If you're Pakistani and you're mistaken for an Indian...

Re: If you're Pakistani and you're mistaken for an Indian...

Who? I'm responding to the comments that I feel need responding to. These are hardly long responses compared to others on here. I like pakistani people and I will post positive comments despite opposition from any sphere. All voices should be heard. I speak out against negative comments by Indians towards Pakistanis also.
The block responses are for those who I responded to. You are under no obligation to read it. Only one comments was not a reply and that's my official response to the thread.

I agree and I don't agree with racism. For the majority of the people the offence is not being mistaken as Indian per se, the annoyance is not at India or Indians. It is at the person who's thinking every brown person is an Indian (or a Pakistani).

Just like I don't go and ask every Chinese looking person if they're from China, I wait for them to tell me. Its like going to a black person and assuming they're from Africa and then relaying that assumption to them. They'd be annoyed too. Not at Africans but at the assumption that every black person is from Africa.

Personally speaking, the best way is to correct someone and move on. Bigger things to worry about in life :/

That's understandable and I agree with that. Everyone should be acknowledged for their identity. It was just comments about being offended due to the 60 yr animosity and 3 wars that I wasn't sure how to respond to. How can someone born much after and with little relation to events bear the burden of all that baggage. It's not like those events can be changed now.

alright pal, even assuming you are not the return of the L2KK person...

if you do feel flattered as an indian to be mistaken as pakistani because you feel pakistanis are better looking, how is it that you cannot empathize with the anger of pakistanis getting mistaken to be from the worse looking people? stop complaining when you subscribe to the same racist ideas as the ones you are trying to edumacate, thanks.

Though I must add...if someone is annoyed at being mistaken as an Indian because its Indian its simply considering the history between the two countries. Its just a fact of life. And vice versa, as I said I have known plenty of Indians who detest being called a P*ki but not because its racist but because they are irritated that they were mistaken as Pakistanis. Again they were perfectly normal otherwise, but there are deep historical reasons when it comes to Pakistan India. In an ideal world there shouldnt be. But this is not an ideal world.

Personally I can see both views but for myself I don't really care much. I just correct the person and that's that. I doubt its said to offend anyway.

i am sorry but i hate now wot to do?:)

Why should anyone mistake another of anything?

Queer yaar i understand your point. It just happened once to me by a Pakistani family. Maybe they thought i was similar and could relate. I was joking when i said it was because im good looking. In any case the main idea was that I wasn't offended. Neither was KKF or captain. It's a general stereotype i have heard often. It doesn't mean every Pakistani is better looking than every Indian. It's like when white people say african americans are more athletic. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. This is according to the typical subcontinental concept of beauty that even Southie alluded to. Besides, for me personally, other qualities are more important in friendship such as personality, character etc. Just because if one thing i conceded that Pakistanis are better doesn't mean Indians are not good in other things. If i said there was no difference in appearance and neglected the fact that it is mentioned here and people give that as a reason, would less people subscribe to that racist idea? By conceding and understanding their point of view I think i can get more people to see that it doesn't have to be offensive. Indians also have a lot of good qualities we are stereotyped for in the west (not saying Pakistanis don't have that) so why can they not see those qualities when mistaken as Indian? How am I being racist when I say that in the subcontinent their appearance is seen by many as attractive compared to the "typical" Indian? Perhaps it is different in the West. Similarly particular indians are stereotyped as being smarter than other indians etc. I have actually seen Indians happy to be passed as Pakistanis and also vice versa believe it or not for other reasons.
Not complaining just trying to understand.

I think that's the best response. To correct, educate and move on. I don't think anyone should not correct or that the identities are the same. I can understand people both sides can get offended because of the history. I don't subscribe to that view of being called P***. I've never been called it but since pak means pure..i wouldnt get offended by being called Pakistani but i would at the racist nature of the slur. I just don't see how being offended at the person helps them clear their understanding of what is indian vs pakistani. They just get dragged into it and they're assumed to know the entire history and what it means. You're right. It's a fact of life. I believe in building bridges and i think with time hopefully the past won't affect our opinions of people from either side.

Re: If you’re Pakistani and you’re mistaken for an Indian…

and you are not delhi2lahoreetc? ok then.. :rolleyes:

writing a lot of words does not change what you are saying. and now if that is what you believe, how is it suddenly a problem when a pakistani thinks the exact same way as you? :confused:

Kya baat hai? Hating with a smile :) I don't know yaar aap se kya kahun. I can only control my actions and I don't believe in hating individuals from any country. Agar aap ko khushi mile nafrat karte rahiye. Hum pyar karte rahenge. Eventually i think love is stronger than hate and will win out. Zindagi lambi hai and I don't think you can hold onto hate all your life. One day you may cross paths with an Indian, in real life or online if you live in Pakistan, and maybe they will change your views. If not then yehi marzi hogi Khuda ki.

Why are you concerned over delhi2lahore whoever? I’m talking about this particular topic. I don’t have a problem with a Pakistani correcting their identity. That is their right as others have pointed out there are ethnic differences and what not. I don’t want to minimise their point of view. How are those who get offended thinking the same way as me when I am not getting offended by being mislabelled? :frowning: Should i be angry and depressed if i get mislabelled Pakistani or anything but my ethnic origin in India? If i was mistaken as south indian i’d take it as a compliment that im intelligent (half my professors at college are south indian)..if im mistaken for a north indian i’d think it was because i had a colourful personality and if i get mistaken as african american i would take it as a compliment that im athletic. Yes, they are all stereotypes but positive stereotypes. What is wrong with taking on the idea of hate. Some have said its not a matter of looks as they won’t mind being mistaken for sri lankan, nepali. It’s obviously more than just about looks for some.

because its not a big deal for me to hate an indian dats y hating wid a smile :)
and i can just laugh at ur post

nafrat se mujhe yeh gaanaa yaad aa gayaa!

In other promotion news, a person in a Kerala village living at the far end from the village temple was mistaken for one whose house was next to the temple. In celebration, coconuts were launched.

:hayaa:

yeh… not racist at all. just because you tie a pink bow on a cow patty doesnt mean it isnt a cow patty anymore.

Only you can lighten the situation. Nice song KKF bhai. Any other ones you recommend?

I’d call it stereotying or reverse discrimination. I don’t understand why some Indians get offended when I compliment Pakistanis either on looks or their dramas or songs. It must mean we are lacking in those departments. I did mention conventional beauty according to subcontinental standards. And yes those standards can be racist. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder..and in this case im talking about majority of subcontinental observers. Who knows in the West there may be a different standard of beauty. Maybe i should get offended by my quote since I am neither completely north or south indian. It must mean i’m neither intelligent nor do I have a colourful personality. :frowning: I’m not saying i wouldn’t correct the assumptions above. What about this? Some may think is it not racist to assume that 80% of Pakistanis don’t believe in evolution as quoted earlier? Is that not a generalisation? Or that this is a determinant of other qualities?

I don't think hate is healthy but that's me. Perhaps you have another take on it. I'm glad my post is making you laugh. :) I think you think you hate an Indian but i doubt you can hate all 1 billion of them just because they are Indian. Can you hate someone who lives 40 km away from you across the border and has similar life struggles just because they are Indian. In any case, it doesn't change my views on Pakistanis :). Most of the ones i've met have been friendly and fun loving and few hate just because someone is of different background before getting to know them. People even hate people in the same country with different ethnicity so what to say. I doubt even the ones here who are offended by being called Indian would actually say they hate indians. It would be a very tiny minority.

Why queer ignoring my posts