If you're Pakistani and you're mistaken for an Indian...

Re: If you’re Pakistani and you’re mistaken for an Indian…

why can’t we all just get along :naak:

Re: If you're Pakistani and you're mistaken for an Indian...

Some people are easily offended, some people less inclined to be offended. Trouble is it's hard to know who belongs to the former and who belongs to the latter. Like it or not, India and Pakistan will always be linked. Like it or not, they will always be our neighbours. Like it or not, the majority of Pakistanis have their family roots in India. Like it or not, for many of us our ancestors were Indian.

As others have mentioned, it's not just Indians and Pakistanis who don't like to be mistaken for each other. It's the same with Australia and New Zealand, America and Canada etc.

In the last few years a number of Eastern Europeans have settled in the UK. Now I can't tell the difference between a Polish and Hungarian accent, or Slovak and Bulgarian accents. What I do know is, just like a lot of other nationalities, they don't like to be mistaken for each other. So I've come up with a fool proof method of avoiding any awkwardness or causing offence to anyone by incorrectly guessing their nationality.

I'm going to share that method with you guys, so you can help to spread the word and maybe, just maybe, we'll all learn to get along a little better ....

So what I do is..... I don't make any assumptions.... Instead whilst engaging in conversation with that person I ASK THEM WHERE THEY ARE FROM..... I know, genius or what!!

so where in india are you from, Toothador? :smokin:

• see, not so fool proof. there are always bigger and better fools than any silly system you can device. :snooty:

Fool-proof test, lolz! you are picking on pakistanis.
actually, Hindues are sort of ok with evolution so they dont deny.

Then I behave as BAD and Arrogant as I can bringing bad name to Indians :D

PS: Just kidding. Does not bothers me. I have asked about Beijing's weather from Koreans and Japaneses many time

How is Beijing s weather

I love China, their history, their culture. Trying to learn their language. I'm better at writing words than actually speaking, at the moment. Of course you have nasty people from China too, but most Chinese I have met so far, are very nice people. They have such an interesting culture.

Japanese and Korean culture is different and fascinating too. Yet, some Japanese and Koreans hate each other the way some Pakistani and Indians hate each other. I only noticed this because of my love for figure skating. They've had political problems, same goes for China, thus certain fans are quite insulting towards each other, the same way Pakistani and Indian people do. I hope the sport will help to stop all that.

You mistake a certain Korean for a Japanese, they will hate it, not just laugh and then explain, but really hate it. Just as certain Pakistani and Indian people do. :(

today, i was misidentified as a Pakistani by the doctor who was filling in for my own family doctor. i politely told him that i’m an Indian…he said…“it’s the same thing!” lol…

he is a Pakistani and we had a good chat…he wanted to know more about Lucknow and Aligarh Muslim University.

i agreed with him that Indians and Pakistanis are almost same! :slight_smile:

he introduced to me as DR…

this misspelled name is common among goras and Muslims! :hmmm: no wonder why i got confused with his ethnicity. he is quite pale like Chinese people.

And i was mistaken for a North Indian today. Everybody's getting promoted.

lol…but

promoted? how? :hmmm:

Yeh bhi koi poochney ki baat hai?

Mujhe bhi promotion hua. I got mistaken for pakistani as well. I took it as a compliment since Pakistanis are quite good looking.

congrats KKF bhai promotion ke liye. I think it’s promotion based on colour hierarchy.

I don't understand why someone will get offended. Hum itne bure to Nahi. I didn't know every individual indian or pakistani represents the gov and history of the country. I get why people would correct it but getting offended not so much.

I have gotten mistaken as pakistani. I think most indian girls will take it as a compliment. Must mean I'm good looking lol

Aap mazak kar Rahi hain? Neither Indians or Pakistanis deserve hatred as individuals. Bad harmful actions of individuals deserve that.
Itna Nafrat na kariye baji. Sehat ke liye acha Nahi hai. It affects the person who hates more than the hated.
Interesting comments on here. I guess whether someone is offended depend on what they imagine when they think 'indian ' or 'pakistani.' One if my sweetest and closest friends is pakistani, so I can't possible be offended to be mislabelled as pakistani. Likewise she would think the same.

Anyway even if u think we deserve hatred I think you deserve love and happiness like all human beings :)

Granted Pakistanis are on the whole better looking but doesn't mean the person making the mistake is aware of the intricate differences in appearances. Neither is the difference in beauty that deep. Good looking people exist in all nationalities. A person is more than just appearance. They are personality, character etc and none of these qualities of either Indians or Pakistanis. Good Pakistanis exist and bad Indians exist. Likewise good Indians exist as do bad Pakistanis.

Double post

I completely agree with you Reha. I don't understand offence. Why should it matter that much to get offended. Just correct the person. Then again i don't see a difference rather see it as a compliment to be labelled as Pakistani so my opinion is different. :)
Do you think it maybe depends on experiences people have had with Indians? Also if they've not had experiences then idea of what an indian is taken from history/gov policies/movies etc and maybe they can't relateI do think people getting offended at being labelled indian or pakistani is a bit much.

really iconoclast Ji really? I respect your point of view and understand everyone wants to be known for their identity. But Is it really something to get offended over? Also, it doesn't make a pakistani less of a pakistani if they are not offended or if they don't mind. Just like it doesn't make me less indian if I say Pakistan Zindabad or if I admire things about Pakistan like food, culture,pakistani songs, dramas etc Reha did not even say that much. She was indifferent to the label neither seeing it as positive or negative.

My whole family watches hum tv dramas and we recommend dramas we like to others. I've never heard anyone saying that makes us less of our background.
I've heard from friends saying it and I believe Pakistan and India are more than just the animosity for each other. There are other defining features like food, culture, customs and natural beauty. Also why should everyone be defined in terms of gov/wars and history? Why not in terms of positive interpersonal relationships and joint ventures between civilians in field of science, medicine and art?

are you the delhi2lahorekarachietc person again? same toe-curl response to reading them block replies.