If Islam is such a great religion, why did we fail to produce great muslims

Re: If Islam is such a great religion, why did we fail to produce great muslims

the most sensible post so far on this thread. and the least biased one as well.

Diwana, please memes mat use kia karo. Mat use karo. Mat karo. Mat karrrrro!!! Just stick to latifay or something. Bara-e-mehrbaani.

Monk has been extremely nice to you.

He talked bout Hazrat Umer RA, and you deliberately started talking about a cricketer using the same name.

Accha baba- Sochengay Is per. Khush?

Meme Kitini Powerful hai Ab pata chala…:slight_smile:

Khush? Aur sirf “sochne” pe? You can do better than that. :chai:

Powerful hua karti thi until u killed it. Unleash your wrath on your opponents, but spare the memes. :mad:

Good post buddy. Post more often

Oho! meme zinda hai aur zinda rahegi..phikar na karo… :slight_smile:

i dont understand why posters cant seem to differentiate between rulers, and humanitarians?
the people OP mentioned were people that fought for civil rights, equality, and helped humanity.
how can we compare these people to muslim rulers? no doubt, those rulers and caliphs were good rulers but thats not a humanitarian. Rulers, people in power have a DUTY to help their people and build their cities,towns. Sher Shah Suri building GT road was not an act of selflessness, that was his job. you cannot compare that to martin luther fighting for equality for african americans.
if you start comparing good rulers, there have been some very excellent presidents in the US who have built many dams, roads, bridges and things. are they on the list of humanitarians? there have been countless good rulers in the entire world coming from every religion, faith, ethnicity from the very early times.
I am shocked someone even mentioned Taj Mahal here in this thread! do you know it was built by SLAVES ? how does building taj mahal compare to what Martin Luther King Jr did who fought for civil rights?

^^^So, in order to be a humanitarian…one must not be a ruler? Is that a condition? I’d like to think anyone, regardless of profession, can be a humanitarian. It’s “farz” in many religions to help the needy…and a “farz” is like a job, a duty, an obligation. That said, why do we even use the word humanitarian? Why don’t we just say that Edhi is doing his job? Ironically…if we were to express our appreciation to people like Edhi and Mother Theresa for their “humanitarian” efforts…they are likely to respond with “It’s my job, my duty, etc.”

We make “humanitarian” seem like an optional thing or sentiment. When if you think about it, anything that deals with the word “human” exudes a vibe of necessity and urgency…not that of optional or voluntary.

We’re trying to search for former and current examples of Muslim figures to maybe make us feel more emotionally “secure” about our religion and identities. Those heroes will be asked about their deeds and we will be asked about what we did in this world. Instead of looking to them for emotional security, look to them to be inspired to do even a fraction of what they managed.

Just by going with second part of title:

It asked of great Muslims.

Anyone can be great Muslim. Not just humanitarians. Great Muslims are not looking for public recognition as I mentioned earlier.

Don’t need to have ANY News media approving it…or average person knowing anything about that person.

What has come to the world:

A racist and pervert Gandhi is a great man. :smack:

i don’t disagree with what you’re saying.
However, some people here are comparing the building of GT road and Taj Mahal. that way, the Egyptian Pharoahs were great for building the amazing pyramids. there have been great rulers in each country, each civilization throughout history, Muslims and nonMuslims.
some say Obama is a great president for providing affordable health care plans to cover millions of uninsured Americans. many American presidents have done many great things in US. will i compare them to what Mother Theresa or Abdul Sattar Edhi did?

The pharaohs were “great” for constructing pyramids? Yes, the monuments are fascinating, but that back-breaking labor…provided it was done by humans and not jinns…only served the interests of those pompous rulers. A well constructed road that promotes safer and efficient travel is more humanitarian than the pyramids. The rulers and the plebians alike can travel upon it. The pyramids weren’t open to the lesser folks until the pharaohs…and some were despotic rulers…dropped dead, lol. Maybe the reason why non-rulers are seen as humanitarian is because we don’t view their acts as an obligation…whereas rulers do have an obligation for the well-being of the people of their nation. If they fail, it’s a much bigger deal. And what one ruler considers to be a humanitarian effort can be viewed by another ruler or even most of the world as tyranny. I never thought of this until now but making such a big deal of “humanitarian” contributions and allotting awards for it…sort…of makes them seem like optional/voluntary and extra efforts that the rest of the populace…barring the rulers…are exempt from. These phenomenal figures treat their efforts like obligations…and believe everyone should treat helping as an obligation…but we’ve only assigned that status to the rulers.

