no..
after traying mangoes from India and Pakistan, I prefer Pakistani mangoes, this is not to say Indian mangoes are crap, but I prefer the Pakistani ones.
no..
after traying mangoes from India and Pakistan, I prefer Pakistani mangoes, this is not to say Indian mangoes are crap, but I prefer the Pakistani ones.
*Originally posted by Arvind: *
^^
Amusing though, so many Paki guppies run down Indian mangoes without ever having tried one. Reflects more on their attitude towards India than its mangoes, no?
I have tried Alphonso mangoes and they are very good but eat Sindrhi, Chaunsa and especially Anwer Ratol and you will see what guppies are talking about. You also should not pass judgement without having tasted all of them and also taste these mangoes without any prejudice and you will see.
I am going to drop by our local Pak grocer and try the Ratol mango that seem to be liked by so many guppies.
I don't think Anver Ratol comes to market so early in the season. If I recall correctly it comes to market only after the monsoon has started. Its probably Sindhri and Chaunsa time right now. Sindhri floods in the market really early.
*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
no..
So you have tried all 72 varieties of Pakistani mangoes and 100 varieties of Indian mangoes, some of them the same variety (Indian Punjab and Pakistan share some of the same varieties)! I gave you more credit than this kind of generalization. I guess I was wrong. For instance do you even know what an Ambika mango looks like?
Actually I did drop by Pakeeza grocers in our neck of the woods and I was told no Ratols until mid-June and currently available only Chaunsa, but alas not in stock. I am going to try all your mangoes I can get my hands on. Hey, mangoes are like sex. When they are good, they are very good. And if they are bad, even then they are pretty good. ![]()
So you have tried all 72 varieties of Pakistani mangoes and 100 varieties of Indian mangoes, some of them the same variety (Indian Punjab and Pakistan share some of the same varieties)! I gave you more credit than this kind of generalization. I guess I was wrong. For instance do you even know what an Ambika mango looks like?
Trust you to take offence. The idea is not to claim professorship on mangoes, but to suggest that of the varieties normally available where one lives, he likes one better than the other. What someone likes to eat is entirely a person opinion and so there is nothing to take offence at. Like some people don't like Basmati rice while others can't imagine eating any rice other than Basmati. Pasand pasand ki baat hai.
There is this chaudry here in dubai who imports all these varieties into the UAE market. Both his sons studied in our school. Dang they were rich.
Faisal, not a bad idea, I suggest, u seriously look into this, & u might be minting money Im sure.
The locals of UAE are particularly crazy about the mangoes & oranges of Pakistan. Sad part is that pears are not that abundant, becoz they rot very fast. The only counterpart available are egyptian pears, which are quite dry.
Don't eat Alphonsos you guys. I am picking up a dozen of chaunsas from a Paki grocer today. How bad could be a fruit that costs $2.00?
2day I was eating sindhris at my friend's place, who brought them in from karachi. They were really yummy. Faisal I was thinking of u all this time, & the investment oppurtunities.
Where does tota pari mango stand in ur list...?
Has any1 ever tasted it...?
I went and bought half a dozen of chaunsas yesterday from Al-Mashriq, our local Pak grocer. I paid $14 for 6. Each fruit weighed a whopping 400 grams or almost a pound. It was 6 inch by 3.5 inch. According to the grocer it was a top quality chaunsa. Very sweet fruit albeit with a large pit. Flavour pleasant but mild. As for comparison with Ratnagiri alfonso (hafus) not even close. BTW chaunsa also grow in Delhi and Punjab area of India and is also highly prized by people who don’t know what is an alfonso.
Onto to anwar ratol which arrives in our markets next week. I am on the lookout for sindhris which the man said has just about finished its season. I verified with a Delhi friend and she said most of the magoes mentioned as Pakistani magoes also grow in Punjab.
I must admit it is a rather pleasant research project that this thread has launched me into. I will eat all the 72 varieties of Pakistani magoes. I do hope at least some of you go to your Indian grocer and try a Ratnagiri alfonso.
where exactly are you getting all these mangoes !!
:(
tho I dont know what kind of mango it was (small, pruned, thick skin), I've tried indian mango. not quite the as good, but not as bad as chilean or whatever the crap you get here.
^^
We have many (dozens) of Pakistani grocers in our town. I buy from one of them.
As in Pakistan, India also has about 100 varieties of mangoes. Of that alfonoso are the best IMO. Of that Ratnagiri alfonso are the best. They are a bit hard to get in US because if our local grocer is any indication, the boxes come in on Wedenesday and are sold out on Friday. They are totally smooth fibreless flesh and a heavenly taste and frangrance. I tried chaunsa from Pakistan yesterday and although very good, do not have the same divine flavour.
Again as in Pakistan people in different part of India are very proud of their manoges. The south Indians love something called baiganpulli although I have never tried it. I am making this my summer project to try as many different varieties of mangoes as possible. Ultimately though comparing two different varieties of mangoes is a little like comparing two different flowers like gulab with raat ki raani.
^^
We have many (dozens) of Pakistani grocers in our town. I buy from one of them.
As in Pakistan, India also has about 100 varieties of mangoes. Of that alfonoso are the best IMO. Of that Ratnagiri alfonso are the best. They are a bit hard to get in US because if our local grocer is any indication, the boxes come in on Wedenesday and are sold out on Friday. They are totally smooth fibreless flesh and a heavenly taste and frangrance. I tried chaunsa from Pakistan yesterday and although very good, do not have the same divine flavour.
Again as in Pakistan people in different part of India are very proud of their manoges. The south Indians love something called baiganpulli although I have never tried it. I am making this my summer project to try as many different varieties of mangoes as possible. Ultimately though comparing two different varieties of mangoes is a little like comparing two different flowers like gulab with raat ki raani.
