Former cricketers criticise Inzamam for 'belated' retirement
ISLAMABAD, Pakistan, March 19 (AP) Former players criticized captain Inzamam-ul-Haq, saying he should have quit sooner. Former test fast bowler Sarfraz Nawaz said “He is not physically fit enough to play even one-day cricket so how could he play test cricket,” Nawaz said, adding “(But) it's our history that players do not retire themselves, they were always shown the door.”** Intikhab Alam*, who coached Pakistan to World Cup triumph in 1992, supported Nawaz's views. “He either hits a boundary or runs a single in one-day cricket which shows that age is fast catching in on him,” Alam said. **Inzamam needs another 20 runs to surpass Pakistan's highest test scorer, Javed Miandad (8,832), in test matches with 8,813 runs from 119 test matches. “That's the only reason I could see behind his intention to continue playing test cricket,” ex-test captain and wicketkeeper **Rashid Latif* said. Latif said Inzamam should have stepped down after last year's Oval fiasco against England when Pakistan forfeited the test match over alleged ball tampering by Inzamam.
I dont think there is a problem with the timing. Had he not done it, we would have been saying he shud resign immediately.
great nations dont really treat their heros like this.
After seeing the stupid reaction of illiterate nation of ours yesterday on GEO, I say Inzimam did it on time; as odd as it may look, more than 70% of our people saved theirselves to burn his effigy :)
For me the timing was deliberate, nothing but a sly attempt to avoid the limelight.
He nonetheless has served his country well, though my main memory of him was his innings in the '92 WC against NZ, then against England in the final and the huge run chase against India in the Karachi ODI thriller where he was totally exhausted and could barely stand up.
But as a captain he was extremely poor, lacking motivation, tactical skills and not listening to other players which has now left a huge void in our squad.
He had no choice. Bob not being around doesn't help either. He may get away with the media crticsim now. This is very typical of Inzi though, duck when the pressure is on to defend his actions.
ForInzamam needs another 20 runs to surpass Pakistan's highest test scorer, Javed Miandad (8,832), in test matches with 8,813 runs from 119 test matches. “That's the only reason I could see behind his intention to continue playing test cricket,” ex-test captain and wicketkeeper Rashid Latif said. Latif said Inzamam should have stepped down after last year's Oval fiasco against England when Pakistan forfeited the test match over alleged ball tampering by Inzamam.
(Dawn)
I also feel that the dopey ex captain wants to beat Javed Miandads record than retire. The question is will he get the chance to do so?
i heard some other senior players will be resigning too...............in that view shoaib a, m asif, s afridi and a razzaq have been in advantage.................
Fans like you sicken me. Score more than 18,000 international runs for your country, win a world cup, and then come back and run your mouth. How have you serviced your country, since you seem to love Pakistan so much?
Man you got some serious pms issues. you gotta see a vet.
He was a terrible captain. I have my opinion. Why dont you keep yours in your own ****
yaar imran jaaf: take your holier_than_thou attitude somewhere else, seriously. You are getting annoying by showing your ignorant judgmental approach for anyone being a characterless person. Grow up!
Anwar bhai, y dont you take 'i love sami and inzi' approach to the toilet. We have our opinions and we dont give a rat's ass about yours. Inzi was a legend, even beyond Miandad. I am glad that he has a chance to play Test cricket. My problem is with his captaincy. He is not a great leader. So untill you understand what other people are talking about, dont make judgment calls.
SO In simple english which you dont understand.
' I am happy that Inzi will play test cricket. But I am also happy that a much needed new face will come as a captain.'
Anwar bhai, y dont you take 'i love sami and inzi' approach to the toilet. We have our opinions and we dont give a rat's ass about yours. Inzi was a legend, even beyond Miandad. I am glad that he has a chance to play Test cricket. My problem is with his captaincy. He is not a great leader. So untill you understand what other people are talking about, dont make judgment calls.
SO In simple english which you dont understand.
' I am happy that Inzi will play test cricket. But I am also happy that a much needed new face will come as a captain.'
You got it?
You are entitled to your own opinion but I would strongly dispute that view. Miandad beats Inzi on all counts
Test average (52.57)
ODI average (41.70) &
WC average (44) - 1992 WC apart, Inzi failed to deliver in all other (4) world cups
MIANDAD was a better player under pressure than even INZI plus a better finisher than both Inzi and Yousuf
Besides there were no such shambolic batting displays (not many of them anyways) during Miandad's era as have become the norm since 1999. Some of the worst batting displays in our test and one-day cricket history have come in the last 6 or 7 years.
Last but not the least Inzi has led Pakistan to arguably the most shameful defeat in our cricketing history (loss against Ireland)
Thats good approach to disagree.
May be I should say 'Inzo was the best I have seen' I have not seen Miandad play cricket that much. For me stats dont tell the whole story. So thats good to hear your side. Thanks for sharing.
Anwar bhai, y dont you take 'i love sami and inzi' approach to the toilet. We have our opinions and we dont give a rat's ass about yours.
In case, you fail to apprehend my response to him, please, read it again what he said to which I was replying:
he was not a good person at all.discuss me in private i will give u the nos and domestic crickets expression wht he do feel about inzi as a human being.he do play cricket because of commercialization and for handsome money
<<<
pataa tau hotaa naheeN hai, pataa naheeN kahaaN kahaaN saY moo uThaa kar challaY aataY haiN :)
You are entitled to your own opinion but I would strongly dispute that view. Miandad beats Inzi on all counts
Test average (52.57)
ODI average (41.70) &
WC average (44) - 1992 WC apart, Inzi failed to deliver in all other (4) world cups
MIANDAD was a better player under pressure than even INZI plus a better finisher than both Inzi and Yousuf
Besides there were no such shambolic batting displays (not many of them anyways) during Miandad's era as have become the norm since 1999. Some of the worst batting displays in our test and one-day cricket history have come in the last 6 or 7 years.
Last but not the least Inzi has led Pakistan to arguably the most shameful defeat in our cricketing history (loss against Ireland)
Miandad was great but he too left dissgrace. In 95 world cup he was hardly a batsman at all and showed a dismal performance.
PS: The next captain should be Muhammad Yousuf...Period!
I guess we need someone with an aggressive approach. We dont need another calm and quiet chap as our captain..
A great batsman and the **nicest **man in cricket today- Inzi I salute you!!!
Yaar Yousuf nay aapki billi maari hai ? I think I have seen nicer men in cricket today than Inzi... I am not saying that he wasn't nice .. its just that I won't call him THE NICEST for no reason :)