is desi food generally unhealthy

Heartburn, indigestion, piles, stomach ulcers, mouth ulcers, acid reflux!

healthier, yes, healthy, no.
whattype of oil is used and how much is important. and god forbid if you are using ghee.

if u eat normal ghar ka kahana in US u will have the same, one thing u do have to watch for us the growth hormones in livestock and poultry feed, try getting homrome free eggs, poultry and red meat.

Some people eat that on a weekly basis along with soda and dessert. That is their entertainment.

Re: is desi food generally unhealthy

Allah naa karay @ ghee :vivo:

Canola mostly and Olive oil occassionally.

india has lowest ratio of alzimers(bholny waly beemari) among their elderly.

But spices could be tough at rare end, if you know what I mean.

u do have to watch for us the growth hormones in livestock and poultry feed, try getting homrome free eggs, poultry and red meat.

exactly, u have to be really careful with even the healthiest of items, i have started reading labels very carefully now, even if its a box of crackers!

And why people from other ethnicities get those, they do not eat Pakistani foods ?

Never said it was consumed daily, just pointing out that Pakistani cuisine is not really the healthiest! Ghar ka khana with less oil..is alright!

i try to but things without labels. try being the key word :(

label means processed, and processed is asking for trouble.
sodium is high, transfats, preservatives, nutrates and nitrites..

the closer an item is to its natural form, the better it will be.

spices aside, i doubt pakistani food is as healthy as the mediterranean stuff. In Pakistani cuisine we have some very healthy stuff, grilled stuff, veggies, etc, the issues are with overuse of oil/use of ghee, simple carbs in form of rice and processed flour.

leaner cuts of meat, more fish, more fresh veg and fruits, would be helpful. we take healthy stuff like spinach and then kill it by cooking it with ooodles of oil for a long period destroyign the amount of nutrients there.

I think Lota gosht will be healthier since a lota can occupy only so much of oil. :halo:

I think what we get is rooti fro our own aata.
very tasty and healthy. Plus don't for get combination of meat + roti. (complex carb and protein)
Make you feel full for longer.
Normally in pakistani food you could avoid oil+butter+"chopring"+spices
and still have awesome taste.
I live in srdar neighbourhood, yet to find that solid combination we had in pakistan.

actually, lota gosht is lean cuts of meat with an optinal mix of spices, slow cooked with small amount of olive oil, is served with fresh steamed veggies. very healthy.

you are forgetting how much and what type of fat it is that you are consuming, and that is based on choice of meat and choice of cut, the second thing is healthy servings of fruits and vegetables.

daal is a good source of proteins in addition to meats, and for meats they have to be the right cuts, lean meat. and really more veggies that are less cooked.

Roti is the best thing… NO use of oil… pure wheat…

ParaTha on the other hand :yummy:

qourmay maiN ‘taar’ naa ho aur paayoN maiN ‘les’ naa ho tau woh qourma, qourmaa naheeN aur woh paaye, paaye naheeN. :emmy:

but depends on what ata you are using.

wheat flour with fiber :konfused: I mean wohi waalaa jiss kaaa pakistan maiN bohraan hai …

hmmm
you are right.

my point is , that in pakistani food its possible to eat healthy without giving up on taste.
1-bagheer chany aaty ki roti
2-dall or sabzi + meat
3-lasi after all that
buuurrrb excuse me!
Now with less spice you feel taste of rooti+gosht etc(point to remember)

Reaosn I posted it, is thread is given title desi food.
the things i just mention are totally missing from indian food.
In indian food either its butter+oil or tons of spices. Which both are haard to handle.

miss eating pakistani food

oh i agree 100%, u can defintely eat very very healthy pakistani food without sacrficing taste of variety.
i think when u say spices in indian food vs pakistani food, the levels and combos are different, they typically use a lot more haldi than is used in pakistani food.

spices need to be used not overused :)

u know some time I buy indian food, I swear before my tummy is full; my body and brain give up to spices.
voice changes, feel like scratching head, tummy burns etc.
other times it has so much oil and butter you eat it for a week and you see some new development on you tummy.