Arvind Bhai,
Forget about eating, Yaar main to Ratnagiri Hapus/ Hafus dekhno ko bhi taras gaya houn.
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
I don't think Anver Ratol comes to market so early in the season. If I recall correctly it comes to market only after the monsoon has started. Its probably Sindhri and Chaunsa time right now. Sindhri floods in the market really early.
Anwar ratol is coming in next week. Chaunsa are currently in the market. Sindhri season is over.
A few weeks ago I tasted some mangoes from China Town (NY). I was very pleasantly surprised how much it tasted like the sindhri aam. Not a duplicate by any means. But the raisha was at a minimum, the taste nice and sweet. But size wise it was a third of a sindhri. Have to make another trip to ChiTown
Edit: Those China Town mangoes are called Champagne mangoes
Mango export in full swing
KARACHI, June 21: The export of mango is in full swing as several airlines including PIA have added more cargo flights to their last year's schedule from Pakistan this year, exporters said here Monday.
The president, Fruits and Vegetables Processor and Exporters Association (FVPEA), Abdul Mateen Siddiqui said that PIA has added two additional cargo flights to its last year's schedule while German airline Lufthansa has also attached two more flights.
Now PIA and Lufthansa were flying four cargo flights a week from Pakistan to various *destinations in Europe and Middle East and Gulf countries. PIA was taking mango to Oslo, Paris and Leuton in UK while Lufthansa was carrying mango to London and Stockholm in addition to Frankfurt. *
He said that Pakistani mango had always been considered as the hot cake in Europe and Scandinavian countries and this year too, its export would be higher in this region. Similarly, export to short distance destinations like Middle East and Gulf area would also be increased as mango could be shipped through sea routes at economical rates. -APP
*Originally posted by TofiBaba: *
A few weeks ago I tasted some mangoes from China Town (NY). I was very pleasantly surprised how much it tasted like the sindhri aam. Not a duplicate by any means. But the raisha was at a minimum, the taste nice and sweet. But size wise it was a third of a sindhri. Have to make another trip to ChiTown
Is this a kind of chinese mango?
Pak Mango Import in US/Canada
Importing mangoes in the US is not an easy thing (although not impossible either). According to a friend of mine who visited Pak last year and discussed a few things with a major fruit exporter of Pakistan to Middle East, Europe and Japan, provided me with the following info (if I remember correctly)
a. Lack of Mango Treatment Facilities in Pak: Mangoes have short shelve life. Hence, any mangoes before they are exported to far distances such Japan and Europe, have to be treated to enhance their shelve life.
b. Lack of Infrastructure to Support Export: Mangoes require big cold storage(s) and there are not many sizeable cold storages in Pak to handle continuous export orders to US/Canada during the months of May-July of each year.
c. USDA/Customs Permit Issues to Import Farm Products: Its not an easy task to import in US, an importer has to comply, certify, arrival inspections by Customs etc., a lot of hassle to proof that you are going to import “almost disease free”, super clean fruits in the US.
d. Logistical Issues in US: Since US is 3000 miles (~5000Km) apart, desi people are densely populated in North-east( NY, PA, NJ, MA etc), South East (GA & FL), Midwest (Chicago, IL & TX), and the LA,west coast), a plane carrying full load of “treated/Kuccha” mangoes from Pak-14/15 hour direct flight, have to land in mid-west (such as Chicago, Dallas, Memphis) and then Mango boxes can be road/air shipped to appropriate destinations within the span of 3-4 days to mostly desi retailers/wholesalers within each metropolitan area. Perfect Timings! mangoes have to turn yellow (plus smell) before they catch buyers attention in a store. One exemption would be to have a cargo plane land in a big city such as NY, and the whole cargo load can be consumed within that makert area.
e. Fruits/Vegetables are Considered High Risk Imports: Spoilage, Short shelve life, Higher Insurance Premiums to cover bank loans (LCs) and other operational expenses, one has to be prepared for any un-seen factors which might result in delay of shipments to collecting money from desi-shop wallas could jeopardize the whole operation.
f. Market Study: No one in US has done any kind of mango import study, although big money-walla Pak/Indian parties have access to bags of Benjamins to risk a few but they dont.
The only easily available Desi Mango item here is *“Mango Pulp”*. Almost 99.5% desi shops and restaurants in US/Canada use pulp to make (not so tasty) 100% concentrated :D Mango-Shake & Ice-cream.
Some export related Mango Pics
Kuchay Mangoes being treated in Pak
[thumb=H]pak_mango_export23220_2798854.JPG[/thumb]
Bad ones being removed
[thumb=H]Pak_mango_export2b23220_2798854.JPG[/thumb]
Being Sorted and pre-packed inside a big cold-storage in Karachi
[thumb=H]pak_mango_export323220_7288295.JPG[/thumb]
Some export boxes
[thumb=H]Pak_mango_export5c23220_7288295.JPG[/thumb]
^^
Plus our local Pak grocers have been getting out of business of selling Pak magoes due to lack of profit. I usuaaly bu alfonsos from the Indian grocer but having read all good thongs about Pak mangoes I visited a local Pak grocer. Although I was able to buy chaunsa in his shop he informed me that this was the last batch of manoes from Pakistan he was selling due to spoilage and lack of profit. According to him desis are so price conscious that he makes a profit of $2 per box of dozen. If out of a dozen boxes one goes bad, his profit is down the drain.
Imprting mangoes from Pakistan as you point out, has a lot of problems.
I have tried quite a few mangoes, Mexican, Indian and Pakistani.... Pakistani mangoes win hands down....