Inzimam retires from One Day cricket

Re: Inzimam retires from One Day cricket

Never mind him, Anwaar bhai. The idiot will be banned soon anyway.

Nash pila kar girana tu sab ko ata hai

i wanted to see him play one last time against india but it never happened..

I love Inzi :( He was the last of the players who were in the team that I used to be crazy about. I guess this is the end of Pakistan cricket for me :(

He will remain as one of the best batsmen, the game will ever witness.

The problem is that had he not announced his retirement himself, they would have thrown him out, so it was a wise decision to exit with dignity stepping down himself.

Inzimam ul Haq Salute

Thaks for all the memories Inzamam UL Haq after Imran, Javed, Wasim, Inzi is the best that ever played for Pakistan, anyways i think about WC/07 bass qismat mai nahi tha Pakistan ke, has anyone just sat down and thoght for a sec why last WC and this WC how come Pakistan crashed out so early? First ek to is mai Allah ki marzi nahi thi aur doosra jabb takk hamere muluk mai 2 number kamm har department mai ho raha hai parchi system favoratisim, you know guys i was so dissapointed when they picked the WC squad Asim Kamal should have made the team when we know that our batting is so bekar i play clup cricket myself and this guy his technique is awsome he should have made it oh well anyways lets all pray for like we use to say oo chacha Bob he was a good man and he thaught our guys the basics of the game may is sould rest in peace, and also lets all pray for Pakistan Cricket becuse last couple of days has been the darkest days in the History of PCB, like when Miandad was past hus prime we never thaught we would find a match winner but ALLAH gave us Inzi who has won so many games for us and provided us with highlights for 15 yrs i solute you should i say "Sir Inzamam Ul Haq".

Good decision by Inzimam, it is a good thing that he stood up and took responsibility of defeat. He did salvage his pride by doing this.

He indeed was one of the greatest batsmen Pakistan had ever produced and one of the two most influential captains.

Yesterday Imran Khan was saying on NDTV (this was b4 news of death of woolmer) that Inzi in a program in which Imran was also present said that he only seeks from coach 2 things, fielding practice and harmony in dressing room. Imran was very critical of this. Imran also asked that its time for a young captain to be groomed, rightly so.

Tragic end to a phenomeal batting career. Deserved to have last crack at the best teams.

Easy there tiger. He was good not great.

Great batsmen :Salute:

Thank you Inzi. You had been a great cricketer. Your time has passed, please evaluate yourself as a test batsman in next two or three tours, if you think you are not playing as you should on International level. If you think you still can be back bone of Pakistan's fragile batting line up, then play with full hearth. Otherwise go home.

He was a good batsman and good decision on his part as he knew he would be booted out.

With all due respect to inzi as a player, I always used to think that the body language of a captain should be like Imran Khan, not like Inzi !

**Timing not right for distressed Inzamam

As a batsman, Inzamam-ul-Haq’s timing was wondrous, entrancing a whole generation of cricket-watchers. However, the announcement that he was stepping down as captain and retiring from one-day internationals was about as ill-timed and insensitive as you could hope to get, coming mere hours after the sad death of Bob Woolmer.
Emotions ran high at a press conference organised soon after Jamaica’s prime minister, Portia Simpson Miller, had met the players to offer her condolences. With the rest of his team watching, Inzamam started to speak, having been instructed by PJ Mir, the media manager, that his words should be in Urdu. After a cursory “First of all, our beloved coach has passed away,” Inzamam went on to say that he would be relinquishing the captaincy and retiring from the one-day game after Wednesday’s game against Zimbabwe.
After talking of how he had enjoyed his 17-year career and the four years spent leading the team, he went on to thank his team-mates, his seniors and those that had captained him, before also doffing the cap to the cricket board and his family.** There was then an apology to the Pakistani people for the team’s abject failure at the World Cup. “I take responsibility as captain,” he said. “We did everything we could but the results didn’t come out as planned.” **
The speech lasted all of five minutes and there was a fair bit of restlessness in the room by the time he had finished. A TV journalist then asked the question that was uppermost on everyone’s mind. Didn’t he think that the timing of his retirement was insensitive, given what had transpired in the morning?
“I know it looks bad, but I’d already decided,” was Inzamam’s response. “I had a strong emotional attachment to the coach and I’m disturbed myself. I just decided to do it now.”

