Re: Indian content in our news channels
Dishonesty and deliberate obfuscation is your specialty. I am out.
Please show me any post of mine in your support. Thank you.
Dishonesty and deliberate obfuscation is your specialty. I am out.
Please show me any post of mine in your support. Thank you.
But there are enough muslims in India as well, I don’t remember any of them getting influenced at the level you are suggesting:hmmm:
But India was ruled by every other muslim tribe, how many of them influenced the way hinduism is, I meant theologically and culturally.On the contrary casteism creeped into Islam, we sikh ruled entire punjab, and still speak with punjabi muslims of Pakistan in Punjabi , and none of these two tribes would have friendly relation when it comes to nationalistic identities. I saw every indian dressed in western outfit but none of us have soft corner for anything beyond friendly countries, I bet hindus have more friendly attitude towards Israel than bengali speaking Bangladesh:)
For war as third generation decendent of defence family I know it is always possible, especially when both have claims for same territory kasmir
whats up with these weird bollywood songs playing as background score during the news??
news channels heads and their workers need to go back to jounalism school and learn some ethics. this is certainly not quality journalism
how could you possibly talk about grave issues and then music playing behind, isn't it really insensitive??, like during last year flood, they were playing songs??????????? it was one of the most disastrous period in the history of Pakistan. that was just totally unacceptable! ... that just takes away the gravity of the grave issue. everything is made into a joke,these folks have made a mockery out of journalism, there is just no code of conduct and ethics!
we have enough entertainment already, we dont need these crazy bollywood songs playing behind as background score. if this continues, we all will become desensitised to news, or perhaps we have already:(
Talat Hussain did a great show on Indian content in our news channels. Finally, someone is speaking out against this! unfortunetly, I cant find the link to his show, as soon as ill find it, ill put it here
for those who dont know what i'm talking about, have a look at this,
Once upon a time, Indian movies and songs were totally banned in Pakistan. The restriction were followed by then dhar-matmay religiously. Government should come in to picture immediately and punish at least 5 chitars and penalty of a tleast Rs 10 millions, to these stupid @$$ holes who not only insulting the people in video but also showing how Pakistani journalism has gone down in the deep $h!t. Sirf chiknay cheron se program main koi quality nahin aajaati. yeh sub dhoka, fraud, # 2 waalay log hain jo apnay aap ko chikna dikhanay kay lieay Hyderabad ke kavon ki sh!t munh par lagatay hain. (There is a strong bleach In the droppings of Hyderabad crows, which converts black ugly faces in to white ugly faces:))
OK.
The discussion is about cultural flooding.
We are already seeing that the media in Pakistan has people who have become numb and oblivious of the effects on people from having to superimpose even on serious issues the background music and mitigatin/nullification of the significance of the issues, which are specific to Pakistani politics or internal affairs.
Isn’t this good for proof? Why is that these journalists talking about it and why is that this thread even started?
I did mention some of it may be due to background crew from India working on these channels. Next time read the names of people when credits are shown after the shows.
About Indians more friendly more towards Israel than Bangladeshis is a separate discussion, however, what we have seen that BD people did have cultural influence by India more than from West Pakistan.
So you agree the war IS possible. And what I mentioned is in that context (if war happens), cultural flooding is dangerous. I also said I hope war never occurs.
[note] Guys, let's not make into this Pak-India heated debate,this isn't about Indo-Pak Wars, Kindly stick to the topic please. If you guys want to carry on with this discussion feel free to open a new thread on it. Thank You :)[/note]
@ Southie, if you have read all my posts, I've problem with any kinda music playing behind while they are reporting news. I mentioned Bollywood songs, because 99% times they are playing bollwood songs. at the end of the day, its not a matter of bollywood songs or Pakistani songs, its about quality and serious journalism, which is certainly lacking. I have given my reasons for that, why its so not professional and news is made into a joke, people start taking things lightly and news loses its impact. its just very wrong.
as for indian content shown on our television and giving more coverage to their shows is a totally different topic, I think they should open up a thread on that in arts and culture channel, effects of indian content on Pakistani culture … ![]()
maybe Diwana, you should open one ![]()
@ Southie, if you have read all my posts, I've problem with any kinda music playing behind while they are reporting news. I mentioned Bollywood songs, because 99% times they are playing bollwood songs. at the end of the day, its not a matter of bollywood songs or Pakistani songs, its about quality and serious journalism, which is certainly lacking. I have given my reasons for that, why its so not professional and news is made into a joke, people start taking things lightly and news loses its impact. its just very wrong.
