Re: If you’re not Indian yet keep being asked if you’re from India
Meh, it’s not a huge deal. People mostly overstate the differences and to an untrained eyes they’re not even obvious. I failed the litmus test in India itself but it makes sense a person can spot someone different in the middle of the majority. I was hoping the similarities would get me through not having to pay tourist prices.. Not a chance Even the Saarc prices are not cheap. Where are you from was the first question I got asked especially if I spoke in urdu.
yaar seriously as a non resident indian I’m meant to pay full price but our family never does. You just say you’re from another part of India so no one raises doubts. I’d have home for Lucknow if they’d asked Urdu speaking. Should have worked. even our Iranian family friend with Korean wife faked being indian and he passed. I’d have helped with this advice earlier because they so tend to rip off tourists .jumpyb from Lahore has been to India and he paid local prices.
I was actually planning to say I was from Hyderabad but I got asked who the president of India (I think) was in Hindi before I could say anything ( at the random interrogation). I knew it was the Hindi word for some political post but I didn’t know which. I was a total flop.
Wow you really got interrogated. They must have thought you were one of those living in west but wanting to pay desi prices even some Bollywood celebrities don’t know the president of India so don’t feel bad. If you’d said Hyderabad they may have expected you to know telegu jk.
Was the Hindi word pradan mantri?
But have you and others seen this ad released last year.
Coca Cola bringing Indians and Pakistanis together in Diabetes. Kya baat hai. Waise nice ad. So dramatic.
Yup, that was the word. I wasn’t certain whether it was the prime minister or president. I would have answered otherwise .
I think me and my friends were too touristy with backpacks, bandanas and confused sunburnt faces so even though all girls were wearing desi clothes (and since we were all Lahoris so no non-desi accents either) we kind of pinged on their radar. There was also a large group of Iranis that went everywhere we did and some of them could have been confused for Indian so the authorities were being extra cautious after dealing with them.
Re: If you're not Indian yet keep being asked if you're from India
strawberryshortcake, you say you are neither Indian or Pakistani so what is your ethnicity? I mentioned that I think Pakistanis are better looking but some say it is self hating or racist because I am Indian. Some Indians do think this though. The typical Indian is darker skinned and maybe not as tall. We're dark and everything about us is dark. The typical Pakistani is fair skinned and taller. responses from 2 Indians who had been mistaken for Pakistani and were totally fine with it. Might not be the outcome you were looking for
Hate to break it to you.Pakistani are actually Indians.Just because you drew a line in a map in the INDIAN SUB CONTINENT 60 years ago does NOT change your ancestry.
That's right Pakistanis are actually Indians.
Changing the label does not change your origins
that you are actually from India.
Hate to break it to you.Pakistani are actually Indians.Just because you drew a line in a map in the INDIAN SUB CONTINENT 60 years ago does NOT change your ancestry.
That maybe true, but all the good-looking ones are now in Pakistan and want to be recognized as such. Don't want to be confused with the ugly ones on the other side of the border. Hope that clears it up for you.
generalisations. generalisations. there are plenty of good looking people in India also. And not just in bollywood. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. :) The member you are replying to got banned a few days ago.
Maine aap ko pehle kahin Dekha hai? To be honest not sure which one it’s used more often for but id give both options just in case.
Ahh I see but still I’m sure there are tourists from all over India who come backpacking but I guess if they’re assumed to be foreign they don’t get away. Where they can get extra they go for it. Should have given you guys a discount being from neighbouring country.
Those Iranis they have you away with their Farsi. I’m sure they followed u so they could get that discounted price