Indian Elections 2004 / Why the BJP lost? (MERGED)

Excellent news for the peace process :k:

Vajpayee was set to be succeeded by Advani and Congress is less likely to resort to stirring communal discord in order to boost support.

I wouldn´t be so sure about that. But Khair, aagai aagai daikhen hota hai kya?

Big stalwarts have lost.

Indian people have votes for a Young Parliament.

All film stars won.

The Bahu from Kyonki Saas.. lost

India has outsourced their Prime Minister to Italy.

India will have a Roman Catholic PM and a Muslim President.

Many States will have minority Chief Ministers.

yes, she will change the PEN to PENNE. and even if we don’t get subsidies for pizza, take heart, we have a noodle head for PM. :nuch:

is this the great revival of the gandhi dynasty? if they have any brains they’ll try not to screw up, and momma can hand over the reigns to priyanka next term. meanwhile priyanaka should have a son so he can grow up to take over after 30 yrs

every state has witnessed peaceful elections except frigin Bihar as usual. booth capturing was reported and there will be re-elections there. why can't we present Bihar to Pakistan as a goodwill gesture? They can call it middle kingdom.:p

Actually, I doubt Sonia will become the PM.

The congress people are obliged to say, "Soniaji will be the PM" because they have to demonstrate their loyalty to her. But the prospective allies of the Cong. will not like a foreign-born PM, and the congresswallas know that. After they meet some resistance from their allies, the congresswallas will go to Sonia and say, "Madam, since they are not agreeing to support you, may I be so bold as to propose my name? Of course, I need not remind you that I have always been loyal to you, and will certainly remain in the future ... " ;)

And moreover, Sonia doesn't have an "r" in her name. :D

*Originally posted by imran dhanji: *India will have a Roman Catholic PM and a Muslim President.

Which will go a very very long way towards repairing the damage to
India's secular reputation that various BJP members have inflicted.

I asked you to define what a working democracy is and thats the best you could give me?

Working democracy is a democracy that turfs out its well-respected prime minister when it is unhappy with him, as India is in the process of doing right now.

*Originally posted by Some1: *
I wish Congress had got clear majority. I dont like coalition governments that results based on horse trading and carrot dangling (in the form of ministerial berths for on-the-fence candidates). This allows even small time regional leaders like Laloo and Surjeet to play king-makers. Also, it is usual in these situations that an innocuous (rather than charismatic) leader like Manmohan Singh would be the consensus choice for PM.

While I am delighted to see Vajpayee go ( the man can't walk or talk), I am not too happy with the results. Whichever combination forms the government, I dont see the Prime Minister taking tough decision esp. with respect to the economy and the Govt lasting for too long.

So the bottom line is this result is not good for India, not good for India-Pak long-term CBMs, not good for potential foreign investors and very bad news for the Indian stock market.

I dont see this to be an opportunity for too any bargains.Had congress and allies were stuck below 200 then I would have agreed. Now congress+ 215 + 60 Communist itself takes it close to majority.Communists are usually good allies. So there wont be chance for too many negotiations with likes of SP & BSP etc. Congress will simply say if you wana come then you are welcome or get lost. Thats why we are seeing. All are saying they will support Congress because there is not much scope for negotiation. had congress was 20-30 short we could have seen Bharat natyam by Mulayam,Mayawati etc.

This is an Era of coalition.

This is actually bad for the peace process. No party has made communal strife happen more than congress.

F&B, re: I.K. Gujral, I was literally dancing in the streets when he was ousted. He is a closet commie, the economy would have tanked. Did you notice how in the wake of the speedy reforms of 1991-4, they suddenly came ot a screeching halt by 1997?

I am hoping the congress leadership has learned a lesson and do not fk with the economic program too much. The legacy of this party is not very good, always playing the Gov't knows best card. The new Indian business and middle class will smack Sonia all the way to Milan in her prada bag, if she goes back ot Nehruvian and or gandhian policies.

I will be the first one exerting pressure.

*Originally posted by Matsui: *
This is actually bad for the peace process. No party has made communal strife happen more than congress.

F&B, re: I.K. Gujral, I was literally dancing in the streets when he was ousted. He is a closet commie, the economy would have tanked. Did you notice how in the wake of the speedy reforms of 1991-4, they suddenly came ot a screeching halt by 1997?

