Independent EC for the first time in Pak: Afzal Khan

Re: Live Updates of Azadi March

*It seems you think Afzal Khan is as blatant liar as Nawaz or Zardari?

*Jis ka jitna zerf hai utna hi woh iblees hai. U agree?

With power comes corruption... If there's no transparency. And if there's no accountability and order, u can expect a thousand nawaz and zardari's lining up for the next election, seat, parliament...whatever. Koi bhi shareef aadmi election ka naam sunte hi kanon ko haath kiyoon lagata hai?

And its not Afzal thats the main topic of MY discussion with you. Its the hawayi fire that everyone fires at everyone else. Afzal just wanted to be on TV and this is over the moon. With over a million people saying the same thing...the elections are RIGGED, it makes afzal no special case than others.

Question is... how do u expect a drenched up/washedup orderless demonic judicial system of Pakistan to give security to ANYONE. If afzal had said the truth, and had evidence to back it up, and would have come all out firing back in 2013 when the time was right and ripe of rigging, he would have been dead already. And because of fear he is coming out NOW, ofcourse its an assumption, but if he still had evidence, he would have been on missing person's list by the end of the show... which would not have been aired in the first place.

I believe in logical thinking, and not assumptions. And i presume every one of us should do the same except be hell bent on being sheep. I see afzal as a small time opportunist and nothing more, like the hundreds and thousands of other.

Re: Independent EC for the first time in Pak: Afzal Khan

Just heard that Afzal Khan's son was PTI ticketholder. Afzal's links to PTI deepen, and Lucman is also known for his sympathies for PTI and PAT. It clearly seems a planted interview.

^ As expected.

Re: Live Updates of Azadi March

No no he is great , even bigger liar than his party chief Imran Khan
Imran Khan now a days trying to make an other world record
Most lies by a politician

The plot thickens.

OK..now lets talk about whistle blowing... appreciate we are looking at this episode from different angels.

since Pakistan does not have whistle-blowing culture, i will focus on USA which has a long whistleblowing history

Afzal sahib was an employee of ECP which is a Federal institute and not a private organization…..so i will focus on USA's Whistleblower Protection Act which provides confidentiality and protection from retaliation to f*ederal employees, former employees, or applicants* who report allegations of gross mismanagement, fraud, abuse of authority.

You can present whatever you think is reasonable for federal whistle-blowing (viewable requests) but to get federal govt protection there are certain guidelines. if you fail to satisfy those guidelines most likely your whistleblowing request is not in good shape and will be ultimately rejected by relevant authority.

Per Whistleblower Protections for Federal Employees - a Report to the President and the Congress of the United States by the U.S. Merit Systems Protection Board September 2010:

1. the potential whistleblower does have to reasonably believe the accusation revealed wrongdoing.
  2. Reporting something that the whistleblower knows is untrue is not protected.
  3. The test for determining whether an employee had a reasonable belief that his or her disclosures revealed wrongdoing is: “could a disinterested observer with knowledge of the essential facts known to and readily ascertainable by the employee reasonably conclude that the actions of the government evidence” wrongdoing as defined in 5 U.S.C. § 2302
  4. A purely subjective perspective of an employee is not sufficient even if shared by other employees.”
  5. In order to find there was a reasonable belief, the facts on which the belief is based “must be supported by substantial evidence. Substantial evidence is defined as “such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.

any update on Kanwar Dilshad?

Afzal Khan isn't a whistle-blower as he was adamant that the elections in 2013 would be the fairest ever and most transparent when he worked for ECP. You can see his previous interviews. In this case he was committed defamation and tarnished reputations without any proof and for his own vested interests. A media circus is going on that has little to do with reality.

National Science Foundation (NSF) which is a federal institution and follows all federal guidelines faces a lot of whistleblowing requests.

Per **OIG Office of Investigations Office of Audit **on NSF whistleblowing protection requirements and When must you report allegations to NSF’s Office of Inspector General..there are certain guidelines:

Allegations must be reported outside of the individual’s chain of command and usually to the OIG or to the Office of Special Counsel (not to mubashar luqman show)

What are the General Standards for Employee Conduct?

