Assalamalikum,

Since you touched up on the topic of the difference between Fardh and Wajib, it is important to know that Wajib merely does not mean Sunnah. Wajib is more or less like a fardh, and should not be taken lightly as a Sunnah.

To get a glimpse of what Wajib and Fardh indicate in the Hanafi Madhab, refer to this thread in the Sunnipath forums for a better clarification. It outlines the difference beautifully. Difference between Fard and Wajib in Hanafi Fiqh - sunniforum.com

We cannot thus deny the act of Niqaab and its importance in the Islamic tradition (note not cultural). We can only act upon it , or not act upon it. Thats a personal choice. Thats where the difference lies.

However, to blame it on the environment to justify NOT wearing Niqaab would be wrong, or to degrade it to the level of a Sunnah only, would also be wrong. According to the definition of Fardh (or Wajib in the case of Hanafi Ullema).

I hope I got my point across. May Allah help us all in attaining his mercy and pleasure.

P.s. No one is opposing Hijaab, which clearly is a Fardh. I am well aware of that speech by Sh. Hamza Yusuf.

Brother

Growing beard is also wajib then why do you shave everyday? Oh may be the personal choice.

Now by saying that we can’t blame the environment you are contradicting all the scholars including Shaykh Faraz and Shaykh Hamza Yusuf. the definition of wajib in other three school is different from the hanafi…hanafis take it more seriously. But “Niqab” is not wajib anymore, atleast not in West and this is the opinion of the scholars of this age.
And even in Past, some Hanafi scholars didn’t consider niqab wajib as Shaykh Faraz Rabbani said.

Shaykh Nuh who’s Shafi’ actually discourage to wear Niqab in Western culture for the safety of sisters.

I’m sorry but you are not aware of any speech.

Here’s another answer for you from Sunnipath.

Wearing niqab is a good thing to do if it gives you peace of mind. However, please keep in mind that you are not shirking your obligation to Allah Ta’ala if you remove your niqab. I understand that you were inspired by the example of the women in Jordan.
However, if you allow me, I suggest that not every woman has the same experience wearing niqab. A woman’s ability to wear niqab is often contingent upon her environment. Some environments are very welcoming. Others are not. I’m not sure what your environment is like in Pakistan. However, I do know that wearing niqab in the West is very difficult. Some of the scholars on SunniPath, most notably Shaykh Nuh Keller, caution against wearing niqab in the West [generally]. Why? Because women who wear niqab in places like America and Europe often experience the very alienation and verbal abuse that you describe.
What is most important is establishing your own relationship with Allah Ta’ala, not so much based on what other women do, but on your own personal convictions. Your obligation is to wear hijab: to cover your body with modest, loose-fitting clothing. You are allowed to show your face, hands, and feet (according to the Hanafi School). Focus on fulfilling this obligation first. At the same time, focus on your relationship with Allah Ta’ala. Be constant in reading the Qur’an. Make remembrance of Allah. Ask Him for guidance and comfort. You should definitely make salat al-istikhara, or the guidance prayer in this situation. The details of this prayer are at

http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=1&ID=7031&CATE=15

Now either you are wrong or all these scholars are wrong.

as I promised to get back on this one. allhamdulillah, I was wrong and you are right: beard is wajib and not fardh. barak Allahu feekee

However, such difference is only theortical when the application of two terms is same. They both mean an obligation and only the ahnaf make distinction between the two terms due to them being Ahl al-Rai'i.

like who? your sufi ashari scholars who call for shirk and bidah? Maybe you can give us list of all these "so many scholars"; I am sure it would start with Nuh keller and end with Hamza Yusuf.

Well thanks for agreeing with* something*...lol

“Yūsuf ibn Khālid As-Simtī told Abū Hanifah that he was a kāfir for saying witr was wājib, thinking by that he meant it was the same as fardh. Abu Hanīfah stated, “You can’t scare me with your takfīr, since I know that the difference between Fardh and Wājib is like the difference between the heavens and the earth **(al farq bayn al wājib wal-fard**h ka farq mā bayn as-samā’ wal-ardh).”
[Tāj 5:66, and Badā’i` - Beirut: Dār Al Kitāb Al-‘Arabi, 1402/1982 print pages 1:271]

No it's not only the "mushrik" and "bidati" sufi ashari scholars....you will find many people who find faults in their translation.

may Allah help us.

lol, for sake of argument, so what if the Qur’an does not say it. When did you start to take everything from the Qur’an. And surely you do not claim that you understand the Qur’an better than Abdullah ibn Abbas (radiAllahu anho) or any of these today’s scholars!?

khayr, whatever the case maybe, the difference of opinion among scholars on this issue is valid and you cannot say that niqab is not fardh/wajib when there is a valid difference of opinions among scholars.

actually, that is not entirely correct, even according to your sunnipath fatawa most hanafis scholars endorse niqab. And I bet only the latter hanafis went against it as there is nothing from the early scholars

that is just your opinion and has no basis in sharee’ah. So what if women don’t dress up modestly in west, how is that an argument or evidence against niqab? If we were to use this argument then you cannot even wear hijab - dressing modestly, covering hair, etc. because the kuffaar do not do this in west

If one is to choose niqab as an obligatory then it does not matter whether you live in Muslim land or kafir land. Secondly, it is simply your opinion and I am being a Ahl al-hadith a statement of a companion is more beloved to me then opinion of latter men.

