Indian Modesty is different from Pakistani modesty

Re: Indian Modesty is different from Pakistani modesty

Probably those scenes got censored out. It still wouldn’t stop Pakistani fans of the show watching those scenes online if they are interested.

Uhh no. I can't think of a single Indian drama or saas-bahu serial with passionate kissing and racy scenes involving a kitchen. These serials are produced in Turkey, a secular Muslim majority country. How many Indian dramas have you seen from 80s and 90s? Muqa bhai already said extra marital affairs are being shown on hum tv. Maybe some dramas in India show extra marital stuff but there are many dramas which don't have this.

You are entitled to your opinion lekin facts are something else.

You can also look up Mathira’s item number in Main hoon Shahid Afridi.

There was a serial produced about a girl being a big fan of Emran Hashmi called Main tum aur Emraan Hashmi. If Emraan Hashmi and his movies were looked down at so much why would there be a serial named after him?

Drama Mein Tum Aur Imran Hashmi on Hum Tv - P3 - Vidpk.com

I don’t see any cultural similarity between clothing and lifestyle between Arabs and Pakistanis. Yet some people try so hard to make Arabs like them and to be part of the family. There are no widespread protests by Saudis worldwide over recent racist laws in Saudi Arabia. Not sure if much was said in Pakistan either. It’s just accepted.

Well actress of Bheege hont tere Mallika Sherawat was disowned by her father.

People are giving example of Turkish Play. I wanted to make one thing v.clear , that all Kiss/sex scens were removed/edited before it aired and such scens were not shown to Pakistani viewers on Pakistani TV channels.

why not say it is inspired by hollywood or turkish serials? koi nahi dekhta indian dramas ko Pakistan mein. indian dramas mein aise scenes hote bhi nahi hain.

Anyway TS and PrinceJall shouldn’t feel too bad. Bollywood has also influenced Hollywood.
hollywood also has musical songs..some of them inspired by bollywood like songs in moulin rouge. That was a hit movie.
Also lot of people who are generalising bollywood seem to like hollywood movies/tv shows. Difference kya hai.

Studies in the influence of Bollywood: Moulin Rouge - lucyinthesky

First of all, you are making me look bad, sister. :slight_smile:
Somebody said that Indian girls were throwing themselves at him left and right somewhere. I think he was joking
I responded with a question with something like “Are you saying, Indian girls are loose ?”. Also jokingly.
Not thinking at that time that this could be considered offensive as their are Indian women on this forum.
I apologize again for the bad joke.

Secondly, I don’t see any difference between the Pak and Indian TV actresses’ dressing in the pictures you posted, as far as modesty is concerned.

My comment was focused on the HM/IH promotion picture that I found very offensive.
To which Queer thought that I was over-reacting.
The jist of my response to him was that he may not find that picture offensive as an Indian because Bollywood has probably desensitized Indians to that extreme level of exposure and they don’t bat an eye when they see such images.
Frankly I feel bombarded by such images from Bollywood.
And as a Pakistani, I will be offended every time I see such images - ‘aesthetic’ or not.
The issue got mixed up with general society because of the way I posed my response when I said that “Indian and Pakistani values are obviously different when it comes to modesty”.

Sheesh … :blush:

And they probably won't be shown on indian tv either as tv is for family viewing.

Probably many Arabic countries don’t have that either. Also China and some other asian countries probably don’t have that. Most Indian movies don’t have that gratuitous display either and also bollywood does not equal all indian movies.

Mubarak ho aap ko.
Probably many Arabic countries don’t have that either. Also China and some other asian countries probably don’t have that. Most Indian movies don’t have that gratuitous display either and also bollywood does not equal all indian movies.

I think that it is the other way around. Broadway (where musicals are more central) is probably older than current indian cinema.

Hollywood had musicals as well, but they grew out of it. They had the flapping 20s, didn’t they ?

Whole thread is about modesty in clothes, I always thought modesty was a virtue :)

Ok then.

I guess you never heard of Ali Zafar's Total Siyappa where he played a Pakistani guy romancing an Indian girl. Any Pakistani movie which shows an Indian Muslim guy falling in love with a Pakistani Muslim girl? That would be open minded. Dastaan as a partition romance doesn't count. Also there have been other movies like London, Paris New York where he is dancing with an Indian girl. I don't think i heard much hue and cry over either movie. Both released in India while Ranjhanaa which is a story of unrequited love between an Indian guy who says he will convert and an Indian Muslim girl is banned in Pakistan.The main song of the movie was sung by Pakistani singer Shiraz Uppal.
Indian actors said they would love to act in Pakistan if they get a script. I haven't heard of any being given a role. Om Puri, Nasserrudin Shah have acted in Pakistani plays and movies.