Thank you. That is what I thought you meant. My post to you did have this as one of the possibilities.
I would respectfully submit post 29 mentions nothing about culture. I invite your comments on that post - which is designed to unnecessarily stoke ill feelings within the Awam. The unintended consequence of your originsl posts was hate mongers sowing destructive seeds - taking every chance they get to create problems rather than solve them.
Who cares? Bollywood music doesn't concern me as much as the status of the media's accountability and integrity.
I would respectfully submit post 29 mentions nothing about culture. I invite your comments on that post - which is designed to unnecessarily stoke ill feelings within the Awam. The unintended consequence of your originsl posts was hate mongers sowing destructive seeds - taking every chance they get to create problems rather than solve them.
I have nothing to say in reply to that post. I dont want to take this thread into a different direction. it was an irrevalent post and I have already posted a note to refrain from irrevalent discussions.
Thank you.
I thought you said you were out. I did not believe on it. :)
Anyhow, I gave my reasoning, and there is no mention of hate anywhere but you are being sensitive. You just want people to listen to these songs on Pakistani TV. ;)
This is Pakistani forum and not just a cultural forum. If I start a thread in Culture forum and talk about politics/war then that would be inappropriate.
Cultural flooding is one reason how people get subdued, one cannot separate media power to change people's hearts and minds and living in fantasy world. This is why the journalists are worried also to keep the seriousness of the issue.
Find me an example of "Actual " journalism. The fact is that the independent media are a business. They make their money by sensationalizing things, by creating topi drama, because that is what the majority of their audience want. You have to admit, that even if your disgusted by the profane use of music, it does get your attention.
Spectacle is what the audience desires. Spectacle gets people watching. And this is how money is made. Its as true today as it was back in the gladiator days.
if yo must blame someone, blame the audience.
As to why they use Indian content? I guess because the Indians produce a huge volume of readily available media to fit any occasion.
If I were responsible for producing such things under a deadline, i would simply google an appropriate song lyric, and be bombarded with a deluge of Indian songs. So why waste time, just download one and get the job done.
.....if yo must blame someone, blame the audience. .......
QFT
God forbid the roving mobs of brain dead extremists should chant Shiva jee as they murder their victims instead! :nono:
In reality it is worst and has gone a level up in India. We can’t deny the fact about inter-religion marriages of Muslims and Hindus in India and their frequencies even though Islamic law clearly prohibits such a marriage.
And going back to my original comment, I have actually witnessed the very sentence uttered by a bollywood-watching Pakistani-American teenager who went to Pakistan to attend a marriage in a family and came back with that gem.
:nono:
I do not want to derail the thread, but how do you know that this does not occur?
Enough said. ![]()
Find me an example of "Actual " journalism. The fact is that the independent media are a business. They make their money by sensationalizing things, by creating topi drama, because that is what the majority of their audience want. You have to admit, that even if your disgusted by the profane use of music, it does get your attention.
Spectacle is what the audience desires. Spectacle gets people watching. And this is how money is made. Its as true today as it was back in the gladiator days. if yo must blame someone, blame the audience.
As to why they use Indian content? I guess because the Indians produce a huge volume of readily available media to fit any occasion. If I were responsible for producing such things under a deadline, i would simply google an appropriate song lyric, and be bombarded with a deluge of Indian songs. So why waste time, just download one and get the job done.
I wouldnt just hold the audience responsible, Media introduced them to all this, this trend didnt exist few years back, Pakistanis were watching the news channels even before this tamasha and if you ask many, they will still prefer PTV style news over this sansani news reporting inspired from our neighbour. dekhana bend kerdo, loog dekhna band kerdeinge, I think media and to some extent audience both are responsible.
I would want people to sign petitions or protest against this nonsense. it just needs to stop.
I wouldnt just hold the audience responsible, Media introduced them to all this, this trend didnt exist few years back, Pakistanis were watching the news channels even before this tamasha and if you ask many, they will still prefer PTV style news over this sansani news reporting inspired from our neighbour. dekhana bend kerdo, loog dekhna band kerdeinge, I think media and to some extent audience both are responsible.
I would want people to sign petitions or protest against this nonsense. it just needs to stop.
I agree.
If this was really true that 'audience'/buyers/customers are to be blamed, then every act of criminals such as drug dealers, prostitution places etc. should be relieved of their responsibilities. Right?