is desi food generally unhealthy

Re: is desi food generally unhealthy

I think indian food on its own wont be bad, but when we are used to a certain style and then get somethign expecting it to be what we like and it turns out different its a disappointment add to it the fact that it is a diff combo of spices and diff levels that we may not be used to, or prefer and its a not so pleasant experience there.

hmmmm
yeah you are right we go there with mind set of having pakistani food.
hmmm

my landlords are hiderabadi(indian) muslims. All most same dishes as pakisnat.
only more delicious. They are very particular about the taste and stuff.

One day I was satrving and went to this indian buffet place by my work, and i ate but you know, it just did not hit the spot..not even close.

I mean I have gon to indian joints to eat indian food and enjoyed south indian food, its a diff experience.

but biryai and tikka and qorma etc is just waay too different

you know what other then hyderabai food.
indians consider meat a separate entity. separate then normal food. So normally they always cook it by it self. Mostly it taste the same.
All I see there is:
Goat curry
butter chicken
roast chicken

I mean how good is the goat if it doesnt have aalo in it :lifey: lol (our national dish)
We have(indians admit) different flavour of meat in every dish.

erggg for some reason i really really dont like roti
i prefer naan

roti, naan, chapati..i think the term was being used to cover all genres of plain flat bread :)

In my house we switched to healthy cooking years ago because my father has diabetes and has also had strokes. He is Mashallah well now but we had to change our eating habits dramatically because it was unhealthy for him. Eating healthy is not just a one person task when you're living with family...everyone has to get involved and make a lifestyle change.

We only use olive oil now in all of our food.

We eat red meat only a few times a month.

Chicken and fish is our primary meat and we only eat the leanest of them.

My mom makes as much vegetables as she can in many different ways. She makes sabzies, veggie kababs, skewers, etc. She experiments so it doesnt get boring.

We eat only whole wheat bread and roti. No naan.

No soft drinks unless we have company over.

There is more I just cant remember right now.

the amount of food matters too :D and most of the dishes have rice and wo bhi with alot of oils and fats like kabsah i can faint looking at the amount of oils at the bottom of the plate and white bread so its not always healthy

arabian food has spices and lots of them they jst dont use chilli peppers :halo:

and chilli is not the only spice in the world :smiley:

but kabsa can be cooked healthy just like biryani can be made healthy..or healthier rather

can be but still if ur gona eat one kilo kabsah per person then ur gonna get fat no matter how healthy it is :@:

and kabsah with less or no oil wont taste as good as well :barbie:

unless you are lifting weights like crazy :D

yeah and r willing to spend ur whole life in gym :cb:

The spices used in Arabic cusine is usually cinnamon powder and white pepper.. they love parsley (but that isnt a spice)

I don't have any objection to Pakistani food, I blv it's yummy.. but for health reasons u shud use whole-wheat "atta" for u're chappati.. and use minimum amounts of oil.. in Pakistani/Indian cooking we need the extra oil to "bhoon" the salans.. and "tarka" the daals and all :)

Spices are good too in moderation, they're unhealthy when u over-do them.. as compared to Pakistani food, Indian food is much more spicier due to the "hing" and mustard oil that they use.