Thirdly, actually never mind, I am going to research when this cultural argument can be used in fiqh and post my comments later, insha’Allah

so what? most hanafi scholars endorse niqab so you do not really have a leg to stand. secondly, when was sharee’ah limited only to hanafi uslul al-fiqh? If we are to follow this argument then every Muslim should do whatever hanafis do and even in issues when they are against the sharee’ah. What are you calling for?

In fact it says, the shafi’i and most hanfi scholars say that niqab is an obligation. In addition, the most scholar of today you talk about are known for their errors and serious mistakes. Thirdly, when did scholars of today become infallible or hujjah for everything? When there is dispute among khalaf scholars we refer to the Salaf as they are the best and most knowledgeable among the ummah.

PS: **I am not saying that niqab is obligatory because I know there is a valid difference of opinion among scholars and I personally take the niqab being obligation view. However, no one can say that “niqab is not an obligation” or “we cannot wear it in the west” or “niqab is an obligation”. Just acknowledge difference among scholars and choose the opinion which you trust the most. And stop promoting your view as if it is only valid view. **

Allahu A’lam

blah blah blah

You are one of those muslims who are obsessed with women.

wa, allhmdulillah, Jazak Allah khayr - the haqq is haqq and only the people with sick hearts go against haqq.

sanad for this please? Even if the Imam (rahimahullah) did say that then as I said the difference is theoritical in addition to the fact that ONLY the ahnaf make the distinction. Even if there is difference between the two terms as the difference between sky and earth, at the end of the day both types are obligations even by the usul of ahnaf. So really when it comes to application, it makes no difference. And this is what I was saying

since it is off-topic please kindly pm the list of all these "so many scholars". I will appreciate that, Jazak Allah khayr. btw, it is not a translation, it is more like mini tafsir kind a thing

right...and here I thought i was the only one who 'lacked' manners. so you come up with personal attacks when nothing to say. khayr, keep this up, more hasanat for me from your account on the Last Day.

I don't take everything from Quran but it's a fact that Quran talks about khimar but not niqab. And that's why the aurah does not include face, hand and feet.

Can you give a reference where Abdullah ibn Abbas(ra) said that face is part of woman's aurah?????

No school considered it fardh but wajib and according to modern Scholars of four schools it's not even wajib.

Well you can only bet, you can't give proof so what's your point? And even the great Scholars like Abu Hanifah(ra) used different fiqh in different cultures. So are you better than Abu Hanifah(ra)???

You're right. If a woman gets verbal abuse and threats for covering her head then she's allowed to take it off.

IT IS SIMPLY NOT MY OPINION.

You can wear niqab if you want to, no one is stopping you.

Do so.

Most hanafi scholars support niqab so I don't have a leg to stand on, why?

And yes we are allowed to follow any opinion out of four schools so who are you to stop us?

And how's uncovering face is against Qur'an? Please enlighten us?

May be you can quote the fatwa then i can reply.

I don't know from where you getting this "When there is dispute among khalaf scholars we refer to the Salaf"....???

If this is true then why there's a need to become a scholar? We should just left all the scholars and take out rulings directly from Quran and Hadith like Khwarijs and Taliban.

Well that's your personal opinion and I can't say anything about it.

Thank you

Atleast you admit that you lack manners. Anyway, i edited my post so no hasanat for you.

Well, you don't called kafir by rejecting wajib. that's the difference.

Now what are you saying? Are you saying that wearing shuttle cock burqa is fard and those who don't wear are kafir?

If that's what you think then you should go back to Afghanistan and start taking your land back from Americans.

Your problem is that you only consider your salafi guys the real scholars and no matter how many references I give you from traditional scholars and how many fatwas I give you by modern non salafi scholars, you're not going to agree with me.

I hope you don't force your women for covering up...lol

Remind me of an incident where a muslim father killed his daughter for not wearing scarf in America.

Our condition is just sad.

I'm not gonna reply to you now because bhains kay aagay been bajanay ka koi faida nahi.

But I want to make clear for the last time that niqab is not fardh(it never was) and it's not the part of aurah to cover face, hands and feet.

It is discouraged to wear niqab in modern times specially in West and no man has a right to tell a man to cover up except her husband and her family.