It's not only Pakistanis who are acting in Bollywood. There are Brazilians, half Arabic/Brazilian women, European white women, Sri Lankans, Czech females dancing. The girl in bollywood song subha hone na de was half brazilian/half arab.

No one is forcing them to dance in movies if they don't want to. Imran Abbas rejected 2 bollywood movies including Aashiqui 2 and a Sanjay Leela Bhansali movie before he chose the Bipasha Basu movie.

I think broad mindedness can be seen in fb pages of Pakistani actors part of Pakistani dramas on Zee Zindagi where Indians are appreciating the dramas. Only negative comments are coming from people who don't want Pakistani actors to work abroad.

That's true. It's no longer a big trend but they still have musicals like Chicago, Fiddler on the roof and Moulin Rouge. Bollywood has been influenced a lot by Hollywood but Moulin Rouge movie by Australian director Baz Luhrmann was inspired by Bollywood.
Also Mehwish Hawat has not said anything about her dance being inspired by Bollywood. Instead she says it's western, probably Hollywood inspired influence.

But the extramarital story lines were still there. I've not seen an indian drama where the wife falls for a nephew or where there is kissing like in turkey serials like you mentioned.

Yes, but clothes (revealing one) are one of the most important indicator of modesty in our cultures.

Waiting for someone to refer Ajanta's explicit statues. But then he/ she must observe Moen-jo-DaRo's dancing girl before raising this matter :)

'Haan Mehwish Hayat was inspired by Bollywood so that’s why she mentioned Michael Jackson and not any Bollywood actresses for her inspiration for item songs

“I used to watch a lot of Michael Jackson and Jennifer Lopez videos to copy the moves,” Hayat tells Dawn. “I loved to dance and really wanted to do something related to dance in the industry.”
As a child, Hayat said she had an interest in dancing and used to practice freestyle dance steps.
[HR][/HR]Read more: ‘First person: Getting to know Mehwish Hayat’](http://www.dawn.com/news/796001)
[HR][/HR]With long shooting hours under the supervision of Lahore-based choreographer, Nigah Hussain, Hayat said had sore feet by the time the shooting ended for the dance number.
“It was a wooden [DANCE FLOOR

http://cdncache-a.akamaihd.net/items/it/img/arrow-10x10.png](http://www.dawn.com/news/1117030#)… I had bruised and swollen feet and was unable to walk for days,” she said.

'Haan Mehwish Hayat was inspired by Bollywood so that’s why she mentioned Michael Jackson and not any Bollywood actresses for her inspiration for item songs. Kuch to dosh do Hollywood/aisi music videos ko.

“I used to watch a lot of Michael Jackson and Jennifer Lopez videos to copy the moves,” Hayat tells Dawn. “I loved to dance and really wanted to do something related to dance in the industry.”
As a child, Hayat said she had an interest in dancing and used to practice freestyle dance steps.
[HR][/HR]Read more: ‘First person: Getting to know Mehwish Hayat’](http://www.dawn.com/news/796001)
[HR][/HR]With long shooting hours under the supervision of Lahore-based choreographer, Nigah Hussain, Hayat said had sore feet by the time the shooting ended for the dance number.
“It was a wooden [DANCE FLOOR

http://cdncache-a.akamaihd.net/items/it/img/arrow-10x10.png](http://www.dawn.com/news/1117030#)… I had bruised and swollen feet and was unable to walk for days,” she said.

The two movies you cited are very recent examples.
The reverse set up has been the norm throughout in Bollywood.
Besides there cannot be a comparison between Pak and India on this issue because of the sheer difference in the volume of films.
However, I am not denying that you will probably not see Indian non-Muslim boy / Pakistani Muslim girl love story in a Pak film.

I was talking about actresses going to the other country and doing bold and risqué roles that would be considered completely offensive to people from their own country.
Agar koi Indian actress, Pakistan main aa kar kissi film mai Pakistani actor kay saath bold aur risqué scenes karay gi to kiya Indians waah waah karain gay ya bura kahain gay ?

If HM/IH pic next to a pool table was taken in Pakistan with a Pakistani actor and an Indian actress in the same attire, what would be the general Indian public’s reaction ? Point to ponder ? :hmmm:

Or even worse, If an Indian actress pulled a Veena Malik obscene nude photoshoot stunt with a RAW tattoo on her arm in Pakistan ?