iphone or not?

I want to get a diff phone, whatver I get I will probably use for a couple of years. what are ppls views on the iphone?

I hear about waiting for next version, why? what will that have that this one does not? what bugs will it fix?

I mean everything improves with newer models (ford cars being an exception :)) but one cant wait forever to get the ultimate version.

so when is teh right time? is this teh right time for iphone?

Re: iphone or not?

X, everything regarding Iphone sucks. It is too sensitive to handle. The price is much too high. The touch mechanism forces you to invest more time handling the device. You definately need a hard case to carry, which means another investment and more money. Using Ipod function + mobile phone at the same time makes your battery life shorten and there is no extra battery pack.

I'm not sure what you mean by the next version. The new generation? Or the firmware/software. Firmware/software upgrade can be done via cable with Pc systems.

Wait for the next generation of this phone (If you are a die hard fan of Apple).
Otherwise try Nokia N95.

thanks dude, I meant the new generation.
when u say hardcase, is it because the screen can break easily?

putting money aside, lets say that was not a make or break factor. would you go for it? not concerned about battery life or battery pack.

what is going to change in the next generation do you know, and when is it due?

Oh, well I had it for a week or so. And since I love to carry my phones in my pocket without hardcase/leathercase I had scratches all over. It didnt take 2 days even. It looks very fragile when holding in your hands, so I havent tried to drop it then :), but I'm sure they are some reviews regarding It's ruggedness.

As I said I had It for a week, It was merely a playground for me. More like a tool with 1000 function of what you only use 10-20 daily.

Next generation will be released in 2008. Thats all I know by now.
If you are an APPLE fan, It's a must have. Especially when you do consider using It for mp3 player purposes as well.

what're your thoughts on going for CECT instead of apple...

From what i've seen, CECT makes one that's very much like iPhone, comes unlocked and can be used with any carrier. Personally, i love the iPhone, haven't had it yet.
well....thought i'd share that with you. pretty sure u already knew that :)

My wife now has an iPhone so I can provide (almost) first hand experience.

First, from an overall impressions standpoint, its just gorgious. Very intuitive user interface. A lot of very nifty features that are quite practical too.

On the downside, biggest downside, weak phone reception. Really weak. My Blackberry is no superpower phone, but in front of iPhone it always shows more bars and better reception. If you are in areas with terrific cellphone signal, then this won't be an issue.

Second, the onscreen keypad is pretty kewl, but even for me (not very thick fingers) its an acquired taste. I was mistyping quite a lot till I figured out how to. Using browser you can use landscape mode where keys are a bit more spaced, but portrait mode really pushes it. My suggestion, before buying it, go to an Apple store and try typing on the screen for a bit to get the idea. Not a deal breaker, once you figure it out.

After buying the phone, we did invest in a skin. Bought it online. Better variety and instead of paying $29 in Apple store or a mall khokha, we paid $6 plus shipping (total $11) buying online and she got the color of her choice. Phone does not get scratches, but the screen can get smudgy and you can just clean it with a cloth (shirt corner or dopatta ka pallu, whichever works for you :)).

Apple's execution of Clock, Weather, Stock market and maps is just first rate. Very easy and intuitive. iPod integration is very neat as my wife uses this feature very regularly when she takes the phone to the gym. She syncs it with Outlook in our home PC. Out of habit, she does charge it every night and battery life has never been a problem, even with extensive iPod use (rated battery time for iPod use is 15 hours).

thanks mon, very helpful.

By the way, one thing I forgot to mention is that at home, the phone switches to WiFi and browsing is a breeze. Outside, when you are stuck with EDGE, be prepared to grind your teeth a bit.

And most importantly, if your work supports Blackberry email (BB enterprise server) and getting work emails is important for you, then just stick with a Blackberry of your choice (Curve, Pearl, 8800 etc). Don't go with iPhone or any Windows Mobile-based phone. Just stick with BB.

Interesting indeed!
This is what I have experienced too and I quote that from a review mag:

So if the iPhone's surface doesn't scratch easily, does the back? My analysis shows that it clearly does scratch...

Then:

Out of habit, she does charge it every night and battery life has never been a problem, even with extensive iPod use (rated battery time for iPod use is 15 hours).

My Ipod nano battery life specs where 14 hours and It hardly worked for 5-6 hours. So don't go by specs and using both Phone and Ipod will not last longer. So your wifes does exactly the right thing....charge it every night.

If work has MS Exchange any WM5 (or above) based phones work just like the BB service.

My biggest problem with this phone is that I need iTunes with it. And I refuse to install it. Overall I liked the phone itself, very sleek design and good UI. Not worth $399 IMHO.

I had been thinking about getting it too, but reading the reviews Im not very sure. The touch screen feature is what I had been thinking of getting it but at the same time I personally tend to hold my cell while multitasking and the buttons keep on getting pressed by my face. If you choose the lock keys while on call then the dialing another number like a three way can be a hassle.

Ask99, Apple designed the phone so that the screen would go blank and touchless when the phone is at your face.

Now this is cut and paste from the web

While iPhone is far from the first phone with a touch-sensitive screen, Apple is the first to make a real effort to address this worry. The iPhone has two diodes at the top of the phone, near the speaker. The first diode emits pulses of infrared light, while the second diode detects those pulses. Get the iPhone close to your ear and those pulses of light bounce back to the second diode, which then switches the touchscreen off—preventing you from accidentally hitting any buttons, as well as preserving battery life. (When the phone moves away from your face, the screen pops back on.)

the only thing is that its 400 bucks, but then, the other one I have been looking at is 150 bucks if i keep it for 3 years or so, thats just a 7 bucks a month difference.

and I ask myself, would I rather have an ipod and spend that extra 7 bucks a month, or do I not have it.
(yes yes I am trying to convince myself)

i did want to get an ipod anyways, I have an ipod mini but carrying 2 things is a hassle (yes I am still trying to convince myself)

^ If you do decide to buy the iPhone or upgrade to another iPod, i’ll gladly take the Mini off your hands and buy it from you as I need an iPod at this time before I get a 30GB (or higher) video one. :layd:

:hoonh:

ps. X2, you should sell ur mini to him. app k mubarik haatoon say to nemo $300 ka bhi lay lay ga :cb:

then you just have to spend $100! (bulkay wo bhi nemo aqeedat ka nazrana samjh ker app ke khidmat may paish keray ga :hehe:)

hey I am not paying 300 for a mini :naraz:

Apne jaisa samjha hai kya :snooty:

X2, ignore her like I do. Don’t listen to her, if you are thinking of giving me the iPod as an Eid gift, then I am not going to stop you :layd:

ipod mini is asked for already :D sorry mon

Dang :mad2:

Could you tell him/her to upgrade to an iphone :@:

Ok ok I’m kiddin :stuck_out_tongue:

Here in the UK, it’s retailing for £270 ($520). :mad2:

660 € in mid-europe.