If you're not Indian yet keep being asked if you're from India

Re: If you're not Indian yet keep being asked if you're from India

It's very simple: If an Indian is called a Pakistani, he/she will, without hesitation, correct the other person and tell them they're Indian. So then why is it so bad if it's the other way around and a Pakistani corrects someone for calling him/her an Indian? I have encountered a few ignorant people at work who call me Indian but I always correct them because Pakistan and India ARE different.. there's a reason why a border is between us. Pakistanis need to stop letting people blend us into a generalized category because it defeats the purpose of creating our own identity.. after all this was one of the reasons Pakistan was created.

This is not true at all. I dont know why people make such generalizations. If you're from the north western/Kashmir side yes you're likely to be fair skinned because of where your ancestors chose to settle. If you're from sindh and punjab your complexion can range from milky white to as dark skinned as an African American. So there is a large range skin color of pakistanis as there is of indians.

Also, when we say white people..we tend to generalize...Thats like asking a white person...are you Danish and then his response would be, no I'm from Scotland....Just because you clarify what country your parents lived in doesnt mean you're racist towards Indians, Afghanis or Kashmiris. I dont know why any one would find it offensive to be called pakistani or indian or afghani for that matter.

I was playing on popular stereotypes.
Exactly. Why everyone should be expected to know nationalities from slight differences when they maybe have met 5 brown people in their life.
I don't know either. I don't mind being called pakistani. Nothing wrong with correcting like if someone calls you Turkish, Greek or calls a Lahori a katachiite but why the offence.
Mujhe Lagta hai aap bhi hamare Tara liberal minded hain :)

Uffff… whenever I’ve visited Relationship most of the times I’ve seen thread on Indians and Pakistanis.. and I wonder is that the only thing we have to discussed, skin colour, who’s mistaken for whom, who is better looking…???

I think it’s high time we let go of these minor and unimportant issued and move on.

I think we should be more worried of who is more human. Humanity is above all.

What difference does it makes if someone mistakes you for being an Indian or a Pakistani, why do we or should we feel offensive?? Is not the opposite person (India or Pakistani) human, creation of the same creator as all of us. He or she mistaking you for being Indian, Pakistani or whoever is only proving to be Human (we all make mistakes).

I think this way we won’t end/finish the hatred between us, specially between Indians, Pakistanis and Bangladeshis knowing our past history. But till when do we carry that burden on our shoulders?? At the end what happens? Why?? Who is benefitting from it?? Do we need next generation also to sing the same song.

Please think out of the box. Think different, think to make a difference. We need to do what most of us fail to do. We need to forgive, forget and move on.

What say people??

Opposite happened to me, a guy goes are you Indian I said oh no I'm Pakistani, than he goes, but you're so fair. I was like ermmmm Lol.

Really? Wow. it shows stereotypes depend on what someone has seen or personally experienced themselves. Maybe he'd met Punjabis from the Indian side and tanned individuals from the Pakistani side. :)

strawberry, my wife is in the opposite boat as you - she gets all the elderly mexican women at the bus stops, workers at car washes, etc talk to her in spanish, and when she replies she doesnt speak the language they think she is just being snooty. here in socal, mexicans come in all kinds of shapes - from the "pinche indio", "tienes nopal en la frente", to the fake(?) rubias etc. in my extremely scientific observation, the fat desis and fat mexicans look way different. once you are in shape, wear generic western clothes, typical ironed out hair, caked on the foundation - there's some serious overlap to the untrained eye. just ask christopher columbus.

EXACTLY! That was my whole point. All of us tan people tend to get mistaken at times not just Desis. Sure correct them but why take it like such an insult? To think we are so much better is so narrow minded. Why not to learn and understand about the other group instead. This type of stuff happens everywhere, I guess its human nature. I'll admit I've been guilty of going along with stereotypes before but I've heard how ignorant that sounds. I don't want to be like that.

@ Queer Haha not just Mexicans, hispanics come in all colors & sizes. Most are mestizos but you do see some Amerindians and white. That is funny though.

Procrastination is the thief of time. Verghese sir

don't remind me uncle :( if it was found that I'm procrastinating this way online ..meri kahani shuru hone se pehle khatam Ho jayegi lol

Yes. All of us need to be careful how much time we spend online.

That's true but that was the only time I was asked that normally people havn't a clue where I could be from. But I find it fascinating that God has given similar features to soo many nations, typical chinese features, latino, white, we have all kinds of people in Pakistan, we even have an african tribe with typical african features :) and then theres beautiful hazara, who look oriental, then theres typical blond hair blue eyed and of course majority is brown. So there's no point in obessesing over who looks more/less any nationality cos the world is so diverse.

Love the diversity in subcontinent and there is lot of diversity in Pakistan as well. Have you heard of the Kalash people?

Alot of times, Kerala people ask me if I am from kerala too and I amaze them by EE RE NALAY PURI E ALAY KIKRI AHLY with my neck bouncing!!

Re: If you’re not Indian yet keep being asked if you’re from India

:hehe: do you know what you just said, coz whoever taught you that probably told you the wrong thing.

Translate please. Nallay translation only

The general way I can tell Indians apart from Pakistanis is their choice of clothes (if their clothes look Indian or Pakistani), the way they speak, slang, terminologies etc. Generally there is less aap janab, but not always. And then of course it's the features, in fact I can't even specify what it is (cuz I didn't pay attention to it), but there r some differences that can be tell tale. It's not even the color, because North Indians or even ppl from other parts of India r just as fair or even fairer than average Pakistanis but somehow have variations in their features, body language and linguistics that r little hints to where they might be from.

Ppl have mistaken me for being Arab and Turkish (mostly because of my hijab) but a bunch of ppl have asked about me being Indian. I've never been offended by it, to me it's just like British and Australians and white South Africans being mistaken for each other (if ur not paying good attention their accents can sound quite similar). And being Indian and Pakistani is such a hit and miss for all of us because any of us could have turned out to be either, depending on where our ancestors decided to move or stay. And all the non sub continent ppl doing the guesswork, come on, they'd have to be anthropologists to get it right 100% of the time.

Funny side story, I once watched that American show, can't remember the guys name, it's like a radio show but they also do a taping of it, long curly hair always wears sunglasses, generally has weird segments, makes fun of his guests and the material is always risqué.i think he's even been a judge on one of the talent shows. Anyway he had a segment on his show where this guy came on and said that he could identify a persons nationality by smelling their sweat!!! So anyway they stood like 5 volunteers in line, blind folded the guy and had the volunteers raise one arm so he could smell their armpits. He got 4 out of 5 right!!! I was amazed! You know the one he got wrong? He said the last guy was Indian but he was Pakistani! So our foods are so similar that our sweat smells the same lol!

Are you sure the judge is not part of a conspiracy theory? Surely pakistani sweat will smell sweeter as Karachi is know for sweets and rooh afza
:/

Jk :)

Shock jock Howard Stern