Is hijaab (covering head and sattar) mandatory as in farz for women in Islam or highly recommended like a beard is for men? Are women going to be judged on that in the hereafter?
Please give authentic sources.
Is hijaab (covering head and sattar) mandatory as in farz for women in Islam or highly recommended like a beard is for men? Are women going to be judged on that in the hereafter?
Re: Is hijaab a farz?
According to Ahle Sunnah wal Jamah, yes covering head is part of the hijab and a farz for women. i don’t know a single scholar who says otherwise.
The styles of covering head may be varied like in South Asia women usually wear chadar or duppata and in Arab countries they wear scarf and African countries they wear a turban like scarf.
Beard is not a farz and scholars have different opinions regarding growing and trimming beard may be because it’s not mentioned in the Quran.
http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=10&ID=5849&CATE=223
There’s a fatwa regarding muslim women living in West and feel danger and threat because of scarf.
http://muslim-canada.org/hijabthesedays.html
Yes it is mandatory. According to Sura Alnoor 24:31 which says: And tell the believing women to lower their gaze and protect their private parts(from illegal sexual act), and not to show off their adornment except only that which is apparent( like both eyes for necessity to see the way, or outer palms of hands, one eye or dress like veil, gloves, head cover, apron etc) and to draw their veils all over* JUYUBIHINNA* (i,e their bodies,face,neck and bossoms) and not to reviel their adornment except to their husbands, or their sons, or their husband sons, or their brothers, or their brother's sons, or their sister's sons, or their (muslim) women i,e their sisters in islam, or the( female) slaves, whom their right hand possess, or old male servants who lack vigour, or small children who have no sense of feminine sex. And let them not stamp their feet so as to reveal what they hide of their adornment. And all of you beg Allah to forgive you all, O believers, that you may be successful.
Sura 33 Al-Ahzab Verse 59: O Prophet tell your wives and daughters and the women of the believers to draw their cloaks (veils) all over their bodies(screen their bodies completely except the eyes or one eye to see the way).........
These are the guidelines laid down by our Lord Allah (SWT).
^You're making face covering fardh?
In my personal opinion yes. Because Face is the most important part in female body. If you remove the face, then there is no difference between two females.
Some people argue that it doesn't include face but I cannot agree due the reason I mentioned above.* Juyubihinna* include face as well.....And Allah knows the best.
^If it was so important then we'd be covering face during salaat and hajj. Anyway, it's your personal opinion so i won't argue against it.
I second you , i wud give the same answer ![]()
Niksik InshaAllah in hte next few days i will inshaAllah put in a thread to answer your question fully to the most, and some other issues revolving women issues such as the hijaab being a Quranic order etc and you wont have doubts after that inshaAllah.
Beard is not a farz and scholars have different opinions regarding growing and trimming beard may be because it's not mentioned in the Quran.
I know the ulama differ over the length of the beard but never heard of ulama differing over its being fard except the supposedly opinion in shafi'i madhab. Can you please provide some reference for this and no contemporary scholars please? Jazak Allah khayr
check the heritage of early scholars and the sunnah of sahabiyyat. The scholar greatly differ over this issue - some say it is fard and while others say it is not. The scholar of the ummah, Abdullah ibn Abbas (radiAllahu anho), mentiones in the tafsir of the hijab ayah: "Allah commanded the believing women, when going out of their homes for some need, to cover their faces from above their heads with their Jilbabs, leaving one eye to see the path" [Tafsir al-Tabari - this hadith is at least hasan]
and Allah knows best
^I know you're salafi and you have your own opinions and I respect them. Let sister Niksik decide herself.
I know the ulama differ over the length of the beard but never heard of ulama differing over its being fard except the supposedly opinion in shafi'i madhab. Can you please provide some reference for this and no contemporary scholars please? Jazak Allah khayr
it is not a fardh like salaat and saum and even hijab....you might be confusing wajib with fardh.
Bismillah
^I know you're salafi and you have your own opinions and I respect them. Let sister Niksik decide herself.
allhamdulillah, sister, actually, I do not state my personal opinions. I quoted you the athar of Abdullah ibn Abbas (radiAllahu anho) to show that the scholars differ over this issue, including the early scholars, and it is not as straight as some of us may put it. And it were not the wahabis/salafis who came up with niqab being fardh. If you say Abdullah ibn Abbas (radiAllahu anho) is not your scholar then I am out of words.
I did not force this opinion on anyone or even asked anyone to follow it - I was merely stating it.
it is not a fardh like salaat and saum and even hijab....you might be confusing wajib with fardh.
I will get back to you on this one later, insha'Allah
PS: only the ahnaf make distinction between fardh and wajib
Allahu A'lam
Yes it is mandatory .
Try telling this to hidden tribes of Amazon. Men and women of this tribe do not wear any clothes let alone hijab. Mind you it is not a nudist colony who adopted nudity out of perversion . They are our long lost ancestors who have no idea of shame or who attach no eroticism attached to nudity. Google Korubo tribe for more details.
That makes me wonder why all those Muslim scholars attach eroticism to face and hair of woman. The Quranic verses are very clear as to their intention and tone but most of us have close minds and are slaves of our tribal culture and metality.
I wonder why no Islamic organization tried to reach this tribe and make them wear clothes and put hijab on the face and head of the poor women of that tribe.
May Allah give us toufeeq to understand the real message of Quran and avoid its interpretation based on demands of our , culture , custom , nafs and beliefs. Ameen.
^^You are no higher in mentality than KUROBO.
and Your throwing this insult at me is such a great manifestation of all the Islamic teachings you have learned which demand to be humble and patient in these kind of discussions. Go learn some basic Islamic etiquettes of having a meaningful debate in public or private first.
Khud tho Ayat-e-karima ka mazaq uda rahe hein aur mujhe etiquettes sikney ki taálim.
If you don't want to follow the commands of the Almighty, its upto you but you cannot tell that it was misinterpreted..... Then tell us what is the interpretation of verses mentioned earlier... I am waiting for your interpretations..and ultimately you will say that because in Europe females are naked so we should also interpret our Quran according to that culture and there is no harm to become naked..... why not it is their culture, custom...
sho.
You should be ashamed of yourself …the person who asked the question is not from such tribe, she’s an educated modest muslim.
Yes I am ashamed that I come across people like you from my religion who cannot carry out a debate in a decent manner. ![]()
Bismillah
allhamdulillah, sister, actually, I do not state my personal opinions. I quoted you the athar of Abdullah ibn Abbas (radiAllahu anho) to show that the scholars differ over this issue, including the early scholars, and it is not as straight as some of us may put it. And it were not the wahabis/salafis who came up with niqab being fardh. If you say Abdullah ibn Abbas (radiAllahu anho) is not your scholar then I am out of words.
I did not force this opinion on anyone or even asked anyone to follow it - I was merely stating it.
I will get back to you on this one later, insha'Allah
PS: only the ahnaf make distinction between fardh and wajib
Allahu A'lam
You can bring other ahadith in favour of your argument but Still Qura'n doesn't say to common women to wear niqab.
I know it weren't salafis who came up with niqab and there are opinions for niqab in others schools except Hanafi.....but in Western societies it cannot be made obligatory and even in most muslim countries it cannot be made obligatory because of the norms where most women don't even dress up decently.
but in some places you have to wear niqab to follow the culture and norm so you don't attract the attention by showing your face where everyone is wearing niqab.
Also, the majority of muslims are hanafi and hanafis don't consider niqab an obligation.
This is my point.