While some leaders ate pork and drank alcohol, Gandhi served time in prison fighting for independence. He was instrumental in spreading the message of non-violence in a world torn apart by violence.
If it was not for Gandhi , maybe we could have been citizens of England. Colonial hangover still. But to call Gandhi a pervert exceeds all limits of decency and sense unfortunately.

did you not read the comparison with taj mahal and pyramids? someone had posted earlier in this thread that Taj Mahal as being one of the great things by muslims. so by that comparison, building of taj mahal and pyramids are on the same boat as both required forced labor and probably killed many workers while building it.
my point in comparing Pharoas as being great for pyramids is the same as for Shah Jahan building Taj Mahal. how was it a great thing to build Taj Mahal? certainly not for the forced slaves and laborers.
you didn’t read my post fully. i don’t think it was a great thing for Pharaohs to build pyramids, and definitely nothing humanitarian or ‘great’ for the common folks, just like Taj Mahal wasn’t a great thing for the common folks either. you seemed to have missed my point entirely. i was only pointing out what a poster had written previously about Taj Mahal as one of the ‘achievement’ for Muslims.

so who brought slaves like Hazrat Bilal Habshi (RA) in a position to inquire from a caliph about his spending? Haven’t our history books mentioned how slaves were treated by companions of the Prophet and who got how many slaves free?

For rulers like Omar (RA), isn’t it well know fact that his slave was riding the camel and caliph walking on foot, while they entered Palestine as a conqueror?

^Bella, the first time I read your post, it seemed as though you thought the pyramids were great. However when I read your post again…and this was before your posted the above ^ response, I understood that you did not think the pyramids to be a humanitarian contribution, but I chose to leave my reflection on the pyramids as opposed to editing. I find the monuments fascinating but eerie and creepy at the same time. They, like the TM, are great in terms of contribution to architecture, but not in the humanitarian sense…and nor does architecture alone…especially that which does not really benefit the people…make a ruler “great.” So, I understand what you’re saying. :flower1:

when all rulers were building palaces for their queens, sher shah under took most humongous engineering project.(for common people)
Created mail system(for common people)

he did not want vote to get elected. he did not have to have TV campaigns.
He did not have to feed newspaper…

He could have just enjoy like mughels… but he did not!!!

Same way if you go *herappa *, every thing done there is for common people.(pre-muslim era using just for example)

Now lets come to obama, name one thing he or any amreekan president did, when no one was expecting them to do??
Shar shah suri equvelant , amreekan president would be, some one on one nice morning say, “no more gmo” “no more carbon emission” “all amrekeens get health for free”
And them make it happen in 5 years.

Also I mentioned "I can only appreciate very little " due to my humble knowledge.

Can’t think of a historical figure, but a present day Muslim humanitarian is Salman Khan (no,no not the actor!) - founder of the Khan Academy. Although he is not world famous like Gandhi or Mandela, he is pretty well known in education/technology/scientific circles.

Salman Khan (educator) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

TLK, just because they are not getting hyped up in your world, doesn’t mean they don’t exist…

As for the poeple the OP mentioned.

@Monk. The GT highway piece informative. Agree with your position that modern day leaders do things go win elections. It is the true progressives who set aside their own personal interests and fight for the little guy. In other words, they are the Modern day Sher Shahs. Fighting for things that benefits ALL.

In the US these progressives were called tree huggers in disdain by the Right for their green stance.
these progressives fought for civil rights. Opposed by the Right.

They fight for gay rights. Regardless of whether they are gay or not. Opposed by the Right.

What say you Mr. Monk

Add Content