So, would anyone be interested in talking about their best Imran Series book and why??? Just trying to keep this thread going and growing :)
I will start with mine. "Chataanon main Fire" is one of my very favorite Imran series books. It is the second novel in the series. That is Imran's pre-X2 story and he was just a lot more stupid and funny and full of surprises. Anyways, a good story. Read it if you get a chance.
"TABOOT MAIn CHEEKH" is one of my mosssst favorite Imran series books.
Yun to har novel hi fav. hai lekin in this novel Zafar ul mulk's character is very lovable.
and one character " ustad mahboob niralay aalam" if someone remember !!!!!!!!!!!!
Yes. If I remember correctly he used words like "Farsa" and "Arba" instead of Farsi and Arabi. He also did some "matti paleeding" of Fulbadani ghazal or something like that.
Now that you mentioned Zafarul Mulk again. I would express my opinion about him too. He was only physically similar to Imran. His body, face cut was such that Imran's make-up could work on him perfectly as opposed to other members. So, I mran trained him so that he could act like Imran in his absense. But he blew it up in front of Julia. Anyways.
I am having a problem remembering the names, it has been quite some time since i read them all but the 4 part shikral series was good too and the ashtray house series was excellent, the first novel was the best jameson novel, i laughed out loud at his sarcastic humor while reading it to the extent that my eyes watered.
"Bechara Shahzor" is fantastic. Another memorable one (at least for me) is "Raat ka Shahzaada" where Imran helps Sir Sultan and makes himself the most favorite for the position of head of the Secret Service. That novel showed Imran's control over his emotions to a great extent.
Anyways, one of the characterisitcs of Ibn-e-Safi's writing is that he worked hard to maintain uniqueness among his plots. I think that is part of the reason people were always so anxious for his new books to be published when he was writing.
HaaN… SHAKRAL wali series was gr8… I am not sure.. BUT.. I think it was the First Novel that has the Proper Entry by SAFDAR…
And As I mentioned… earlier.. One BLACK ZERO was killed in it as well…
Lots more.. but… I cant remember names… Will have to read all of them again…
All the Imran Series by Ibne Safi are now Printed in Big Books Form… I mean.. 3 , 4 5 Novels in One book… I saw few in one book store but They did had the full SET and.. I wanted to Have full set…
Let see when I go to Lahore and Go to Sang-e-Meel Publications … I think they will have the Full set I am gona get all …
You are right Golden. New novels are being published as a group rather than individual. I think this is a good idea because sometimes one novel from the whole series would be missing and kill the joy of complete story.
Shakraal series was awesome. I loved it when Imran literally kicked Thresia in "Kaalay Charaagh". She must have enjoyed it. Anyways. The first black zero was killed in "Darindo ki Basti". Also, I think Captain Naushaad was fired in the same series when Thresia escaped because of his moustache.
Ya… I think I remember that… Capt Naushad and T3B Qissa
And.. U r right about the MISSING novel as well… Coz.. when I was reading the Novels… I missed one… that is… SABZ LAHOO … and… I read all but that one… abhi tak naheeN paRha wo
EVERYONE SALAAM ALAIKUM,
reading this has (like so many before me)transferred me instantly to days gone by when back home all i used to look forward daily was to go back to the library and get more books.I cannot say or add anymore then what everyone has already done so before me just that Marhoom Ibne safi sahib WAS/IS & WILL FOREVER be THE ONE .Mazhar kaleem's earlier novels and maybe a half a novel of Safdar shaheen were good enough imitations but nothing else. Ishtiaq ahmed .. cmon its Laughable that we talk about Ishtiaq ahmed in the same forum as Ibne safi. I have nothing against him and actually Love his first 12 or 15 Inspector Jamshed series books ( which I Beileve were Copied).Hell I even wrote a few short stories for his Earlier Children's Magazine ( I myself am a Children's writer). But you cannot talk about ibne safi and Ishtiaq ahmed. its like North & south.I think with all the other safi's the cheap soft porn factor was an issue and i agree with Mr Farudia.
God .. those were the days ..right now i dont have a single book of either Jassosi Duniya or Imran series and have suddenly developed this vast emptiness revisitng days of yore .. thinking of life before ....no responsibilities ..except go to school/College and then read....If i remember my earlier days were spent reading from Archie Comics to enid Blyton to Ibne safi and Mickey Spillane in between.Hands up people who remember Mickey Spillane ? cmon with recent films like SINCITY owe a helluva lot to Mickey spillane then any other Pulp fiction comics.I never Got into watching Telly untill late 1980's amybe thats why and thats probably the reason Kids nowadays dont read much ...they get Telly/PS-2/X BOX/PSP etc etc and MTV......
I would love to buy DHAMAKA on whatever format its available....If anyone has it or knows where to get it please forward me a link.I also would be visiting karachi soon and am gonna buy the complete works of Ibne Safi. is it still vaailable in full from URDU BAZZAR ?? ANYONE KNOWS PLEASE LET ME KNOW..THANX
It would give me utmost pleasure to see a PROPER MOVIE or even TV SERIAL of either Jassosi Duniya or Imran series.......and i think with all the tech know how and special FX available nowadays it would be ****** Brilliant.
u may be able to find dhamaka at rainbow center in saddar, when I went there years ago, they had a copy but surprise surprise it was out then, they were goign to make a copy for me but did not get it done while I was there. Since then I have been askign everyone there tof ind it for me but no luck.
thanks guys or girls for all i know ( no disrespect intented in anyway).so is Israr publications still there ? and God Bless RAINBOW centre for if it wasnt for rainbow i wouldnt have a thousand DVD collection.. but somehow and as you have duly pointed out the ONE THING THAT YOU WANT MORE THEN LIFE ITSELF !!! YOU WOULDNT FIND IT !!! and for 70% of the time thats right.anyho ...where are all these Fans of Israr sahib located ... ??
its been nearly 15 years or so since i wouldve touched any Israr shaib's book and except for a few vague names and memories i really dont recall much well except for reading about it here .I cannot wait to get my hands back into them again.. although it will be a struggle trying to find the time to read them .. but somehow i will... i know..
best of Luck Y'all
Bhai Fraudia, "Raat ka Shahzaada" is Imran Series novel #8. This is one of the earlier mystery adventures of Imran. He accidentally listens to a phone conversation that leads him to help Sir Sultan who knew Imran's father. After the case is solved, Sir Sultan is so impressed by Imran that he offers him the X2 position.
Joseph, on the other hand, do not appear until #31 "Chaalees Aik Baawan" (40, 1, 52) when Imran goes to another town on Fayyaz's request to help a friend of Fayyaz. The villian Taariq was the previous owner of Joseph and once Taariq is defeated Joseph accepts Imran as his new boss ... something like that.
Back to Shaktoo: Ibn-e-Safi's novels are published in Lahore by Asraar Publications. You can contact directly or if in Lahore, find the place where they are sold. They are also available in Karachi close to Urdu Bazaar. Yes, they are not exactly in Urdu Bazaar but in the second or third floor of an old building nearby. To find that building is a mystery for you to solve. :D
I will try to get the address of that place.
HaN.. Still remmebr 40-1-52 It was gr8… Although… It was sort of for me… it was totaly Against my Expectations…
Coz.. I had read other Novels First And I knew.. HOw JOsepsh is… so I was Expecting that… IMRAN would have met Joseph in some Jungel Adventure in AFRICA…