Indian Modesty is different from Pakistani modesty

@TS please explain with examples? :chai:

Re: Indian Modesty is different from Pakistani modesty

Modesty among countries… :hmmm:

What is Pakistani modesty and Indian modesty? :5:

Lets take the example of Humaima Malik… She worked in both industries and knows both cultures…

Humaima In Bol

Modeling career…

Lollywood…

Bollywood…

I think this depends on the culture/community in question. I would think Indian Muslims have the same standards for modesty as Pakistani Muslims. If you're referring to other communities, such as Hindus, Sikhs, and the like, then, obviously, their idea of modest will be a bit different.

Another thing to take into account is that a country's film industry is not necessarily representative of it's people. The media is not representative of a societies actual values. Most average people don't behave the characters do in films or do what they see on telly (for a variety of reasons).

Humaima before hitting India:

Humaima, after India :smack2: happened:

#BaiRa_Gharaq](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=BaiRa_Gharaq) !!

#Sattiya_Naass](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=Sattiya_Naass) !!!

honehaar burwa ke chikne chikne paat… iss ke aasar to numayan the..

But media is not indicator of actual social values of our societies. We do watch stuff at our homes, but do we follow these things in our lives? I think most people will reply ‘No’.

^This! :k:

For instance, how many average people have you guys seen in Pakistan wearing the likes of this?:

What about this? Does this represent Pakistani modesty. Its from 1990s.

INTEHA - Teri naraz nazar - Fariha Parvez - YouTube](http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MbdiCZefR24)
or is this what we call pashtun modesty?

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-IJhZGHb3Yc4/T5AVcT7NrgI/AAAAAAAACyM/0BpuoKF9cn0/s1600/sono+laal+is+a+panjabi+,Urdo,+pashto+top+actress,pictures,photos+(1).jpg

Well… item songs like Chikni Chanbeeli… Halkat Jawani… Emran Hashmi and last picture of Humaima are not common culture of India…

Remember… various Pakistani actress went to Indai… but they lost their charm… Specially Veena…

I will not count Meera and Humaima in bad list… because they did not done anything wrong…

No it’s not Pakistani modesty and people condemn that.
Besides Pakistani immodesty does not get much exposure.
When these Takkay ki actresses use the billion strong Indian platform,
they are getting huge exposure for their immodesty. bad](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=Bad)

The difference is, it seems like Indians kay sar par joon bhi nahi reengti when they see this show of immodesty.
They have been immunized to it by Bollywood blindly aping Hollywood.
Whereas, most Pakistanis find it offensive and foreign.
#India_ki_fahaashi_ka_hamaari_young_generation_par_bura_asar :snooty:](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=India_ki_fahaashi_ka_hamaari_young_generation_par_bura_asar)

How do you know exact reaction of Indian Janata about exposing in bollywood?

BTW, we all know how people do condemnation of immodest stuff. For your information Pashto and Punjabi movies get bumper revenues from Sindh’s cinemas inspite of language differences.

I can only go by the pseudo-liberals like queer on this forum. :hoonh:

And from Indian comments about how tame Pak TV serials are.

How would YOU MQ qualify the Humaima/Hashmi pciture ? :chai:

I think that picture is luchi from both Indian Janta and Pakistani awam’s standard. If a modest middle class girl in Pakistan would not dare to put this pic in her book or wouldn’t dare to share with her brother, I can say the same for Indian girl from same background.

Even when talking about showbiz, there is a certain level of exposure that is acceptable/palatable for Pakistanis, generally speaking.
That limit is well below the other societies.
And I think that is a good thing.

you can still see the difference in PTV's portrayal of modesty and other channels portrayal of modesty. Now, PTV got NIL viewership as compared to those channels. How would you connect acceptability of moral values based on viewership of PTV as comapred to other channels?

Would love to know the meaning of this mohaavara.

I think we need to separate general population and showbiz world.

My contention is that even if we focus on the showbiz exposure standards,
The HM/IH picture would be more offensive to general Pakistani public than Indian public.
#Am_I_right_or_am_I_right](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=Am_I_right_or_am_I_right) :snooty:

Please leave out the fringe element of the Pushto film vulgarities. Families don’t watch that crap.

Is that the MQ survey ?
I think PTV still has good viewership.

Other channels' viewership is not for exposure like the HM/IH type indecency.
It might be production values or other factors.

some moves and actions at start 9childhood) tells how the person will be in future.

These same families do watch Indian stuff without getting offended. They had accepted Helen decades ago, when Zia regime banned telecasting Pakistani movies.

Historically, that may have been the case but I think that may be changing. Many of the foreign dramas/series that are now watched in Pakistan have a higher level of exposure than Bollywood and these are still popular. For instance, Aşk-ı memnu, a Turkish series about a 25-year-old woman who marries an older man and then has an affair with said man's nephew, did extremely well in Pakistan. This series is set in contemporary Istanbul, which is much less conservative than Pakistan, and has many racy scenes. It was viewed by 90 million people in Pakistan and even had to be retelecast because of its popularity.

PTV now don’t produce dramas any more. Tell me PTV’s latest drama productions? so question of production values doesn’t arise.

Hum has lately been showing extra marital affairs. You know what was attracting in ishq e Mamnoo for Pakistani viewers? illicit affairs :chai: