So the stats show that desi men like foreign girls, but desi girls stick to their own kind. Interesting...
Catty -
This was an interesting encounter with an non desi middle aged guy in NY. Me and my parents went to this upscale men's clothing store, and the guy was a sales rep there. So me and my parents were conversing in punjabi the whole time and this guys with the cutest accent says something in punjabi. My jaw literally dropped. He was like "tussi punjabi hegay aaN" :-O It turns out he was an Italian guy married to a pakistan punjabi woman, and he had gone to great lengths to learn her language. He said he loved punjabi food, particularly "paranthay". I couldn't stop grinning cuz it was so cool :D Quite a charmer he was. :)
at becoming a regular participant here. Allah mujhe apnee hifz-o-amaan may rakhay. Ameen.
my family is far from shehry. it’s just our generation (at least on my mother’s side) that’s grown up speaking Urdu or at least the people I’m close to speak Urdu. I can understand Punjabi though, learnt more details of it to be able to understand that great sufi poet Hazrat Abrar’s sufiana kalaam such as Billo, Billo on GT Road, Majajani, Mallomall, and countless other deep deep observations on life by this great man.
It seems like the new generation of Pakistanis regardless of where they’re from prefer Urdu to regional languages. I don’t know how or why this happened, I might open a thread on this in Culture. but I personally think this is a great development as long as people don’t forget their regional languages.
I see what you mean about the differences and potential problems in such marriages from the rest of your post. Thank you for answering the question and the explanations. ![]()
*Originally posted by sambrialian: * but I personally think this is a great development as long as people don't forget their regional languages.
I'd hate to go slightly off-topic, but I always viewed the prospect of the death of regional languages in favour of urdu as being beneficial and cohesive to Pakistan, as it would help remove distinctions amongst its people and help create a more homogenous population.
hahha
No yaar, i think i will have one or two ‘flings’ with African guys but nothing serious :o
In theory, i fully endorse the concept of inter-racial marriages.
Sorry Irem, i wish i could stay and participate more in this thread. sigh i gotta go…have a stupid class to prepare for tomorrow
Talk to you later
Allah Hafiz.
I want some French dude :D
*Originally posted by mAd_ScIeNtIsT: *
I'd hate to go slightly off-topic, but I always viewed the prospect of the death of regional languages in favour of urdu as being beneficial and cohesive to Pakistan, as it would help remove distinctions amongst its people and help create a more homogenous population.
sorry for going off-topic, Kaleem bhai.
precisely Maddy. this what my reasoning is as well when I say that it is good to see Urdu become a truly national language. but at the same time I don't want the regional languages to die off. they all have their own literature, colours that they lend to the diverse landscape of Pakistan. I would much rather see all Pakistanis learn some basics of the four main regional languages to promote unity, tolerance, and understanding rather than just see other languages go extinct.
but perhaps learning all regional languages is a utopian solution and a more practical solution is to just promote Urdu and see other languages drop in popularity.
Sehar thats so cute, he went through all that effort to learn Punjabi for his wife!
Hum Sa French dude hey? As in a Quebecan? hehe
Haha! I would love to live in Montreal actually but with an original French guy from Paris sigh
*Originally posted by cat-woman: *
For some reason I dont see myself marrying a desi, so id better pay heed to this thread.
lol, me too! :D
*Originally posted by irem: *
Now, whenever my parents fight, my mom says she hates punjabis and my dad says he hates urdu speaking people We're always having these mini wars in our house abt this haha its quite funny And even funnier is that now that they are looking for matches for their kids, my mom is like 'kisi se bhee kar doon gi lekin punjabion mein nai karoon gi ' LOLZ...! And my dad is like 'urdu speaking family mein shaadi karnay se zindagi mushkal ho jayay gi' But they're cool, they don't really care abt the race factor :)
We have the same in our family, although both my parents are the same ethnicity my moms family settled in the Punjab, my mom was born there and grew up there and she considers that her home, whenever my parents fight they always dis each others culture/languages. Just the other day my dad was going on about how Punjabis are not hospitable and this and that…
Maddy..why dont you shove Urdu up your Mohajir arse and get lost. and go back to where you came from.
All this religion siht is sooo middle ages. You have good people and bad people…when you marry someone from another faith you accept them for who they are, as they accept you for who you are. You didn;t marry or get attracted to them because they are hindu,muslim, sikh etc..
Kids are not confused but enriched, almost vitamin fortified. You raise them to appreciate both backgrounds, both cultures, both religions. I have a young son who as I mentioned had his first diwali, christmas, lit a menorah (a jonathan adler one
), and will be raised to practice all.When he is old enough, he can decide what he feels closer to. He will not be raised to thnk that one religion is better than another, one version of god is better than another or one path is better than another. He will not be raised to condemn others to hell becuase they don;t follow one faith or another.
Marrying someone whose famly speaks urdu because you speak punjabi is not an inter racial marriage. If someone from Lahore married a burmese then it is.
mashallah these problems sound so familiar but good thing we're over em'
good luck Kaleem
inshaAllah everything will work out, someone once told me that the more a husband and wife argue the more they know each other and the lenghts theyll go to ![]()
some ppl are stronger than others and can handle this kind of situation, im sure patience and perseverance will do, lots of ppl i know are married to someone from a different racial backgruond, i guess its important to find thecommon grounds, but if you love someone that should be the beginning and the end of the story ![]()
*Originally posted by Kaleem: *
Yes, you guessed it, my wife has not converted (pls no fatwas on how I am living a life of sin).
Just wanted to point out that based on my knowledge a christian woman does not need to revert to Islam before/after marriage. So, atleast on that part, there is no sin.
By the way, I was kinda lost on why you guys differed on after 9/11? Was it on political issues? Thats weird. I know many couples here where husband is republican and wife is democrat, for example. They have tonnes of arguments, but I hardly consider those anything serious.
Khoob guzrey gi ju mil bathain gay deewaney do ![]()
One should marry in other race. That way you get to eat different type of food. ![]()