Improving your Punjabi

I am British born and English is my 1st language and mother tongue I use day to day at work and socialise with friends. I only speak Punjabi to my mother and aunts and uncles who don’t speak English in the UK and the Punjabi is very brief and not in-depth discussion like science, technology, politics, religion etc.

I would like to improve my Punjabi as my wife is from Pakistan.

Can anyone give me any tips on improving my Punjabi?

Re: Improving your Punjabi

Speak with other Punjabi speakers. Have conversations with them. You will soon start to pick up words and phrases.

the thing with me is that i speak urdu, punjabi but mostly english at home. my urdu n punjabi isnt perfect...n some people wuld get confused of wt i say. dnt blame them cuz i kno wot to say but it just comes out wrong...like punjabi and urdu mixed lolz. but i started tokin with my fiance i thought il just stick with one langauge. n so i toked to him in urdu n thankgod my urdu has improved i can actualy make a conversation with my dad now..he neva understood me before lol.
so yea i would go for dildirani advice speak with other punjabi speakers.

Conversations help...speak to your friends and make it a rule...only punjabi at home.

listen to rdb's songs :p

Im pretty sure there is a punjabi channel on Sky digital. I cannit for the life of me think what its called though.

Learn Seraiki!

Mainu thodi voot punjabi aandee hai......

aye te bari achi gal hai..

is she punjabi speaking or urdu speaking...? cz from Pakistan doesn't mean she'll speak punjabi only.

Gina, do u know seraiki...

aaho menu pata hai…:hehe:

Yes! :)

Rent a Punjabi movie with English subtitles. The subtitles always come on before the speech, so right when you see the subtitles, guess what the Punjabi version of it is going to be and say it out loud.

I used to do that with Hindi movies...like it would say "This marriage cannot happen" and then I would say at the exact same time as the guy, "Yeh shaadi nahi ho sakti!!" and it was so funny cuz it sounded like he was copying me.

Also, think of practice dialogues. I heard in most languages, you don't go beyond the same 2000 words, day after day.

You can also try the local gurdwara-they will have formal classes and conversational circles.

Gina, is there anything you dont know???!!! lol

aye tey bari changi gal aye

oooops, :smack: sorry..thx for letting me know.. :slight_smile:

mainu we thori jayi saraiki aandi aye ais lye keh meri maa nu pakki saraiki aandi aye, unna di ammi saraiki ne.

mainu punjabi aandi si par mai perfect gaane sun sun ke tey maa nu puchh puchh ke kitti.

tussi we try karo apne lookaa naal punjabi bolan di tey jald eiiy tussi wi changi punjabi bolan laggo gey.

mai apni best friend tey maaa piyooo naal punjabi bol ni aaa

mere paaayn parawaaaa nu punjabi aini changi nayi aandi ais layi mai unna de naal urdu ya phair angrizy which gall karni aaa

aye tey boa'at changi gal aye

Aisha that's punjabi.. seraiki don't say "Mainu" we say meku vi seraiki bolarn aandi aye.. te hurn tussan jo bolainday kharay ho woh Punjabi heevey.

You also don't say "meri" ma, u say Mendi maa vi seraiki bulaindi aye..

PSquared, plenty that I don't know :(

gina i was speaking punjabi:smack: i wasnt writing in saraiki!

and i know all that too lol