I am hoping the congress leadership has learned a lesson and do not fk with the economic program too much. The legacy of this party is not very good, always playing the Gov't knows best card. The new Indian business and middle class will smack Sonia all the way to Milan in her prada bag, if she goes back ot Nehruvian and or gandhian policies.

I will be the first one exerting pressure.

Well..I dont see Cong to go back to Nehruvian policies.It is just not an option. not to mention Manmohan singh most probably will be Finance Minister who is father of these Reforms.

Th eproblem is that congress plays more politics than any other party. MM singh I don;t mind, but the communist coalition I do, I also mind the empty promises made to Unions, continuance of arm subsidies which were to subside etc… Under the populist mandate congress has the uncanny ablity to fk an entire country up. I do no tsee them lasting long. Inshallah…BJP will be back.

However, I am very proud of this nation…the democratic process is India’s secon dbiggest IP after brain power. :k:

BJP has decided to sit in opposition. Just heard it on CNN.

So effectively Congress will form the new Govt. Lets see what future beholds for peace process thing!

Vajpayee resigns

I was surprised at the loss.

Among all the different Indian friends I had, the %age that approved BJP & more so Vajpayee was considerably higher than those that disapproved him. Not even a single person predicted that BJP will loose; on the contrary all of them suggested that with India’s economy doing so good, they are bound to win again.

Even though most of them have changed their views in the past few days but they were still surprised, though not sad or troubled .. just surprised.

I was and am unsure why such an educated & liberal minded lot of people approved of a political party which is considered very conservative & religious. If anyone has any insight on this please do share.

Also, how will this outcome effect India’s relations with Pakistan?

Ref: BBC NEWS | South Asia | India government slumps to defeat

F & B and Matsui,

I personally feel BJP would have been a better Government, reason being, if you look at the period when BJP was in opposition, there were so many Hindu/muslim conflicts including the Babri Masjid Incident (except for the Godhra Incident which again has many schools of thought)

Once BJP came into power we all noticed the diminnishing problems, BJP became a secular party, with The Babri Masjid on a back burner, and with slogans like India Shining etc.

Point I am trying to make is

BJP in opposition specially with Shiv Sena = problems galore ahead (Bad for India).

BJP in power again with Shiv Sena = to retain power will avoid any problems or conflicts (Good for India).

The people of India have shown remarkable maturity and have rejected the Hinduization of politics. Very clearly, India is not shining for all and unlike other democracies, in India the poor actually vote.

Ram Raj is gone and Rome Raj is here.

BJP is about as conservative as Congress. the origins of the party are religious in nature but this leadership has taken India to new heights and the uncertainty over whether the congress party can do the same is what is troubling. In a demoracy like India, comprmises are the nameof the game, the conservative support is similar to what the republicans enjoy in the US. Doesn't mean everyone who votes for BJO does it on the basis of religion.

I am troubled too..but I don;t think Congress can screw up anymore, the business lobby is too strong, much stronger than it was when it was in power. These guys will have to change from being bureaucrats to visionary leaders. Let'shope we don't go back to the hindu rate of growth, but with MM singh around, I am delighted at the prospects.

This man in 7 hrs singlehandedly undid 40 years of gov't economic policies (nehruvian mantra) and laid the ground work for where we are today. He did it away with the license Raj under a crises, now he has perhaps the greatest economic momemtum anywhere in the world. Time to continue shining.

*Originally posted by Aejaz: *
F & B and Matsui,

I personally feel BJP would have been a better Government, reason being, if you look at the period when BJP was in opposition, there were so many Hindu/muslim conflicts including the Babri Masjid Incident (except for the Godhra Incident which again has many schools of thought)

BJP in opposition specially with Shiv Sena = problems galore ahead (Bad for India).

BJP in power again with Shiv Sena = to retain power will avoid any problems or conflicts (Good for India).

I don't necessarily agree. I think people have probably wised up to the BJP communalism agenda and times have moved on. If BJP were to stoke those flames again it wouldn't get the same positive reception as in the past.

I agree with Xtreme. Plus Shiv Sena is more of a Maharashtrian phenomenon. People in Calcutta would laugh at these goons. The good thing is that BJP has a sizeable majority, watch for quick elections if the economy takes a dive.

my feelings exactly! no matter who comes to power, i always applaud the will of the people. i will never lose hope that one day India will have the perfect government (as perfect as can be) as long as the democratic process is alive and well.