Even if the pain of defeat to Ireland and the loss of his coach had upset Inzamam’s mental equilibrium, the team management should have had the sagacity to postpone the announcement, which only made one of the country’s greatest players look self-absorbed and utterly devoid of sensitivity. In truth, it was easy to see that Inzamam was visibly distressed. And it didn’t help that most of his answers were hopelessly mangled in translation by the media manager. Some of the more poignant lines didn’t even come out, unless you happened to know your Urdu or Hindi.
“He was a good man,” Inzamam said. “Whenever any of the boys had a problem, he’d sit with them, and we were very attached to him.” When asked if he had discussed his decision with Woolmer before his death Inzamam said: “After the match, we’d talked a little about it. I told him that we’d discuss it tomorrow, but tomorrow never came.”
A rather incongruous question about his career highs and lows followed, before he was asked if Pakistan would play their final game against Zimbabwe. Inzamam chose to let the manager answer that one. “The best tribute to Bob would be to play against Zimbabwe,” said Talat Ali.
For Inzamam, that will be his final game in coloured clothes. “I’ll complete my commitment,” he said. “We’ll do our best for Bob. But whatever we do, it won’t be enough.”
When asked what would be his best memory of Woolmer he said: “After the game yesterday, he went to all the boys and cheered them up. He told them that these things happen in life. That was his greatest quality. Even in the bad times, he would think positive.”
At that point, the timing of his statement was queried again. This time, Inzamam was a little more forthright, though once again his message was lost in translation. “My retirement and winning or losing a game is a small matter when compared to the death of Bob,” he said, though that again begged the question: “Why now?”
He was then asked whether his stepping aside would further destabilise a team that is already without a coach. “In my view, it won’t affect things much,” he said. “There are senior players who might be even better than me at doing the job. With God’s grace, they’ll be even more successful.” On a day like today though, what price success?

Lets be honest for a moment.

Inzimam as batting legend-Great, True

Inzimam as Captain-Absolutely uselesss and some wud argue detrimental to Pak team interests. True.

Inzimam 37yrs+2/3-true, cud he have continued with his lack of physical fitness-not possible

Retiring from one day cricket good thing-True. Had he not resigned he wud have got the boot.

Resigning from Captiancy, good thing-True. He had it coming anyways, he chose the path of least resistence.

Responsible for cronyism-True. Mushtaq Ahmed will always be remembered as Inzi's minime, good for nothing waste of time and money.

Pakistan suffering its worst Worldcup defeats because of Inzi-True

Shows complete disregard of other ppls feelings-True, his hurried retirment announcement cud have waited after Woolmer's incidence instead of trying to steal the limelight.

Does he as the captain of WC07 Pakistan cricket team deserve a big kick on the backside because of his created debacle-TRUE.

Problem with Pakistani cricketers and many other leaders they never know when to quit and to go out with grace. Inzimam, you may be a decent chap, but you really messed up Pakistan cricket team and deserve to be heckled and harrassed. Those who are prostrating themselves in front of theis diety sud remember what they said post WC03 and how they regaled the changes Inzi had bought about. Well, what do u have to say now? Fact is, mediocrity only breeds mediocrity and that is exactly what Inzi was as the captain. So I say, good riddance. Final note, he averaged only 22.5runs in WC92. Thats for perspective.

^ Another brilliant post...............keep it up.

Shows how dopey Inzi is …

Well the timing of his announcement certainly was n't right. The Zimbabwe game is on Wednesday and he should have waited atleast till Tuesday morning.

Inzi should be remembered as the third greatest batsman (after Miandad and Hanif) to come from Pakistan - period. Miandad IMO was the best of the lot, test average of 52.57, ODI average of 41.70, world cup average of 44 (cf. Inzi 22.5) plus Pakistan's batting rarely failed as badly during Miandad's era as it has since 1999. During the 80s Pakistan was a one man batting line-up.

Some of the worst batting displays in our history have come in the last 6 or 7 years while both Inzi and Mohammad Yousuf have been in the side. Ofcourse you can't blame Inzi and Yousuf for everything because cricket is a team game but my point is Miandad was a better player under pressure than both and more importantly a better finisher than Inzi or Yousuf

fact that hes bracketed with miandad alone should warrant respect when he chooses to stop playing.

as far as timing, when i first heard the news i didnt think it inappropriate, as he says the two events cant be compared in significance. certainly if he was seeking attention he would've done it at any other time.

I dont think there is a problem with the timing. Had he not done it, we would have been saying he shud resign immediately.

Certainly Inzi was in the state of shock and in circumstances like those, if he say I take the responsibility and step down, lets accept that.

great nations dont really treat their heros like this.