As a federal employee, your actions must be above reproach. You must adhere to basic standards of integrity and decency and conduct yourself professionally, honestly, impartially and ethically. (from what i have read on media, afzal khan sahib professional character had many doubts)
You must avoid real or apparent conflicts of interest**** (no comment) **

You must not engage in conduct that is criminal, dishonest, immoral or prejudicial to the Government. (appearing on mubashar luqman show is definitely not that honest)

You must report to OIG evidence or allegations of misconduct, research misconduct, accounting irregularities, fraud, waste, abuse, or corruption involving NSF, NSF employees, NSF-funded research or education activities, or proposals for NSF funding. (No comment)

This whole stunt is appearing to be back-fired now:

[https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/378800000035773866/d823725c3c397b6a612e11604c7289ca_bigger.jpeg

shahzeb khanzada ‏[COLOR=#B1BBC3]@shahzebkhanzda](https://twitter.com/shahzebkhanzda) 48m
Only if Afzal khan had deleted his tweets and deleted his azadi march pics with his family even from his camera…mtlb thori si aqal :)…

lulz](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=lulz) At least he should have be tutored by some burgers before making these statements. Pas to sabit huwa siyana kawwa ******* hi khata hai

i am just trying to be objective on this topic... that is all. I have already commented heavily on credibility portion of afzal khan. I dont think Aad umar has been taken into confidence on many of these issues in recent days...i feel like mahmood qureshi, sheikh rasheed and some other typical politicians are pushing Khan

Afzal miya ko kaha se PTI ki ticket mil rahi hai?:k:

....And isn't Javed Chaudry's brother a Nawaz League MNA? So on what basis his junk analysis is hailed as hallmark of good and neutral journalism (I know know the criteria is blatant anti PTI mumbo-jumbo)?

Hypocrisy galore!

Then very likely either he was wrong then or he is wrong now, but if you look objectively putting aside sudden differences with PTI the elections were not “fairest ever and most transparent” which means his earlier claim was wrong… simple, no?

National “Science” Foundation dealing with national whistle-blowing? That is mind-blowing to me :hehe:

Can you elaborate on Afzal’s professional character doubts?

True, one of his statement is incorrect either the one before elections or his statement now. Knowing a bit more about his affiliations with PTI it seems that his statement now is incorrect as he is biased. That is not to say that vote rigging did not happen or the system is good. The system needs improvement and and vote rigging may have taken place but it could have taken place anywhere in Pakistan, be it Karachi, Sindh, KP or Baluchistan it would not be limited only to Punjab. For all we know Afzal Khan could have tried to swing the election in favour of PTI while he worked for ECP. If he can level allegations against others without proof then my statement is just as valid as his. Afzal Khan mainly talked about defects in elections and not proof of vote rigging. We all know that already however the elections held in 2013 were probably fairer than the ones held in the past because millions of ghost voters had been removed by election commission in the new election rolls.

His statement can be biased but not "incorrect" as many have already agreed that rigging has taken place. Its the amount of rigging, number of constituencies and responsible party which is under question.

Do we know for a fact that he was a PTI 'worker' during 2013 elections or are we extra-polating current situation to back dates? Regardless of whether he was or not, rigging investigation was a must when it was brought up. A judicial inquiry was on the order which never happened. PTI/IK kept asking for electoral reforms and rigging investigations which never happened until last minute offer from Nawaz Sharif on 13th August by then IK had already lost trust in him, probably that is why he wants the govt to go... to which I do not agree though.

For the sake of argument lets say that vote rigging took place. Do you think that it only took place in Punjab and was only carried out by PML N? Every single party could have indulged in getting more votes including PTI. Reason PML N didn't take him seriously was that they had information that he was working with some elements to remove the government which turned out to be true. Rigging cases need to be decided by election tribunals and courts. 85% complaints of vote rigging have been settled by ECP and the remaining 15% will be settled by December 2014. The government has formed a cross party committee to look at electoral reforms with representation from PTI and they also want electoral reforms.

If Afzal Khan can extrapolate than so can I.

Musharraf on Imran Khan. I believe Musharraf.

sound weird but it is true…when latest Whistleblower Protection Enhancement Act of 2012 came out, the Inspector General for the National Science Foundation actually established a “Whistleblower Ombudsman” to educate agency employees about prohibitions on retaliation for whistleblowing…most of those whislteblowing activities were for mismanagement, misusing funds and many did not really qualify for whistleblowing.

not that other federal organziations did not take these steps…2012 act has given so many more protections to whistleblowers that every federal organization is taking it very sriously