I actually went through the same thing after I got married but my advice to you is don’t say anything negative to your husband or your in laws. This will only cause problems between your inlaws and you in the future.
If your husband doesn’t seem to have a problem with the whole situation you really can’t do anything about it. Hopefully you’ll get some alone time with your husband.
I am pretty sure that most of these mother-in-laws went through the same issues when they got married and must have found these things repulsive at that time as well. The still turn into exactly the same personality once their own kids are involved. Food for thought for your own future as well, ladies.
Exactly! Almost all the advices here are coming from people wearing their own shoes. No one is trying to understand her situation.
Depression is a state of mind. Think about how you can make the best of this situation. Honeymoon is about two people even when there are a bunch of people around. It does not really matter. You guys will still have a room on your own. You guys can still go for walks alone. You can easily tell the in-laws that you guys are heading for a walk. Enjoy your time there. Best wishes.
My nana went on my parents honeymoon, just the initial part. He acted as a tourguide in northern pakistan. They had a nice time, despite him being there.
thanks for the advice and concern ev.one..i talked to my husband..he was convinced and talked to his mom but she didnt seem to understand(they all know frm day one that it is our honeymoon) and she ‘bechaari’ said bachoan ka dil toot jaye ga aur behnoi bhi bura maan jayengay..us nay chutti bhi le li hai..tusee wakhray phirna turn(stay separate from us)' BUT knowing the typical ‘attention deficit disorder’ she has,she becomes all type of bimaar and gets aches and headache and what not if she sees that no one is giving her ‘lift’..i and my hubby,being doctors diagnose her atonce now :halo: ..in medical terms we call such patients AALOO/potato cases:D and i know even if she/they lets us have our time alone,she will become sick immediately and wont let anyone enjoy..and if we leave her alone,everyone will baatayn banao us that doctor ho kay khyaal nahin rakhtay. .(by the way she is my husband’s step mother..and black-mails him a lot!)
reading everyone’s advice and after sensing that my husband cant be ‘rude’ enough to say anything,i told my brother yesterday to get a booking done for two in another hotel which is about an hour’s drive away..and told my hubby that it is a present from my best friend..and we have now told everyone else that the hotel where we previously had booking doesnt have enough more rooms to accomodate 4 families..so you all stay there and we have managed MUSHKIL SAY MINNATAYN KAR KAR KAY for another place for us:hoonh: and i will tell my husband abt the twist when we reach there..hopefully this will go better than staying in a JANJAAL-PURA!! phew.. i am feeling bad that i had to lie but couldnt find any other way out!
and yes..i think i will call it a family vacation !! no honeymoon after that cuz will be having a baby in 6 months time and vacationing with kids wont be much fun i guess..!
Prototype… sweety didn’t you just get married??? I remember seeing your wedding jewelery just a few months ago, and it was so lovely!! Oh dear… I’m really sorry for your dilemna babe. I’m really glad your brother has helped you out, and Inshallah you and your hubby will be able to enjoy the vacation.
When I was in college (back in the day) a professor once told us something that has always stuck in my mind: “You can’t always change your situation, but you can change the attitude you take towards the situation.” I’ve always tried to keep this in mind when things go really really wrong for me, and all I want to do is stay angry and sulk. Seeing as this will be the last vacation you have for quite some time, please, try and keep a cheerful outlook, and find small ways to be happy with ur husband, whenever you guys can squeeze in the time. Don’t let others get you down and spoil your happiness… use your pregnancy to your best advantage and get as many evenings/mornings alone with your husband as you can. Good luck with everything.
nope.. its not revenge
they just think whatever they couldn't done at their times is simply just 'NOT Necessary or Important' for others to do so either...
prototype, first of all, congratulations on your wedding. Secondly, and I'm sorry for saying this, but I think your husband needs to be a man, grow a pair, and tell his parents and relatives to back the eff off. This is the problem with desi boys, they think they're old enough to get married but not old enough to cut the cord. If he has to be harsh, so be it, if the mother/father are going to be upset, so be it, he is accountable to you too now, not just his parents. What he's doing shows that he'd rather hurt YOUR feelings than his family's, not a good way to start off a marriage IMO. If his parents are too thick to understand what a honeymoon is, maybe he needs to sit down and explain to them.
Being doctors, I don't know if you're residents or in private practice, I'm sure you two don't have enough time with each other to begin with and what precious time you DO have together, those chipkoo parents are going to go along? I would find that not only unacceptable but also offensive.